DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-13, 16, and 27-28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory et al. (US 2022/0304783) in view of Takasu et al. (US 2015/0199922).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 28, Gregory discloses a model for dental training. See paragraph 006. Gregory discloses wherein this model comprises detachable teeth which fit into blocks configured as gum portions. See paragraphs 0041, 0043, and fig. 5, labels 50b and 12. Gregory discloses wherein these gum portion blocks are arranged in a chin support assembly. See paragraph 0029.
Gregory discloses wherein the jaws are rotatable and articulable, (paragraph 0037) but does not disclose a temporomandibular of a jaw coupled to the chin supports (also claim 28). However, such details are established with regard to medical models, as is disclosed by the system of Takasu in paragraph 0016. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Gregory system, so as to provide various training scenarios.
Regarding claims 10-11, 16, Gregory discloses wherein the gums form a U-shaped portion (fig. 2), and wherein the gum tooth blocks are affixed to neighboring blocks with mounting grooves and protrusions (i.e. feet as per claim 16) on the inside of the blocks. See paragraph 0044 (the citation is describing the joining of the multiple gum tooth blocks).
Regarding claims 12-13, See fig. 2 and note how the gum section(s) fit securely inside the chin support 111(A) on the protrusion guides and grooves in the center of the support.
Regarding claim 27, Gregory discloses wherein the system is constructed of a hard plastic resin in paragraph 0039.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory et al. (US 2022/0304783) in view of Takasu et al. (US 2015/0199922) and also Allen et al. (US 2007/0172804).
Regarding claim 3, Gregory discloses wherein the teeth are affixed to the gum as described above with regard to claim 1, but does not disclose directional coupling guides. However, this concept is established with regard to medical modeling, as is disclosed by the system of Allen in paragraph 0068. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Gregory system, so as to provide a convenient interface for the teeth attachments (i.e. the advantage established by Allen).
Regarding claim 14, Gregory discloses attaching the gum portions to the support portion (paragraph 0029), but does not disclose bolts. However, this manner of attachment is established, as is disclosed by Allen in paragraph 0044. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Gregory system, in order to provide a secure attachment for components (the advantage established by Allen).
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gregory et al. (US 2022/0304783) in view of Takasu et al. (US 2015/0199922) and also Cope (US 2007/0166665).
Regarding claims 25-26, Gregory discloses teeth models in paragraphs 0055-0058, but does not disclose a modeled nerve in the teeth, or a dentin layer with a harder crown layer, and also a tooth nerve. However, these concepts are established in the dental modeling art, as is disclosed by the system of Cope in paragraphs 0023-0024. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Gregory system, in order to provide various training scenarios.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 6-9, and 22, are objected to as depending from a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach or suggest the structure of claim 6 including the structure and the gel. Claims 29-32 are allowed for the same reasons.
Claims 15 and 17 are objected to as depending from a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach or suggest the structure including the locking pins as configured.
Claims 18-19 are objected to as depending from a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach or suggest the structure including mounting structure as claimed.
Claims 20-21, 23-24, are objected to as depending from a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach or suggest the structure including the root canal measurement hole.
Conclusion
TIMOTHY A. MUSSELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/TIMOTHY A MUSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715