DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by anticipated by Perske et al. (6,568,761). Perske et al. discloses a fastener assembly (6) comprising: a retainer portion (11) to be disposed in a cushion body (4) and a protruding portion (7) protruding from the retainer portion (11), the protruding portion (7) shaped and sized to extend from a slot (unlabeled) in the cushion body (4) through a first side (i.e. bottom side) of the cushion body and to engage a support board (3) such that the protruding portion is secured to the support board and the retainer portion is retained in the cushion body (4) to secure the cushion body (4) to the support board (3), wherein the slot comprises an entry port (unlabeled) on a second side surface (i.e. top surface), for facilitating passage of connector (10), of the cushion body. The claim is limited to a fastener assembly “to be disposed in a cushion body comprising a plurality of filaments” as claimed. The claim does not require a cushion body structured with filaments but merely a fastener capable of mounting within a cushion body with filaments. The disclosed fastener of Perske et al. is capable of being mounted within a cushion body with filaments and therefore reads on this intended use of the claimed fastener.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8, 10-14 and 16-21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 1, the prior art of record neither singly or in obvious combination discloses a mesh member comprising a first side defining a first side surface and a second side defining a second side surface, the mesh member comprising a set of filaments of thermoplastic material wherein each filament of the set of filaments is looped and bonded to at least one other filament of the set of filaments; a carrier board defining a third surface adjacent the first surface and a fastener comprising a retainer portion disposed in a slot comprising an entry port on the second surface and a protruding portion protruding from the retainer portion through the first surface and through the third surface such that the protrusion portion cooperates with the carrier board to secure the mesh member adjacent the carrier board.
With respect to claim 16, the prior art of record neither singly or in obvious combination discloses a method fi disposing a fastener comprising a retainer portion in a slot defined by a cushion comprising a plurality of filaments of thermoplastic material wherein each filament of the plurality of filaments is looped and bonded to at least one other filament of the plurality of filaments, wherein the slot is disposed below a surface portion along a first side of the cushion and the slot comprises an entry port disposed on a second side of the cushion and coupling the fastener to a rigid support such that a protrusion portion protruding from the retainer portion extends through the cushion and the surface portion into the rigid support.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s RCE and amendments filed on July 10, 2026 have been fully considered.
Claims 1 and 16, and those claims dependent therefrom, are indicated as allowable in this office action. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 are persuasive.
Claim 15, however, is drawn to a fastener. It is not drawn to a fastener in combination with a cushion body. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that the prior art discloses the claim fastener, given that the fastener is capable of being disposed in a cushion body with filaments. The fastener of Perske is capable of fulfilling the claimed function and capable of being positioned within a cushion comprised of filaments. Therefore, Perske reads on the claimed fastener despite not explicitly disclose a cushion body comprised of filaments.
Conclusion
/SARAH B MCPARTLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993