DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This non-final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 24 April 2026, regarding application number 18/750,604.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 remain pending in the application, while claim 15 has been cancelled. Claims 1, 19 and 21 were amended in the Amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8, filed 24 April 2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for at least the reasons discussed in the prior office action and below. For example, the cited Suzuki reference explicitly discloses the newly included features in the amendments. Accordingly, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of newly cited reference Suzuki et al. (US 20180071047 A1). See full details below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 14, 17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (US 20110004343 A1 and Iida hereinafter), in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20180071047 A1 and Suzuki hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Iida teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0008]-[0013]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Figs. 1A-1B, first arm portion 8 and/or second arm portion 13; [0008]-[0013] and [0057]-[0062]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Figs. 1A-1B, angular velocity sensors 9 and 17; [0058 "On the left side of the first arm portion 8 in FIG. 1B, a first angular velocity sensor 9 serving as a vibration detecting unit and an inertial sensor is disposed in the tip end of the first arm portion 8."] and [0066]);
one or more processors (see Fig. 2, CPU 35; [0075]-[0079]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see Fig. 2, memory 36; [0079]-[0081]), cause the one or more processors to:
receive an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see [0079 "The input device 40 is a device that inputs various types of information such as information on the shape of the work 22 or the operating condition of the robot 1."], [0090 "...the overall operation of the first arm portion 8 is close to a desired movement…"] and [0102]);
in accordance with the input, provide first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0081]-[0083 " As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32.”]); and
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see Fig. 4, all; [0010 "A vibration suppressing period during which the vibration of the movable portion is suppressed is overlapped with at least a part of a movement period during which the control of allowing the movable portion to approach the predetermined position is performed or the control of moving the movable portion to the predetermined position is performed."]-[0013], [0090]-[0091], [0097], [0106 "When the vibration suppressing processes of Step S2 and Step S5 are performed in parallel with the first movement process of Step S1 and the second movement process of Step S4, the first arm portion 8 and the elevation device 14 can be moved with the vibrations thereof being suppressed."], [0114 "Then, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 performs control to suppress the vibration based on the movement of the elevation device 14, whereby the vibration of the elevation device 14 is suppressed. Since the amplitude of vibration of the elevation device 14 is small, the image calculating unit 51 can detect the location of the hand portion 16 without difficulty. Accordingly, the location of the hand portion 16 can be detected with high precision, whereby the position of the hand portion 16 can be controlled with high precision."] and [0118]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, arrows from 9 to 54 and from 17 to 58; [0058], [0066], [0083 "As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32..."]-[0085 "Signals are output to the control device 32 from the second angular velocity sensor 17 and the second angle detector 12, which detect the operation of the second arm portion 13, and the first imaging device 18."]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 3, arrows from 54 to 52 and from 58 to 52; [0083]-[0089], especially [0083 "An angular velocity signal that is output by the first angular velocity sensor 9 is input to a first integration calculating unit 54. The first integration calculating unit 54 calculates an angle signal by calculating time integration of the input angular velocity signal. Next, the first integration calculating unit 54 outputs the calculated angle signal to a first high-frequency filter operating unit 55."]-[0084 "In other words, the first angle signal 56 a is a signal corresponding to the angle of the first arm portion 8. Then, the first addition unit 56 outputs the first angle signal 56 a to the vibration suppressing control unit 52."]);
generate one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 3, arrow from 52 to 49; [0090 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the first arm portion 8."]-[0091 "In addition, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a and the second angle signal 60 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the second arm portion 13."]); and
provide second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see Fig. 3, arrows from 49 to 37; [0010] and [0090 "In particular, the first motor 5 is driven such that generation of vibration of the first arm portion 8 is suppressed as much as possible and the overall operation of the first arm portion 8 is close to a desired movement, based on the first angle signal 56 a."]-[0092 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 outputs the calculated control signal, the first angle signal 56 a, and the second angle signal 60 a to the robot control unit 49 … The robot control unit 49 calculates a difference between the position of the hand portion 16 and the movement destination location. Then, a control signal that is formed based on the shifts of changes in the parameters of the angles and the angular velocity at which the first motor 5 and the second motor 11 are driven and the like is calculated. Then, the robot control unit 49 outputs the control signal to the robot driving device 37. The robot driving device 37 receives the control signal as input and outputs driving signals to the first motor 5 and the second motor 11."]).
Iida is silent regarding a surgical instrument couplable to the robotic arm and having a distal tip, the distal tip being sized and configured for insertion into a patient's body;
to thereby attenuate the vibration at the distal tip of the surgical instrument.
Suzuki teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs. [0008]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 1, arm portion 303; Fig. 6, all; [0010] and [0035]);
a surgical instrument couplable to the robotic arm and having a distal tip, the distal tip being sized and configured for insertion into a patient's body (see Fig. 1, all; [0003], [0008 "...medical vibration detection circuitry that is detachable from a medical instrument at an attachment position of the medical instrument in a longitudinal direction and that is configured to detect vibration generated in a distinct portion of the medical instrument, the distinct portion including at least a portion disposed toward a distal end of the medical instrument from the attachment position."]-[0009], [0034]-[0037], [0042 "The vibration detection module 10 is attached to a proximal end side (that is, a side connected to the arm portion 303) of the forceps 301 and detects vibration generated in the forceps 301 at a distal end side relative to the attachment position of the vibration detection module 10, that is, at a portion that approaches or comes into contact with body tissues of the patient. For example, the vibration detection module 10 can detect vibration generated in the forceps 301 when the forceps 301 inserted into the body cavity of the patient comes into contact with body tissues in the body cavity."] and [0124]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Fig. 1, vibration detection module 10; [0009], [0034] and [0045]);
one or more processors (see [0109]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0109]), cause the one or more processors to:
receive an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see Fig. 5, input unit 221; [0090 "For example, in the control system 230, based on an instruction input through the input unit 221, a control amount for driving the arm portion of the support arm device 210 is computed."] and [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119]);
in accordance with the input, provide first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0092 "Information about the control amount computed by the control system 230 is transmitted to a drive unit 211 of the support arm device 210. The drive unit 211 corresponds to, for example, a motor that is provided in joint portions of the arm portion and configured to rotatably drive the joint portions. When the motor is driven according to the control amount computed by the control system 230, the arm portion is operated according to an instruction by the surgeon through the input device 220."] and [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119] and [0123 "As described above, in the support arm device 400, a position and an orientation of the forceps 423 are controlled by driving the arm portion 420."]); and
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0118]-[0119] and [0123]-[0124]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see Fig. 5, vibration detection module 10; [0008 "...medical vibration detection circuitry that is detachable from a medical instrument at an attachment position of the medical instrument in a longitudinal direction and that is configured to detect vibration generated in a distinct portion of the medical instrument, the distinct portion including at least a portion disposed toward a distal end of the medical instrument from the attachment position."]-[0009], [0095 "Next, a system of transmitting vibration detected by the vibration detection module 10 will be described."]-[0096 "A signal indicating vibration detected by the first vibration sensor 120 and the second vibration sensor 130 is transmitted to a vibration presentation unit 223 of the input device 220 through the vibration transmission unit 240."], [0119] and [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor."]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 5, vibration transmission unit 240; [0055 "For example, the first vibration sensor 120 detects vibration of a frequency band corresponding to an audible range (for example, about 20 Hz to about 20 kHz) of a human."]-[0059 "A signal indicating auditory vibration detected by the first vibration sensor 120 and a signal indicating tactile vibration detected by the second vibration sensor 130 are transmitted to a circuit board configured to perform various types of signal processing such as amplification and filtering on such signals using a cable 150. "], [0097 "Specifically, the vibration transmission unit 240 performs various types of signal processing such as an amplification process and a filtering process on the signal indicating vibration detected by the vibration detection module 10, and transmits the processed signal to the vibration presentation unit 223."]-[0103], [0119] and [0124 "In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10. That is, the vibration detection module 10 may also perform a role of the vibration sensor for damping control."]);
generate one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor. In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10."]); and
provide second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor. In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10."]) to thereby attenuate the vibration at the distal tip of the surgical instrument (see Fig. 1, all; [0008]-[0009], [0034]-[0037] and [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor. In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the robotic arm of the robotic medical system of Iida to further include a surgical instrument having a distal tip, the distal tip being sized and configured for insertion into a patient's body, and to attenuate the vibration at the distal tip of the surgical instrument, as taught by Suzuki, in order detect a contact state of a medical instrument with body tissues during a surgical procedure and to attenuate vibrations caused by the contact state with reduced costs and a simplified configuration.
Regarding Claim 2
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida further teaches wherein providing the first actuation signals causes the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0081]-[0083 " As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32."]).
Iida is silent regarding wherein: the first actuation signals correspond to a first force so that providing the first actuation signals causes the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm.
Suzuki teaches wherein: the first actuation signals correspond to a first force so that providing the first actuation signals causes the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0065 "Here, although not illustrated, the force sensor may be provided in a portion connecting the arm portion 303 and the forceps 301. In addition, a force sensor (a torque sensor) configured to detect a force applied to each of the joint portions may be provided in the joint portions of the arm portion 303. In the present embodiment, a force applied to the forceps 301 may be detected by such a force sensor, and transmitted to the surgeon who manipulates the forceps 301."], [0093]-[0094] and [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Iida to include the first actuation signals corresponding to a first force and instructions for providing the first actuation signals to cause the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm, as taught by Suzuki, in order to control the amount of motor movement of each joint according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joints detected by a force sensor.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida further teaches wherein: the second actuation signals correspond to a combination of the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals (see Fig. 3, arrows from 49 to 37; [0010] and [0090]-[0092 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 outputs the calculated control signal, the first angle signal 56 a, and the second angle signal 60 a to the robot control unit 49 … The robot control unit 49 calculates a difference between the position of the hand portion 16 and the movement destination location. Then, a control signal that is formed based on the shifts of changes in the parameters of the angles and the angular velocity at which the first motor 5 and the second motor 11 are driven and the like is calculated. Then, the robot control unit 49 outputs the control signal to the robot driving device 37. The robot driving device 37 receives the control signal as input and outputs driving signals to the first motor 5 and the second motor 11."]).
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida further teaches wherein: the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine positions of one or more joints of the robotic arm (see [0055 "On the lower side of the first motor 5, a first angle detector 6 as a movement amount detecting unit is disposed. The first angle detector 6 is a device that detects the rotation angle of the first motor 5."]-[0063]),
wherein the first actuation signals are further based on the positions of the one or more joints (see [0081 "The first movement destination control section 49 a controls movement of the hand portion 16 to a predetermined location by using signals that are output from the first angle detector 6 and the second angle detector 12."]-[0083 " As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32.”]).
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida further teaches wherein: the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine positions of one or more joints of the robotic arm (see [0055 "On the lower side of the first motor 5, a first angle detector 6 as a movement amount detecting unit is disposed. The first angle detector 6 is a device that detects the rotation angle of the first motor 5."]-[0063]),
wherein the one or more control signals are further based on the positions of the one or more joints (see Fig. 3, all; [0083]-[0090 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the first arm portion 8."]).
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida further teaches wherein: the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals by filtering the one or more received sensor signals based on frequency components (see [0083 "Next, the first integration calculating unit 54 outputs the calculated angle signal to a first high-frequency filter operating unit 55. The first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 receives the angle signal as input and performs an operation of extracting the high-frequency component of the angle signal. In other words, the first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 performs an operation of attenuating the low-frequency component of the angle signal."]-[0087]).
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 6 (as discussed above in claim 6),
Iida further teaches wherein filtering the one or more received sensor signals includes filtering the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a first frequency associated with the robotic arm (see [0083 "Next, the first integration calculating unit 54 outputs the calculated angle signal to a first high-frequency filter operating unit 55. The first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 receives the angle signal as input and performs an operation of extracting the high-frequency component of the angle signal. In other words, the first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 performs an operation of attenuating the low-frequency component of the angle signal. Then, the first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 outputs a first high-frequency signal 55 a that is acquired by extracting the high-frequency component to a first addition unit 56."]-[0087]).
Regarding Claim 10
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida further teaches wherein: the robotic arm includes one or more vibrational modes (see [0083 "Next, the first integration calculating unit 54 outputs the calculated angle signal to a first high-frequency filter operating unit 55. The first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 receives the angle signal as input and performs an operation of extracting the high-frequency component of the angle signal. In other words, the first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 performs an operation of attenuating the low-frequency component of the angle signal. Then, the first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 outputs a first high-frequency signal 55 a that is acquired by extracting the high-frequency component to a first addition unit 56."] and [0084 "The angle signal that is output by the first angle detector 6 is input to a first low-frequency filter operating unit 57. The first low-frequency filter operating unit 57 receives the angle signal as input and performs an operation of extracting the low-frequency component of the angle signal. In other words, the first low-frequency filter operating unit 57 performs an operation of attenuating the high-frequency component of the angle signal. Then, the first low-frequency filter operating unit 57 outputs a first low-frequency signal 57 a acquired by extracting the low-frequency component to the first addition unit 56."]); and
the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals by filtering the received sensor signals for frequency components at each of the one or more vibrational modes of the robotic arm (see [0083 "Next, the first integration calculating unit 54 outputs the calculated angle signal to a first high-frequency filter operating unit 55. The first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 receives the angle signal as input and performs an operation of extracting the high-frequency component of the angle signal. In other words, the first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 performs an operation of attenuating the low-frequency component of the angle signal. Then, the first high-frequency filter operating unit 55 outputs a first high-frequency signal 55 a that is acquired by extracting the high-frequency component to a first addition unit 56."] and [0084 "The angle signal that is output by the first angle detector 6 is input to a first low-frequency filter operating unit 57. The first low-frequency filter operating unit 57 receives the angle signal as input and performs an operation of extracting the low-frequency component of the angle signal. In other words, the first low-frequency filter operating unit 57 performs an operation of attenuating the high-frequency component of the angle signal. Then, the first low-frequency filter operating unit 57 outputs a first low-frequency signal 57 a acquired by extracting the low-frequency component to the first addition unit 56."]).
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida further teaches wherein: the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate a compensatory movement based on the one or more control signals; and
adjust the target motion based on the compensatory movement (see [0090 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the first arm portion 8."]-[0092 "The robot control unit 49 calculates a difference between the position of the hand portion 16 and the movement destination location. Then, a control signal that is formed based on the shifts of changes in the parameters of the angles and the angular velocity at which the first motor 5 and the second motor 11 are driven and the like is calculated."]).
Regarding Claim 17
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida further teaches wherein the sensor comprises: an accelerometer or an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (see [0010], [0058] and [0168]).
Regarding Claim 19
Iida teaches a method performed by a medical robotic system including a robotic arm and a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see all Figs.; [0008]-[0013]), the method comprising:
receiving an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see [0079 "The input device 40 is a device that inputs various types of information such as information on the shape of the work 22 or the operating condition of the robot 1."], [0090 "...the overall operation of the first arm portion 8 is close to a desired movement…"] and [0102]);
in accordance with the input, providing first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement toward a position or a pose of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0081]-[0083 " As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32.'] and [0102]); and
during the movement toward the position or the pose (see Fig. 4, all; [0010 "A vibration suppressing period during which the vibration of the movable portion is suppressed is overlapped with at least a part of a movement period during which the control of allowing the movable portion to approach the predetermined position is performed or the control of moving the movable portion to the predetermined position is performed."]-[0013], [0090]-[0091], [0097], [0106 "When the vibration suppressing processes of Step S2 and Step S5 are performed in parallel with the first movement process of Step S1 and the second movement process of Step S4, the first arm portion 8 and the elevation device 14 can be moved with the vibrations thereof being suppressed."], [0114 "Then, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 performs control to suppress the vibration based on the movement of the elevation device 14, whereby the vibration of the elevation device 14 is suppressed. Since the amplitude of vibration of the elevation device 14 is small, the image calculating unit 51 can detect the location of the hand portion 16 without difficulty. Accordingly, the location of the hand portion 16 can be detected with high precision, whereby the position of the hand portion 16 can be controlled with high precision."] and [0118]):
receiving one or more sensor signals of the robotic arm from the sensor of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, arrows from 9 to 54 and from 17 to 58; [0058], [0066], [0083 "As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32..."]-[0085 "Signals are output to the control device 32 from the second angular velocity sensor 17 and the second angle detector 12, which detect the operation of the second arm portion 13, and the first imaging device 18."]);
generating one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 3, arrows from 54 to 52 and from 58 to 52; [0083]-[0089], especially [0083 "An angular velocity signal that is output by the first angular velocity sensor 9 is input to a first integration calculating unit 54. The first integration calculating unit 54 calculates an angle signal by calculating time integration of the input angular velocity signal. Next, the first integration calculating unit 54 outputs the calculated angle signal to a first high-frequency filter operating unit 55."]-[0084 "In other words, the first angle signal 56 a is a signal corresponding to the angle of the first arm portion 8. Then, the first addition unit 56 outputs the first angle signal 56 a to the vibration suppressing control unit 52."]);
generating one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 3, arrow from 52 to 49; [0090 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the first arm portion 8."]-[0091 "In addition, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a and the second angle signal 60 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the second arm portion 13."]); and
providing second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see Fig. 3, arrows from 49 to 37; [0010] and [0090 "In particular, the first motor 5 is driven such that generation of vibration of the first arm portion 8 is suppressed as much as possible and the overall operation of the first arm portion 8 is close to a desired movement, based on the first angle signal 56 a."]-[0092 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 outputs the calculated control signal, the first angle signal 56 a, and the second angle signal 60 a to the robot control unit 49 … The robot control unit 49 calculates a difference between the position of the hand portion 16 and the movement destination location. Then, a control signal that is formed based on the shifts of changes in the parameters of the angles and the angular velocity at which the first motor 5 and the second motor 11 are driven and the like is calculated. Then, the robot control unit 49 outputs the control signal to the robot driving device 37. The robot driving device 37 receives the control signal as input and outputs driving signals to the first motor 5 and the second motor 11."]).
Iida is silent regarding such that a distal tip of a surgical instrument coupled to the robotic arm is positioned within a patient's body; and
while the distal tip of the surgical instrument is positioned within the patient's body:
to thereby attenuate the vibration at the distal tip of the surgical instrument.
Suzuki teaches a method performed by a medical robotic system including a robotic arm and a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see all Figs. [0008]), the method comprising:
receiving an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see Fig. 5, input unit 221; [0090 "For example, in the control system 230, based on an instruction input through the input unit 221, a control amount for driving the arm portion of the support arm device 210 is computed."] and [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119]);
in accordance with the input, providing first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement toward a position or a pose of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0092 "Information about the control amount computed by the control system 230 is transmitted to a drive unit 211 of the support arm device 210. The drive unit 211 corresponds to, for example, a motor that is provided in joint portions of the arm portion and configured to rotatably drive the joint portions. When the motor is driven according to the control amount computed by the control system 230, the arm portion is operated according to an instruction by the surgeon through the input device 220."] and [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119] and [0123 "As described above, in the support arm device 400, a position and an orientation of the forceps 423 are controlled by driving the arm portion 420."]) such that a distal tip of a surgical instrument coupled to the robotic arm is positioned within a patient's body (see Fig. 1, all; [0003], [0008 "...medical vibration detection circuitry that is detachable from a medical instrument at an attachment position of the medical instrument in a longitudinal direction and that is configured to detect vibration generated in a distinct portion of the medical instrument, the distinct portion including at least a portion disposed toward a distal end of the medical instrument from the attachment position."]-[0009], [0034]-[0037], [0042 "The vibration detection module 10 is attached to a proximal end side (that is, a side connected to the arm portion 303) of the forceps 301 and detects vibration generated in the forceps 301 at a distal end side relative to the attachment position of the vibration detection module 10, that is, at a portion that approaches or comes into contact with body tissues of the patient. For example, the vibration detection module 10 can detect vibration generated in the forceps 301 when the forceps 301 inserted into the body cavity of the patient comes into contact with body tissues in the body cavity."] and [0124]); and
during the movement toward the position or the pose (see [0118]-[0119] and [0123]-[0124]) and while the distal tip of the surgical instrument is positioned within the patient's body (see [0003], [0034], [0042 "The vibration detection module 10 is attached to a proximal end side (that is, a side connected to the arm portion 303) of the forceps 301 and detects vibration generated in the forceps 301 at a distal end side relative to the attachment position of the vibration detection module 10, that is, at a portion that approaches or comes into contact with body tissues of the patient. For example, the vibration detection module 10 can detect vibration generated in the forceps 301 when the forceps 301 inserted into the body cavity of the patient comes into contact with body tissues in the body cavity."] and [0062]):
receiving one or more sensor signals of the robotic arm from the sensor of the robotic arm (see Fig. 5, vibration detection module 10; [0008 "...medical vibration detection circuitry that is detachable from a medical instrument at an attachment position of the medical instrument in a longitudinal direction and that is configured to detect vibration generated in a distinct portion of the medical instrument, the distinct portion including at least a portion disposed toward a distal end of the medical instrument from the attachment position."]-[0009], [0095 "Next, a system of transmitting vibration detected by the vibration detection module 10 will be described."]-[0096 "A signal indicating vibration detected by the first vibration sensor 120 and the second vibration sensor 130 is transmitted to a vibration presentation unit 223 of the input device 220 through the vibration transmission unit 240."], [0119] and [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor."]);
generating one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 5, vibration transmission unit 240; [0055 "For example, the first vibration sensor 120 detects vibration of a frequency band corresponding to an audible range (for example, about 20 Hz to about 20 kHz) of a human."]-[0059 "A signal indicating auditory vibration detected by the first vibration sensor 120 and a signal indicating tactile vibration detected by the second vibration sensor 130 are transmitted to a circuit board configured to perform various types of signal processing such as amplification and filtering on such signals using a cable 150. "], [0097 "Specifically, the vibration transmission unit 240 performs various types of signal processing such as an amplification process and a filtering process on the signal indicating vibration detected by the vibration detection module 10, and transmits the processed signal to the vibration presentation unit 223."]-[0103], [0119] and [0124 "In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10. That is, the vibration detection module 10 may also perform a role of the vibration sensor for damping control."]);
generating one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor. In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10."]); and
providing second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor. In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10."]), to thereby attenuate the vibration at the distal tip of the surgical instrument (see Fig. 1, all; [0008]-[0009], [0034]-[0037] and [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor. In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10. "]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the robotic arm of the process of Iida to further include a surgical instrument having a distal tip for insertion into a patient's body, and to attenuate the vibration at the distal tip of the surgical instrument while the distal tip is positioned within the patient's body, as taught by Suzuki, in order detect a contact state of a medical instrument with body tissues during a surgical procedure and to attenuate vibrations caused by the contact state with reduced costs and a simplified configuration.
Regarding Claim 20
Modified Iida teaches the method of claim 19 (as discussed above in claim 19),
Iida further teaches providing the first actuation signals causes the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0081]-[0083 " As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32."]).
Iida is silent regarding wherein: the first actuation signals correspond to a first force; and
providing the first actuation signals causes the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm.
Suzuki teaches wherein: the first actuation signals correspond to a first force (see [0065 "Here, although not illustrated, the force sensor may be provided in a portion connecting the arm portion 303 and the forceps 301. In addition, a force sensor (a torque sensor) configured to detect a force applied to each of the joint portions may be provided in the joint portions of the arm portion 303. In the present embodiment, a force applied to the forceps 301 may be detected by such a force sensor, and transmitted to the surgeon who manipulates the forceps 301."], [0093]-[0094] and [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119]); and
providing the first actuation signals causes the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0094] and [0118 "The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f. When the motor of each actuator is driven according to the computed control amount, the arm portion 420 is operated according to the instruction of the surgeon."]-[0119]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the process of modified Iida to include the first actuation signals corresponding to a first force and a step for providing the first actuation signals to cause the first force to be applied to the at least a portion of the robotic arm to initiate the movement of the at least a portion of the robotic arm, as taught by Suzuki, in order to control the amount of motor movement of each joint according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joints detected by a force sensor.
Regarding Claim 21
Iida teaches a method performed by a medical robotic system including a robotic arm and a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see all Figs.; [0008]-[0013]), the method comprising:
moving the robotic arm toward a position (see [0081]-[0083 " As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32."]);
receiving one or more sensor signals based on the movement of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, arrows from 9 to 54 and from 17 to 58; [0058], [0066], [0083 "As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32..."]-[0085 "Signals are output to the control device 32 from the second angular velocity sensor 17 and the second angle detector 12, which detect the operation of the second arm portion 13, and the first imaging device 18."]),
the one or more sensor signal being received from the sensor of the robotic arm as the robotic arm moves toward the position (see Figs. 1A-1B, angular velocity sensors 9 and 17; [0058 "On the left side of the first arm portion 8 in FIG. 1B, a first angular velocity sensor 9 serving as a vibration detecting unit and an inertial sensor is disposed in the tip end of the first arm portion 8."] and [0066]);
generating one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 3, arrows from 54 to 52 and from 58 to 52; [0083]-[0089], especially [0083 "An angular velocity signal that is output by the first angular velocity sensor 9 is input to a first integration calculating unit 54. The first integration calculating unit 54 calculates an angle signal by calculating time integration of the input angular velocity signal. Next, the first integration calculating unit 54 outputs the calculated angle signal to a first high-frequency filter operating unit 55."]-[0084 "In other words, the first angle signal 56 a is a signal corresponding to the angle of the first arm portion 8. Then, the first addition unit 56 outputs the first angle signal 56 a to the vibration suppressing control unit 52."]);
generating one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 3, arrow from 52 to 49; [0090 "The vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the first arm portion 8."]-[0091 "In addition, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 receives the first angle signal 56 a and the second angle signal 60 a as input and calculates a control signal for suppressing the vibration of the second arm portion 13."]); and
reducing a vibration of the robotic arm via the one or more processed signals as the robotic arm continues moving toward the position (see Fig. 4, all; [0010 "A vibration suppressing period during which the vibration of the movable portion is suppressed is overlapped with at least a part of a movement period during which the control of allowing the movable portion to approach the predetermined position is performed or the control of moving the movable portion to the predetermined position is performed."]-[0013], [0090]-[0091], [0097], [0106 "When the vibration suppressing processes of Step S2 and Step S5 are performed in parallel with the first movement process of Step S1 and the second movement process of Step S4, the first arm portion 8 and the elevation device 14 can be moved with the vibrations thereof being suppressed."], [0114 "Then, the vibration suppressing control unit 52 performs control to suppress the vibration based on the movement of the elevation device 14, whereby the vibration of the elevation device 14 is suppressed. Since the amplitude of vibration of the elevation device 14 is small, the image calculating unit 51 can detect the location of the hand portion 16 without difficulty. Accordingly, the location of the hand portion 16 can be detected with high precision, whereby the position of the hand portion 16 can be controlled with high precision."] and [0118]).
Iida is silent regarding such that a distal tip of a surgical instrument coupled to the robotic arm is positioned within a patient's body;
to thereby attenuate the vibration at the distal tip of the surgical instrument while the distal tip is positioned within the patient's body.
Suzuki teaches a method performed by a medical robotic system including a robotic arm and a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see all Figs. [0008]), the method comprising:
moving the robotic arm toward a position (see [0092 "Information about the control amount computed by the control system 230 is transmitted to a drive unit 211 of the support arm device 210. The drive unit 211 corresponds to, for example, a motor that is provided in joint portions of the arm portion and configured to rotatably drive the joint portions. When the motor is driven according to the control amount computed by the control system 230, the arm portion is operated according to an instruction by the surgeon through the input device 220."] and [0118 "When the arm portion 420 is operated, the surgeon inputs an instruction to the support arm device 400 through an input device (corresponds to the input device 220 illustrated in FIG. 5). A signal indicating the instruction input through the input device is transmitted to the control device 440. The control device 440 computes a control amount of the motor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f according to the instruction based on a state of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f detected by an encoder and a torque sensor of the actuator of each of the joint portions 421 a to 421 f."]-[0119]) such that a distal tip of a surgical instrument coupled to the robotic arm is positioned within a patient's body (see Fig. 1, all; [0003], [0008 "...medical vibration detection circuitry that is detachable from a medical instrument at an attachment position of the medical instrument in a longitudinal direction and that is configured to detect vibration generated in a distinct portion of the medical instrument, the distinct portion including at least a portion disposed toward a distal end of the medical instrument from the attachment position."]-[0009], [0034]-[0037], [0042 "The vibration detection module 10 is attached to a proximal end side (that is, a side connected to the arm portion 303) of the forceps 301 and detects vibration generated in the forceps 301 at a distal end side relative to the attachment position of the vibration detection module 10, that is, at a portion that approaches or comes into contact with body tissues of the patient. For example, the vibration detection module 10 can detect vibration generated in the forceps 301 when the forceps 301 inserted into the body cavity of the patient comes into contact with body tissues in the body cavity."] and [0124]);
receiving one or more sensor signals based on the movement of the robotic arm, the one or more sensor signal being received from the sensor of the robotic arm as the robotic arm moves toward the position (see Fig. 5, vibration detection module 10; [0008 "...medical vibration detection circuitry that is detachable from a medical instrument at an attachment position of the medical instrument in a longitudinal direction and that is configured to detect vibration generated in a distinct portion of the medical instrument, the distinct portion including at least a portion disposed toward a distal end of the medical instrument from the attachment position."]-[0009], [0095 "Next, a system of transmitting vibration detected by the vibration detection module 10 will be described."]-[0096 "A signal indicating vibration detected by the first vibration sensor 120 and the second vibration sensor 130 is transmitted to a vibration presentation unit 223 of the input device 220 through the vibration transmission unit 240."], [0119] and [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor."]);
generating one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Fig. 5, vibration transmission unit 240; [0055 "For example, the first vibration sensor 120 detects vibration of a frequency band corresponding to an audible range (for example, about 20 Hz to about 20 kHz) of a human."]-[0059 "A signal indicating auditory vibration detected by the first vibration sensor 120 and a signal indicating tactile vibration detected by the second vibration sensor 130 are transmitted to a circuit board configured to perform various types of signal processing such as amplification and filtering on such signals using a cable 150. "], [0097 "Specifically, the vibration transmission unit 240 performs various types of signal processing such as an amplification process and a filtering process on the signal indicating vibration detected by the vibration detection module 10, and transmits the processed signal to the vibration presentation unit 223."]-[0103], [0119] and [0124 "In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10. That is, the vibration detection module 10 may also perform a role of the vibration sensor for damping control."]);
generating one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor. In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10."]); and
reducing a vibration of the robotic arm via the one or more processed signals as the robotic arm continues moving toward the position (see [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor. In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10."]) to thereby attenuate the vibration at the distal tip of the surgical instrument while the distal tip is positioned within the patient's body (see Fig. 1, all; [0008]-[0009], [0034]-[0037] and [0124 "In order to perform damping control, generally, a vibration sensor for damping control is provided in the arm portion 420 and/or the forceps 423, and damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration sensor. In the present embodiment, the support arm device 400 may be configured such that damping control is performed based on a detection value of the vibration detection module 10. "]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the robotic arm of the process of Iida to further include a surgical instrument having a distal tip for insertion into a patient's body, and to attenuate the vibration at the distal tip of the surgical instrument while the distal tip is positioned within the patient's body, as taught by Suzuki, in order detect a contact state of a medical instrument with body tissues during a surgical procedure and to attenuate vibrations caused by the contact state with reduced costs and a simplified configuration.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (as modified by Suzuki) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kojima et al. (JP 2017042835 A and Kojima hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 7 (as discussed above in claim 7),
Iida is silent regarding wherein the first frequency comprises a natural frequency of the robotic arm.
Kojima teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; especially Fig. 1; [0010]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference JP_2017042835_A), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 1, robot arm 11; [0015]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Fig. 1, vibration sensor 10; [0010] and [0019]);
one or more processors (see Fig. 2, processor 7a; [0021]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see Fig. 2, memory 7b; [0021]), cause the one or more processors to:
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0010] and [0019]-[0020]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0010] and [0019 "The vibration sensor 4 is attached to the robot base 10, for example. The vibration sensor 4 detects the vibration of the robot 2 caused by the contact between the robot hand 12 and the workpiece. The vibration detected by the vibration sensor 4 includes the natural vibration of the entire robot 2."]); and
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0010], [0020 "The band pass filter 6 is a means for reducing the signal component other than the specific frequency including the natural frequency of the robot 2 as a whole relative to the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 as compared with the signal component of the specific frequency."], [0026] and [0094]);
wherein: the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals by filtering the one or more received sensor signals based on frequency components (see [0010], [0020 "The band pass filter 6 is a means for reducing the signal component other than the specific frequency including the natural frequency of the robot 2 as a whole relative to the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 as compared with the signal component of the specific frequency."], [0026] and [0094]);
wherein filtering the one or more received sensor signals includes filtering the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a first frequency associated with the robotic arm (see [0010], [0020 "The band pass filter 6 is a means for reducing the signal component other than the specific frequency including the natural frequency of the robot 2 as a whole relative to the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 as compared with the signal component of the specific frequency. In detail, the bandpass filter 6 passes a signal of a passband including the natural frequency of the entire robot 2 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 ... That is, the bandpass filter 6 has a passband including the natural frequency of the entire robot 2. The band pass filter 6 is only required to pass the natural frequency of the entire robot 2, and the circuit configuration is not limited."], [0026], [0087] and [0094 "Furthermore, the bandpass filter 6a allows a signal in the passband including the natural frequency f1 to pass from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4, and the bandpass filter 6b extracts the natural frequency f2 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 , And the bandpass filter 6 c passes a signal of the passband including the natural frequency of 3 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4."]);
wherein the first frequency comprises a natural frequency of the robotic arm (see [0010], [0020 "The band pass filter 6 is a means for reducing the signal component other than the specific frequency including the natural frequency of the robot 2 as a whole relative to the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 as compared with the signal component of the specific frequency. In detail, the bandpass filter 6 passes a signal of a passband including the natural frequency of the entire robot 2 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 ... That is, the bandpass filter 6 has a passband including the natural frequency of the entire robot 2. The band pass filter 6 is only required to pass the natural frequency of the entire robot 2, and the circuit configuration is not limited."], [0026], [0087] and [0094 "Furthermore, the bandpass filter 6a allows a signal in the passband including the natural frequency f1 to pass from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4, and the bandpass filter 6b extracts the natural frequency f2 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4 , And the bandpass filter 6 c passes a signal of the passband including the natural frequency of 3 from the signal output from the vibration sensor 4."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Iida to filter the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a natural frequency associated with the robotic arm, as taught by Kojima, in order to eliminate noise and prevent erroneous detection of external contact with the robot arm.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (as modified by Suzuki) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Tamatsukuri (US 20230358569 A1 and Tamatsukuri hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 9
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 7 (as discussed above in claim 7),
Iida is silent regarding wherein the first frequency is higher than a frequency associated with operational motions from a human operator.
Tamatsukuri teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0001] and [0012]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 4, transport robot 3; [0052]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see [0012 "...a sensor unit for detecting the physical phenomenon…"] and [0030]);
one or more processors (see [0030]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0031]), cause the one or more processors to:
in accordance with the input, provide first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0012]); and
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0012]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0012 "...a sensor unit for detecting the physical phenomenon…"] and [0030]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Abstract; [0012 "... a discrete Fourier transform unit for performing a discrete Fourier transform of a detection signal transmitted from the sensor unit, a later-stage weighting unit for setting amplitude values of each frequency generated by the discrete Fourier transform unit that exceed a prescribed upper-limit value to the prescribed upper-limit value, and an accumulation unit for adding the amplitude values at each frequency weighted by the later-stage weighting unit.] and [0034]-[0037]);
wherein: the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals by filtering the one or more received sensor signals based on frequency components (see Abstract; [0012 "... a discrete Fourier transform unit for performing a discrete Fourier transform of a detection signal transmitted from the sensor unit, a later-stage weighting unit for setting amplitude values of each frequency generated by the discrete Fourier transform unit that exceed a prescribed upper-limit value to the prescribed upper-limit value, and an accumulation unit for adding the amplitude values at each frequency weighted by the later-stage weighting unit.] and [0034]-[0037]);
wherein filtering the one or more received sensor signals includes filtering the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a first frequency associated with the robotic arm (see Abstract; [0012 "... a discrete Fourier transform unit for performing a discrete Fourier transform of a detection signal transmitted from the sensor unit, a later-stage weighting unit for setting amplitude values of each frequency generated by the discrete Fourier transform unit that exceed a prescribed upper-limit value to the prescribed upper-limit value, and an accumulation unit for adding the amplitude values at each frequency weighted by the later-stage weighting unit.] and [0034]-[0037]);
wherein the first frequency is higher than a frequency associated with operational motions from a human operator (see Fig. 3B, all; Abstract "...a discrete Fourier transform unit 208 for performing a discrete Fourier transform of a detection signal transmitted from the sensor unit 203; a later-stage weighting unit 209 for setting amplitude values at each frequency generated by the discrete Fourier transform unit 208 that exceed a prescribed upper-limit value to said prescribed upper-limit value; and an accumulation unit 210 for adding the amplitude values at each frequency weighted by the later-stage weighting unit 209. An operator console 100 sets the prescribed upper-limit value in the waveform analysis device 200."; [0012] and [0037]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Iida to include filtering the one or more received sensor signals for frequency components at a first frequency associated with the robotic arm where the first frequency is higher than a frequency associated with operational motions from a human operator, as taught by Tamatsukuri, in order to know in advance for what frequencies natural vibrations with amplitude value will occur.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (as modified by Suzuki) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hon et al. (US 20110295431 A1 and Hon hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida further teaches wherein: the one or more received sensor signals comprise time domain parameters (see [0083 "The first integration calculating unit 54 calculates an angle signal by calculating time integration of the input angular velocity signal."]-[0085]); and
the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine one or more frequency components of a respective received sensor signal of the one or more received sensor signals (see [0083]-[0088]); and adjust at least one of an amplitude or phase of a respective frequency component of the one or more frequency components to obtain one or more adjusted frequency components (see [0011 "When the amplitude of vibration of the movable portion is decreased in the performing of control of allowing the movable portion to approach a predetermined position, the amplitude of vibration of the movable portion at the time of transition to the performing of control of moving the movable portion to the predetermined position can be decreased."]-[0012] and [0106]).
Iida is silent regarding generate the one or more processed signals by determining time domain signals from the one or more adjusted frequency components.
Hon teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0007]), comprising:
a sensor (see [0007 "…(a) receive a vibration signal from a sensor in a mechanical system;…"] and [0088]);
one or more processors (see [0007]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0092]), cause the one or more processors to:
provide first actuation signals to cause movement (see [0007 "...(d) output a control signal corresponding to the modeled vibration signal to the mechanical system so as to reduce the vibration; ... wherein steps (c)-(e) are repeated when the average value of the vibration signal is greater than a predetermined value..."])
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0007], especially [0007 "...wherein steps (c)-(e) are repeated when the average value of the vibration signal is greater than a predetermined value."]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0007 "…(a) receive a vibration signal from a sensor in a mechanical system;…"] and [0088]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0007 "…(a) receive a vibration signal from a sensor in a mechanical system; (b) model the vibration signal using a time-domain function;…"] and [0088]-[0089]);
generate one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see [0007 "…(c) adjust one of an amplitude coefficient and a phase coefficient of the modeled vibration signal;…"], [0066] and [0090]); and
provide second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration is suppressed (see [0007 "…(d) output a control signal corresponding to the modeled vibration signal to the mechanical system so as to reduce the vibration; and (e) receive another vibration signal from the sensor, wherein steps (c)-(e) are repeated when the average value of the vibration signal is greater than a predetermined value."] and [0090]);
wherein: the one or more received sensor signals comprise time domain parameters (see [0007 "…(a) receive a vibration signal from a sensor in a mechanical system; (b) model the vibration signal using a time-domain function;…"] and [0089]); and
the memory includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine one or more frequency components of a respective received sensor signal of the one or more received sensor signals (see [0007 "…(b) model the vibration signal using a time-domain function;…"], [0066] and [0089 "Vibration signal 825 can be characterized as a time-domain function having amplitude and phase components for various frequencies."]-[0091]);
adjust at least one of an amplitude or phase of a respective frequency component of the one or more frequency components to obtain one or more adjusted frequency components (see [0007 "…(c) adjust one of an amplitude coefficient and a phase coefficient of the modeled vibration signal;…"], [0066] and [0090]); and
generate the one or more processed signals by determining time domain signals from the one or more adjusted frequency components (see [0007 "…(d) output a control signal corresponding to the modeled vibration signal to the mechanical system so as to reduce the vibration; and (e) receive another vibration signal from the sensor, wherein steps (c)-(e) are repeated when the average value of the vibration signal is greater than a predetermined value."] and [0090]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Iida to adjust at least one of an amplitude or phase of a respective frequency component of the one or more frequency components to obtain one or more adjusted frequency components and generate the one or more processed signals by determining time domain signals from the one or more adjusted frequency components, as taught by Hon, in order to reduce or eliminate measured vibrations in an optimal manner.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (as modified by Suzuki) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakajima (US 20120065902 A1 and Nakajima hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 12
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida is silent regarding wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals using fixed filtering.
Nakajima teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0014]-[0016]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 9, robot arm 1001; [0016] and [0090]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see [0014 "...a sensor detecting an amount of deformation of the flexible member and outputting an original detection signal indicating a detection result..."] and [0039]-[0041]);
one or more processors (see [0054]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0045]), cause the one or more processors to:
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0014] and [0046]-[0047]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0014 "...a sensor detecting an amount of deformation of the flexible member and outputting an original detection signal indicating a detection result..."] and [0039]-[0041]); and
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0014 "...a sensor detecting an amount of deformation of the flexible member and outputting an original detection signal indicating a detection result..."] and [0046]-[0047 "Consequently, the phase delay of the detection signal 107 with respect to the original detection signal 102 can be suppressed more than the noise removal using a low pass filter with fixed filter characteristics. Thus, the filtering unit 103 can obtain the detection signal 107 removing noise from the original detection signal 102."]);
wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals using fixed filtering (see [0046]-[0047 "Consequently, the phase delay of the detection signal 107 with respect to the original detection signal 102 can be suppressed more than the noise removal using a low pass filter with fixed filter characteristics. Thus, the filtering unit 103 can obtain the detection signal 107 removing noise from the original detection signal 102."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Iida to generate the one or more processed signals using fixed filtering, as taught by Nakajima, in order to remove noise from the original sensor signals.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (as modified by Suzuki) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matoba (JP 2018001370 A and Matoba hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 13
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida is silent regarding wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals using adaptive filtering.
Matoba teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0006]; see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference JP_2018001370_A), comprising:
a robotic arm (see robot arm 2 and/or end effector 24 in most Figs.; [0006] and [0016]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Fig 1, acquisition unit 11; [0006]-[0008] and [0019]);
one or more processors (see [0040]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0040]), cause the one or more processors to:
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0006 "As a result, for example, even when cells or the like are transported by the end effector, it is possible to prevent adverse effects due to vibration from being given to cells or the like."], [0019] and [0024]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0006 "...an acquisition unit that acquires vibration of an end effector attached to a tip of a robot arm…"] and [0019 "The acquisition unit 11 acquires the vibration of the end effector 24 attached to the tip of the robot arm 2. The acquisition unit 11 may be a sensor that detects vibration of the end effector 24. This sensor may detect vibration near the control point."]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0021 "In addition, the frequency of vibration to be reduced transmitted through the robot arm 2 and the end effector 24 is about 100 to 1000 Hz. Therefore, the wavelength of the vibration is sufficiently large as compared with the width of the robot arm 2 and the like, and as a whole, the robot arm 2 and the like can be regarded as extending in one dimension."], [0022 "In the case where the vibration is reduced by the adaptive control, the control unit 13 includes, for example, an adaptive filter that analyzes the frequency, phase and magnitude of vibration from the vibration information acquired by the acquisition unit 11, an analyzed frequency, And a controller for controlling the actuator 12 so as to generate oscillation of the opposite phase component of the oscillation frequency. Vibration having a frequency of, for example, 100 Hz or more may be reduced by control by the control unit 13. Also, by virtue of such control, for example, vibration with a frequency of 1000 Hz or less may be reduced."]); and
provide second actuation signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see [0006 "...a control unit that controls the actuator so as to reduce the vibration of the end effector in accordance with the vibration."]-[0007], [0021 "The actuator 12 vibrates the end effector 24. By the vibration of the end effector 24 by the actuator 12, the vibration in the end effector 24 is reduced. Since the actuator 12 vibrates the end effector 24, the actuator 12 is preferably attached to the end effector 24."]-[0022 "The control unit 13 controls the actuator 12 so as to reduce the vibration of the end effector 24 according to the vibration acquired by the acquisition unit 11. This control may be performed by a method similar to so-called active noise cancellation of speech. The control unit 13 may control at least one of magnitude, frequency, and phase of vibration generated by the actuator 12, for example. The control unit 13 normally controls all of them. The control unit 13 may perform control to cause the actuator 12 to generate vibrations in opposite phases of the vibration as the disturbance detected by the acquisition unit 11, for example."]);
wherein the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
generate the one or more processed signals using adaptive filtering (see [0022 "...the control unit 13 includes, for example, an adaptive filter that analyzes the frequency, phase and magnitude of vibration from the vibration information acquired by the acquisition unit 11…"]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Iida to generate the one or more processed signals using adaptive filtering, as taught by Matoba, in order to provide adaptive feedback control to the robot arm to suppress vibration.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (as modified by Suzuki) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wakabayashi (US 20200070370 A1 and Wakabayashi hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 16
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida is silent regarding wherein the sensor is positioned between a pair of joints of the robotic arm.
Wakabayashi teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0005]), comprising:
a robotic arm (see Fig. 1, robot arm 22; [0022]);
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm (see Fig. 1, vibration sensor 7; [0005] and [0026]);
one or more processors (see [0025]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see [0025]), cause the one or more processors to:
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [[0005], and [0025]-[0026]):
receive an input specifying a target motion of the robotic arm (see [0025 "The robot control apparatus 5 receives a position command of the robot 2 from the host computer 6, and controls driving of the first to sixth drive devices 251 to 256 respectively independently so that the respective arms 221 to 226 may be in positions according to the received position command."]);
in accordance with the input, provide first actuation signals corresponding to the input to cause movement of at least a portion of the robotic arm (see [0023] and [0025 "The robot control apparatus 5 receives a position command of the robot 2 from the host computer 6, and controls driving of the first to sixth drive devices 251 to 256 respectively independently so that the respective arms 221 to 226 may be in positions according to the received position command."]); and
during the movement:
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0005] and [0026 "The vibration sensor 7 is provided in the robot 2 and detects vibration of the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4, particularly, a projection unit 41 or imaging unit 47, which will be described later. In the embodiment, the vibration sensor 7 is provided inside of the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4 at the fifth arm 225, and thereby, may detect the vibration of the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4 with higher accuracy."]); and
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see Figs. 6 and 8-10, all; [0005], [0028] and [0040 "Note that the vibration information is not limited to, but includes magnitude of the vibration Q, i.e., a peak value (local maximum value) of the amplitude, a value obtained by time average of the absolute value of the amplitude, or the like."]);
wherein the sensor is positioned between a pair of joints of the robotic arm (see [0026 "In the embodiment, the vibration sensor 7 is provided inside of the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4 at the fifth arm 225, and thereby, may detect the vibration of the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4 with higher accuracy. The vibration sensor 7 is not particularly limited as long as the sensor may detect vibration, but e.g. an angular velocity sensor, an acceleration sensor, or the like may be used."]-[0027 "...placed in another arm than the fifth arm 225, i.e., an arm different from the arm at which the three-dimensional measuring apparatus 4 is placed..."] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the sensor of the robotic medical system of modified Iida to be positioned between a pair of joints of the robotic arm, as taught by Wakabayashi, in order to detect vibration of the robotic arm with higher accuracy. Additionally, rearrangement of parts is considered an obvious matter of design choice when the operation of the device is not modified, which it is not in these teachings.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iida (as modified by Suzuki) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lim et al. (US 20060138975 A1 and Lim hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 18
Modified Iida teaches the robotic medical system of claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Iida further teaches wherein:
the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
determine positions of one or more joints of the robotic arm (see Fig. 3, all; [0083 "As shown in FIG. 3, signals are output from the first angular velocity sensor 9 and the first angle detector 6 that detect the operation of the first arm portion 8 to the control device 32."]-[0087]).
Iida is silent regarding estimate one or more vibrational modes based on the positions of the one or more joints and/or the one or more sensor signals,
wherein the one or more control signals are generated also based on the one or more vibrational modes.
Lim teaches a robotic medical system (see all Figs.; [0017]-[0018]), comprising:
a sensor (see Fig. 5, first inertia sensor 110 and second inertia sensor 120; [0034]);
one or more processors (see [0037]); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (the memory is inherent), cause the one or more processors to:
provide first actuation signals to cause movement of at least a portion of the robot (see Fig. 13, step S100; [0088 "When the mobile apparatus, that is, a mobile robot, moves using the wheels 400, a vibration mode of the mobile robot is measured in step S100."]); and
during the movement and while providing the first actuation signals (see [0089 "When the mobile apparatus, that is, a mobile robot, moves using the wheels 400, a vibration mode of the mobile robot is measured in step S100."]-[0094]):
receive one or more sensor signals from the sensor of the robotic arm (see [0034 "The natural period measuring unit 100 includes a first inertia sensor 110, a second inertia sensor 120…"]-[0036 "The second inertia sensor 120 is provided in a location where vibration of the mobile robot is maximized, and it detects vibration of the robot."]);
generate one or more processed signals based on the one or more received sensor signals (see [0034 "The natural period measuring unit 100 includes a first inertia sensor 110, a second inertia sensor 120, and a vibration signal calculator 130, and measures a natural period of a moving object."] and [0037]-[0038]);
generate one or more control signals according to the one or more processed signals (see Fig. 13, step S120; [0094 "Subsequently, an appropriate moving profile for the mobile robot is set from the derived natural vibration period in step S120. That is, an acceleration profile based on the derived natural vibration period may be applied, and an appropriate acceleration profile derived from a simulation is given by Equation 1. In addition, a deceleration profile for stopping the mobile robot in constant velocity is given by Equation 3."]-[0096]); and
provide second actuation signals based on the first actuation signals and the one or more control signals so that a vibration of the robotic arm is suppressed (see Fig. 13, steps S130; [0097 "As such, a profile parameter is determined by applying the acceleration/deceleration profile during constant number times the natural period, and a moving profile is set in consideration of performance of the mobile robot such that movement of the mobile robot appears stable, in step S130."]);
wherein:
the memory further includes instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
estimate one or more vibrational modes based on the one or more sensor signals (see Fig. 13, step S100; [0041], [0061] and [0089]-[0090 "At this time, the vibration mode is measured by using an output value difference between a first inertia sensor 110 and a second inertia sensor 120."]),
wherein the one or more control signals are generated also based on the one or more vibrational modes (see Fig. 13, steps S110-S130; [0090]-[0099], especially [0094 "Subsequently, an appropriate moving profile for the mobile robot is set from the derived natural vibration period in step S120. That is, an acceleration profile based on the derived natural vibration period may be applied, and an appropriate acceleration profile derived from a simulation is given by Equation 1."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic medical system of modified Iida to estimate one or more vibrational modes based on the one or more sensor signals wherein the one or more control signals are generated also based on the one or more vibrational modes, as taught by Lim, in order to determine natural vibrations of the robotic arm to set an appropriate acceleration profile based on the natural vibrations. See MPEP 2144.04(VI).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Prisco et al. (US 20070142968 A1 and Prisco hereinafter).
Prisco teaches at least a robotic medical system, comprising:
a robotic arm;
a surgical instrument couplable to the robotic arm and having a distal tip, the distal tip being sized and configured for insertion into a patient's body;
a sensor positioned on the robotic arm;
one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
to thereby attenuate the vibration at the distal tip of the surgical instrument.
See at least the Abstract and [0010 "a robotic surgical system comprising: a surgical instrument; a robotic arm assembly holding the surgical instrument; a master manipulator; and a controller configured to control movement of the surgical instrument in response to user operation of the master manipulator in such a manner that vibrations experienced at a tip of the surgical instrument are reduced by filtering an output of the master manipulator that may induce the vibrations while at least partially compensating in a feedback path back to the master manipulator for delay induced by such filtering so as to enhance stability of such control."]
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656