DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the Applicant’s filing on February 18, 2026. Claims 1-12 and 15-22 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
The previous provisional double patenting rejections of claims 1, 3, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, and 18 over copending applications 18/956,331, 18/776,750, 19/061,608, 18/419,503 and 18/419,499 are withdrawn in consideration of amended independent claims 1 and 15.
The previous objection to cancelled claim 13 is withdrawn.
The previous rejections of claims 1-3, 5, 8-11,15-16, 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 are withdrawn in consideration of amended independent claims 1, 15 and 20. However, new rejections of claims 1-3, 5, 8-11,15-16, 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are set forth below.
The previous rejections of claims 4, 6-7 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
The previous rejections of claims 17 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in consideration of amended independent claim 15. However, new rejections of claims 17 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are set forth below.
Applicant's arguments regarding claims 1-11 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant appears to be arguing that Koosmann does not disclose displaying information in the first area, the second area, the third area, and the fourth area “based on a prioritization of the data regarding the operation of the golf cart.” However, the plain meaning of the term “prioritization of the data” would include customization by a user. Applicant’s specification further discloses a “prioritization of the data” can be based on user customizations when it states “information may be determined based on a prioritization or user preference of the different information that can be displayed in each of the first area 502, the second area 504, the third area 506, or the fourth area 508” (¶ [0086]). Koosmann discloses a screen layout for display with multiple regions that are customizable by an operator of a vehicle where the operator is able to select information to be displayed in each region (¶ [0123]; Fig. 25-29) based on predefined options that include a vehicle speed, rpm, battery voltage, gear indicator, ect (¶ [0125]). Koosmann further discloses a display 1000 that includes a first, second, third and fourth area that displays information where the “display 1000 is configured for customization by the operator to allow the operator to see any desired information in a given screen of display 1000” (¶ [0150]). As stated in the previous Office Action, the examiner interprets the larger first area to be a speed portion (1030) in Fig. 41 and the second, third, and fourth areas to be any of the smaller areas mentioned in Fig. 41 (inputs 1026, status bar 1028, odometer 1034, battery portion 1036, fuel quantity portion 1038, gear portion 1040, or drive wheel portion 1042, icons 1054-1062). Therefore, Koosmann does disclose displaying information in the first area, the second area, the third area, and the fourth area “based on a prioritization of the data regarding the operation of the golf cart.”
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12: "at least one of the plurality of graphical user interfaces in inaccessible by the user" appears to be a typographical error where “in” was meant to be “is.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “wherein the processing circuitry is configured to operate the user interface to provide a graphical user interface comprising a first area, a second area, a third area, and a fourth area, and wherein the first area is larger than the second area, the third area, and the fourth area.” It is unclear if the graphical user interface (GUI) of claim 8 relates to the first or second GUI of claim 1 or a different GUI entirely. The intended scope of claim 8 is unclear and therefore indefinite. Based on ¶ [0084] of the specification and for the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets the graphical user interface (GUI) of claim 8 to be the first GUI of claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0135166 by Koosmann (herein after “Koosmann”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 1, Koosmann discloses a golf cart (Koosmann ¶ [0083]: Although mentioned in connection with a golf cart, the concepts described herein may be used in connection with any electric vehicle) comprising:
a driveline; a plurality of tractive elements configured to be driven by the driveline to transport the golf cart (Koosmann ¶ [0080]: Power system 110 provides the motive force and communicates the same to at least one of the ground engagement members 102 to power movement of recreational vehicle 100; 102, 110, and 114 in Fig. 2);
a user interface (Koosmann ¶ [0087]: Vehicle controller 140 also interacts with an operator interface 150 which includes at least one input device 152 and at least one output device 154; 150 in Fig. 1);
a communications bus (Koosmann ¶ [0090]: vehicle controller 140 includes at least two separate controllers which communicate over a network); and
processing circuitry (Koosmann: vehicle controller 140 and operator interface controller 156 in Fig. 1) configured to: acquire data regarding an operation of the golf cart from the communications bus (Koosmann ¶ [0086]: Vehicle controller 140 provides the electronic control of the various components of recreational vehicle 100. Further, vehicle controller 140 is operatively coupled to a plurality of sensors 144 (see FIG. 3) which monitor various parameters of recreational vehicle 100 or the environment surrounding vehicle 100; Koosmann ¶ [0087]: Interface controller 156 performs certain operations to control one or more subsystems of operator interface 150 or of other vehicle components, such as one or more of input devices 152 and output devices 154);
operate the user interface based on the data regarding the operation of the golf cart to provide a first graphical user interface (GUI) including a first area that displays first information, a second area that displays second information, a third area that displays third information, and a fourth area that displays fourth information, the first area larger than the second area, the third area, and the fourth area, wherein the first GUI is configured to display information in the first area, the second area, the third area, and the fourth area (Koosmann ¶ [0149]: home screen 1002 includes a plurality of areas configured to display information about vehicle speed, coolant or oil temperature, battery life or voltage, fuel quantity, transmission gear, etc. Illustratively, home screen 1002 includes a speed portion 1030 to output the vehicle to the operator, a tachometer portion 1032, an odometer portion 1034, a battery portion 1036, a fuel quantity portion 1038, a gear portion 1040, and a drive wheel portion 1042 indicating if vehicle 200 is in an all-wheel drive mode, a four-wheel drive mode, or a two-wheel drive mode; Koosmann ¶ [0150]: home screen 1002 includes a status bar 1028 in the upper portion of display 1000; Fig. 41; Examiner interprets the larger first area to be a speed portion (1030) in Fig. 41 and the second, third, and fourth areas to be any of the smaller areas mentioned in Fig. 41 (inputs 1026, status bar 1028, odometer 1034, battery portion 1036, fuel quantity portion 1038, gear portion 1040, or drive wheel portion 1042, icons 1054-1062)) based on a prioritization of the data regarding the operation of the golf cart (Koosmann ¶ [0123]: Referring to FIG. 25, a representation of a first screen layout 550 for display 280 is shown. Screen layout 550 includes a first region 552, a second region 554, a third screen region 556, and a fourth screen region 558. Regions 552-558 are positioned in a non-overlapping arrangement on display 280. Each of regions 552-558 are customizable by the operator of vehicle 200. The operator can select the information to be displayed in each of regions 552-558 from a preset list of options; Koosmann ¶ [0125]: the predefined of options for regions 552 and 554 include a vehicle speed screen layout, a vehicle rpm screen layout, a vehicle battery volt screen layout, a distance to empty screen layout, a gear indicator screen layout, an engine status screen layout, a fuel level screen layout, a connectivity screen layout, a tire pressure screen layout, and a vehicle accessory screen layout; Koosmann ¶ [0150]: display 1000 is configured for customization by the operator to allow the operator to see any desired information in a given screen of display 1000; Koosmann ¶ [0154]: the operator may be able to customize or otherwise configure display 1000 and/or VCU 111 to provide any information about vehicle 200; Examiner interprets the customizable regions 552-558 and display 1000 to allow an operator to prioritize the vehicle information that is displayed to the operator);
provide a second GUI on the user interface (Koosmann ¶ [0148]: Inputs 1026 may allow for quick access to specific information by touching inputs 1026 and also may allow the operator to toggle through various screens on display 1000; Koosmann ¶ [0151]: when an operator touches and releases or slides his/her finger downward from status bar 1028, display 1000 may provide a plurality of options for the operator, such as options to switch to another screen, see the status of other components, features, or accessories of vehicle 200, and/or review any notifications about vehicle 200 or accessories 1100. In this way, status bar 1028 also may provide a return feature of display 1000 so that the operator may utilize the drop-down type menu in status bar 1028 to access other information on previous screens or advance to other screens);
acquire, via the second GUI, an adjusted control setting for the golf cart (Koosmann ¶ [0185]: the operator may select speed key input 1022 to change the parameters of the speed key of vehicle 200. For example, as shown in FIG. 54, the operator may select the speeds at which vehicle 200 may operate for a given rider and the input required to change the speed key parameters (fob, speed limitations, security key, etc.) via a speed key input option 1116); and
control, via communications on the communications bus, a system of the golf cart to adjust an operational characteristic of the golf cart based on the adjusted control setting (Koosmann ¶ [0185]: the operator may control operation of vehicle 200 when another person is operating vehicle 200 based on the person's age, ability, and experience with vehicle 200).
It is noted that Koosmann does not explicitly disclose the above elements in a single embodiment. However, it would have been obvious to modify Koosmann to combine the disclosed elements according to known methods to yield predictable results in order to display customizable visual information to a rider regarding a vehicle (¶ [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Koosmann discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to obtain, from the communications bus, data regarding an operation of the driveline or a driving operation of the golf cart, data regarding a fault of one or more systems of the golf cart, and data regarding a condition of an electrical system of the golf cart (Koosmann ¶ [0086]: Vehicle controller 140 provides the electronic control of the various components of recreational vehicle 100. Further, vehicle controller 140 is operatively coupled to a plurality of sensors 144 (see FIG. 3) which monitor various parameters of recreational vehicle 100 or the environment surrounding vehicle 100; Koosmann ¶ [0087]: Interface controller 156 performs certain operations to control one or more subsystems of operator interface 150 or of other vehicle components, such as one or more of input devices 152 and output devices 154),
wherein operating the user interface comprises operating the user interface to display the data regarding the operation of the driveline or the driving operation of the golf cart (Koosmann ¶ [0149]: Illustratively, home screen 1002 includes a speed portion 1030 to output the vehicle to the operator, a tachometer portion 1032, an odometer portion 1034, a battery portion 1036, a fuel quantity portion 1038, a gear portion 1040, and a drive wheel portion 1042 indicating if vehicle 200 is in an all-wheel drive mode, a four-wheel drive mode, or a two-wheel drive mode), the data regarding the fault (Koosmann ¶ [0179]: the operator may select diagnostics input input 1016 to run a diagnostics scan of vehicle 200 via a diagnostic scan option 1092 or access diagnostic or repair information about vehicle 200 via a diagnostic notifications option 1094. For example, as shown in FIG. 51, diagnostics input 1016 may provide trouble codes via a trouble/fault codes option 1096 to the operator in the event of a needed repair to vehicle 200. More particularly, notifications option 1094 may provide a notification to the operator which is displayed on display 1000 indicating a trouble or fault has occurred and identifying the fault by a code), and the data regarding the condition of the electrical system via a plurality of graphical user interfaces (Koosmann ¶ [0149]: home screen 1002 includes a plurality of areas configured to display information about vehicle speed, coolant or oil temperature, battery life or voltage, fuel quantity, transmission gear, etc).
Regarding claim 3, Koosmann discloses wherein the adjusted control setting comprises a limit value of an allowable speed of the golf cart, wherein controlling the system to adjust the operational characteristic comprises controlling the driveline of the golf cart to limit the golf cart from being driven at a speed that exceeds the limit value of the allowable speed (Koosmann ¶ [0185]: the operator may select the speeds at which vehicle 200 may operate for a given rider and the input required to change the speed key parameters (fob, speed limitations, security key, etc.) via a speed key input option 1116. In this way, the operator may control operation of vehicle 200 when another person is operating vehicle 200 based on the person's age, ability, and experience with vehicle 200).
Regarding claim 5, Koosmann discloses wherein the data regarding the operation of the golf cart comprises active or historical events and faults of systems of the golf cart that are communicably coupled with the communications bus (Koosmann ¶ [0086]: Vehicle controller 140 provides the electronic control of the various components of recreational vehicle 100. Further, vehicle controller 140 is operatively coupled to a plurality of sensors 144 (see FIG. 3) which monitor various parameters of recreational vehicle 100 or the environment surrounding vehicle 100), the processing circuitry configured to operate the user interface to alert a user regarding active events and faults of any of the systems (Koosmann ¶ [0150]: Any other features, indicators, notifications, or information may be included in status bar 1028 and, in one embodiment, display 1000 is configured for customization by the operator to allow the operator to see any desired information in a given screen of display 1000; Koosmann ¶ [0179]: notifications option 1094 may provide a notification to the operator which is displayed on display 1000 indicating a trouble or fault has occurred and identifying the fault by a code), and operating the user interface to provide a list of historical events and faults of the systems (Koosmann ¶ [0179]: the operator may select diagnostics input 1016 to run a diagnostics scan of vehicle 200 via a diagnostic scan option 1092 or access diagnostic or repair information about vehicle 200 via a diagnostic notifications option 1094. For example, as shown in FIG. 51, diagnostics input 1016 may provide trouble codes via a trouble/fault codes option 1096 to the operator in the event of a needed repair to vehicle 200).
Regarding claim 8, Koosmann discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to operate the user interface to provide a graphical user interface comprising a first area, a second area, a third area, and a fourth area, and wherein the first area is larger than the second area, the third area, and the fourth area (Koosmann ¶ [00148]: Inputs 1026 may allow for quick access to specific information by touching inputs 1026 and also may allow the operator to toggle through various screens on display 1000; Koosmann ¶ [0149]: home screen 1002 includes a plurality of areas configured to display information about vehicle speed, coolant or oil temperature, battery life or voltage, fuel quantity, transmission gear, etc. Illustratively, home screen 1002 includes a speed portion 1030 to output the vehicle to the operator, a tachometer portion 1032, an odometer portion 1034, a battery portion 1036, a fuel quantity portion 1038, a gear portion 1040, and a drive wheel portion 1042 indicating if vehicle 200 is in an all-wheel drive mode, a four-wheel drive mode, or a two-wheel drive mode; Koosmann ¶ [0150]: home screen 1002 includes a status bar 1028 in the upper portion of display 1000; Fig. 41). Examiner interprets the larger first area to be a speed portion (1030) in Fig. 41 and the second, third, and fourth areas to be any of the smaller areas mentioned in Fig. 41 (inputs 1026, status bar 1028, odometer 1034, battery portion 1036, fuel quantity portion 1038, gear portion 1040, or drive wheel portion 1042, icons 1054-1062).
Regarding claim 9, Koosmann discloses wherein information displayed in the first area, the second area, the third area, or the fourth area is customizable by a user by providing an input via the user interface (Koosmann ¶ [0150]: display 1000 is configured for customization by the operator to allow the operator to see any desired information in a given screen of display 1000).
Regarding claim 10, Koosmann discloses wherein information displayed in each of the first area, the second area, the third area, and the fourth area is selected by the processing circuitry based on a mode of operation that is activated by a user (Koosmann ¶ [0148]: Inputs 1026 may allow for quick access to specific information by touching inputs 1026 and also may allow the operator to toggle through various screens on display 1000. For example, as shown in FIG. 41, inputs 1026 may include a gauge input 1044 to allow the operator to immediately toggle between the various screens on display 1000, as disclosed herein, an infotainment input 1046 to allow the operator to quickly access music via the radio or other media and provide other entertainment options to the operator, a location input 1048 which allows the operator immediate access to GPS information and maps, as disclosed herein, a connectivity input 1050 to allow the operator to immediately access his/her phone or other communications device via CAN interface 1202, and a settings input 1052 to allow the operator to quickly access the various settings for display 1000 and vehicle 200; Figs. 44-55).
Regarding claim 11, Koosmann discloses wherein the first area, the second area, the third area, and the fourth area are configured to provide four of the following indications: a current speed of the golf cart (Koosmann: speed portion 1030 in Fig. 41), a distance between a current location of the golf cart and a pin of a current hole of the golf cart, a distance between the current location of the golf cart and a center of the current hole, a state of charge of a battery of the golf cart (Koosmann: battery portion 1036 in Fig. 41), an indication of whether the golf cart is currently being charged, whether the golf cart has experienced a fault (Koosmann ¶ [0150]: Any other features, indicators, notifications, or information may be included in status bar 1028 and, in one embodiment, display 1000 is configured for customization by the operator to allow the operator to see any desired information in a given screen of display 1000; Koosmann ¶ [0179]: notifications option 1094 may provide a notification to the operator which is displayed on display 1000 indicating a trouble or fault has occurred and identifying the fault by a code), whether a temperature cutback has occurred, whether a speed of the golf cart is limited, whether operation of the golf cart is locked, whether the golf cart is currently on a cart path or not, a number of the current hole that the golf cart is on, an indication of whether a walkaway event has occurred in which a user has left the golf cart, whether the golf cart is currently involved in a tow scenario, whether a slow play condition is detected, a par for the current hole, a direction of travel of the golf cart, a gear or drive mode selection including forward, reverse, and neutral (Koosmann: gear portion 1040 in Fig. 41), an amount of time until the battery of the golf cart is fully charged, a seat switch status, a low battery warning, an indication whether the golf cart has entered a restricted area, a derating warning, a weather warning, an hour meter (Koosmann: clock portion 1062 in Fig. 41), or an odometer (Koosmann: odometer portion in Fig. 41).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0135166 by Koosmann (herein after “Koosmann”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0144746 by Zizzadoro (herein after “Zizzadoro”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 4, Koosmann fails to particularly disclose wherein the adjusted control setting comprises a limit value of an allowable acceleration of the golf cart, wherein controlling the system to adjust the operational characteristic comprises controlling the driveline of the golf cart to limit the golf cart from being driven at an acceleration that exceeds the limit value of the allowable acceleration.
However, Zizzadoro, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the adjusted control setting comprises a limit value of an allowable acceleration of the golf cart, wherein controlling the system to adjust the operational characteristic comprises controlling the driveline of the golf cart to limit the golf cart from being driven at an acceleration that exceeds the limit value of the allowable acceleration (Zizzadoro ¶ [0091]: the personal computing application receives a user selection 742 of a max rate at which the vehicle is able to accelerate, e.g., 5 feet per second, during vehicle operation while in child mode in max child mode acceleration entry box 712).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for monitoring and displaying vehicle operations of Koosmann to include the acceleration control setting of Zizzadoro. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow a device to communicate a security enablement command to a body control module to enable a security scheme that includes predetermined vehicle settings (Zizzadoro ¶ [0021]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0135166 by Koosmann (herein after “Koosmann”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0138957 by Peng (herein after “Peng”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 6, Koosmann discloses further comprising a battery configured to power the driveline, wherein the data regarding the operation of the golf cart comprises a voltage of the battery (Koosmann ¶ [0149]: home screen 1002 includes a plurality of areas configured to display information about vehicle speed, coolant or oil temperature, battery life or voltage).
It is noted Koosmann fails to particularly disclose further comprising a battery configured to power the driveline, wherein the data regarding the operation of the golf cart comprises a voltage, current, health, and temperature of the battery.
However, Peng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising a battery configured to power the driveline, wherein the data regarding the operation of the golf cart comprises a voltage, current, health, and temperature of the battery (Peng ¶ [0064]: The BMS can monitor the state of the battery or battery pack by sensing one or more of: voltage: total voltage, voltages of individual cells, minimum and maximum cell voltage or voltage of periodic taps; temperature: average temperature, coolant intake temperature, coolant output temperature, or temperatures of individual cells; state of charge (SOC) or depth of charge (DOD), to indicate the charge level of the battery or individual cells; state of health (SOH), a variously-defined measurement of the remaining capacity of the battery as % of the original capacity; state of power (SOP), the amount of power available for a defined time interval given the current power usage, temperature and other conditions; state of Safety (SOS)l coolant flow: for air or fluid cooled batteries; and/or current: current in or out of the battery).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for monitoring and displaying vehicle operations of Koosmann to include the BMS that monitors battery temperature, state of health, and current of Peng. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to communicate suggestions for improving range or other driving conditions to a driver (Peng ¶ [0007]) and prevent a battery pack from operating outside its safe operating area (Peng ¶ [0066]).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0135166 by Koosmann (herein after “Koosmann”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0173223 by Doane et al. (herein after “Doane”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 7, Koosmann fails to particularly disclose wherein the data regarding the operation of the golf cart comprises golf-specific information including at least one of a distance between a current location of the golf cart and a pin of a hole that the golf cart is currently on, a par of the hole that the golf cart is currently on, or a number of the hole that the golf cart is currently on, the processing circuitry configured to operate the user interface to display the golf-specific information.
However, Doane, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the data regarding the operation of the golf cart comprises golf-specific information including at least one of a distance between a current location of the golf cart and a pin of a hole that the golf cart is currently on, a par of the hole that the golf cart is currently on, or a number of the hole that the golf cart is currently on, the processing circuitry configured to operate the user interface to display the golf-specific information (Doane ¶ [0035]: displaying other information (e.g., a map of the golf course, a map of a particular hole, the distance to the green, the distance to the hole, recommended club based on position of the robotic golf caddy, recommended location to hit golf ball on course based on position of the robotic golf caddy, recommended strategies for a golf hole, topography of the golf course, topography of a particular golf hole, location of hazards on golf course, location of restrooms, location of cart paths, directions to next hole, location of club house, location of robotic golf caddy return, par information for a particular golf hole, information about the difficulty of golf course and/or golf hole, history of golf course and/or golf hole, date, time, USGA™ rules, score card, course sponsors, golf wager management, warning information about playing too slow on course, provide warnings or update information to golfer about current weather conditions at location, provide golfer warning or weather updates to golfer about current or future weather in area, shooting order based on distance from the green or hole, recommendation as to where to hit the ball on the golf course, wind speed, wind direction, contest information, scores of golfers, etc.); Doane ¶ [0154]: the interactive display 190 can provide information to the golfer that would typically be provided by the navigation arrangement and/or processor unit including, but not limited to, the golf hole number, distance to the center of the green, distance to the front of the green, distance to the back of the green, etc).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for monitoring and displaying vehicle operations of Koosmann to include the golf course data for display of Doane. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow an interactive display to provide instructional information to a golfer (Doane ¶ [0154]).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0135166 by Koosmann (herein after “Koosmann”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0001876 by Chervenka et al. (herein after “Chervenka”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 12, Koosmann discloses speed key parameters including a requirements to change the speed key parameters such as a security key (Koosmann ¶ [0185]: the operator may select the speeds at which vehicle 200 may operate for a given rider and the input required to change the speed key parameters (fob, speed limitations, security key, etc.) via a speed key input option 1116) but Koosmann fails to particularly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to selectively operate the user interface in a display only mode where the adjusted control setting cannot be entered by a user, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the user interface to display a plurality of graphical user interfaces, and wherein at least one of the plurality of graphical user interfaces in inaccessible by the user in the display only mode, and disable the display only mode in response to acquiring credentials from the user that permit disabling the display only mode.
However, Chervenka, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to selectively operate the user interface in a display only mode where the adjusted control setting cannot be entered by a user (Chervenka ¶ [0045]: Subject to proper authorization, the user may establish settings, parameters, options, configurations or otherwise configure one or more of the following: the first application 502, the second application 504, the third application 506, and the fourth application 508 via selection of one or more items from the menu displayed in FIG. 5. If the user has administrator, technician or factory authorization, the user may establish security or access settings for other users of the terminal via the screen shots depicted in FIG. 5 through FIG. 7, inclusive. The locked symbol 555 indicates that a user (e.g., except for an administrator authorized by the vehicle owner) does not have authorized access to a particular corresponding feature, setting or menu item; whereas the unlocked symbol 550 indicates that a user has authorized access to a particular corresponding feature, setting or menu item; Examiner interprets the locked symbol that does not allow a feature or setting to be accessed without authorization to be a display only mode for those features or settings), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the user interface to display a plurality of graphical user interfaces, and wherein at least one of the plurality of graphical user interfaces in inaccessible by the user in the display only mode (Chervenka ¶ [0055]: FIG. 8 discloses another illustrative screen shot 591 that is capable of being displayed on the display 23 of the terminal 16. The screen shot 591 illustrates the second settings 512 (e.g., ShiftTrack settings). Here, in FIG. 8 the screen shot 591 provides that the user or operator cannot access the second settings 512 or their sub-features or child features 588 displayed in FIG. 8, as indicated by the locked symbols 555), and disable the display only mode (Chervenka ¶ [0056]: FIG. 9 discloses yet another illustrative screen shot 593 that is capable of being displayed on the display 23 of the terminal. The screen shot 593 illustrates the second settings 512. Here, in FIG. 9, the screen shot 593 provides that the user or operator can access the second settings 512 or their sub-features or child features 590 displayed in FIG. 8, as indicated by the absence of locked symbols 555 or unlocked symbols) in response to acquiring credentials from the user that permit disabling the display only mode (Chervenka ¶ [0031]: The control data processor 26 decides whether or not to grant access to the vehicle electronics 11 (or associated applications, features or settings) to a particular user based on proper entry of a corresponding user identifier and password, subject to any supplemental authentication process; Examiner interprets the unlocked symbol that allows a feature or setting to be accessed with authorization to disable the display only mode for those features or settings).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for monitoring and displaying vehicle operations of Koosmann to include the user credentials for authorized access, feature locking and inaccessible interfaces of Chervenka. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to restrict terminal device access of a vehicle operator to certain functions to reduce risk of misuse or abuse of the vehicle (Chervenka ¶ [0003]).
Claims 15-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0135166 by Koosmann (herein after “Koosmann”), in view of “Model S 2021+ Owner's Manual” by Tesla (herein after “Tesla”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 15, Koosmann discloses a display system for a golf cart (Koosmann ¶ [0083]: Although mentioned in connection with a golf cart, the concepts described herein may be used in connection with any electric vehicle), the display system comprising:
a touchscreen display (Koosmann ¶ [0087]: operator interface 150 includes a touch screen display and interface controller 156 interprets various types of touches to the touch screen display as inputs and controls the content displayed on touch screen display; 150 in Fig. 1); and
processing circuitry (Koosmann: vehicle controller 140 and operator interface controller 156 in Fig. 1) configured to: acquire data regarding an operation of the golf cart from a communications bus of the golf cart (Koosmann ¶ [0086]: Vehicle controller 140 provides the electronic control of the various components of recreational vehicle 100. Further, vehicle controller 140 is operatively coupled to a plurality of sensors 144 (see FIG. 3) which monitor various parameters of recreational vehicle 100 or the environment surrounding vehicle 100; Koosmann ¶ [0087]: Interface controller 156 performs certain operations to control one or more subsystems of operator interface 150 or of other vehicle components, such as one or more of input devices 152 and output devices 154);
operate the touchscreen display based on the data regarding the operation of the golf cart to provide a first graphical user interface (GUI) (Koosmann ¶ [0149]: display 1000 includes a main or home screen 1002 which displays current information about the operation of vehicle 200);
provide a second GUI on the touchscreen display (Koosmann ¶ [0148]: Inputs 1026 may allow for quick access to specific information by touching inputs 1026 and also may allow the operator to toggle through various screens on display 1000; Koosmann ¶ [0151]: when an operator touches and releases or slides his/her finger downward from status bar 1028, display 1000 may provide a plurality of options for the operator, such as options to switch to another screen, see the status of other components, features, or accessories of vehicle 200, and/or review any notifications about vehicle 200 or accessories 1100. In this way, status bar 1028 also may provide a return feature of display 1000 so that the operator may utilize the drop-down type menu in status bar 1028 to access other information on previous screens or advance to other screens);
acquire, via the second GUI, an adjusted control setting for the golf cart (Koosmann ¶ [0185]: the operator may select speed key input 1022 to change the parameters of the speed key of vehicle 200. For example, as shown in FIG. 54, the operator may select the speeds at which vehicle 200 may operate for a given rider and the input required to change the speed key parameters (fob, speed limitations, security key, etc.) via a speed key input option 1116)
control, via communications on the communications bus, a system of the golf cart to adjust an operational characteristic of the golf cart based on the adjusted control setting (Koosmann ¶ [0185]: the operator may control operation of vehicle 200 when another person is operating vehicle 200 based on the person's age, ability, and experience with vehicle 200).
It is noted that Koosmann fails to particularly disclose the adjusted control setting comprising an activation or deactivation of regenerative anti-skid of the golf cart.
However, Tesla, in the same field of endeavor teaches the adjusted control setting comprising an activation or deactivation of regenerative anti-skid of the golf cart (Tesla pg. 75: Regenerative Braking - Drag the slider to choose how much regenerative braking is available. You can choose any value, in 5% increments, between 0 and 100%). Examiner interprets Tesla to teach a graphical user interface that allows a user to customize a “Track Mode” for controlling stability assistance and regenerative braking of a vehicle. A setting of 0% for regenerative braking would cause the vehicle to utilize only friction brakes for traction control.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for monitoring and displaying vehicle operations of Koosmann to include the Track Mode and regenerative braking settings of Tesla. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to increase performance and handling while driving on closed circuit courses (Tesla pg. 74).
Regarding claim 16, Koosmann discloses wherein: the processing circuitry is configured to operate the touchscreen display to provide a graphical user interface comprising a first area, a second area, a third area, and a fourth area; and the first area is larger than the second area, the third area, and the fourth area (Koosmann ¶ [00148]: Inputs 1026 may allow for quick access to specific information by touching inputs 1026 and also may allow the operator to toggle through various screens on display 1000; Koosmann ¶ [0149]: home screen 1002 includes a plurality of areas configured to display information about vehicle speed, coolant or oil temperature, battery life or voltage, fuel quantity, transmission gear, etc. Illustratively, home screen 1002 includes a speed portion 1030 to output the vehicle to the operator, a tachometer portion 1032, an odometer portion 1034, a battery portion 1036, a fuel quantity portion 1038, a gear portion 1040, and a drive wheel portion 1042 indicating if vehicle 200 is in an all-wheel drive mode, a four-wheel drive mode, or a two-wheel drive mode; Koosmann ¶ [0150]: home screen 1002 includes a status bar 1028 in the upper portion of display 1000; Fig. 41; Examiner interprets the larger first area to be a speed portion (1030) in Fig. 41 and the second, third, and fourth areas to be any of the smaller areas mentioned in Fig. 41 (inputs 1026, status bar 1028, odometer 1034, battery portion 1036, fuel quantity portion 1038, gear portion 1040, or drive wheel portion 1042, icons 1054-1062)), and
wherein information displayed in the first area, the second area, the third area, or the fourth area is customizable by a user by providing an input via the touchscreen display (Koosmann ¶ [0150]: display 1000 is configured for customization by the operator to allow the operator to see any desired information in a given screen of display 1000), or the information displayed in each of the first area, the second area, the third area, and the fourth area is selected by the processing circuitry based on a mode of operation that is activated by the user (Koosmann ¶ [0148]: Inputs 1026 may allow for quick access to specific information by touching inputs 1026 and also may allow the operator to toggle through various screens on display 1000. For example, as shown in FIG. 41, inputs 1026 may include a gauge input 1044 to allow the operator to immediately toggle between the various screens on display 1000, as disclosed herein, an infotainment input 1046 to allow the operator to quickly access music via the radio or other media and provide other entertainment options to the operator, a location input 1048 which allows the operator immediate access to GPS information and maps, as disclosed herein, a connectivity input 1050 to allow the operator to immediately access his/her phone or other communications device via CAN interface 1202, and a settings input 1052 to allow the operator to quickly access the various settings for display 1000 and vehicle 200; Figs. 44-55).
Regarding claim 18, Koosmann discloses wherein the adjusted control setting comprises a limit value of an allowable speed of the golf cart, wherein controlling the system to adjust the operational characteristic comprises controlling a driveline of the golf cart to limit the golf cart from being driven at a speed that exceeds the limit value of the allowable speed (Koosmann ¶ [0185]: the operator may select the speeds at which vehicle 200 may operate for a given rider and the input required to change the speed key parameters (fob, speed limitations, security key, etc.) via a speed key input option 1116. In this way, the operator may control operation of vehicle 200 when another person is operating vehicle 200 based on the person's age, ability, and experience with vehicle 200).
Regarding claim 20, Koosmann discloses a vehicle (recreational vehicle 100 in Fig. 1) comprising:
a dashboard (Koosmann ¶ [0103]: User interface assembly 270 includes a plurality of input devices and output devices; Fig. 8);
a touch screen display disposed on the dashboard, the touch screen display configured to both display information and acquire user inputs (Koosmann ¶ [0103]: Exemplary input devices include buttons, switches, touch displays, dials, and other devices which receive input from a driver of motorcycle 200. Exemplary output devices include gauges, displays, touch displays, lights, and other devices that provide one or more of a visual output, an audio output, and a tactile output to a driver of motorcycle 200); and
processing circuitry (Koosmann: vehicle controller 140 and operator interface controller 156 in Fig. 1) configured to: acquire fault data and operational data from a communications bus of the vehicle (Koosmann ¶ [0086]: Vehicle controller 140 provides the electronic control of the various components of recreational vehicle 100. Further, vehicle controller 140 is operatively coupled to a plurality of sensors 144 (see FIG. 3) which monitor various parameters of recreational vehicle 100 or the environment surrounding vehicle 100; Koosmann ¶ [0179]: the operator may select diagnostics input 1016 to run a diagnostics scan of vehicle 200 via a diagnostic scan option 1092 or access diagnostic or repair information about vehicle 200 via a diagnostic notifications option 1094. For example, as shown in FIG. 51, diagnostics input 1016 may provide trouble codes via a trouble/fault codes option 1096 to the operator in the event of a needed repair to vehicle 200);
operate the touch screen display to provide a first graphical user interface (GUI), the first GUI comprising a first area configured to display speed information of the operational data, a second area (Koosmann ¶ [0149]: home screen 1002 includes a plurality of areas configured to display information about vehicle speed, coolant or oil temperature, battery life or voltage, fuel quantity, transmission gear, etc. Illustratively, home screen 1002 includes a speed portion 1030 to output the vehicle to the operator, a tachometer portion 1032, an odometer portion 1034, a battery portion 1036, a fuel quantity portion 1038, a gear portion 1040, and a drive wheel portion 1042 indicating if vehicle 200 is in an all-wheel drive mode, a four-wheel drive mode, or a two-wheel drive mode; Koosmann ¶ [0150]: home screen 1002 includes a status bar 1028 in the upper portion of display 1000; Fig. 41; Examiner interprets the larger first area to be a speed portion (1030) in Fig. 41 and the second, third, and fourth areas to be any of the smaller areas mentioned in Fig. 41 (inputs 1026, status bar 1028, odometer 1034, battery portion 1036, fuel quantity portion 1038, gear portion 1040, or drive wheel portion 1042, icons 1054-1062)), wherein the fault notification is provided to notify a user regarding fault data of the vehicle, the fault data associated with any of a plurality of systems communicably coupled with the communications bus (Koosmann ¶ [0150]: Any other features, indicators, notifications, or information may be included in status bar 1028 and, in one embodiment, display 1000 is configured for customization by the operator to allow the operator to see any desired information in a given screen of display 1000; Koosmann ¶ [0179]: notifications option 1094 may provide a notification to the operator which is displayed on display 1000 indicating a trouble or fault has occurred and identifying the fault by a code);
provide a second GUI on the touchscreen display (Koosmann ¶ [0148]: Inputs 1026 may allow for quick access to specific information by touching inputs 1026 and also may allow the operator to toggle through various screens on display 1000; Koosmann ¶ [0151]: when an operator touches and releases or slides his/her finger downward from status bar 1028, display 1000 may provide a plurality of options for the operator, such as options to switch to another screen, see the status of other components, features, or accessories of vehicle 200, and/or review any notifications about vehicle 200 or accessories 1100. In this way, status bar 1028 also may provide a return feature of display 1000 so that the operator may utilize the drop-down type menu in status bar 1028 to access other information on previous screens or advance to other screens);
acquire a user input via the second GUI to adjust an operation of a driveline operation of the vehicle (Koosmann ¶ [0185]: the operator may select speed key input 1022 to change the parameters of the speed key of vehicle 200. For example, as shown in FIG. 54, the operator may select the speeds at which vehicle 200 may operate for a given rider and the input required to change the speed key parameters (fob, speed limitations, security key, etc.) via a speed key input option 1116); and
adjust operation of a driveline of the vehicle based on the user input (Koosmann ¶ [0185]: the operator may control operation of vehicle 200 when another person is operating vehicle 200 based on the person's age, ability, and experience with vehicle 200).
It is noted that Koosmann discloses a customizable graphical user interface with a plurality of screens including fault notifications and a status bar for displaying notifications but fails to particularly disclose a second area configured to provide a fault notification.
However, Tesla, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a GUI comprising a first area configured to display speed information of the operational data (Tesla pg. 62: current driving speed 3 on the instrument panel), a second area configured to provide a fault notification (Tesla pg. 63: Indicator lights display along the top of the instrument panel to show status and alert you of specific vehicle conditions; indicator descriptions on pg. 63-64), a third area, and a fourth area (Tesla pg. 62: 1-2 and 4-9 graphical user interface elements on the instrument panel).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for monitoring and displaying vehicle operations of Koosmann to include the instrument panel with multiple areas including indicator lights for alerting a user to vehicle conditions of Tesla. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to alert a vehicle user of specific vehicle conditions and faults (Tesla pg. 63).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0135166 by Koosmann (herein after “Koosmann”), in view of “Model S 2021+ Owner's Manual” by Tesla (herein after “Tesla”), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0001876 by Chervenka et al. (herein after “Chervenka”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 17, Koosmann discloses speed key parameters including a requirements to change the speed key parameters such as a security key (Koosmann ¶ [0185]: the operator may select the speeds at which vehicle 200 may operate for a given rider and the input required to change the speed key parameters (fob, speed limitations, security key, etc.) via a speed key input option 1116) but Koosmann fails to particularly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: selectively operate the touchscreen display in a display only mode where the adjusted control setting cannot be entered by a user; control the user interface to display a plurality of graphical user interfaces, wherein at least one of the plurality of graphical user interfaces in inaccessible by the user in the display only mode; and disable the display only mode in response to acquiring credentials from the user that permit disabling the display only mode.
However, Chervenka, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: selectively operate the touchscreen display in a display only mode where the adjusted control setting cannot be entered by a user (Chervenka ¶ [0045]: Subject to proper authorization, the user may establish settings, parameters, options, configurations or otherwise configure one or more of the following: the first application 502, the second application 504, the third application 506, and the fourth application 508 via selection of one or more items from the menu displayed in FIG. 5. If the user has administrator, technician or factory authorization, the user may establish security or access settings for other users of the terminal via the screen shots depicted in FIG. 5 through FIG. 7, inclusive. The locked symbol 555 indicates that a user (e.g., except for an administrator authorized by the vehicle owner) does not have authorized access to a particular corresponding feature, setting or menu item; whereas the unlocked symbol 550 indicates that a user has authorized access to a particular corresponding feature, setting or menu item; The Examiner interprets the locked symbol that does not allow a feature or setting to be accessed without authorization to be a display only mode for those features or settings);
control the user interface to display a plurality of graphical user interfaces, wherein at least one of the plurality of graphical user interfaces in inaccessible by the user in the display only mode (Chervenka ¶ [0055]: FIG. 8 discloses another illustrative screen shot 591 that is capable of being displayed on the display 23 of the terminal 16. The screen shot 591 illustrates the second settings 512 (e.g., ShiftTrack settings). Here, in FIG. 8 the screen shot 591 provides that the user or operator cannot access the second settings 512 or their sub-features or child features 588 displayed in FIG. 8, as indicated by the locked symbols 555); and
disable the display only mode (Chervenka ¶ [0056]: FIG. 9 discloses yet another illustrative screen shot 593 that is capable of being displayed on the display 23 of the terminal. The screen shot 593 illustrates the second settings 512. Here, in FIG. 9, the screen shot 593 provides that the user or operator can access the second settings 512 or their sub-features or child features 590 displayed in FIG. 8, as indicated by the absence of locked symbols 555 or unlocked symbols) in response to acquiring credentials from the user that permit disabling the display only mode (Chervenka ¶ [0031]: The control data processor 26 decides whether or not to grant access to the vehicle electronics 11 (or associated applications, features or settings) to a particular user based on proper entry of a corresponding user identifier and password, subject to any supplemental authentication process; Examiner interprets the unlocked symbol that allows a feature or setting to be accessed with authorization to disable the display only mode for those features or settings).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for monitoring and displaying vehicle operations of Koosmann modified by the Track Mode and regenerative braking settings of Tesla to further include the feature locking for inaccessible interfaces and the credentials that authorize access to interfaces of Chervenka. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to restrict terminal device access of a vehicle operator to certain functions to reduce risk of misuse or abuse of the vehicle (Chervenka ¶ [0003]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0135166 by Koosmann (herein after “Koosmann”), in view of “Model S 2021+ Owner's Manual” by Tesla (herein after “Tesla”), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0173223 by Doane et al. (herein after “Doane”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 19, Koosmann fails to particularly disclose wherein the data regarding the operation of the golf cart comprises golf-specific information including at least one of a distance between a current location of the golf cart and a pin of a hole that the golf cart is currently on, a par of the hole that the golf cart is currently on, or a number of the hole that the golf cart is currently on, the processing circuitry configured to operate the touchscreen display to display the golf-specific information.
However, Doane, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the data regarding the operation of the golf cart comprises golf-specific information including at least one of a distance between a current location of the golf cart and a pin of a hole that the golf cart is currently on, a par of the hole that the golf cart is currently on, or a number of the hole that the golf cart is currently on, the processing circuitry configured to operate the touchscreen display to display the golf-specific information (Doane ¶ [0035]: displaying other information (e.g., a map of the golf course, a map of a particular hole, the distance to the green, the distance to the hole, recommended club based on position of the robotic golf caddy, recommended location to hit golf ball on course based on position of the robotic golf caddy, recommended strategies for a golf hole, topography of the golf course, topography of a particular golf hole, location of hazards on golf course, location of restrooms, location of cart paths, directions to next hole, location of club house, location of robotic golf caddy return, par information for a particular golf hole, information about the difficulty of golf course and/or golf hole, history of golf course and/or golf hole, date, time, USGA™ rules, score card, course sponsors, golf wager management, warning information about playing too slow on course, provide warnings or update information to golfer about current weather conditions at location, provide golfer warning or weather updates to golfer about current or future weather in area, shooting order based on distance from the green or hole, recommendation as to where to hit the ball on the golf course, wind speed, wind direction, contest information, scores of golfers, etc.); Doane ¶ [0154]: the interactive display 190 can provide information to the golfer that would typically be provided by the navigation arrangement and/or processor unit including, but not limited to, the golf hole number, distance to the center of the green, distance to the front of the green, distance to the back of the green, etc).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for monitoring and displaying vehicle operations of Koosmann modified by the Track Mode and regenerative braking settings of Tesla to further include the golf course data for display of Doane. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to allow an interactive display to provide instructional information to a golfer (Doane ¶ [0154]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0135166 by Koosmann (herein after “Koosmann”), in view of “Model S 2021+ Owner's Manual” by Tesla (herein after “Tesla”), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0322096 by De Simone et al. (herein after “De Simone”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0356252 by Ko et al. (herein after “Ko”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 21, Koosmann fails to particularly disclose wherein: the adjusted control setting comprises a plurality of adjusted control settings including:
an activation or deactivation of regenerative anti-skid of the golf cart; and
a limit for acceleration and deceleration rates of the golf cart;
the processing circuitry is configured to switch between a plurality of speed limit settings based on a location of the golf cart, the processing circuitry configured to operate the first GUI to display a current speed limit in at least one of the first area, the second area, the third area, or the fourth area; and
the processing circuitry is configured to switch between a standard mode and a display-only mode based on at least one of the location of the golf cart or a time of day.
However, Tesla, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein: the adjusted control setting comprises a plurality of adjusted control settings including:
an activation or deactivation of regenerative anti-skid of the golf cart (Tesla pg. 75: Regenerative Braking - Drag the slider to choose how much regenerative braking is available. You can choose any value, in 5% increments, between 0 and 100%; Examiner interprets Tesla to teach a graphical user interface that allows a user to customize a “Track Mode” for controlling stability assistance and regenerative braking of a vehicle. A setting of 0% for regenerative braking would cause the vehicle to utilize only friction brakes for traction control); and
a limit for acceleration (Tesla pg. 73: Chill, Sport and Insane Acceleration Modes);
the processing circuitry is configured to switch between a plurality of speed limit settings based on a location of the golf cart, the processing circuitry configured to operate the first GUI to display a current speed limit in at least one of the first area, the second area, the third area, or the fourth area (Tesla pg. 62: speed limit 2 (if available) that is currently being detected by Speed Assist on the instrument panel; Tesla pg. 117: Speed Assist; Examiner interprets Tesla to teach a system that detects a current speed limit based on the location of the vehicle and displays the speed limit on the instrument panel);
.
Further, De Simone, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a limit for deceleration rate of the golf cart (De Simone ¶ [0040]: the second virtual gears 9 each determine a second, deceleration (i.e. a negative acceleration Ax) limit profile I, II, III, IV as the velocity Vx varies in the release configuration RC. In particular, by exploiting the characteristics of the electric powertrain system 4, it is also possible to define infinite intermediate profiles between the aforementioned limit profiles and the maximum deceleration that can be delivered; De Simone ¶ [0050]: allow the driver DR to increase (manually) the acceleration Ax limit (i.e. to choose an acceleration limit profile A, B, C D or a deceleration limit profile I, II, III, IV that is higher than the current limit profile in a graph such as the one shown in FIG. 3) … allow the driver DR to downshift/reduce the acceleration Ax limit (i.e. to choose an acceleration limit profile A, B, C D or a deceleration limit profile I, II, III, IV that is lower than the current limit profile in a graph such as the one shown in FIG. 3)).
Finally, Ko, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the processing circuitry is configured to switch between a standard mode and a display-only mode based on at least one of the location of the golf cart or a time of day (Ko ¶ [0042]: while in a restricted mode, functions that the electronic device is otherwise capable of performing are not immediately available. A time range can be defined during which the electronic device (or, optionally, multiple electronic devices associated with a common account) is scheduled to operate in the restricted mode; Ko ¶ [0243]: the ability to launch an application (e.g., a particular application), access an open application, and/or close an application is restricted (e.g., not available) while device 600 is operating according to the restricted mode; Ko ¶ [0246]: In accordance with a determination that the current time does not correspond to the predefined time range, device 600 does not operate according to a restricted mode and displays clock face 614 (e.g., the currently selected clock face); Ko ¶ [0247]: operating in the restricted mode includes displaying a restricted user interface).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for monitoring and displaying vehicle operations of Koosmann to include the acceleration limits and Track Mode including regenerative braking settings of Tesla, the deceleration limits of De Simone and the unrestricted and restricted modes of operation based on time of day of Ko with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to increase performance and handling while driving on closed circuit courses (Tesla pg. 74), to increase driving pleasure by allowing a driver to make choices about acceleration/deceleration limits (De Simone ¶ [0009]) and to allow a user to configure a device for another user (Ko Abstract) and to provide a restricted mode of operation for an electronic device that increases effectiveness, efficiency and user satisfaction (Ko ¶ [0024]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0135166 by Koosmann (herein after “Koosmann”), in view of “Model S 2021+ Owner's Manual” by Tesla (herein after “Tesla”), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0322096 by De Simone et al. (herein after “De Simone”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0356252 by Ko et al. (herein after “Ko”), further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0135977 by Mindeman (herein after “Mindeman”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 22, Koosmann discloses an options screen that allows an operator to view the status of driving conditions and/or the status of components of a vehicle including allowing an operator to select a parameter to view its historical and current data (Koosmann ¶ [0188]) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to operate the user interface to provide a third GUI, the third GUI including a list of selectable components of the golf cart, the processing circuitry configured to operate the user interface to provide real-time readings from one of the components responsive to user selection of the one of the components from the list.
However, Mindeman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to operate the user interface to provide a third GUI (Mindeman ¶ [0022]: FIG. 5 illustrates a graphical user interface 140-1 which is generated for the List View format), the third GUI including a list of selectable components of the golf cart (Mindeman ¶ [0022]: In the embodiment shown, the scrollable diagnostic menu 230 includes item selections for SSL 8V System including "Seat Bar", "Hydraulic Charge Pressure", "Hydraulic Oil Temp", "Engine Oil Pressure", "Engine Coolant Temp", "Right Thumb Paddle", etc), the processing circuitry configured to operate the user interface to provide real-time readings from one of the components responsive to user selection of the one of the components from the list (Mindeman ¶ [0023]: once the diagnostic items 146 are selected, the user activates the monitoring process using a button 148 which toggles between a Start mode and a Stop mode; Mindeman ¶ [0025]: The description field 244 includes a text description of the diagnostic item. The current, minimum and maximum data fields 246, 248, 249 include current, minimum and maximum sensor readings, respectively; Mindeman: steps 450, 452 and 454 in Fig. 9).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for monitoring and displaying vehicle operations of Koosmann modified by the acceleration limits and Track Mode including regenerative braking settings of Tesla, the deceleration limits of De Simone and the unrestricted and restricted modes of operation based on time of day of Ko to further include the third GUI and real-time sensor readings based on a selected component of Mindeman with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to provide component sensor readings to warn of a potential problem or for diagnostic evaluation (Mindeman ¶ [0001]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0101998 by Pierce et al. discloses a system for limiting the speed of a golf cart and a dashboard mounted display with a user interface.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666