DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on April 28, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3, 18, and 20 have been amended. Claim 2 was previously cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on April 28, 2026 in response to the Non-Final Office Action dated August 25, 2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, in page 12 of the Remarks, “While Moon appears to describe confirming whether a user is located in an indoor area, Moon simply fails to disclose determining whether the user is using the indoor area in which the user is located based on the user being in the indoor area being greater than or equal to a first reference time, as in the claims. In response to the above assertion, on page 3 of the Office Action dated March 5, 2026, the Office states that Moon's description in paragraph [0097] of "[i]f the user is not detected in any device in the indoor area for a threshold time after the user is detected in an entrance, the processor 290 may confirm that the user is not located in the indoor area," as reading on the limitation of determining whether a user stays in the first location for at threshold time. Applicant respectfully disagrees. As reflected in FIG. 5, the "entrance" 503 is not located within a room of the house, but instead is merely an entrance (e.g., doorway) to enter the house. As such, the user has not entered a space of the house when detected at the entrance”.
In response, user detection starting point is not limited to the entrance. Rather any one of the devices in the different rooms in the indoor area can used as the starting point for the user detection as explained in paragraph 0074. Therefore, the threshold time of Moon is the duration of the user’s presence in a room of the indoor area.
Applicant argues, in page 12 of the Remarks, “Further, confirming that a user is not located in the indoor area or house does not correspond to the features of detecting a user entering a space within the house if the user stays in the space within the house for a threshold amount of time.”.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim includes determining user is using the space if the user stays for a reference time. Moon discloses the starting point of detection can be a room and it is determined user left the room of user presence is not detected after threshold amount of time. Another way to put it is Moon determines user is in the room if user presence is detected after the threshold time.
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) [ amended limitations of claim 1 and claim 3] have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Note about the Format of 35 U.S.C. 102/103 Rejections
Generally, limitations of a claim are reproduced identically and followed by examiner’s explanation with citation from prior art in Italic enclosed by a parenthesis, (), for each limitation. In examiner’s explanation, the mapping of the key elements of a limitation to the disclosed elements of prior art is shown by stating the disclosed element immediately followed by the claimed element inside a parenthesis. Specific quotation from prior art is delineated with quotation mark, ““. If primary art fails to teach a limitation or part of the limitation, the limitation or the part of the limitation is placed inside double square brackets, [[]], for better understandability, and appropriate secondary art(s) is/are applied later addressing the deficiency of the primary art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20170295469 A1), hereinafter, Moon, in view of Smith et al. (US 20210055011 A1), hereinafter, Smith.
Regarding claim 1:
Moon teaches:
A home appliance control method comprising (Fig. 8):
in response to detecting a user in a first space among a plurality of spaces within a home, determining that the user is using the first space based on a duration of a first usage time for which the user stays in the first space being greater than or equal to a first reference time, [[wherein the first reference time is a predefined amount of time for which the first space among the plurality of spaces is predicted to be used by the user, wherein the predefined amount of time is determined based on a usage prediction time of the first space]] (paragraph 0093 discloses detecting a user in a first location (first space) as stated “Referring to FIG. 8, in step 801, the processor 290 may obtain a user detection signal. In step 803, the processor 290 may confirm a first location of a user from the user detection signal obtained in step 801”. Fig. 5 shows plurality of locations/area within a home. Paragraph 0097 discloses in response to the detection of the of user at the entrace/room, determining whether user stays (using) in the first location for a threshold time (first reference time) as stated “If the user is not detected in any device in the indoor area for a threshold time after the user is detected in an entrance, the processor 290 may confirm that the user is not located in the indoor area”. Paragraph 0074 discloses any one of the devices in the different rooms in the indoor area can used as the starting point for the user detection. Therefore, the threshold time of Moon is the duration of the user’s presence in a room of the indoor area);
in response to determining that the user is using the first space, determining a second space predicted to be used next by the user among the plurality of spaces within the home based on user routine information including a spatial movement prediction path of the user predicted in advance for the plurality of spaces within the home; and controlling an operation of at least one home appliance of the second space (paragraph 0094 discloses after confirming the user in the first location, predicting a second location (second space) based on the based on the expected movement path as stated “Upon confirming the first location of the user, the processor 290 may perform step 805. In step 805, the processor 290 may predict a second location of the user. In step 805, the processor 290 may confirm an expected movement path of the user on a basis of a relational model or probability model stored in the memory 270. The processor 290 may predict the second location to which the user may move on a basis of the first location from the expected movement path confirmed by the relational model or probability model”. Paragraph 0069 discloses the expected movement path is generated based on user routine); and
controlling an operation of at least one home appliance of the second space, [[wherein a reference time is defined for each space of the plurality of spaces within the home for determining whether the user is using a space where the user is located within the home]] (paragprhe 0095 discloses providing a signal to a device as stated “In step 807, the processor 290 may provide a signal to a device corresponding to the predicted second location.”. Paragraph 0032 discloses the device is home appliance. Paragroup 0104 discloses the signal is to control the device of the second location).
Moon does not teach wherein the first reference time is a predefined amount of time for which the first space among the plurality of spaces is predicted to be used by the user, wherein the predefined amount of time is determined based on a usage prediction time of the first space; wherein a reference time is defined for each space of the plurality of spaces within the home for determining whether the user is using a space where the user is located within the home.
Smith teaches wherein the first reference time is a predefined amount of time for which the first space among the plurality of spaces is predicted to be used by the user, wherein the predefined amount of time is determined based on a usage prediction time of the first space; wherein a reference time is defined for each space of the plurality of spaces within the home for determining whether the user is using a space where the user is located within the home (paragraphs 0048 and 0049 discloses predicting amount of times a user would stay in different rooms based on the history and electronic calendar of the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon to incorporate the teaching of Smith about discloses predicting amount of times a user would stay in different rooms based on the history and electronic calendar of the user. Such modification would allow Moon threshold time to set to the predicted time of stay as per the user’s calendar and determining user is using the room if user stays in the room for the scheduled time. One would be motivated to do that to improve the usability of a building for different users (see at least paragraph 0002 of Smith).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as shown above.
Moon does not teach wherein the first reference time is a value obtained by multiplying a usage prediction time of the first space included in the user routine information by a first reference ratio, and wherein the first reference ratio is a value between 0.5 and 1.
Smith teaches wherein the first reference time is a value obtained by multiplying a usage prediction time of the first space included in the user routine information by a first reference ratio, and wherein the first reference ratio is a value between 0.5 and 1 (paragraphs 0048 and 0049 predicting amount of times a user would stay as per electronic calendar).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon to incorporate the teaching of Smith about predicting amount of times a user would stay as per electronic calendar. One would be motivated to do that to improve the usability of a building for different users (see at least paragraph 0002 of Smith).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches wherein the user routine information includes a spatial movement order and usage prediction time information for each space with of the plurality of spaces within the home (see at least Figs. 7A-7C showing generation of probability model based on the user spatial movement in to different locations).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches wherein the user routine information is defined according to at least one of weather, season, or day of week (paragraph 0090 discloses routine information of the day of the week states “The processor 290 may accumulate the user's movement detected in the electronic device 200, the first device 100, and the second device 300, which are provided in the living room, the bedroom, and the kitchen, respectively, per time or day of week.”).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches wherein the determining of whether the user is using the first space comprises based on detecting a wake-up event in which the user wakes up, counting the duration of the first usage time of the user in the first space (paragraph 0148 discloses a wake-up event).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 7 as shown above.
Moon further teaches further comprising: detecting the wake-up event based on at least one of wake-up alarm information of the user, a sensor detection value of a sensor arranged in a bed of the user, or a sensor detection value of a detection sensor of a home appliance arranged in the first space (paragraph 0148 discloses wake-up alarm “Referring to FIGS. 20A, 20B, and 20C, if the information service providing signal obtained in step 1701 of FIG. 17 is a signal related to a wake-up call alarm of a portable device or a wearable device of a user, the processor 290 may provide the user's schedule such as “There is a meeting at 9 AM today” to a device present in a first location (e.g., a bedroom) as voice data.”).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches wherein the spatial movement prediction path of the user corresponds to a prediction path between two or more spaces including the first space and the second space, wherein the first space corresponds to a current space in which the user is currently detected, and the second space corresponds to a space predicted to be used after the current space, and wherein the determining of the second space stops in response to the user deviating from the spatial movement prediction path of the user routine information (paragraph 0068 and 0069 discloses predicting the probability of moving to a second location from a first location based on the accumulated movement path of the user. Paragraph 0071 and 0081 discloses modifying relational model based on current inputs of the user. Paragraph 0141 discloses stop controlling the device of the second location if the user’s movement deviates from the predicted movement path to the second location ).
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches further comprising: detecting a user in the first space by using a sensor detection value of a detection sensor of a home appliance arranged in the first space (paragraph 0033 discloses user is detected in location by using a detention sensor of the device in the corresponding location).
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches further comprising: identifying the user by using a detection value of a wearable device worn by the user, wherein the determining of the second space comprises determining the second space based on the user routine information for the user (see at least paragraph 0059 discloses user scheduling information provided by a wearable device. Also see paragraph 0097).
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches further comprising: identifying the user by using an image captured by a first camera arranged in the first space, wherein the determining of the second space comprises determining the second space based on the user routine information for the user (paragraph 0040-0041 discloses detecting user using sensor which is camera. Paragraph 0094 discloses when the is detected in the first location, predicting a second location (second space) based on the based on the expected movement path).
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches wherein the at least one home appliance comprises an air conditioner (paragraph 0029 discloses the device is air conditioner as stated “According to certain embodiments, the electronic device may include, for example, at least one of a television (TV), a digital video disk (DVD) player, an audio player, a refrigerator, an air conditioner, a cleaner, an oven, a microwave oven, a washing machine, an air purifier, a set-top box, a home automation control panel, a security control panel, a TV box (e.g., Samsung HomeSync®, Apple TV®, or Google TV™), a game console (e.g., Xbox®, PlayStation®), an electronic dictionary, an electronic key, a camcorder, and an electronic picture frame.”).
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches wherein the at least one home appliance comprises a cooking appliance (paragraph 0029 discloses the device is a oven).
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches wherein the at least one home appliance comprises at least one of a clothing care device or a shoe care device (paragraph 0029 discloses the device is a washing machine).
As to claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon further teaches further comprising: storing information of the at least one home appliance of the second space which is matched with the second space (paragprhe 0103 discloses a device in the second location).
Regarding claim 18:
A home appliance comprising: communication module configured to communicate with at least one home appliance arranged in a plurality of spaces within a home (. Fig. 1 shows first device which is a home appliance as described in paragraph 0029 and 0032. Fig. 2 shows communication unit 210. Fig. 5 shows plurality of locations/area within a home);
a detection sensor configured to detect a user in a space among the plurality of spaces within the home; memory storing at least one instruction (Fig. 2 shows sensor unit 220. Fig. 5 and paragraph 0073 discloses sensors are configured to detect user in different locations); and
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the communication module, the detection sensor, and the memory, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the home appliance to (Fig. 2 shows processor 290):
in response to detecting a the user in a first space among the plurality of spaces within the home by using a sensor detection value of the detection sensor, determine that the user is using the first space based on a duration of a first usage time for which the user stays in the first space being greater than or equal to a reference time,[[wherein the reference time is a predefined amount of time for which the first space among the plurality of spaces is predicted to be used by the user, wherein the predefined amount of time is determined based on a usage prediction time of the first space]] (paragraph 0093 discloses detecting a user in a first location (first space) as stated “Referring to FIG. 8, in step 801, the processor 290 may obtain a user detection signal. In step 803, the processor 290 may confirm a first location of a user from the user detection signal obtained in step 801”. Fig. 5 shows plurality of locations/area within a home. Paragraph 0097 discloses in response to the detection of the of user at the entrance, determining whether user stays (using) in the first location for a threshold time (first reference time) as stated “If the user is not detected in any device in the indoor area for a threshold time after the user is detected in an entrance, the processor 290 may confirm that the user is not located in the indoor area”),
in response to determining that the user is using the first space, determine a second space predicted to be used next by the user among the plurality of spaces within the home based on user routine information including a spatial movement prediction path of the user predicted in advance for the plurality of spaces within the home (paragraph 0094 discloses after confirming the user in the first location, predicting a second location (second space) based on the based on the expected movement path as stated “Upon confirming the first location of the user, the processor 290 may perform step 805. In step 805, the processor 290 may predict a second location of the user. In step 805, the processor 290 may confirm an expected movement path of the user on a basis of a relational model or probability model stored in the memory 270. The processor 290 may predict the second location to which the user may move on a basis of the first location from the expected movement path confirmed by the relational model or probability model”. Paragraph 0069 discloses the expected movement path is generated based on user routine), and
control an operation of at least one home appliance of the second space and [[wherein a reference time is defined for each space of the plurality of spaces within the home for determining whether the user is using a space where the user is located within the home]] (paragraph 0095 discloses providing a signal to a device as stated “In step 807, the processor 290 may provide a signal to a device corresponding to the predicted second location.”. Paragraph 0032 discloses the device is home appliance. Paragroup 0104 discloses the signal is to control the device of the second location).
Moon does not teach wherein the reference time is a predefined amount of time for which the first space among the plurality of spaces is predicted to be used by the user, wherein the predefined amount of time is determined based on a usage prediction time of the first space; wherein a reference time is defined for each space of the plurality of spaces within the home for determining whether the user is using a space where the user is located within the home.
Smith teaches wherein the reference time is a predefined amount of time for which the first space among the plurality of spaces is predicted to be used by the user, wherein the predefined amount of time is determined based on a usage prediction time of the first space; wherein a reference time is defined for each space of the plurality of spaces within the home for determining whether the user is using a space where the user is located within the home (paragraphs 0048 and 0049 discloses predicting amount of times a user would stay in different rooms based on the history and electronic calendar of the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon to incorporate the teaching of Smith about discloses predicting amount of times a user would stay in different rooms based on the history and electronic calendar of the user. Such modification would allow Moon threshold time to set to the predicted time of stay as per the user’s calendar and determining user is using the room if user stays in the room for the scheduled time. One would be motivated to do that to improve the usability of a building for different users (see at least paragraph 0002 of Smith).
As to claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 18 as shown above.
Moon further teaches wherein the home appliance corresponds to at least one of a home appliance arranged in the first space or a home appliance arranged in the second space (Fig. 5 show plurality of home appliance in different areas as explained in paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is directed towards computer-readable recording medium storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of home appliance individually or collectively, cause the home appliance to perform the method of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon in view of Xie et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20160170390 A1), hereinafter, Xie.
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Moon in view of Smith teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Moon does not teach wherein the user routine information includes information that is machine-learned by using training data including a duration of usage time of the user and space usage order of the plurality of spaces within the home.
Xie teaches wherein the user routine information includes information that is machine-learned by using training data including a duration of usage time of the user and space usage order of the plurality of spaces within the home (paragraph 0185 discloses user behavior habit is obtained using machine leaning by using log data as the training data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Moon to incorporate the teaching of Xie about obtaining behavior habit using machine leaning. One would be motivated to do use machine learning to efficiently predict user habit using large volume of data (see at least paragraph 0185 of Xie).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
June 4, 2026
/KAMAL M HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444