Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 6/21/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-11 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the replacement drawings filed 8/22/2024 are less clear than the ones filed 6/21/2024. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/750,761 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim modified Caro’s acid treatment of lignocellulose at a temperature of less than 55 degrees C to a kappa less than 10 [copending claim 1] followed by alkali extraction to remove hemicellulose [copending claim 2].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 8 the applicant claims “molar ratio no less than 1:1:1” and “molar ratio no less than 1:1:” multiple times. It is not clear to the Examiner what ratios would be less than 1:1:1 and which ratios would be more than 1:1:1.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-4 depend from claim 1 and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the removal of hemicellulose" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5 does not require a removal of hemicellulose from the caustic liquid phase.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "hemicellulose containing caustic solution " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 5 the applicant uses the language “said caustic liquid phase comprising said dissolved hemicellulose”.
In claims 7 and 8, the applicant claims the acid concentration in said modified Caro’s acid is less than 40%. It is not clear if this is molar, weight, or volumetric concentration. The Examiner interprets it as by weight in light of the instant specification. Further, it is not clear if “the acid” refers to just H2SO5 or is all acids present (H2SO5, sulfuric, and others).
Claims 9-11 depend from claim 7 and are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CA323131A1, WEISSENBERGER et al., hereinafter WEISSEN, in view of Pulping Processes by RYDHOLM, hereinafter RYDHOLM, or in the alternate, RYDHOLM in view of WEISSEN.
CA323131A1 was published on 12/18/2022 is more than 1 year prior to the foreign-priority document of the instant case of 12/21/2023.
As for claim 1, WEISSEN discloses providing lignocellulose biomass comprising lignin, hemicellulose, and cellulose [pg. 6 par. 2]. WEISSEN discloses exposing the biomass to a delignification step with modified Caro’s acid at a temperature of below 55 degrees C [pg. 7 par. 3 and pg. 8 par. 8]. WEISSEN discloses the specific modified Caro’s acid of sulfuric acid, heterocyclic compound, and peroxide [pg. 8 par 8] which is instantly claimed composition D. WEISSEN discloses not less than 1:1 [pg. 12 par. 5]
The delignification of WEISSEN takes place to a Kappa number of 4.2 or less [pg. 8 par. 7]. WEISSEN discloses the reaction mixture (delignified pulp) is recovered by washing [pg. 19 par. 3 and Figure 6] a kappa number of 10 or less is equal to a lignin percent of about 0.63% (% lignin ~ 0.15* kappa).
WEISSEN fails to disclose an alkali extraction of the produced pulp.
RYDHOLOM discloses alkali purification of pulp with cold alkali [pg. 993 last par.] to remove hemicellulose to give high alpha-cellulose at the highest purity [pg. 995 last par.]. RYDHOLM discloses that the final yield and ultimate hemicellulose removal are inversely related [pg. 1011 Figure 15.16]; therefore the person of ordinary skill in the art optimizes hemicellulose removal based on desired purity. RYDHOLM discloses that the spent cold alkali comprising hemicelluloses can be removed with presses and washing [pg. 996 par. 3]. RYDHOLM suggests purifying the spent cold alkali by dialysis prior to reuse which will recover and remove the hemicellulose [pg. 997 par. 1]. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to apply the cold alkali purification of RYDHOLM to the pulp of WEISSEN. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by RYDHOLM to obtain a pulp to increase opacity, bulk, softness and brightness stability [pg. 992] or alternatively make dissolving pulps (nota bene dissolving pulps are high alpha cellulose pulps used for various chemical production and regenerated celluloses) for further use.
In the alternate, RYDHOLM discloses sulfite and kraft pulps from treatment but does not disclose modified Caro’s acid pulps. WEISSEN discloses pulps produced by modified Caro’s acid. At the time of the invention it would be obvious top substitute the kraft/sulfite pulping of RYDHOLM with the modified Caro’s acid pulping of WEISSEN. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so by WEISSEN who states that the modified Caro’s acid pulp production has the advantage of low temperature and less energy intensive [pg. 5 par. 3].
As for claim 2, WEISSEN discloses composition ‘A’ (peroxide, sulfuric, compound with sulfonic and amine moiety) [pg. 9] at no less than 1:1:1 [pg. 10 par. 2].
As for claim 3, WEISSEN discloses composition ‘C’ (peroxide and alkylsulfonic acid) [pg. 9] at no less than a 1:1:1 ratio [pg. 12 par. 3].
As for claim 4, WEISSEN discloses composition ‘B’ (peroxide, sulfuric acid, amine moiety, sulfonic acid moiety) [pg. 9] at no less than a 1:1 ratio [pg. 12 par. 2]
As for claim 5, WEISSEN discloses providing lignocellulose biomass comprising lignin, hemicellulose, and cellulose [pg. 6 par. 2]. WEISSEN discloses exposing the biomass to a delignification step with modified Caro’s acid at a temperature of below 55 degrees C [pg. 7 par. 3 and pg. 8 par. 8]. WEISSEN discloses composition ‘A’ (peroxide, sulfuric, compound with sulfonic and amine moiety) [pg. 9] at no less than 1:1:1 [pg. 10 par. 2]. WEISSEN discloses taurolidine [pg. 11 par. 2]
The delignification of WEISSEN takes place to a Kappa number of 4.2 or less [pg. 8 par. 7]. WEISSEN discloses the reaction mixture (delignified pulp) is recovered by washing [pg. 19 par. 3 and Figure 6] a kappa number of 10 or less is equal to a lignin percent of about 0.63%.
WEISSEN fails to disclose an alkali extraction of the produced pulp.
RYDHOLOM discloses alkali purification of pulp with cold alkali [pg. 993 last par.] to remove hemicellulose to give high alpha-cellulose at the highest purity [pg. 995 last par.]. RYDHOLM discloses that the final yield and ultimate hemicellulose removal are inversely related [pg. 1011 Figure 15.16] therefore the person of ordinary skill in the art optimizes hemicellulose removal based on desired purity. RYDHOLM discloses that the spent cold alkali comprising hemicelluloses can be removed with presses and washing [pg. 996 par. 3]. RYDHOLM suggests purifying the spent cold alkali by dialysis prior to reuse which will recover and remove the hemicellulose [pg. 997 par. 1]. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to apply the cold alkali purification of RYDHOLM to the pulp of WEISSEN. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by RYDHOLM to obtain a pulp to increase opacity, bulk, softness and brightness stability [pg. 992] or alternatively make dissolving pulps for further use.
In the alternate, RYDHOLM discloses sulfite and kraft pulps from treatment but does not disclose modified Caro’s acid pulps. WEISSEN discloses pulps produced by modified Caro’s acid. At the time of the invention it would be obvious top substitute the kraft/sulfite pulping of RYDHOLM with the modified Caro’s acid pulping of WEISSEN. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so by WEISSEN who states that the modified Caro’s acid pulp production has the advantage of low temperature and less energy intensive [pg. 5 par. 3]
As for claim 6, RYDHOLM adds water during washing to remove hemicellulose prior to dialysis. The claims do not require ethanol.
As for claims 7 and 8, WEISSEN discloses providing lignocellulose biomass comprising lignin, hemicellulose, and cellulose [pg. 6 par. 2]. WEISSEN discloses exposing the biomass to a delignification step with modified Caro’s acid at a temperature of below 55 degrees C [pg. 7 par. 3 and pg. 8 par. 8]. WEISSEN discloses composition ‘A’ (peroxide, sulfuric, compound with sulfonic and amine moiety) [pg. 9] at no less than 1:1:1 [pg. 10 par. 2]. WEISSEN discloses taurolidine [pg. 11 par. 2]. WEISSEN discloses 20 to 70% sulfuric acid by weight which overlaps the instant claimed range making a prima facie case of obviousness [pg. 10 comp ‘A’]
The delignification of WEISSEN takes place to a Kappa number of 4.2 or less [pg. 8 par. 7]. WEISSEN discloses the reaction mixture (delignified pulp) is recovered by washing [pg. 19 par. 3 and Figure 6] a kappa number of 10 or less is equal to a lignin percent of about 0.63%.
WEISSEN fails to disclose an alkali extraction of the produced pulp.
RYDHOLOM discloses alkali purification of pulp with cold alkali [pg. 993 last par.] to remove hemicellulose to give high alpha-cellulose at the highest purity [pg. 995 last par.]. RYDHOLM discloses that the final yield and ultimate hemicellulose removal are inversely related [pg. 1011 Figure 15.16] therefore the person of ordinary skill in the art optimizes hemicellulose removal based on desired purity. RYDHOLM discloses that the spent cold alkali comprising hemicelluloses can be removed with presses and washing [pg. 996 par. 3]. RYDHOLM suggests purifying the spent cold alkali by dialysis prior to reuse which will recover and remove the hemicellulose [pg. 997 par. 1]. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to apply the cold alkali purification of RYDHOLM to the pulp of WEISSEN. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by RYDHOLM to obtain a pulp to increase opacity, bulk, softness and brightness stability [pg. 992] or alternatively make dissolving pulps for further use.
In the alternate, RYDHOLM discloses sulfite and kraft pulps from treatment but does not disclose modified Caro’s acid pulps. WEISSEN discloses pulps produced by modified Caro’s acid. At the time of the invention it would be obvious top substitute the kraft/sulfite pulping of RYDHOLM with the modified Caro’s acid pulping of WEISSEN. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so by WEISSEN who states that the modified Caro’s acid pulp production has the advantage of low temperature and less energy intensive [pg. 5 par. 3]
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEISSEN and RYDHOLM, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Handbook for Pulp and Paper Technologists by SMOOK, hereinafter SMOOK.
As for claims 9-11 WEISSEN discloses woodchips [pg. 23 par. 1] but does not disclose their size. SMOOK discloses 10 to 30 mm (1 to 3 cm) in length [pg. 30 col. 1 par. 1] which falls within or overlaps the instant claimed ranges. At the time of the invention it would be obvious to apply the known pulping chip size of SMOOK to the known pulping of WEISSEN/RYDHOLM. The person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so by SMOOK who states that these sizes are prime materials for pulping [pg. 30 col. 1 par. 1]
Conclusion
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748