This action is responsive to the following communications: arguments filed on July 1, 2026.
This application has been examined. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Independent claim 1 is rejected over Blair et al. (“Blair”) (US No. 6,700,351) in view of Milton (“Milton”) (US No. 7,591,383), and further in view of Crutchfield (“Crutchfield”) (US No. 6,964,576).
In order to expedite and avoid piecemeal prosecution, the following rejection is made to the extent that the claims are understood, by considering those elements which are understood and interpreting their function in a manner which is consistent with the recited goals of the claims, and then applying the best available art.
The examiner relies on the entire teachings of Blair, Crutchfield, and Milton references; the applicant should carefully consider the entire teachings of the above-mentioned references to better understand the examiner’s position.
In regard to claim 1, Blair et al. disclose a cabinet mounted computing system comprising: a rack mounting system; at least one computing device mounted to the rack mounting system (as shown in Fig. 1, which is reproduced below for ease of reference and convenience, Blair discloses a modular UPS built in a frame 1 of module bays that provides uninterruptible power to computing equipment (computer networks, servers, telecommunications equipment). Mounting both the UPS and the powered computing device(s) in a common rack mounting system is conventional, see col. 2:27-3:27);
and at least one uninterruptible power supply device mounted to the rack mounting system; wherein the at least one uninterruptible power supply device is configured to provide electrical power to the at least one computing device (in Blair, col. 3:28-4:57: teaches the modular UPS provides conditioned, uninterruptible output power to the connected computing load (power modules 4 provide the UPS output (Figure 2); frame 1 is rack-form); wherein the at least one uninterruptible power supply device includes at least one hot swappable module coupled thereto (in Blair, teaches the frame 1 houses hot-swappable power modules 4 and battery modules 5 that are inserted into and removed from the module bays without powering down the load (modular, user-maintainable design). This is the claimed hot swappable module of the UPS. See col. 3:28-4:57), and a display module rotatably coupled thereto (in Blair, a user interface module 6 (display) is located above the power/battery module bays, from which the user checks UPS status. See col. 3:28-4:57). The display of Blair is not described as rotatably coupled. In the same field of endeavor, Milton teach the display module rotatably coupled thereto (as shown in Fig. 2E, which is reproduced below for ease of reference and convenience, Milton discloses a display module (display 28) that is rotatably coupled to a rack-mounted device (slid from slot 26 and rotated/tilted relative to rack 10; FIGS. 2A–2E), supplying “rotatably coupled”).
Neither Blair nor Milton expressly configures the display to gate module removal. In the same field of endeavor, Crutchfield teaches wherein the display module is configured to selectively block and selectively allow removal of the at least one hot swappable module (as shown in Fig. 3, which is reproduced below for ease of reference and convenience, Crutchfield supplies this: a housing has a swappable component and a pivotable door/cover that, depending on its position, selectively blocks access to and removal of the swappable component and selectively allows it (Crutchfield, claims 1, 10-16: “a door on said housing providing access to said swappable component”; “door is pivotable”; the door blocks removal in one position and allows it in another. See col. 2:61-3:23).
Blair discloses the rack-form modular UPS with hot-swappable power/battery modules and a status display, but does not describe the display as rotatably coupled or as gating removal of a module. Milton supplies a display module rotatably coupled to a rack-mounted device. The Crutchfield supplies a pivotable front cover that selectively blocks and allows removal of a swappable module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to (i) mount Blair UPS display for rotation as taught by Milton, so it can be viewed from varying angles and stowed, and (ii) configure that rotatable display/cover to selectively block and allow removal of the hot-swappable module(s) as taught by Crutchfield, in order to guard against accidental or unauthorized removal of a live power/battery module while still permitting intentional servicing. Each is a combination of known elements performing their established functions to yield a predictable result (KSR; MPEP 2143(A)/(G)), with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regard to claims 2, 6, 15, 20, neither Blair nor Milton nor Crutchfield expressly teaches a removable front bezel configured to selectively cover the at least one hot swappable module and at least a portion of the display module. However a removable front bezel/cover over the modules and a portion of the display is conventional in rack UPS/equipment (Official Notice; corroborated by Blair’s removable user-interface/panel structure).
Claims 3-5, 14 Blair teaches first/second module (in Blair, a modular UPS built in a frame 1 of module bays that provides uninterruptible power to computing equipment (computer networks, servers, telecommunications equipment). Mounting both the UPS and the powered computing device(s) in a common rack mounting system is conventional, see col. 2:27-3:27). Blair does not expressly disclose position-dependent block/allow. Crutchfield expressly discloses position-dependent block/allow (in Crutchfield supplies this: a housing has a swappable component and a pivotable door/cover that, depending on its position, selectively blocks access to and removal of the swappable component and selectively allows it (Crutchfield, claims 1, 10–16: “a door on said housing providing access to said swappable component”; “door is pivotable”; the door blocks removal in one position and allows it in another. See col. 2:61-3:23). Same rationale/motivation as claim 1.
Claim 13 Blair teaches the UPS device: housing; frame; first and second hot swappable modules removably disposed within the housing; display module rotatably coupled to the frame that selectively blocks removal of one module and allows removal of the other in a first position, and reverses in a second position (as shown in Fig. 1, which is reproduced below for ease of reference and convenience, Blair supplies the housing (frame 1), the frame/bay structure, and the first and second hot-swappable modules (power module 4 and battery module 5, or two like modules) removably disposed within the housing. See 3:28-4:57).
The display of Blair is not described as rotatably coupled. In the same field of endeavor, Milton teach the display module rotatably coupled thereto (as shown in Fig. 2E, which is reproduced below for ease of reference and convenience, Milton discloses a display module (display 28) that is rotatably coupled to a rack-mounted device (slid from slot 26 and rotated/tilted relative to rack 10; FIGS. 2A–2E), supplying “rotatably coupled”).
Neither Blair nor Milton expressly configures the display to gate module removal. In the same field of endeavor, Crutchfield teaches wherein the display module is configured to selectively block and selectively allow removal of the at least one hot swappable module (as shown in Fig. 1, which is reproduced below for ease of reference and convenience, Crutchfield supplies this: a housing has a swappable component and a pivotable door/cover that, depending on its position, selectively blocks access to and removal of the swappable component and selectively allows it (Crutchfield, claims 1, 10-16: “a door on said housing providing access to said swappable component”; “door is pivotable”; the door blocks removal in one position and allows it in another). The two-position, two-module selectivity is an obvious consequence of positioning a single rotatable display/cover in front of two side-by-side modules (blocking one and exposing the other depending on rotational position. See col. 2:61-3:23).
The two-position, two-module selectivity is an obvious consequence of positioning a single rotatable display/cover in front of two side-by-side modules (blocking one and exposing the other depending on rotational position). Blair discloses the rack-form modular UPS with hot-swappable power/battery modules and a status display, but does not describe the display as rotatably coupled or as gating removal of a module. Milton supplies a display module rotatably coupled to a rack-mounted device. The Crutchfield supplies a pivotable front cover that selectively blocks and allows removal of a swappable module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to (i) mount Blair UPS display for rotation as taught by Milton, so it can be viewed from varying angles and stowed, and (ii) configure that rotatable display/cover to selectively block and allow removal of the hot-swappable module(s) as taught by Crutchfield, in order to guard against accidental or unauthorized removal of a live power/battery module while still permitting intentional servicing. Each is a combination of known elements performing their established functions to yield a predictable result (KSR; MPEP 2143(A)/(G)), with a reasonable expectation of success.
In regard to claims 7-12, 16-18, neither Blair nor Milton nor Crutchfield expressly teaches double-hinged bracket; display plate; intermediate linkage; friction hinges; display flange; removable display plate: taught by Milton’s rotatable/tiltable display mounting in view of the Rhoads double-hinge/friction coupling; friction hinges and removable display plates are conventional (Official Notice as proof of Rhoads reference).
5. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Independent claim 1 is rejected over Blair et al. (“Blair”) in view of Rhoads (“Rhoads”) (US Pub No. 2002/0180692).
Claim 19, Blair teaches the UPS device: housing; frame; first and second hot swappable modules removably disposed within the housing; display module rotatably coupled to the frame that selectively blocks removal of one module and allows removal of the other in a first position, and reverses in a second position (as shown in Fig. 1, which is reproduced below for ease of reference and convenience, Blair supplies the housing (frame 1), the frame/bay structure, and the first and second hot-swappable modules (power module 4 and battery module 5, or two like modules) removably disposed within the housing. See 3:28-4:57).
Blair does not expressly a mounting flange fixedly mounted to the frame; an intermediate linkage rotatably coupled to the mounting flange; a display flange rotatably coupled to the intermediate linkage, wherein the intermediate linkage is rotatably coupled to the display flange and the mounting flange through friction hinges; a display plate coupled to the display flange; and a display module coupled to the display plate, wherein the display module selectively blocks removal of the first hot swappable module and allows removal of the second hot swappable module in a first position and wherein the display module selectively allows removal of the first hot swappable module and blocks removal of the second hot swappable module in a second position. Rhoads teaches mounting flange fixed to frame; intermediate linkage rotatably coupled to the mounting flange; display flange rotatably coupled to the intermediate linkage through friction hinges; display plate; display module (as shown in Fig. 5A&B, which is reproduced below for ease of reference and convenience, Rhoads teaches the multi-hinge, friction-retained display bracket (rack mount server with a tiltable display mounted through a double hinge 150 having two perpendicular axes and an indexed/friction coupling that holds the display at a set position. See ¶ 16-20).
Combining the Rhoads bracket with Blair is an obvious use of a known display-mounting mechanism.
In regard to claim 20, neither Blair nor Rhoads expressly teaches a removable front bezel configured to selectively cover the at least one hot swappable module and at least a portion of the display module. However a removable front bezel/cover over the modules and a portion of the display is conventional in rack UPS/equipment (Official Notice; corroborated by Blair’s removable user-interface/panel structure).
If Applicant traverses any statement of Official Notice, documentary evidence will be provided (MPEP 2144.03(C)).
Examiner's note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passages as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendment
Applicant’s arguments against the prior Yamashita/Milton combination are addressed by the new combination:
• “Neither reference discloses a hot swappable module”: the hot-swappable module of the UPS is now expressly supplied by Blair (hot-swappable power modules 4 and battery modules 5 in the UPS frame), not by Official Notice or a Milton mis-cite.
• “Milton’s display swings to the side to avoid inhibiting access, and both references teach away from blocking”: the block/allow-removal limitation is now supplied by Crutchfield, which affirmatively teaches using a pivotable front cover to gate removal of a swappable module. Blocking/gating module removal is thus a known, deliberate design objective, not something the art teaches away from. Milton’s and Yamashita’s statements about not obstructing viewing/airflow do not teach away from a movable display that selectively (i.e., only in a chosen position) blocks removal while otherwise allowing airflow and viewing.
• “Physically impossible / requires complete redesign to put Milton’s display on Yamashita’s UPS”: the new rejection does not bodily incorporate Milton’s display into Yamashita; the Blair UPS already includes its own display, which is modified to be rotatable (Milton) and removal-gating Crutchfield. The test is what the combined teachings suggest, not physical insertion (MPEP 2145).
• Claim 19 was not actually rejected: claim 19 is expressly rejected herein (see above).
Conclusion
6. All claims are rejected.
7. The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al., US 2005/0052085, teach UPS having a hot-swappable battery module in a removable battery box.
Liang et al., US 2014/0082393, teach hot-swapping type UPS module (install/remove/maintain without interrupting the load).
Layden et al., US 7,132,833, teach modular UPS cabinet with sliding, locking battery/power module drawers.
Adams et al., US 9,655,275, teach rack assembly with a server that pivots for access/removal.
Strickler et al., US 6,115,885, teach rack equipment with a pivoting cover/door on twist hinges.
Communications via Internet e-mail regarding this application, other than those under 35 U.S.C. 132 or which otherwise require a signature, may be used by the applicant and should be addressed to [raymond.phan@uspto.gov].
All Internet e-mail communications will be made of record in the application file. PTO employees do not engage in Internet communications where there exists a possibility that sensitive information could be identified or exchanged unless the record includes a properly signed express waiver of the confidentiality requirements of 35 U.S.C. 122. This is more clearly set forth in the Interim Internet Usage Policy published in the Official Gazette of the Patent and Trademark on February 25, 1997 at 1195 OG 89.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the TC 2100 central telephone number is (571) 272-2100.
/RAYMOND N PHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175