Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species I in the reply filed on 12/19/25 is acknowledged. The examiner agrees with applicant’s argument and withdraw the restriction requirement filed on 12/8/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the first orientation" in line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6, line 3, “chain” should be changed to ---chair--- for clarification.
Claim 19, line 3, “chain” should be changed to ---chair--- for clarification.
Claim 20 is rejected as depending on rejected claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 11, 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2010/0237666 to Buckavich et al.
Buckavich et al. teaches a convertible toddler chair and standing platform comprising a frame assembly/foldable frame (10) having a front leg (69( and a rear leg (68). The front and rear legs are being pivotally connected (70) and configured to enable movement of the legs between folded and unfolded arrangements. A platform panel (26) supported by the frame assembly and movable between a first and a second orientation as the frame assembly is moved. A seat assembly (22 and 25) disposed above the platform and movably connected to the frame assembly by an elevating frame (31). The seat assembly including a seating panel (25) and a pivotally coupled backrest panel (22). Wherein a movement of the elevating frame causing the pivoting movement of the seating panel between a seating configuration and a standing configuration (see figures 6-8). The seating panel being parallel to the platform panel when in the seating configuration. The toddler chair and standing platform includes a platform support link (61, 63), wherein the platform panel is pivotally connected to the front leg and the support link is pivotally connected at a first end thereof to the rear leg and at a second end thereof to the platform panel. Wherein the platform panel and the platform support link operably connect the front and rear legs to coordinate movement of the legs and the platform between folded and unfolded positions. Wherein the platform support link connection to the rear leg includes a stop (12) to limit movement of the support link as the frame is moved toward the unfolded arrangement. The seat assembly further comprises a seat link (45, 47) interconnecting the seating panel and the frame assembly. The seat link moving the seating panel toward the standing configuration as the elevating frame is moved in a first direction. The seat link moving the seating panel toward the seating configuration as the elevating frame is moved in a second direction opposite to the first direction. The seat link is pivotally connected at a first end thereof to the seating panel and a second end thereof to the frame assembly. Wherein the elevating frame further comprises a releasable lock (14) configured to retain the elevating frame in at least a first position corresponding to the standing configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buckavich et al. in view of US Patent # 9,986,850 to Haut et al.
Buckavich et al. teaches the toddler chair and standing platform but fails to teach an infant seat selectively connectable to the elevating frame. Haut et al. teaches the infant seat (106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the infant seat to Buckavich et al.’s toddler chair and standing platform as taught by Haut et al. to provide “easy to operate, and can be converted to multiple configuration according to the child’s age and needs” (column 1, lines 43-45 in Haut et al.’s invention).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-10 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1-5 especially with “wherein the first and second end pivoting connections of the platform support link are positioned in an overcenter locking relationship when the platform is in the first orientation.”
Regarding claim 6, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1-4 and 6 especially with “wherein the toddler chair and standing platform is supportable on a surface by the front leg and the rearward end when the frame assembly is in the folded arrangement”.
Regarding claim 9, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1 and 7-9 especially with “wherein the first and second end pivoting connections of the seat link are positioned in an overcenter locking relationship when the seating panel is in the standing configuration.”
Regarding claim 10, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1 and 10 especially with “wherein the elevating frame comprising a telescoping connection with the front leg”.
Regarding claim 16, the prior arts fails to teach all of the limitation from claims 13-16 especially with “wherein the first and second end pivoting connections of the seat link are positioned in an overcenter locking relationship when the seating panel is in the standing configuration.”
Regarding claim 17, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1, 14 and 17 especially with “wherein the elevating frame comprising a telescoping connection with the front leg”.
Regarding claims 19-20, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 13 and 18-19 especially with “wherein the toddler chair and standing platform is supportable on a surface by the front leg and the rearward end when the frame assembly is in the folded arrangement”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Patent Application Publication # 2023/0146888 to Dziak et al.
US Patent # 1,738,339 to Whtting et al.
The cited references above teach the foldable toddler chair.
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK
Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636 3/5/26