DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 20 January 2026, regarding application number 18/750,604.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 remain pending in the application, while claim 15 has been cancelled. Claim 21 is new.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 27 October 2025. Therefore, the objections and rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-11, filed 20 January 2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for at least the reasons discussed in the prior office action and below. However, upon further consideration and for the sake of compact prosecution, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of newly cited reference Iida (US 20110004343 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 10, 14, 17, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki et al. (US 20190255709 A1 and Inagaki hereinafter), in view of Iida (US 20110004343 A1 and Iida hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Inagaki teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0007]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 1, arm 10a; [0007] and [0024]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Fig. 1, acceleration sensor 40; [0007] and [0023]);
one or more processors (see [0027]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0027]), cause the one or more processors to:
receive an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 4, steps S1-1 to S1-2; [0027] and [0036 "First, when the controller 21 has received a start signal that was input using the input device 24, the transmitting and receiving unit 25, or the like (step S1-1), then the controller 21 transmits control commands based on the operation program 23 d to the servo controllers 11 a (step S1-2)."]-[0037 "The predetermined operation is an operation in which, for example, the end effector 30 is to be moved toward a predetermined location or into a predetermined orientation and the end effector 30 is made to reach the predetermined location and the predetermined orientation."]);
in accordance with the input, provide first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 4, step S1-2; [0036 "...then the controller 21 transmits control commands based on the operation program 23 d to the servo controllers 11 a (step S1-2). As a result, the robot 10 operates on the basis of the operation program 23 d. At this point, feedback control using the detected values of the operation position detection devices of the individual servo motors 11 is carried out in the same or similar manner as in the well-known robot control, in addition to which feedback control using current values from the individual servo controllers 11 a is also carried out."]-[0037]); and
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0036 "...then the controller 21 transmits control commands based on the operation program 23 d to the servo controllers 11 a (step S1-2). As a result, the robot 10 operates on the basis of the operation program 23 d. At this point, feedback control using the detected values of the operation position detection devices of the individual servo motors 11 is carried out in the same or similar manner as in the well-known robot control, in addition to which feedback control using current values from the individual servo controllers 11 a is also carried out."]-[0038], [0041] and [0050 "Subsequently, the controller 21 repeats the steps S1-2 to S1-6 until the detected value that has been detected by the acceleration sensor 40 becomes lower than the reference value (step S1-7).']):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, arrow from "Acceleration Sensor 40" to "Pre-Processing"; Fig. 4, step S1-3; [0007], [0023] and [0037]-[0045], especially [0038 "The controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 when the above-described arrangement has been performed..."] and [0042 "Hence, as an example, the controller 21 can handle the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40..."]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 3, arrows from "Pre-Processing" to "Learning Control"; Fig. 4, step S1-3; [0007] and [0037]-[0045], especially [0038 "The controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 when the above-described arrangement has been performed, where the separation being performed on the basis of the vibration analysis program 23 b (step S1-3). Specifically, the controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 into vibration data of the robot 10 and vibration data of the end effector 30 using the vibration calculation model of the robot 10."], [0039 "The vibration data of the robot 10 includes, for example, orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of the distal end of the robot 10. If the main vibration includes vibrations in multiple orientations, then the vibration data of the robot 10 includes pieces of information such as frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. for each of the vibrations in the multiple orientations."] and [0040 "The vibration data of the end effector 30 includes, for example, orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of working unit 31 of the end effector 30."]);
generate one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 3, all, especially "Learning Control" and "Operation Command"; Fig. 4, steps S1-4 to S1-5; [0046 "Subsequently, the controller 21 determines the operation of the robot 10 for reducing the vibration of the working unit 31 of the end effector 30 at the time of the above-described arrangement on the basis of the vibration analysis program 23 b (step S1-4). When performing the step S1-4, the controller 21 uses the above-described vibration data of the robot 10 and the vibration data of the end effector 30. It should be noted that, when performing the step S1-4, the controller 21 may use only the vibration data of the robot 10 or may use only the vibration data of the end effector 30."]-[0049]); and
provide second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see Fig. 3, all, especially arrows from "Learning Control" to "Servo Controller"; Fig. 4, steps S1-5 to S1-7; [0036] and [0049 "Subsequently, the controller 21 creates a control command causing the robot 10 to perform the operation specified in the step S1-4 on the basis of the operation setting program 23 e (step S1-5), and resets the operation program 23 d using the control command that has been crated (step S1-6). It should be noted that the controller 21 may configure a new operation program in the step S1-6."]-[0050 "Subsequently, the controller 21 repeats the steps S1-2 to S1-6 until the detected value that has been detected by the acceleration sensor 40 becomes lower than the reference value (step S1-7)."]).
Inagaki teaches each and every limitation of the claim, as discussed above. For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that "Inagaki is silent regarding the claimed steps occurring during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals", Iida teaches the claim elements.
That is, Iida teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0008]-[0013]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Figs. 1A-1B, first arm portion 8 and/or second arm portion 13; [0008]-[0013] and [0057]-[0062]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Figs. 1A-1B, angular velocity sensors 9 and 17; [0058 "On the left side of the first arm portion 8 in FIG. 1B, a first angular velocity sensor 9 serving as a vibration detecting unit and an inertial sensor is disposed in the tip end of the first arm portion 8."] and [0066]);
one or more processors (see Fig. 2, CPU 35; [0075]-[0079]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see Fig. 2, memory 36; [0079]-[0081]), cause the one or more processors to:
receive an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see [0079] and [0102]);
in accordance with the input, provide first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0081]-[0083 " As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32.']); and
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see Fig. 4, all; [0010 "A vibration suppressing period during which the vibration of the movable portion is suppressed is overlapped with at least a part of a movement period during which the control of allowing the movable portion to approach the predetermined position is performed or the control of moving the movable portion to the predetermined position is performed."]-[0013], [0090]-[0091], [0097], [0106 "When the vibration suppressing processes of Step S2 and Step S5 are performed in parallel with the first movement process of Step S1 and the second movement process of Step S4, the first arm portion 8 and the elevation device 14 can be moved with the vibrations thereof being suppressed."], [0114 "Then, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 performs control to suppress the vibration based on the movement of the elevation device 14, whereby the vibration of the elevation device 14 is suppressed. Since the amplitude of vibration of the elevation device 14 is small, the image calculating unit 51 can detect the location of the hand portion 16 without difficulty. Accordingly, the location of the hand portion 16 can be detected with high precision, whereby the position of the hand portion 16 can be controlled with high precision."] and [0118]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, arrows from 9 to 54 and from 17 to 58; [0058], [0066], [0083 "As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32..."]-[0085 "Signals are output to the control device 32 from the second angular velocity sensor 17 and the second angle detector 12, which detect the operation of the second arm portion 13, and the first imaging device 18."]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 3, arrows from 54 to 52 and from 58 to 52; [0083]-[0089], especially [0084 "In other words, the first angle signal 56 a is a signal corresponding to the angle of the first arm portion 8. Then, the first addition unit 56 outputs the first angle signal 56 a to the vibration suppressing control unit 52."]);
generate one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 3, arrow from 52 to 49; [0090 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the first arm portion 8."]-[0091 "In addition, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a and the second angle signal 60 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the second arm portion 13."]); and
provide second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see Fig. 3, arrows from 49 to 37; [0010] and [0092 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 outputs the calculated control signal, the first angle signal 56 a, and the second angle signal 60 a to the robot control unit 49 … The robot control unit 49 calculates a difference between the position of the hand portion 16 and the movement destination location. Then, a control signal that is formed based on the shifts of changes in the parameters of the angles and the angular velocity at which the first motor 5 and the second motor 11 are driven and the like is calculated. Then, the robot control unit 49 outputs the control signal to the robot driving device 37. The robot driving device 37 receives the control signal as input and outputs driving signals to the first motor 5 and the second motor 11."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the robotic medical system of Inagaki to further receive the one or more sensor signals, generate the one or more processed signals, generate the one or more control signals and provide the second action signals during the movement, as taught by Iida, in order to suppress robotic arm vibration in real time, thus controlling end effector positioning with high precision.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki further teaches wherein: the second actuation signals correspond to a combination of the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals (see Fig. 3, all, especially arrows from "Learning Control" to "Servo Controller"; Fig. 4, steps S1-5 to S1-7; [0036 "At this point, feedback control using the detected values of the operation position detection devices of the individual servo motors 11 is carried out in the same or similar manner as in the well-known robot control, in addition to which feedback control using current values from the individual servo controllers 11 a is also carried out."], [0046 "Subsequently, the controller 21 determines the operation of the robot 10 for reducing the vibration of the working unit 31 of the end effector 30 at the time of the above-described arrangement on the basis of the vibration analysis program 23 b (step S1-4)."] and [0049 "Subsequently, the controller 21 creates a control command causing the robot 10 to perform the operation specified in the step S1-4 on the basis of the operation setting program 23 e (step S1-5), and resets the operation program 23 d using the control command that has been crated (step S1-6). It should be noted that the controller 21 may configure a new operation program in the step S1-6."]-[0050 "Subsequently, the controller 21 repeats the steps S1-2 to S1-6 until the detected value that has been detected by the acceleration sensor 40 becomes lower than the reference value (step S1-7)."]).
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki further teaches wherein: the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine positions of one or more joints of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, "Position Control"; [0024 "Also, the arm 10 a includes a plurality of servo motors 11 each configured to drive a corresponding one of the joints (see FIG. 2) ... The servo motors 11 each have an operation position detection device for detection of operation position of the servo motor 11 and operation speed thereof. The operation position detection device is, for instance, an encoder. Detected values that have been detected by the operation position detection device are transmitted to the control unit 20."] and [0036]),
wherein the first actuation signals are further based on the positions of the one or more joints (see Fig. 3, arrows from "Position Control" to "Servo Controller"; [0030 "In this embodiment, the controller 21 transmits control commands to the servo controllers 11 a (see FIG. 2) of the servo motors 11 on the basis of the operation program 23 d. As a result, in order to perform a predetermined task or tasks, the robot 10 changes the position and the orientation of the end effector 30 in accordance with the operation program 23 d."] and [0036 "As a result, the robot 10 operates on the basis of the operation program 23 d. At this point, feedback control using the detected values of the operation position detection devices of the individual servo motors 11 is carried out in the same or similar manner as in the well-known robot control, in addition to which feedback control using current values from the individual servo controllers 11 a is also carried out."]).
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki further teaches wherein: the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine positions of one or more joints of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, "Position Control"; [0024 "Also, the arm 10 a includes a plurality of servo motors 11 each configured to drive a corresponding one of the joints (see FIG. 2) ... The servo motors 11 each have an operation position detection device for detection of operation position of the servo motor 11 and operation speed thereof. The operation position detection device is, for instance, an encoder. Detected values that have been detected by the operation position detection device are transmitted to the control unit 20."] and [0036]),
wherein the one or more control signals are further based on the positions of the one or more joints (see Fig. 3, arrows from "Position Control" to "Servo Controller"; [0030 "In this embodiment, the controller 21 transmits control commands to the servo controllers 11 a (see FIG. 2) of the servo motors 11 on the basis of the operation program 23 d. As a result, in order to perform a predetermined task or tasks, the robot 10 changes the position and the orientation of the end effector 30 in accordance with the operation program 23 d."], [0036 "As a result, the robot 10 operates on the basis of the operation program 23 d. At this point, feedback control using the detected values of the operation position detection devices of the individual servo motors 11 is carried out in the same or similar manner as in the well-known robot control, in addition to which feedback control using current values from the individual servo controllers 11 a is also carried out."] and [0050 "Subsequently, the controller 21 repeats the steps S1-2 to S1-6 until the detected value that has been detected by the acceleration sensor 40 becomes lower than the reference value (step S1-7)."]).
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki further teaches wherein: the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals by filtering the one or more received sensor signals based on frequency components (see [0039 "The vibration data of the robot 10 includes, for example, orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of the distal end of the robot 10. If the main vibration includes vibrations in multiple orientations, then the vibration data of the robot 10 includes pieces of information such as frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. for each of the vibrations in the multiple orientations. The vibration data of the robot 10 may be data that includes pieces of information such as orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of another portion of the robot 10."]-[0040]).
Regarding Claim 10
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki further teaches wherein: the robotic arm includes one or more vibrational modes (see [0039 "If the main vibration includes vibrations in multiple orientations, then the vibration data of the robot 10 includes pieces of information such as frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. for each of the vibrations in the multiple orientations. The vibration data of the robot 10 may be data that includes pieces of information such as orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of another portion of the robot 10."]-[0040]); and
the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals by filtering the received sensor signals for frequency components at each of the one or more vibrational modes of the robotic arm (see [0039 "The vibration data of the robot 10 includes, for example, orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of the distal end of the robot 10. If the main vibration includes vibrations in multiple orientations, then the vibration data of the robot 10 includes pieces of information such as frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. for each of the vibrations in the multiple orientations. The vibration data of the robot 10 may be data that includes pieces of information such as orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of another portion of the robot 10."]-[0040]).
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki further teaches wherein: the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate a compensatory movement based on the one or more control signals (see Fig. 3, all, especially "Learning Control" and "Operation Command"; Fig. 4, steps S1-4 to S1-5; [0046 "Subsequently, the controller 21 determines the operation of the robot 10 for reducing the vibration of the working unit 31 of the end effector 30 at the time of the above-described arrangement on the basis of the vibration analysis program 23 b (step S1-4). When performing the step S1-4, the controller 21 uses the above-described vibration data of the robot 10 and the vibration data of the end effector 30. It should be noted that, when performing the step S1-4, the controller 21 may use only the vibration data of the robot 10 or may use only the vibration data of the end effector 30."]-[0049]); and
adjust the target motion based on the compensatory movement (see Fig. 3, all, especially arrows from "Learning Control" to "Servo Controller"; Fig. 4, steps S1-5 to S1-7; [0036] and [0049 "Subsequently, the controller 21 creates a control command causing the robot 10 to perform the operation specified in the step S1-4 on the basis of the operation setting program 23 e (step S1-5), and resets the operation program 23 d using the control command that has been crated (step S1-6). It should be noted that the controller 21 may configure a new operation program in the step S1-6."]-[0050 "Subsequently, the controller 21 repeats the steps S1-2 to S1-6 until the detected value that has been detected by the acceleration sensor 40 becomes lower than the reference value (step S1-7)."]).
Regarding Claim 17
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki further teaches wherein the sensor comprises: a force sensor, an accelerometer, or an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (see Fig. 1, acceleration sensor 40; [0023 "The acceleration sensor 40 is a sensor configured for detection of vibration of the working unit 31 of the end effector 30. Gyro sensors, inertia sensors, or other sensors can be used as a sensor of this kind provided in the vicinity of the working unit 31. Also, as a sensor of this kind, a force sensor that detects inertial force acting upon the end effector 30 can be used."]).
Regarding Claim 19
Inagaki teaches a method performed by a medical robotic system including a robotic arm and a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see all Figs.; [0007]), the method comprising:
receiving an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 4, steps S1-1 to S1-2; [0027] and [0036 "First, when the controller 21 has received a start signal that was input using the input device 24, the transmitting and receiving unit 25, or the like (step S1-1), then the controller 21 transmits control commands based on the operation program 23 d to the servo controllers 11 a (step S1-2)."]-[0037 "The predetermined operation is an operation in which, for example, the end effector 30 is to be moved toward a predetermined location or into a predetermined orientation and the end effector 30 is made to reach the predetermined location and the predetermined orientation."]);
in accordance with the input, providing first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement toward a position or a pose of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 4, step S1-2; [0036 "...then the controller 21 transmits control commands based on the operation program 23 d to the servo controllers 11 a (step S1-2). As a result, the robot 10 operates on the basis of the operation program 23 d. At this point, feedback control using the detected values of the operation position detection devices of the individual servo motors 11 is carried out in the same or similar manner as in the well-known robot control, in addition to which feedback control using current values from the individual servo controllers 11 a is also carried out."]-[0037 "The predetermined operation is an operation in which, for example, the end effector 30 is to be moved toward a predetermined location or into a predetermined orientation and the end effector 30 is made to reach the predetermined location and the predetermined orientation.] and [0041]); and
during the movement toward the position or the pose (see [0036 "...then the controller 21 transmits control commands based on the operation program 23 d to the servo controllers 11 a (step S1-2). As a result, the robot 10 operates on the basis of the operation program 23 d. At this point, feedback control using the detected values of the operation position detection devices of the individual servo motors 11 is carried out in the same or similar manner as in the well-known robot control, in addition to which feedback control using current values from the individual servo controllers 11 a is also carried out."]-[0037 "The predetermined operation is an operation in which, for example, the end effector 30 is to be moved toward a predetermined location or into a predetermined orientation and the end effector 30 is made to reach the predetermined location and the predetermined orientation.] and [0050 "Subsequently, the controller 21 repeats the steps S1-2 to S1-6 until the detected value that has been detected by the acceleration sensor 40 becomes lower than the reference value (step S1-7).']):
receiving one or more sensor signals of the robotic arm from the sensor of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, arrow from "Acceleration Sensor 40" to "Pre-Processing"; Fig. 4, step S1-3; [0007], [0023] and [0037]-[0045], especially [0038 "The controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 when the above-described arrangement has been performed..."] and [0042 "Hence, as an example, the controller 21 can handle the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40..."]);
generating one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 3, arrows from "Pre-Processing" to "Learning Control"; Fig. 4, step S1-3; [0007] and [0037]-[0045], especially [0038 "The controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 when the above-described arrangement has been performed, where the separation being performed on the basis of the vibration analysis program 23 b (step S1-3). Specifically, the controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 into vibration data of the robot 10 and vibration data of the end effector 30 using the vibration calculation model of the robot 10."], [0039 "The vibration data of the robot 10 includes, for example, orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of the distal end of the robot 10. If the main vibration includes vibrations in multiple orientations, then the vibration data of the robot 10 includes pieces of information such as frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. for each of the vibrations in the multiple orientations."] and [0040 "The vibration data of the end effector 30 includes, for example, orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of working unit 31 of the end effector 30."]);
generating one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 3, all, especially "Learning Control" and "Operation Command"; Fig. 4, steps S1-4 to S1-5; [0046 "Subsequently, the controller 21 determines the operation of the robot 10 for reducing the vibration of the working unit 31 of the end effector 30 at the time of the above-described arrangement on the basis of the vibration analysis program 23 b (step S1-4). When performing the step S1-4, the controller 21 uses the above-described vibration data of the robot 10 and the vibration data of the end effector 30. It should be noted that, when performing the step S1-4, the controller 21 may use only the vibration data of the robot 10 or may use only the vibration data of the end effector 30."]-[0049]); and
providing second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see Fig. 3, all, especially arrows from "Learning Control" to "Servo Controller"; Fig. 4, steps S1-5 to S1-7; [0036] and [0049 "Subsequently, the controller 21 creates a control command causing the robot 10 to perform the operation specified in the step S1-4 on the basis of the operation setting program 23 e (step S1-5), and resets the operation program 23 d using the control command that has been crated (step S1-6). It should be noted that the controller 21 may configure a new operation program in the step S1-6."]-[0050 "Subsequently, the controller 21 repeats the steps S1-2 to S1-6 until the detected value that has been detected by the acceleration sensor 40 becomes lower than the reference value (step S1-7)."]).
Inagaki teaches each and every limitation of the claim, as discussed above. For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that "Inagaki is silent regarding the claimed steps occurring during the movement toward the position or the pose", Iida teaches the claim elements.
That is, Iida teaches a method performed by a medical robotic system including a robotic arm and a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see all Figs.; [0008]-[0013]), the method comprising:
receiving an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see [0079] and [0102]);
in accordance with the input, providing first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement toward a position or a pose of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0081]-[0083 " As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32.'] and [0102]); and
during the movement toward the position or the pose (see Fig. 4, all; [0010 "A vibration suppressing period during which the vibration of the movable portion is suppressed is overlapped with at least a part of a movement period during which the control of allowing the movable portion to approach the predetermined position is performed or the control of moving the movable portion to the predetermined position is performed."]-[0013], [0090]-[0091], [0097], [0106 "When the vibration suppressing processes of Step S2 and Step S5 are performed in parallel with the first movement process of Step S1 and the second movement process of Step S4, the first arm portion 8 and the elevation device 14 can be moved with the vibrations thereof being suppressed."], [0114 "Then, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 performs control to suppress the vibration based on the movement of the elevation device 14, whereby the vibration of the elevation device 14 is suppressed. Since the amplitude of vibration of the elevation device 14 is small, the image calculating unit 51 can detect the location of the hand portion 16 without difficulty. Accordingly, the location of the hand portion 16 can be detected with high precision, whereby the position of the hand portion 16 can be controlled with high precision."] and [0118]):
receiving one or more sensor signals of the robotic arm from the sensor of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, arrows from 9 to 54 and from 17 to 58; [0058], [0066], [0083 "As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32..."]-[0085 "Signals are output to the control device 32 from the second angular velocity sensor 17 and the second angle detector 12, which detect the operation of the second arm portion 13, and the first imaging device 18."]);
generating one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 3, arrows from 54 to 52 and from 58 to 52; [0083]-[0089], especially [0084 "In other words, the first angle signal 56 a is a signal corresponding to the angle of the first arm portion 8. Then, the first addition unit 56 outputs the first angle signal 56 a to the vibration suppressing control unit 52."]);
generating one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 3, arrow from 52 to 49; [0090 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the first arm portion 8."]-[0091 "In addition, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a and the second angle signal 60 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the second arm portion 13."]); and
providing second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see Fig. 3, arrows from 49 to 37; [0010] and [0092 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 outputs the calculated control signal, the first angle signal 56 a, and the second angle signal 60 a to the robot control unit 49 … The robot control unit 49 calculates a difference between the position of the hand portion 16 and the movement destination location. Then, a control signal that is formed based on the shifts of changes in the parameters of the angles and the angular velocity at which the first motor 5 and the second motor 11 are driven and the like is calculated. Then, the robot control unit 49 outputs the control signal to the robot driving device 37. The robot driving device 37 receives the control signal as input and outputs driving signals to the first motor 5 and the second motor 11."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Inagaki to further receive the one or more sensor signals, generate the one or more processed signals, generate the one or more control signals and provide the second action signals during the movement toward the position or pose, as taught by Iida, in order to suppress robotic arm vibration in real time, thus controlling end effector positioning with high precision.
Regarding Claim 21
Inagaki teaches a method performed by a medical robotic system including a robotic arm and a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see all Figs.; [0007]), the method comprising:
moving the robotic arm toward a position (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 4, step S1-2; [0036 "...then the controller 21 transmits control commands based on the operation program 23 d to the servo controllers 11 a (step S1-2). As a result, the robot 10 operates on the basis of the operation program 23 d. At this point, feedback control using the detected values of the operation position detection devices of the individual servo motors 11 is carried out in the same or similar manner as in the well-known robot control, in addition to which feedback control using current values from the individual servo controllers 11 a is also carried out."]-[0037 "The predetermined operation is an operation in which, for example, the end effector 30 is to be moved toward a predetermined location or into a predetermined orientation and the end effector 30 is made to reach the predetermined location and the predetermined orientation.] and [0041]);
receiving one or more sensor signals based on the movement of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, arrow from "Acceleration Sensor 40" to "Pre-Processing"; Fig. 4, step S1-3; [0007], [0023] and [0037]-[0045], especially [0038 "The controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 when the above-described arrangement has been performed..."] and [0042 "Hence, as an example, the controller 21 can handle the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40..."]),
the one or more sensor signal being received from the sensor of the robotic arm as the robotic arm moves toward the position (see [0038 "The controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 when the above-described arrangement has been performed, where the separation being performed on the basis of the vibration analysis program 23 b (step S1-3). "]);
generating one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 3, arrows from "Pre-Processing" to "Learning Control"; Fig. 4, step S1-3; [0007] and [0037]-[0045], especially [0038 "The controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 when the above-described arrangement has been performed, where the separation being performed on the basis of the vibration analysis program 23 b (step S1-3). Specifically, the controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 into vibration data of the robot 10 and vibration data of the end effector 30 using the vibration calculation model of the robot 10."], [0039 "The vibration data of the robot 10 includes, for example, orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of the distal end of the robot 10. If the main vibration includes vibrations in multiple orientations, then the vibration data of the robot 10 includes pieces of information such as frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. for each of the vibrations in the multiple orientations."] and [0040 "The vibration data of the end effector 30 includes, for example, orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of working unit 31 of the end effector 30."]);
generating one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 3, all, especially "Learning Control" and "Operation Command"; Fig. 4, steps S1-4 to S1-5; [0046 "Subsequently, the controller 21 determines the operation of the robot 10 for reducing the vibration of the working unit 31 of the end effector 30 at the time of the above-described arrangement on the basis of the vibration analysis program 23 b (step S1-4). When performing the step S1-4, the controller 21 uses the above-described vibration data of the robot 10 and the vibration data of the end effector 30. It should be noted that, when performing the step S1-4, the controller 21 may use only the vibration data of the robot 10 or may use only the vibration data of the end effector 30."]-[0049]); and
reducing a vibration of the robotic arm via the one or more processed signals as the robotic arm continues moving toward the position (see Fig. 3, all, especially arrows from "Learning Control" to "Servo Controller"; Fig. 4, steps S1-5 to S1-7; [0036] and [0049 "Subsequently, the controller 21 creates a control command causing the robot 10 to perform the operation specified in the step S1-4 on the basis of the operation setting program 23 e (step S1-5), and resets the operation program 23 d using the control command that has been crated (step S1-6). It should be noted that the controller 21 may configure a new operation program in the step S1-6."]-[0050 "Subsequently, the controller 21 repeats the steps S1-2 to S1-6 until the detected value that has been detected by the acceleration sensor 40 becomes lower than the reference value (step S1-7)."]).
Inagaki teaches each and every limitation of the claim, as discussed above. For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that "Inagaki is silent regarding the claimed steps occurring as the robotic arm moves toward the position", Iida teaches the claim elements. That is, Iida teaches
Iida teaches a method performed by a medical robotic system including a robotic arm and a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see all Figs.; [0008]-[0013]), the method comprising:
moving the robotic arm toward a position (see [0081]-[0083 " As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32.'] and [0102]);
receiving one or more sensor signals based on the movement of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, arrows from 9 to 54 and from 17 to 58; [0058], [0066], [0083 "As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32..."]-[0085 "Signals are output to the control device 32 from the second angular velocity sensor 17 and the second angle detector 12, which detect the operation of the second arm portion 13, and the first imaging device 18."]),
the one or more sensor signal being received from the sensor of the robotic arm as the robotic arm moves toward the position (see Figs. 1A-1B, angular velocity sensors 9 and 17; [0058 "On the left side of the first arm portion 8 in FIG. 1B, a first angular velocity sensor 9 serving as a vibration detecting unit and an inertial sensor is disposed in the tip end of the first arm portion 8."] and [0066]);
generating one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 3, arrows from 54 to 52 and from 58 to 52; [0083]-[0089], especially [0084 "In other words, the first angle signal 56 a is a signal corresponding to the angle of the first arm portion 8. Then, the first addition unit 56 outputs the first angle signal 56 a to the vibration suppressing control unit 52."]);
generating one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 3, arrow from 52 to 49; [0090 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the first arm portion 8."]-[0091 "In addition, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a and the second angle signal 60 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the second arm portion 13."]); and
reducing a vibration of the robotic arm via the one or more processed signals as the robotic arm continues moving toward the position (see Fig. 4, all; [0010 "A vibration suppressing period during which the vibration of the movable portion is suppressed is overlapped with at least a part of a movement period during which the control of allowing the movable portion to approach the predetermined position is performed or the control of moving the movable portion to the predetermined position is performed."]-[0013], [0090]-[0091], [0097], [0106 "When the vibration suppressing processes of Step S2 and Step S5 are performed in parallel with the first movement process of Step S1 and the second movement process of Step S4, the first arm portion 8 and the elevation device 14 can be moved with the vibrations thereof being suppressed."], [0114 "Then, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 performs control to suppress the vibration based on the movement of the elevation device 14, whereby the vibration of the elevation device 14 is suppressed. Since the amplitude of vibration of the elevation device 14 is small, the image calculating unit 51 can detect the location of the hand portion 16 without difficulty. Accordingly, the location of the hand portion 16 can be detected with high precision, whereby the position of the hand portion 16 can be controlled with high precision."] and [0118]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Inagaki to further receive the one or more sensor signals, generate the one or more processed signals, generate the one or more control signals and provide the second action signals as the robotic arm continues moving toward the position, as taught by Iida, in order to suppress robotic arm vibration in real time, thus controlling end effector positioning with high precision.
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki (as modified by Iida) as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20180071047 A1 and Suzuki hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 2
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki further teaches wherein providing the first actuation signals causes the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, all, especially arrows from "Learning Control" to "Servo Controller"; Fig. 4, steps S1-5 to S1-7; [0036] and [0049 "Subsequently, the controller 21 creates a control command causing the robot 10 to perform the operation specified in the step S1-4 on the basis of the operation setting program 23 e (step S1-5)...]-[0050 "Subsequently, the controller 21 repeats the steps S1-2 to S1-6 until the detected value that has been detected by the acceleration sensor 40 becomes lower than the reference value (step S1-7)."])
Inagaki is silent regarding wherein: the first actuation signals correspond to a first force so that providing the first actuation signals causes the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm.
Suzuki teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs. [0008]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 1, arm portion 303; Fig. 6, all; [0010] and [0035]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Fig. 1, vibration detection module 10; [0009], [0034] and [0045]);
one or more processors (see [0109]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0109]), cause the one or more processors to:
receive an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119]);
in accordance with the input, provide first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119]); and
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0118]-[0119] and [0123]-[0124]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0008 "...medical vibration detection circuitry that is detachable from a medical instrument at an attachment position of the medical instrument in a longitudinal direction and that is configured to detect vibration generated in a distinct portion of the medical instrument, the distinct portion including at least a portion disposed toward a distal end of the medical instrument from the attachment position."]-[0009], [0119] and [0124]); and
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0055 "For example, the first vibration sensor 120 detects vibration of a frequency band corresponding to an audible range (for example, about 20 Hz to about 20 kHz) of a human."]-[0059 "A signal indicating auditory vibration detected by the first vibration sensor 120 and a signal indicating tactile vibration detected by the second vibration sensor 130 are transmitted to a circuit board configured to perform various types of signal processing such as amplification and filtering on such signals using a cable 150. "], [0119] and [0124]);
wherein: the first actuation signals correspond to a first force so that providing the first actuation signals causes the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0065 "Here, although not illustrated, the force sensor may be provided in a portion connecting the arm portion 303 and the forceps 301. In addition, a force sensor (a torque sensor) configured to detect a force applied to each of the joint portions may be provided in the joint portions of the arm portion 303. In the present embodiment, a force applied to the forceps 301 may be detected by such a force sensor, and transmitted to the surgeon who manipulates the forceps 301."], [0093]-[0094] and [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Inagaki to include the first actuation signals corresponding to a first force and instructions for providing the first actuation signals to cause the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm, as taught by Suzuki, in order to control the amount of motor movement of each joint according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joints detected by a force sensor.
Regarding Claim 20
Modified Inagaki teaches the method of claim 19 (as discussed above in claim 19),
Inagaki further teaches providing the first actuation signals causes the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, all, especially arrows from "Learning Control" to "Servo Controller"; Fig. 4, steps S1-5 to S1-7; [0036] and [0049 "Subsequently, the controller 21 creates a control command causing the robot 10 to perform the operation specified in the step S1-4 on the basis of the operation setting program 23 e (step S1-5)...]-[0050 "Subsequently, the controller 21 repeats the steps S1-2 to S1-6 until the detected value that has been detected by the acceleration sensor 40 becomes lower than the reference value (step S1-7)."]).
Inagaki is silent regarding wherein: the first actuation signals correspond to a first force; and
providing the first actuation signals causes the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm.
Suzuki teaches a method performed by a medical robotic system including a robotic arm and a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see all Figs. [0008]), the method comprising:
receiving an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119]);
in accordance with the input, providing first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement toward a position or a pose of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [[0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119] and [0123]); and
during the movement toward the position or the pose (see [0118]-[0119] and [0123]-[0124]):
receiving one or more sensor signals of the robotic arm from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0008 "...medical vibration detection circuitry that is detachable from a medical instrument at an attachment position of the medical instrument in a longitudinal direction and that is configured to detect vibration generated in a distinct portion of the medical instrument, the distinct portion including at least a portion disposed toward a distal end of the medical instrument from the attachment position."]-[0009]);
generating one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0118]-[0119] and [0123]-[0124]); and
wherein: the first actuation signals correspond to a first force (see [0065 "Here, although not illustrated, the force sensor may be provided in a portion connecting the arm portion 303 and the forceps 301. In addition, a force sensor (a torque sensor) configured to detect a force applied to each of the joint portions may be provided in the joint portions of the arm portion 303. In the present embodiment, a force applied to the forceps 301 may be detected by such a force sensor, and transmitted to the surgeon who manipulates the forceps 301."], [0093]-[0094] and [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119]); and
providing the first actuation signals causes the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0094] and [0118 "The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f. When the motor of each actuator is driven according to the computed control amount, the arm portion 420 is operated according to the instruction of the surgeon."]-[0119]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of modified Inagaki to include the first actuation signals corresponding to a first force and a step for providing the first actuation signals to cause the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm, as taught by Suzuki, in order to control the amount of motor movement of each joint according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joints detected by a force sensor.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki (as modified by Iida) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kojima et al. (JP 2017042835 A and Kojima hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 6 (as discussed above in claim 6),
Inagaki is silent regarding wherein filtering the one or more received sensor signals includes filtering the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a first frequency associated with the robotic arm.
Kojima teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; especially Fig. 1; [0010]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference JP_2017042835_A), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 1, robot arm 11; [0015]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Fig. 1, vibration sensor 10; [0010] and [0019]);
one or more processors (see Fig. 2, processor 7a; [0021]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see Fig. 2, memory 7b; [0021]), cause the one or more processors to:
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0010] and [0019]-[0020]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0010] and [0019 "The vibration sensor 4 is attached to the robot base 10, for example. The vibration sensor 4 detects the vibration of the robot 2 caused by the contact between the robot hand 12 and the workpiece. The vibration detected by the vibration sensor 4 includes the natural vibration of the entire robot 2."]); and
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0010], [0020 "The band pass filter 6 is a means for reducing the signal component other than the specific frequency including the natural frequency of the robot 2 as a whole relative to the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 as compared with the signal component of the specific frequency."], [0026] and [0094]);
wherein: the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals by filtering the one or more received sensor signals based on frequency components (see [0010], [0020 "The band pass filter 6 is a means for reducing the signal component other than the specific frequency including the natural frequency of the robot 2 as a whole relative to the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 as compared with the signal component of the specific frequency."], [0026] and [0094]);
wherein filtering the one or more received sensor signals includes filtering the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a first frequency associated with the robotic arm (see [0010], [0020 "The band pass filter 6 is a means for reducing the signal component other than the specific frequency including the natural frequency of the robot 2 as a whole relative to the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 as compared with the signal component of the specific frequency. In detail, the bandpass filter 6 passes a signal of a passband including the natural frequency of the entire robot 2 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 ... That is, the bandpass filter 6 has a passband including the natural frequency of the entire robot 2. The band pass filter 6 is only required to pass the natural frequency of the entire robot 2, and the circuit configuration is not limited."], [0026], [0087] and [0094 "Furthermore, the bandpass filter 6a allows a signal in the passband including the natural frequency f1 to pass from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4, and the bandpass filter 6b extracts the natural frequency f2 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 , And the bandpass filter 6 c passes a signal of the passband including the natural frequency of 3 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Inagaki to filter the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a first frequency associated with the robotic arm, as taught by Kojima, in order to eliminate noise and prevent erroneous detection of external contact with the robot arm.
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 7 (as discussed above in claim 7),
Inagaki is silent regarding wherein the first frequency comprises a natural frequency of the robotic arm.
Kojima teaches wherein the first frequency comprises a natural frequency of the robotic arm (see [0010], [0020 "The band pass filter 6 is a means for reducing the signal component other than the specific frequency including the natural frequency of the robot 2 as a whole relative to the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 as compared with the signal component of the specific frequency. In detail, the bandpass filter 6 passes a signal of a passband including the natural frequency of the entire robot 2 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 ... That is, the bandpass filter 6 has a passband including the natural frequency of the entire robot 2. The band pass filter 6 is only required to pass the natural frequency of the entire robot 2, and the circuit configuration is not limited."], [0026], [0087] and [0094 "Furthermore, the bandpass filter 6a allows a signal in the passband including the natural frequency f1 to pass from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4, and the bandpass filter 6b extracts the natural frequency f2 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 , And the bandpass filter 6 c passes a signal of the passband including the natural frequency of 3 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Inagaki to filter the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a natural frequency associated with the robotic arm, as taught by Kojima, in order to eliminate noise and prevent erroneous detection of external contact with the robot arm.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki (as modified by Iida and Kojima) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Tamatsukuri (US 20230358569 A1 and Tamatsukuri hereinafer).
Regarding Claim 9
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 7 (as discussed above in claim 7),
Inagaki is silent regarding wherein the first frequency is higher than a frequency associated with operational motions from a human operator.
Tamatsukuri teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0001] and [0012]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 4, transport robot 3; [0052]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see [0012 "...a sensor unit for detecting the physical phenomenon…"] and [0030]);
one or more processors (see [0030]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0031]), cause the one or more processors to:
in accordance with the input, provide first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0012]); and
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0012]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0012 "...a sensor unit for detecting the physical phenomenon…"] and [0030]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Abstract; [0012 "... a discrete Fourier transform unit for performing a discrete Fourier transform of a detection signal transmitted from the sensor unit, a later-stage weighting unit for setting amplitude values of each frequency generated by the discrete Fourier transform unit that exceed a prescribed upper-limit value to the prescribed upper-limit value, and an accumulation unit for adding the amplitude values at each frequency weighted by the later-stage weighting unit.] and [0034]-[0037]);
wherein: the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals by filtering the one or more received sensor signals based on frequency components (see Abstract; [0012 "... a discrete Fourier transform unit for performing a discrete Fourier transform of a detection signal transmitted from the sensor unit, a later-stage weighting unit for setting amplitude values of each frequency generated by the discrete Fourier transform unit that exceed a prescribed upper-limit value to the prescribed upper-limit value, and an accumulation unit for adding the amplitude values at each frequency weighted by the later-stage weighting unit.] and [0034]-[0037]);
wherein filtering the one or more received sensor signals includes filtering the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a first frequency associated with the robotic arm (see Abstract; [0012 "... a discrete Fourier transform unit for performing a discrete Fourier transform of a detection signal transmitted from the sensor unit, a later-stage weighting unit for setting amplitude values of each frequency generated by the discrete Fourier transform unit that exceed a prescribed upper-limit value to the prescribed upper-limit value, and an accumulation unit for adding the amplitude values at each frequency weighted by the later-stage weighting unit.] and [0034]-[0037]);
wherein the first frequency is higher than a frequency associated with operational motions from a human operator (see Fig. 3B, all; Abstract "...a discrete Fourier transform unit 208 for performing a discrete Fourier transform of a detection signal transmitted from the sensor unit 203; a later-stage weighting unit 209 for setting amplitude values at each frequency generated by the discrete Fourier transform unit 208 that exceed a prescribed upper-limit value to said prescribed upper-limit value; and an accumulation unit 210 for adding the amplitude values at each frequency weighted by the later-stage weighting unit 209. An operator console 100 sets the prescribed upper-limit value in the waveform analysis device 200."; [0012] and [0037]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Inagaki to include filtering the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a first frequency associated with the robotic arm where the first frequency is higher than a frequency associated with operational motions from a human operator, as taught by Tamatsukuri, in order to know in advance for what frequencies natural vibrations with amplitude value will occur.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki (as modified by Iida) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hon et al. (US 20110295431 A1 and Hon hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki further teaches wherein: the one or more received sensor signals comprise time domain parameters (see [0038 "The controller 21 separates the vibration actually measured by the acceleration sensor 40 when the above-described arrangement has been performed, where the separation being performed on the basis of the vibration analysis program 23 b (step S1-3)."]-[0039 "The vibration data of the robot 10 includes, for example, orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of the distal end of the robot 10."]); and
the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine one or more frequency components of a respective received sensor signal of the one or more received sensor signals (see [0039 "The vibration data of the robot 10 includes, for example, orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of the distal end of the robot 10. If the main vibration includes vibrations in multiple orientations, then the vibration data of the robot 10 includes pieces of information such as frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. for each of the vibrations in the multiple orientations. The vibration data of the robot 10 may be data that includes pieces of information such as orientation, frequency, amplitude, acceleration, etc. of the main vibration of another portion of the robot 10."]-[0040]).
Inagaki is silent regarding adjust at least one of an amplitude or phase of a respective frequency component of the one or more frequency components to obtain one or more adjusted frequency components; and
generate the one or more processed signals by determining time domain signals from the one or more adjusted frequency components.
Hon teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0007]), comprising:
a sensor (see [0007 "…(a) receive a vibration signal from a sensor in a mechanical system;…"] and [0088]);
one or more processors (see [0007]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0092]), cause the one or more processors to:
provide first actuation signals to cause movement (see [0007 "...(d) output a control signal corresponding to the modeled vibration signal to the mechanical system so as to reduce the vibration; ... wherein steps (c)-(e) are repeated when the average value of the vibration signal is greater than a predetermined value..."])
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0007], especially [0007 "...wherein steps (c)-(e) are repeated when the average value of the vibration signal is greater than a predetermined value."]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0007 "…(a) receive a vibration signal from a sensor in a mechanical system;…"] and [0088]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0007 "…(a) receive a vibration signal from a sensor in a mechanical system; (b) model the vibration signal using a time-domain function;…"] and [0088]-[0089]);
generate one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see [0007 "…(c) adjust one of an amplitude coefficient and a phase coefficient of the modeled vibration signal;…"], [0066] and [0090]); and
provide second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration is suppressed (see [0007 "…(d) output a control signal corresponding to the modeled vibration signal to the mechanical system so as to reduce the vibration; and (e) receive another vibration signal from the sensor, wherein steps (c)-(e) are repeated when the average value of the vibration signal is greater than a predetermined value."] and [0090]);
wherein: the one or more received sensor signals comprise time domain parameters (see [0007 "…(a) receive a vibration signal from a sensor in a mechanical system; (b) model the vibration signal using a time-domain function;…"] and [0089]); and
the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine one or more frequency components of a respective received sensor signal of the one or more received sensor signals (see [0007 "…(b) model the vibration signal using a time-domain function;…"], [0066] and [0089 "Vibration signal 825 can be characterized as a time-domain function having amplitude and phase components for various frequencies."]-[0091]);
adjust at least one of an amplitude or phase of a respective frequency component of the one or more frequency components to obtain one or more adjusted frequency components (see [0007 "…(c) adjust one of an amplitude coefficient and a phase coefficient of the modeled vibration signal;…"], [0066] and [0090]); and
generate the one or more processed signals by determining time domain signals from the one or more adjusted frequency components (see [0007 "…(d) output a control signal corresponding to the modeled vibration signal to the mechanical system so as to reduce the vibration; and (e) receive another vibration signal from the sensor, wherein steps (c)-(e) are repeated when the average value of the vibration signal is greater than a predetermined value."] and [0090]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Inagaki to adjust at least one of an amplitude or phase of a respective frequency component of the one or more frequency components to obtain one or more adjusted frequency components and generate the one or more processed signals by determining time domain signals from the one or more adjusted frequency components, as taught by Hon, in order to reduce or eliminate measured vibrations in an optimal manner.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki (as modified by Iida) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakajima (US 20120065902 A1 and Nakajima hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 12
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki is silent regarding wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals using fixed filtering.
Nakajima teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0014]-[0016]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 9, robot arm 1001; [0016] and [0090]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see [0014 "...a sensor detecting an amount of deformation of the flexible member and outputting an original detection signal indicating a detection result..."] and [0039]-[0041]);
one or more processors (see [0054]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0045]), cause the one or more processors to:
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0014] and [0046]-[0047]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0014 "...a sensor detecting an amount of deformation of the flexible member and outputting an original detection signal indicating a detection result..."] and [0039]-[0041]); and
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0014 "...a sensor detecting an amount of deformation of the flexible member and outputting an original detection signal indicating a detection result..."] and [0046]-[0047 "Consequently, the phase delay of the detection signal 107 with respect to the original detection signal 102 can be suppressed more than the noise removal using a low pass filter with fixed filter characteristics. Thus, the filtering unit 103 can obtain the detection signal 107 removing noise from the original detection signal 102."]);
wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals using fixed filtering (see [0046]-[0047 "Consequently, the phase delay of the detection signal 107 with respect to the original detection signal 102 can be suppressed more than the noise removal using a low pass filter with fixed filter characteristics. Thus, the filtering unit 103 can obtain the detection signal 107 removing noise from the original detection signal 102."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Inagaki to generate the one or more processed signals using fixed filtering, as taught by Nakajima, in order to remove noise from the original sensor signals.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki (as modified by Iida) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matoba (JP 2018001370 A and Matoba hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 13
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki is silent regarding wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals using adaptive filtering.
Matoba teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0006]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference JP_2018001370_A), comprising:
a robotic arm (see robot arm 2 and/or end effector 24 in most Figs.; [0006] and [0016]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Fig 1, acquisition unit 11; [0006]-[0008] and [0019]);
one or more processors (see [0040]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0040]), cause the one or more processors to:
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0006 "As a result, for example, even when cells or the like are transported by the end effector, it is possible to prevent adverse effects due to vibration from being given to cells or the like."], [0019] and [0024]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0006 "...an acquisition unit that acquires vibration of an end effector attached to a tip of a robot arm…"] and [0019 "The acquisition unit 11 acquires the vibration of the end effector 24 attached to the tip of the robot arm 2. The acquisition unit 11 may be a sensor that detects vibration of the end effector 24. This sensor may detect vibration near the control point."]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0021 "In addition, the frequency of vibration to be reduced transmitted through the robot arm 2 and the end effector 24 is about 100 to 1000 Hz. Therefore, the wavelength of the vibration is sufficiently large as compared with the width of the robot arm 2 and the like, and as a whole, the robot arm 2 and the like can be regarded as extending in one dimension."], [0022 "In the case where the vibration is reduced by the adaptive control, the control unit 13 includes, for example, an adaptive filter that analyzes the frequency, phase and magnitude of vibration from the vibration information acquired by the acquisition unit 11, an analyzed frequency, And a controller for controlling the actuator 12 so as to generate oscillation of the opposite phase component of the oscillation frequency. Vibration having a frequency of, for example, 100 Hz or more may be reduced by control by the control unit 13. Also, by virtue of such control, for example, vibration with a frequency of 1000 Hz or less may be reduced."]); and
provide second actuation signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see [0006 "...a control unit that controls the actuator so as to reduce the vibration of the end effector in accordance with the vibration."]-[0007], [0021 "The actuator 12 vibrates the end effector 24. By the vibration of the end effector 24 by the actuator 12, the vibration in the end effector 24 is reduced. Since the actuator 12 vibrates the end effector 24, the actuator 12 is preferably attached to the end effector 24."]-[0022 "The control unit 13 controls the actuator 12 so as to reduce the vibration of the end effector 24 according to the vibration acquired by the acquisition unit 11. This control may be performed by a method similar to so-called active noise cancellation of speech. The control unit 13 may control at least one of magnitude, frequency, and phase of vibration generated by the actuator 12, for example. The control unit 13 normally controls all of them. The control unit 13 may perform control to cause the actuator 12 to generate vibrations in opposite phases of the vibration as the disturbance detected by the acquisition unit 11, for example."]);
wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals using adaptive filtering (see [0022 "...the control unit 13 includes, for example, an adaptive filter that analyzes the frequency, phase and magnitude of vibration from the vibration information acquired by the acquisition unit 11…"]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Inagaki to generate the one or more processed signals using adaptive filtering, as taught by Matoba, in order to provide adaptive feedback control to the robot arm to suppress vibration.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki (as modified by Iida) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wakabayashi (US 20200070370 A1 and Wakabayashi hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 16
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki is silent regarding wherein the sensor is positioned between a pair of joints of the robotic arm.
Wakabayashi teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0005]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 1, robot arm 22; [0022]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Fig. 1, vibration sensor 7; [0005] and [0026]);
one or more processors (see [0025]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0025]), cause the one or more processors to:
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [[0005], and [0025]-[0026]):
receive an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see [0025 "The robot control apparatus 5 receives a position command of the robot 2 from the host computer 6, and controls driving of the first to sixth drive devices 251 to 256 respectively independently so that the respective arms 221 to 226 may be in positions according to the received position command."]);
in accordance with the input, provide first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0023] and [0025 "The robot control apparatus 5 receives a position command of the robot 2 from the host computer 6, and controls driving of the first to sixth drive devices 251 to 256 respectively independently so that the respective arms 221 to 226 may be in positions according to the received position command."]); and
during the movement:
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0005] and [0026 "The vibration sensor 7 is provided in the robot 2 and detects vibration of the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4, particularly, a projection unit 41 or imaging unit 47, which will be described later. In the embodiment, the vibration sensor 7 is provided inside of the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4 at the fifth arm 225, and thereby, may detect the vibration of the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4 with higher accuracy."]); and
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Figs. 6 and 8-10, all; [0005], [0028] and [0040 "Note that the vibration information is not limited to, but includes magnitude of the vibration Q, i.e., a peak value (local maximum value) of the amplitude, a value obtained by time average of the absolute value of the amplitude, or the like."]);
wherein the sensor is positioned between a pair of joints of the robotic arm (see [0026 "In the embodiment, the vibration sensor 7 is provided inside of the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4 at the fifth arm 225, and thereby, may detect the vibration of the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4 with higher accuracy. The vibration sensor 7 is not particularly limited as long as the sensor may detect vibration, but e.g. an angular velocity sensor, an acceleration sensor, or the like may be used."]-[0027 "...placed in another arm than the fifth arm 225, i.e., an arm different from the arm at which the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4 is placed..."] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the sensor of the robotic medical system of modified Inagaki to be positioned between a pair of joints of the robotic arm, as taught by Wakabayashi, in order to detect vibration of the robotic arm with higher accuracy. Additionally, rearrangement of parts is considered an obvious matter of design choice when the operation of the device is not modified, which it is not in these teachings.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki (as modified by Iida) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 20060138975 A1 and Lim hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 18
Modified Inagaki teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Inagaki further teaches wherein:
the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine positions of one or more joints of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, "Position Control"; [0024 "Also, the arm 10 a includes a plurality of servo motors 11 each configured to drive a corresponding one of the joints (see FIG. 2) ... The servo motors 11 each have an operation position detection device for detection of operation position of the servo motor 11 and operation speed thereof. The operation position detection device is, for instance, an encoder. Detected values that have been detected by the operation position detection device are transmitted to the control unit 20."] and [0036])
Inagaki is silent regarding estimate one or more vibrational modes based on the positions of the one or more joints and/or the one or more sensor signals,
wherein the one or more control signals are generated also based on the one or more vibrational modes.
Lim teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0017]-[0018]), comprising:
a sensor (see Fig. 5, first inertia sensor 110 and second inertia sensor 120; [0034]);
one or more processors (see [0037]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (the memory is inherent), cause the one or more processors to:
provide first actuation signals to cause movement of at least a portion of the robot (see Fig. 13, step S100; [0088 "When the mobile apparatus, that is, a mobile robot, moves using the wheels 400, a vibration mode of the mobile robot is measured in step S100."]); and
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0089 "When the mobile apparatus, that is, a mobile robot, moves using the wheels 400, a vibration mode of the mobile robot is measured in step S100."]-[0094]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0034 "The natural period measuring unit 100 includes a first inertia sensor 110, a second inertia sensor 120…"]-[0036 "The second inertia sensor 120 is provided in a location where vibration of the mobile robot is maximized, and it detects vibration of the robot."]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0034 "The natural period measuring unit 100 includes a first inertia sensor 110, a second inertia sensor 120, and a vibration signal calculator 130, and measures a natural period of a moving object."] and [0037]-[0038]);
generate one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 13, step S120; [0094 "Subsequently, an appropriate moving profile for the mobile robot is set from the derived natural vibration period in step S120. That is, an acceleration profile based on the derived natural vibration period may be applied, and an appropriate acceleration profile derived from a simulation is given by Equation 1. In addition, a deceleration profile for stopping the mobile robot in constant velocity is given by Equation 3."]-[0096]); and
provide second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see Fig. 13, steps S130; [0097 "As such, a profile parameter is determined by applying the acceleration/deceleration profile during constant number times the natural period, and a moving profile is set in consideration of performance of the mobile robot such that movement of the mobile robot appears stable, in step S130."]);
wherein:
the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
estimate one or more vibrational modes based on the one or more sensor signals (see Fig. 13, step S100; [0041], [0061] and [0089]-[0090 "At this time, the vibration mode is measured by using an output value difference between a first inertia sensor 110 and a second inertia sensor 120."]),
wherein the one or more control signals are generated also based on the one or more vibrational modes (see Fig. 13, steps S110-S130; [0090]-[0099], especially [0094 "Subsequently, an appropriate moving profile for the mobile robot is set from the derived natural vibration period in step S120. That is, an acceleration profile based on the derived natural vibration period may be applied, and an appropriate acceleration profile derived from a simulation is given by Equation 1."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Inagaki to estimate one or more vibrational modes based on the one or more sensor signals wherein the one or more control signals are generated also based on the one or more vibrational modes, as taught by Lim, in order to determine natural vibrations of the robotic arm to set an appropriate acceleration profile based on the natural vibrations. See MPEP 2144.04(VI).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656