DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s response filed on 8/25/2026. Claims 1-8 remain pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119, 365, or 386 is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(b) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application. The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. GB2004073.9, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. GB2004073.9 fails to provide adequate support or enablement for at least the following limitations in Applicant's claims:
In claim 1, determining one or more other NWDAF entities to aggregate analytics, based on the received first subscription request;
transmitting, to the determined one or more other NWDAF entities, a second subscription request for the analytics ID; and
receiving, from the determined one or more other NWDAF entities, a first notification comprising an analytics for the analytics ID.
In claim 5, determine one or more other NWDAF entities to aggregate analytics, based on the received first subscription request;
transmit, to the determined one or more other NWDAF entities, a second subscription request for the analytics ID; and
receive, from the determined one or more other NWDAF entities, a first notification comprising an analytics for the analytics ID.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 5/22/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Singh et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0053348 A1) (hereinafter Singh).
Regarding claim 1, Singh discloses a method performed by an aggregator network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a fifth generation (5G) network (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0086 and 0088 disclose one or more aggregator functions (also referred to herein as ‘central NWDAFs’) may be deployed in the system 300 (e.g., within the PLMN). In some embodiments, the one or more aggregator functions (central NWDAFs), once deployed in the system 300, may provide ‘aggregator’ functionalities, which can include the combination of collected analytics data and/or analytics output. The Central NWDAF may be configured to aggregate collected analytics data and/or analytics output from different Data Sources, e.g., collected from two or more NWDAF instances. Paragraphs 0064 and 0076 disclose it will be appreciated that certain example embodiments described herein arise in the context of a telecommunications network, including but not limited to a telecommunications network that conforms to and/or otherwise incorporates aspects of a 5th generation (5G) architecture. the present disclosure descries many embodiments in the context of a 5G system (5GS)), the method comprising:
receiving, from an NWDAF consumer entity, a first subscription request comprising an analytics identifier (ID) (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0107 and 0145 disclose the NF Consumer 750 can transmit an Analytics information request to or towards the NWDAF-C 726 (Central NWDAF 726). In the Analytics information request, the NF Consumer 750 may provide one or more requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID4, along with one or more requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n). NWDAF Service Consumer sends Analytics information request to Central NWDAF 1. In the request, NF consumer provides the requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID 1, along with the requested area of interest e.g. TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n);
determining one or more other NWDAF entities to aggregate analytics, based on the received first subscription request (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0108, 0110, and 0146 disclose once the Central NWDAF 726 receives the Analytics information request from the NF Consumer 750, the Central NWDAF 726 may be configured to discover, e.g., from the NRF 724, a list of distributed NWDAF(s) that can provide the analytics output needed to generate the requested Analytics ID for the requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n. The Central NWDAF 726 may identify the appropriate NWDAFs to request the required data from, such that it can aggregate the Data to meet the request received from the NF Consumer 750. On receiving the request in step 2, Central NWDAF 1, based on previous queries or configuration, knows which other NWDAF Instances to request related Output Analytics. Alternatively, Central NWDAF 1 discovers from NRF a list of distributed NWDAF(s) that can provide output analytics needed to generate the requested Analytics ID for the requested area TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n. In some embodiments, in the discovery request sent to the NRF, the Central NWDAF may indicate “analytics metadata provisioning capability,” thus requesting that the NRF reply back with, if available, those NWDAF instance(s) which also supports “analytics metadata provisioning capability” functionalities as indicated during particular NWDAF Instance registration procedure);
transmitting, to the determined one or more other NWDAF entities, a second subscription request for the analytics ID (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0112 and 0147 disclose the Central NWDAF 726 may then finish generating and send the analytics information request to each of the Data Sources 760a,b discovered/determined as described above, e.g., to NWDAF 3 and NWDAF 4. Central NWDAF sends analytics information request to each of the Data Sources discovered/determined in step 3, i.e., to NWDAF 1 and NWDAF 2);
receiving, from the determined one or more other NWDAF entities, a first notification comprising an analytics for the analytics ID (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0116 and 0148 disclose the Data Sources 760a,b (e.g., NWDAFs3, 4) may reply to the Central NWDAF 726 with the requested Analytics output along with the other information required for the aggregation. NWDAFs reply with the requested Output Analytics along with aggregation analytics metadata information required for the aggregation);
aggregating the analytics for the analytics ID (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0116 and 0149 disclose in response to receiving the Analytics output and other information required for the aggregation, the Central NWDAF 726 may aggregate the received Analytics data. Central NWDAF aggregates the received data, i.e., generates a single Output Analytics based on the multiple Analytics information received from NWDAF 1 and NWDAF 2); and
transmitting, to the NWDAF consumer entity, a second notification comprising the aggregated analytics for the analytics ID (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0116 and 0150 disclose the Central NWDAF 726 may then reply to the NF Consumer 750 to provide the Analytics output for the requested analytics ID. Central NWDAF replies to NWDAF Service Consumer the Output Analytics for the requested analytics ID).
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Singh further discloses wherein the first subscription request further comprises analytics filter information (Figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0107 and 0145 disclose in the Analytics information request, the NF Consumer 750 may provide one or more requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID4, along with one or more requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n). In the request, NF consumer provides the requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID 1, along with the requested area of interest e.g. TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n), and
wherein the one or more other NWDAF entities to aggregate analytics are determined further based on the analytics filter information (Figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0108 and 0146 disclose once the Central NWDAF 726 receives the Analytics information request from the NF Consumer 750, the Central NWDAF 726 may be configured to discover, e.g., from the NRF 724, a list of distributed NWDAF(s) that can provide the analytics output needed to generate the requested Analytics ID for the requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n. On receiving the request in step 2, Central NWDAF 1, based on previous queries or configuration, knows which other NWDAF Instances to request related Output Analytics. Alternatively, Central NWDAF 1 discovers from NRF a list of distributed NWDAF(s) that can provide output analytics needed to generate the requested Analytics ID for the requested area TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n. In some embodiments, in the discovery request sent to the NRF, the Central NWDAF may indicate “analytics metadata provisioning capability,” thus requesting that the NRF reply back with, if available, those NWDAF instance(s) which also supports “analytics metadata provisioning capability” functionalities as indicated during particular NWDAF Instance registration procedure).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Singh further discloses wherein the analytics filter information comprises at least one tracking area identity (TAI) (Figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0107 and 0145 disclose in the Analytics information request, the NF Consumer 750 may provide one or more requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID4, along with one or more requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n). In the request, NF consumer provides the requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID 1, along with the requested area of interest e.g. TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Singh further discloses wherein the one or more other NWDAF entities to aggregate analytics are determined further based on queries to a network repository function (NRF) (Figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0108 and 0146 disclose once the Central NWDAF 726 receives the Analytics information request from the NF Consumer 750, the Central NWDAF 726 may be configured to discover, e.g., from the NRF 724, a list of distributed NWDAF(s) that can provide the analytics output needed to generate the requested Analytics ID for the requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n. On receiving the request in step 2, Central NWDAF 1, based on previous queries or configuration, knows which other NWDAF Instances to request related Output Analytics. Alternatively, Central NWDAF 1 discovers from NRF a list of distributed NWDAF(s) that can provide output analytics needed to generate the requested Analytics ID for the requested area TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n. In some embodiments, in the discovery request sent to the NRF, the Central NWDAF may indicate “analytics metadata provisioning capability,” thus requesting that the NRF reply back with, if available, those NWDAF instance(s) which also supports “analytics metadata provisioning capability” functionalities as indicated during particular NWDAF Instance registration procedure).
Regarding claim 5, Singh discloses a n aggregator network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity in a fifth generation (5G) network (Figure 5 and paragraphs 0086 and 0088 disclose one or more aggregator functions (also referred to herein as ‘central NWDAFs’) may be deployed in the system 300 (e.g., within the PLMN). In some embodiments, the one or more aggregator functions (central NWDAFs), once deployed in the system 300, may provide ‘aggregator’ functionalities, which can include the combination of collected analytics data and/or analytics output. The Central NWDAF may be configured to aggregate collected analytics data and/or analytics output from different Data Sources, e.g., collected from two or more NWDAF instances. Paragraphs 0064 and 0076 disclose it will be appreciated that certain example embodiments described herein arise in the context of a telecommunications network, including but not limited to a telecommunications network that conforms to and/or otherwise incorporates aspects of a 5th generation (5G) architecture. the present disclosure descries many embodiments in the context of a 5G system (5GS)), the aggregator NWDAF entity comprising:
a transceiver; and a controller coupled to the transceiver (Figure 4 and 10 and paragraph 0117 disclose a flowchart of the operations of an example method 10 performed by an example apparatus 200 which, in one embodiment, may be embodied by a computer program product comprising computer program code executed by the processor 202. As shown in block 11, apparatus 200 of this example embodiment incudes means, such as the processor 202, the memory 204, the communication interface 206 or the like, for causing receiving, from a network function consumer, in a communications system, an analytics request, said analytics request comprising one or more analytics identifications), and configured to:
receive, from an NWDAF consumer entity, a first subscription request comprising an analytics identifier (ID) (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0107 and 0145 disclose the NF Consumer 750 can transmit an Analytics information request to or towards the NWDAF-C 726 (Central NWDAF 726). In the Analytics information request, the NF Consumer 750 may provide one or more requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID4, along with one or more requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n). NWDAF Service Consumer sends Analytics information request to Central NWDAF 1. In the request, NF consumer provides the requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID 1, along with the requested area of interest e.g. TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n),
determine one or more other NWDAF entities to aggregate analytics, based on the received first subscription request (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0108, 0110, and 0146 disclose once the Central NWDAF 726 receives the Analytics information request from the NF Consumer 750, the Central NWDAF 726 may be configured to discover, e.g., from the NRF 724, a list of distributed NWDAF(s) that can provide the analytics output needed to generate the requested Analytics ID for the requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n. The Central NWDAF 726 may identify the appropriate NWDAFs to request the required data from, such that it can aggregate the Data to meet the request received from the NF Consumer 750. On receiving the request in step 2, Central NWDAF 1, based on previous queries or configuration, knows which other NWDAF Instances to request related Output Analytics. Alternatively, Central NWDAF 1 discovers from NRF a list of distributed NWDAF(s) that can provide output analytics needed to generate the requested Analytics ID for the requested area TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n. In some embodiments, in the discovery request sent to the NRF, the Central NWDAF may indicate “analytics metadata provisioning capability,” thus requesting that the NRF reply back with, if available, those NWDAF instance(s) which also supports “analytics metadata provisioning capability” functionalities as indicated during particular NWDAF Instance registration procedure),
transmit, to the determined one or more other NWDAF entities, a second subscription request for the analytics ID (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0112 and 0147 disclose the Central NWDAF 726 may then finish generating and send the analytics information request to each of the Data Sources 760a,b discovered/determined as described above, e.g., to NWDAF 3 and NWDAF 4. Central NWDAF sends analytics information request to each of the Data Sources discovered/determined in step 3, i.e., to NWDAF 1 and NWDAF 2),
receive, from the determined one or more other NWDAF entities, a first notification comprising an analytics for the analytics ID (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0116 and 0148 disclose the Data Sources 760a,b (e.g., NWDAFs3, 4) may reply to the Central NWDAF 726 with the requested Analytics output along with the other information required for the aggregation. NWDAFs reply with the requested Output Analytics along with aggregation analytics metadata information required for the aggregation),
aggregate the analytics for the analytics ID (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0116 and 0149 disclose in response to receiving the Analytics output and other information required for the aggregation, the Central NWDAF 726 may aggregate the received Analytics data. Central NWDAF aggregates the received data, i.e., generates a single Output Analytics based on the multiple Analytics information received from NWDAF 1 and NWDAF 2), and
transmit, to the NWDAF consumer entity, a second notification comprising the aggregated analytics for the analytics ID (Figure 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0116 and 0150 disclose the Central NWDAF 726 may then reply to the NF Consumer 750 to provide the Analytics output for the requested analytics ID. Central NWDAF replies to NWDAF Service Consumer the Output Analytics for the requested analytics ID).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Singh further discloses wherein the first subscription request further comprises analytics filter information (Figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0107 and 0145 disclose in the Analytics information request, the NF Consumer 750 may provide one or more requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID4, along with one or more requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n). In the request, NF consumer provides the requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID 1, along with the requested area of interest e.g. TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n).
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Singh further discloses wherein the analytics filter information comprises at least one tracking area identity (TAI) (Figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0107 and 0145 disclose in the Analytics information request, the NF Consumer 750 may provide one or more requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID4, along with one or more requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n). In the request, NF consumer provides the requested Analytics ID(s), e.g. UE mobility analytics with Analytics ID 1, along with the requested area of interest e.g. TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n).
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 5 above, Singh further discloses wherein the one or more other NWDAF entities to aggregate analytics are determined further based on queries to a network repository function (NRF) (Figures 9 and 15 and paragraphs 0108 and 0146 disclose once the Central NWDAF 726 receives the Analytics information request from the NF Consumer 750, the Central NWDAF 726 may be configured to discover, e.g., from the NRF 724, a list of distributed NWDAF(s) that can provide the analytics output needed to generate the requested Analytics ID for the requested Area(s) of Interest, e.g., TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n. On receiving the request in step 2, Central NWDAF 1, based on previous queries or configuration, knows which other NWDAF Instances to request related Output Analytics. Alternatively, Central NWDAF 1 discovers from NRF a list of distributed NWDAF(s) that can provide output analytics needed to generate the requested Analytics ID for the requested area TAI-1, TAI-2, TAI-n. In some embodiments, in the discovery request sent to the NRF, the Central NWDAF may indicate “analytics metadata provisioning capability,” thus requesting that the NRF reply back with, if available, those NWDAF instance(s) which also supports “analytics metadata provisioning capability” functionalities as indicated during particular NWDAF Instance registration procedure).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 4 and 5 in the Remarks, Applicant argues that GB 2004073.9 provides adequate support and enablement for the limitations in contention in the paragraph at page 2, line 36 to page 3, line 9 and the paragraphs at page 7, lines 22-26.
While the cited paragraphs disclose some of the elements of independent claims 1 and 5, not all of the elements are disclosed. Namely, the paragraphs do not disclose an aggregator NWDAF determining one or more other NWDAF entities to aggregate analytics, based on the received first subscription request; transmitting, to the determined one or more other NWDAF entities, a second subscription request for the analytics ID; or receiving, from the determined one or more other NWDAF entities, a first notification comprising an analytics for the analytics ID. It appears as though the NWDAF(j) of GB 2004073.9 most closely corresponds to the aggregator NWDAF of Applicant’s claims. NWDAF(j) does not appear to perform any determining step based on the received subscription request for determining one or more other NWDAF entities to aggregate analytics. Although GB 2004073.9 does disclose NWDAF(j) subscribing to all NWDAF(i)s, GB 2004073.9 does not appear to disclose NWDAF(j) transmitting a subscription request specifically to NWDAF entities which it determined based on the received first subscription request. Additionally, although GB 2004073.9 does disclose NWDAF(i)s notifying with analytics specific parameters per analytics ID in the set of AnalyticslDs(i) after the NWDAF(j) subscribing to all NWDAF(i)s, GB 2004073.9 does not appear to disclose NWDAF(j) receiving analytics specifically to NWDAF entities which it determined based on the received first subscription request.
On pages 4 and 5 in the Remarks, Applicant argues that Singh does not qualify as prior art, since Singh claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application Serial. No. 63/064,852, which was filed on August 12, 2020. As such, Singh is later than the application date of GB 2004073.9, which was filed March 20, 2020, to which the present application claims priority. As such, the rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § l 02(a)(2) is improper.
As discussed above, Applicant’s GB 2004073.9 does not support the current wording of the independent claims and thus Applicant does not receive the benefit of the earlier filing date and Singh does qualify as prior art.
Consequently, in view of the above reasons and having addressed each of Applicant’s arguments, the previous rejection is maintained and made FINAL by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642