DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC § 112 is withdrawn by the examiner in view of the amendment filed on 2/13/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-5, and 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. “Preparation and characterization of anti-fouling b-cyclodextrin/polyester thin film nanofiltration composite membrane”, Journal of Membrane Science, Volume 428, 1 February 2013, Pages 301-308 in view of Kim et al. “Calix[4]azacrown Ethers in Polymeric CTA Membrane” Bull. Korean Chem. Soc. 2001, Vol. 22 No. 5. pages 519-522.
Wu teaches a method of making a thin film composite (TFC) membrane via interfacial polymerization between an aqueous solution and an organic solution containing a monomer. Specifically, Wu discloses providing an aqueous solution comprising β-cyclodextrin in water, and adding an organic solution comprising trimesoyl chloride (TMC) in n-hexane to the aqueous solution to form a TFC membrane via interfacial polymerization (Wu, p. 302; Abstract; Fig. 1).
Wu does not disclose that the macrocycle comprises a pillararene, crown ether, calixarene, porphyrin, or a combination thereof.
Kim teaches that macrocycles such as calixarenes and calix-crown ethers are macrocyclic compounds used in polymeric membranes for selective transport. Specifically, Kim discloses that “calixarenes … are macrocyclic compounds … inclusion hosts for ions and specific molecules” and that such macrocycles are incorporated into polymer inclusion membranes (Kim, pp. 519–522) .
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cyclodextrin macrocycle of Wu with another known macrocycle such as a calixarene or crown ether as taught by Kim, since such macrocycles are known to possess similar cyclic host–guest structures and are used in membrane systems to achieve predictable results.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Liu et al. “Effect of Polymer Surface Modification Polymer–Protein Interaction via Hydrophilic Polymer Grafting” Journal of Food and science Vol. 73 Nov. 3, 2008 and Delplanquea et al. “UV/ozone surface treatment increases hydrophilicity and enhances functionality of SU-8 photoresist polymer” Applied Surface Science vol. 314, Sept 30, 2014, pages 280-285.
Wu as modified by teaches forming a thin film composite membrane on a polymer support (e.g., polysulfone support) via interfacial polymerization (Wu, p. 302; Fig. 3), wherein macrocycles are incorporated into membrane systems (Kim, pp. 519–522) .
Wu and Kim, however, do not disclose irradiating the support with UV light in an atmosphere of ozone.
Liu teaches treating polymer membranes, including polyethersulfone-based membranes, with UV/ozone irradiation to modify surface properties and improve subsequent membrane formation and performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the UV/ozone surface treatment of Liu et al. to the polymer support of Wu et al. (as modified by Kim et al.) to improve surface hydrophilicity and adhesion of the interfacial polymerization layer, and to employ irradiation times within the claimed range of 10 seconds to 30 minutes as a matter of routine optimization.
Response to Arguments
The argument that Wu does not disclose that the macrocycle comprises a pillararene, crown ether, calixarene, porphyrin, or a combination thereof is not persuasive because of the new rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771