DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021131315 A1, TSUCHIDA HIDEMI.
Regarding claim 1, Hidemi teaches:
A method of controlling light emission for a light source, comprising:
determining a drive signal for driving the light source to output an optical signal ([0092] analog signal generator drives the optical intensity modulator via the optical modular driver), wherein determining the drive signal comprises superposing a value of a pre-corrected modulation curve and an integral value of an integrator ([0092] analog signal generator has a function of integrating the modulation signal generator to determine the drive signal)
determining a difference frequency signal by performing frequency beating on the optical signal and a delayed optical signal ([0112] signal light experiences time delay to reference light, [0017] utilizing a first and a second frequency beat signal to determine a difference frequency signal); and
updating the integral value by determining phase discrimination data based on the difference frequency signal and a predetermined reference signal, and performing integration on the phase discrimination data ([0017] determining phase difference data using a difference frequency signal. [0065] formula 7; phase difference data determined using a difference frequency signal and a predetermined reference signal, [0072] Formula 9; integration of phase difference signal.)
Regarding claim 2, Hidemi teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the difference frequency signal by performing the frequency beating on the optical signal and the delayed optical signal comprises:
determining a difference frequency optical signal by performing the frequency beating on the optical signal and the delayed optical signal ([0112] signal light experiences time delay to reference light, [0017] utilizing a first and a second frequency beat signal to determine a difference frequency signal); and
determining the difference frequency signal as a difference frequency voltage signal based on the difference frequency optical signal ([0031] an electric signal frequency of difference is generated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,4,5,6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021131315 A1, TSUCHIDA HIDEMI as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of US20210083449A1, Ken Wojciechowski.
Regarding claim 3, Hidemi teaches the method of claim 2:
Hidemi does not teach,
The method of claim 2, wherein determining the difference frequency square signal based on the difference frequency signal comprises:
determining a difference frequency voltage digital signal in response to receiving the difference frequency voltage signal using an analog-to-digital converter; and
determining the difference frequency square signal in response to comparing the difference frequency voltage digital signal with a predetermined reference value using a comparator.
Wojciechowski teaches;
The method of claim 2, wherein determining the difference frequency square signal based on the difference frequency signal comprises:
determining a difference frequency voltage digital signal in response to receiving the difference frequency voltage signal using an analog-to-digital converter ([0034] determining the different frequency square signal based on difference frequency, determining a digital control signal using an analog -to-digital converter); and
determining the difference frequency square signal in response to comparing the difference frequency voltage digital signal with a predetermined reference value using a comparator ([0034] digital processor is configured to compare digital signal to predefined ideal waveform).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the device and method of Hidemi with an analog-to-digital converter and a comparator similar to that of Wojciechowski, this would have the predictable result of reducing deviation in the source by allowing the drive signal to be continuously updated.
Regarding claim 4, Hidemi as modified above teaches the method of claim 2, wherein determining the difference frequency square signal based on the difference frequency signal comprises:
determining the difference frequency square signal based on the difference frequency voltage signal using a Schmitt trigger. (Wojciechowski [0034] the digital processor is configured to compare the digital signal to a predefined waveform for controlling the laser and generate an error signal. The error signal is the conditioned to provide a control waveform).
Regarding claim 5, Hidemi as modified above teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pre-corrected modulation curve is configured to enable the light source to output a linear frequency modulated optical signal (Wojciechowski [0006] the precise control of the modulation pattern such as linear frequency modulation is of central importance for the system preformance).
Regarding claim 6, Hidemi teaches a system if controlling light emission for a light source, the system comprising;
the optical interference processor is configured to delay the optical signal and determine a difference frequency signal by performing frequency beating on the optical signal and the delayed optical signal; ([0112] signal light experiences time delay to reference light, [0017] utilizing a first and a second frequency beat signal to determine a difference frequency signal).
the digital logic processor is configured to determine the digital drive signal by superposing a value of a pre-corrected modulation curve and an integral value of an integrator, and update the integral value by determining phase discrimination data based on the difference frequency square signal and a predetermined reference square signal. ([0017] determining phase difference data using a difference frequency signal. [0065] formula 7; phase difference data determined using a difference frequency signal and a predetermined reference signal, [0072] Formula 9; integration of phase difference signal.)
Hidemi does not teach,
an optical interference processor; an analog-to-digital converter module; a digital logic processor; and a digital-to-analog converter, wherein: the digital-to-analog converter is configured to determine an analog drive signal based on a digital drive signal output by the digital logic processor for driving the light source to output an optical signal;
the analog-to-digital converter module is configured to determine a difference frequency square signal based on the difference frequency signal
performing integration on the phase discrimination data
Wojciechowski teaches;
an optical interference processor; an analog-to-digital converter module; a digital logic processor; and a digital-to-analog converter, wherein: the digital-to-analog converter is configured to determine an analog drive signal based on a digital drive signal output by the digital logic processor for driving the light source to output an optical signal ([0034]this signal V(dig) is converted to an analog signal V using an analog to digital converter that is fed to the control the laser);
the analog-to-digital converter module is configured to determine a difference frequency square signal based on the difference frequency signal ([0034] the digital processor is configured and operable to compare the digital signal from the ADC to a predefined ideal waveform for controlling the tunable laser and to generate a digital error signal. The resulting digital error signal is then conditioned to provide a control waveform for use in control of the tunable laser.)
performing integration on the phase discrimination data ([0034] the addition of the error signal to the square-wave and subsequent integration could also happen in the digital domain)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of Hidemi with an analog-to-digital converter to preform the functions of determining the square signal and preform integration within the digital domain similar to that of Wojciechowski. This would have the predictable result of increasing the processing efficiency speed and accuracy of the system as the correction value is continuously updated while reducing the amount of hardware required.
Regarding claim 7, Hidemi as modified above teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the digital logic processor comprises:
the integrator configured to update the integral value by performing the integration on the phase discrimination data determined by the digital phase frequency detector (Hidemi [0017] determining phase difference data using a difference frequency signal. [0065] formula 7; phase difference data determined using a difference frequency signal and a predetermined reference signal, [0072] Formula 9; integration of phase difference signal); and
an adder configured to determine the digital drive signal by superposing the integral value and the value of the pre-corrected modulation curve stored in the second memory ([0092] analog signal generator has a function of integrating the modulation signal generator to determine the drive signal).
a first memory configured to store the reference square signal; a second memory configured to store the pre-corrected modulation curve of the light source (Wojciechowski [0008] f is fixed to a reference value in the feedback loop can ensure a constant modulation slope);
a digital phase frequency detector configured to determine the phase discrimination data (Wojciechowski [0034] the digital processor is configured and operable to compare the digital signal from the ADC to a predefined ideal waveform for controlling the tunable laser and to generate a digital error signal.)
Regarding claim 8, Hidemi as modified above teaches the system of claim 6,
The system of claim 6, wherein the optical interference processor is configured to output a difference frequency optical signal, and the system further comprises:
a photon detector module configured to receive the difference frequency optical signal from the optical interference processor, and determine a difference frequency voltage signal based on the difference frequency optical signal (Hidemi [0031] an electric signal frequency of difference is generated)
Regarding claim 9, Hidemi as modified above teaches the system of claim 6,
wherein the photon detector module comprises:
a photon detector configured to determine a difference frequency current signal based on the difference frequency optical signal ([0117] the beating control signal determined by a difference is frequency between optical signals); and
a trans-impedance amplifier configured to amplify the difference frequency current signal and determine the difference frequency voltage signal based on the difference frequency current signal ([0124] trans-impedance amplifier receives and converts the electrical beating signal to a converted signal).
Regarding claim 10, Hidemi as modified above teaches; The system of claim 9, wherein the analog-to-digital converter module comprises:
an analog-to-digital converter configured to determine a difference frequency voltage digital signal in response to receiving the difference frequency voltage signal (Wojciechowski [0035] The modulated photocurrent iMZI can pass through a transimpedance amplifier TIA, as shown in FIG. 9, to convert the current to a voltage, which is in turn digitized in the ADC and processed in the digital processor); and
a comparator configured to determine the difference frequency square signal in response to comparing the difference frequency voltage digital signal with a predetermined reference value (Wojciechowski [0034] the digital processor is configured and operable to compare the digital signal from the ADC to a predefined ideal waveform for controlling the tunable laser and to generate a digital error signal).
Regarding claim 11, Hidemi as modified above teaches; The system of claim 9, wherein the analog-to-digital converter module comprises:
an analog-to-digital converter configured to determine a difference frequency voltage digital signal in response to receiving the difference frequency voltage signal (Wojciechowski [0034] According to the present method, the measured frequency tuning shape through the photocurrent iPD(t) is digitized by an analog-to-digital converter ADC and processed by a digital processor, as shown in FIG. 8a , in the digital domain to produce a digital control signal VB(dig), the digital processor is configured and operable to compare the digital signal from the ADC to a predefined ideal waveform for controlling the tunable laser and to generate a digital error signal.); and
the digital logic processor further comprises:
a comparator configured to determine the difference frequency square signal in response to comparing the difference frequency voltage digital signal with the predetermined reference value (Wojciechowski [0004] The time delay between the reflected light and the source light causes a frequency difference fR that is proportional to the round-trip delay τR and the modulation slope γ, A photodetector can be used to convert this optical power to an electric current iPD (FIG. 3a ) so that this periodic increase and decrease in optical power appears as a modulation of the electric current that can be measured using electronic circuits.).
Regarding claim 12, Hidemi as modified above teaches; The system of claim 9, wherein the analog-to-digital converter module comprises:
a Schmitt trigger configured to determine the difference frequency square signal based on the difference frequency voltage signal (Wojciechowski [0034] the digital processor is configured to compare the digital signal to a predefined waveform for controlling the laser and generate an error signal. The error signal is the conditioned to provide a control waveform).
Regarding claim 13, Hidemi as modified above teaches; The system of claim 6, wherein the digital logic processor is a programmable logic device (Wojciechowski [0036] the shape of the tuning can be easily changed in the digital domain or even can be programmable by software).
Regarding claim 14, Hidemi as modified above teaches; The system of claim 6, wherein the pre-corrected modulation curve is configured to enable the light source to output a linear frequency modulated optical signal (Wojciechowski [0006] In many applications of FMCW laser systems, such as fiber defect detection, the precise control of the modulation pattern (such as modulation slope γ for a linear frequency modulation) is of central importance for the system performance.).
Regarding claim 15, Hidemi as modified above teaches; A system of controlling light emission for a light source, coupled to the light source, and comprising: an optical interference processor module, an analog-to-digital converter module, a first memory, a second memory, a digital phase frequency detector, an integrator, an adder, and a digital-to-analog converter module, wherein:
the digital-to-analog converter module is configured to determine an analog drive signal based on a digital drive signal output by the adder to drive the light source to output an optical signal (Wojciechowski [0034] This signal VB(dig) is converted to an analog signal VB using a digital-to-analog converter DAC that is fed to the tunable laser TL to control the laser.);
the optical interference processor module is configured to perform frequency beating on the optical signal and a delayed optical signal to determine a difference frequency signal (Wojciechowski [0007] In this system, a fraction of the frequency-tunable-laser (TL) light is taken to be processed and used in a feedback loop to control its frequency. This light is fed in the feedback loop to an asymmetric Mach-Zehnder interferometer (MZI), [0007] the delay between the light from the two branches causes a frequency difference between them equal to fMZI);
the analog-to-digital converter module is configured to determine a difference frequency square signal based on the difference frequency signal (Wojciechowski [0034] the digital processor is configured to compare the digital signal to a predefined waveform for controlling the laser and generate an error signal);
the first memory is configured to store a reference square signal (Wojciechowski [0008] f is fixed to a reference value in the feedback loop can ensure a constant modulation slope);
the second memory is configured to store the pre-corrected modulation curve of the light source (Wojciechowski [0008] f is fixed to a reference value in the feedback loop can ensure a constant modulation slope);
the digital phase frequency detector is configured to perform phase discrimination and comparison on the difference frequency square signal with the reference square signal stored in the first memory, and output a phase discrimination result (Hidemi [0017] determining phase difference data using a difference frequency signal. Hidemi [0065] formula 7; phase difference data determined using a difference frequency signal and a predetermined reference signal);
the integrator is configured to perform integrating processing on the phase discrimination result output by the digital phase frequency detector to determine the integral value, Hidemi [0072] Formula 9; integration of phase difference signal.); and
the adder is configured to superpose a value of the pre-corrected modulation curve pre-configured by the second memory and the integral value to determine the digital drive signal ([0092] analog signal generator has a function of integrating the modulation signal generator to determine the drive signal).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the device and method of Hidemi with a digital to analog converter and an analog to digital converter similar to that of Wojciechowski to perform signal determination and comparison in a digital space. This would have the predictable result of reducing the amount of processing power required due to the reduced complexity of the system.
Regarding claim 16, Hidemi as modified above teaches; A LiDAR, comprising:
a light source configured to output an optical signal; an optical interference processor; an analog-to-digital converter; a digital logic processor; and a digital-to-analog converter, wherein:
the digital-to-analog converter is configured to determine an analog drive signal based on a digital drive signal output by the digital logic processor module (Wojciechowski [0034] This signal VB(dig) is converted to an analog signal VB using a digital-to-analog converter DAC that is fed to the tunable laser TL to control the laser);
the optical interference processor is configured to determine a difference frequency signal by performing frequency beating on the optical signal and a delayed optical signal (Wojciechowski [0007] Similar to the case of FMCW Lidar in FIG. 3a , the delay between the light from the two branches causes a frequency difference between them equal to fMZI, Hidemi [0022] utilizing a first and a second frequency beat signal to determine a difference frequency signal);
the analog-to-digital converter is configured to determine a difference frequency square signal based on the difference frequency signal (Wojciechowski [0034] the measured frequency tuning shape through the photocurrent iPD(t) is digitized by an analog-to-digital converter ADC and processed by a digital processor, as shown in FIG. 8a , in the digital domain to produce a digital control signal VB(dig)); and
the digital logic processor is configured to determine the digital drive signal by superposing a value of a pre-corrected modulation curve and an integral value, and update the integral value by determining phase discrimination data based on the difference frequency square signal and a predetermined reference square signal and performing integration on the phase discrimination data (Wojciechowski [0034] the digital processor is configured and operable to compare the digital signal from the ADC to a predefined ideal waveform for controlling the tunable laser and to generate a digital error signal) (Hidemi [0017] determining phase difference data using a difference frequency signal. Hidemi [0065] formula 7; phase difference data determined using a difference frequency signal and a predetermined reference signal, Hidemi [0072] Formula 9; integration of phase difference signal.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the device and method of phase difference determination and integration of Hidemi with the digital and analog processing system of Wojciechowski. This would have the predictable result of simplifying the hardware required for determining the drive signal which in turn would reduce complexity and power consumption of the device.
Regarding claim 17, Hidemi as modified above teaches; The LiDAR of claim 16, wherein the light source comprises a distributed feedback laser (Wojciechowski [0029] Lidar system that uses a feedback system and method to map the frequency modulation (FM) of the laser light to an amplitude modulation or variation (AM) on the current of a photodetector to provide a feedback signal for a Lidar).
Regarding claim 18, Hidemi as modified above teaches; The LiDAR of claim 16, wherein the optical interference processor comprises a fiber interferometer with unequal arm lengths (Wojciechowski [0007] This light is fed in the feedback loop to an asymmetric Mach-Zehnder interferometer (MZI) which includes a splitter at its input that splits the optical power and sends it into two light paths or waveguides with different lengths. The longer waveguide causes an extra delay τMZI in the light propagating through it)
Regarding claim 19, Hidemi as modified above teaches; The method of claim 1, wherein determining the drive signal for driving the light source to output the optical signal comprises:
determining a digital drive signal by superposing the value of the pre-configured, pre-corrected modulation curve and the integral value (Wojciechowski [0034] This signal VB(dig) is converted to an analog signal VB using a digital-to-analog converter DAC that is fed to the tunable laser TL to control the laser.); and
determining the drive signal as an analog drive signal based on the digital drive signal (Wojciechowski [0034] This signal VB(dig) is converted to an analog signal VB using a digital-to-analog converter DAC that is fed to the tunable laser TL to control the laser).
Regarding claim 20, Hidemi as modified above teaches; The method of claim 1, wherein updating the integral value comprises
determining a difference frequency square signal based on the difference frequency signal (Wojciechowski [0034] the digital processor is configured to compare the digital signal to a predefined waveform for controlling the laser and generate an error signal. The error signal is then conditioned to provide a control waveform); and
determining the phase discrimination data based on the difference frequency square signal and a predetermined reference square signal (Hidemi [0065] formula 7; phase difference data determined using a difference frequency signal and a predetermined reference signal).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN104078840A – Tang Yu – Method for generating laser linear FM signals.
CN112083401A – Huang Jinxi – Frequency-modulated continuous wave laser radar nonlinear correction device and method
CN109873294A – Tang Yu – Circuit and Method for generating laser linear frequency modulation signal
CN105006736A – Qin Jie – Frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) frequency sweep non-linear calibration system based on closed loop control and FMCV frequency sweep non-linear calibration method based on closed loop control
CN111492263A – Wojciechowiski Ken – Mixed-signal Frequency Control Loop or Tunable Laser
/JOHN CESARE TRIDICO/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645