DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 1/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/14/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/21/2024, 12/19/2024 and 11/03/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “1a(1)” in Figs. 1-4.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a position adjusting device” in claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 10,853,017; hereinafter “Park”) in view of Choi et al. (US 9,854,701; hereinafter “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a display apparatus (Figs. 1-7) comprising:
a first display unit (such as 10L, Fig. 7) comprising a first connector (10d, Fig. 7);
a second display unit (such as 10R, Fig. 7) disposed adjacent to one side of the first display unit, the second display unit comprising a second connector (10e, Fig. 7);
a connection bracket (same as 13, Fig. 7) configured to be mounted to the first display unit and the second display unit (to be mounted, see dashed line in Figs. 6-7), respectively, the connection bracket comprising:
a third connector (13d, Fig. 6) configured to be electrically connectable to the first connector; and
a fourth connector (13e, Fig. 6) configured to be electrically connectable the second connector.
Park does not teach a position adjusting device configured to move at least one of the first display unit and the second display unit to adjust a mounting position of the at least one of the first display unit and the second display unit while the connection bracket is mounted to the first display unit and the second display unit so that the first connector is connected to the third connector and the second connector is connected to the fourth connector. However, Choi teaches a position adjusting device (125, 126, Figs. 9-10) configured to move at least one of a display units (plurality of 110, Figs. 3, 5) to adjust a mounting position of the display unit while a connection bracket (122, Figs. 3, 9-10) is mounted to the display unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a position adjusting device configured to move at least one of the first display unit and the second display unit to adjust a mounting position of the at least one of the first display unit and the second display unit while the connection bracket is mounted to the first display unit and the second display unit so that the first connector is connected to the third connector and the second connector is connected to the fourth connector (note that four connectors were already taught in Park) in Park, as taught by Choi, in order easily adjust and align the two displays using a position adjusting device.
Regarding claim 2, Park in view of Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1. Park does not teach the position adjusting device is disposed on the connection bracket; and the position adjusting device is configured to be slidable at least one of the third connector connected to the first connector and the fourth connector connected to the second connector. However, Choi further teaches the position adjusting device (125, 126, Figs. 9-10) is disposed on the connection bracket (122, Figs. 3, 9-10); and the position adjusting device is configured to slide the connection bracket (see slide motion in Figs. 9-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the position adjusting device is disposed on the connection bracket; and the position adjusting device is configured to be slidable at least one of the third connector connected to the first connector and the fourth connector connected to the second connector (note modifying the connection bracket of Park with the position adjusting device of Choi would allow the connectors to slide and connect together) in Park in view of Choi, as taught by Choi, in order to easily adjust and align the two displays using the position adjusting device.
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Choi teaches the display apparatus of claim 1. Park does not teach wherein the position adjusting device is configured to convert a rotational movement caused by a rotational force applied to the position adjusting device, into a linear movement for at least one of the display units in order to adjust the mounting position of the at least one of the first display unit and the second display unit. However, Choi further teaches the position adjusting device (125, 126, Figs. 9-10) is configured to convert a rotational movement (see rotational arrows in Figs. 9 and 10) caused by a rotational force (rotational force on 126, Figs. 9-10) applied to the position adjusting device, into a linear movement (see linear arrows in Figs. 9 and 10) for at least one of the display units in order to adjust the mounting position of the at least one of the first display unit and the second display unit (plurality of 110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wherein the position adjusting device is configured to convert a rotational movement caused by a rotational force applied to the position adjusting device, into a linear movement for at least one of the display units in order to adjust the mounting position of the at least one of the first display unit and the second display unit in Park in view of Choi, as taught by Choi, in order to easily adjust and align the plurality of displays using the position adjusting device
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claims 4 and 6, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the display apparatus of claim 4, in particular, wherein the position adjusting device comprises: a guide block fixed to the third connector within the connection bracket; and a guide screw rotatably coupled to the guide block, and configured to move the guide block in an up and down direction by rotating.
Re claim 5, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the display apparatus of claim 5, in particular, wherein the position adjusting device comprises: a guide block fixed to the fourth connector within the connection bracket; a guide screw rotatably coupled to the guide block and configured to move the guide block in an up and down direction by rotating.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841