DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/21/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: water distribution systems 25a&25b as element 25a is not in the drawings.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s), No new matter should be entered:
“longitudinal axes of said plurality of straight tube segments are parallel to said first air flow as said first flow enters said air inlets” appears to need to read “perpendicular” of claim 1
“a combined length of said inlet headers across a respective one of said two concurrent-flow indirect heat exchange sections is greater than lengths of said plurality of straight tube segments” of claim 1
“serpentine tubes comprise plate fins, flat fins or spiral fins” of claim 3.
“Dual pumps” of claim 6.
The drawings are objected to because Figures should be clear black and white format to be acceptable. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“water distribution system” in claim 1.
The aforementioned limitation meets the three-prong test outlined herein since:
(A) the term “system” is a generic placeholder,
(B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “water distribution”), and
(C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
A review of the specification found a water distribution system to be "perforated water troughs, an array of perforated water tubes, an array of water tubes fitted with nozzles" and equivalents per paragraph 0013.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites “a combined length of said inlet headers across a respective one of said two concurrent-flow indirect heat exchange sections is greater than lengths of said plurality of straight tube segments” This an indefinite statement as one skilled in the art is not fully apprised of what would read on this limitation. It is unclear how these lengths are measured, further it is unclear the effect on the pressure drop.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said air inlets" in section l. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim previously claimed “side air inlets” and “top air inlets” making it unclear what inlets are being referenced. Since the claim is in reference to the indirect heat exchange section it is read as the top air inlets.
Claim 1 is further rejected for “said tube bundles are oriented in said cooling tower so that said longitudinal axes of said plurality of straight tube segments are parallel to said first air flow as said first flow enters said air inlets and through said cross-flow direct heat exchange sections” as it is unclear what air flow is being claimed. The air flow shown from the inlet for the indirect heat exchange section which comes down from the top and thus is perpendicular, the claim further states the air flow across the direct heat exchanger which does not come from the first air flow. The claim will be examined as reading “said tube bundles are oriented in said cooling tower so that said longitudinal axes of said plurality of straight tube segments are perpendicular to said first air flow as said first air flow enters said top air inlets and through said cross-flow direct heat exchange sections”
Claim 8 recites “wherein said air mover simultaneously” which is indefinite as it would be unclear to one skilled in the art unclear when infringement occurs as it requires an action (nota capability). This language makes it impossible to determine if the claimed apparatus is being read on until it is applied to system which makes the claim indefinite as it makes it unclear when infringement occurs (when system is made or when system used) MPEP 2173.05 (p). The claim will be examine as reading “wherein said air mover configured to simultaneously”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CARTER(US 2014/0166240 A1) in view of BUGLER(US 20240102739 A1).
Regarding claim 1 CARTER teaches A cooling tower (FIG. 2) comprising: a water collection basin (FIG. 2 element 19a), b. a plenum (FIG. 2 Below element 16) located above a central portion of said water collection basin (FIG. 2 element 19a), c. an air mover (FIG. 2 element 16) situated above said plenum (FIG. 2 Below element 16), d. two cross-flow direct heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 14) flanking a lower portion of said plenum (FIG. 2 Space above element 19a), e. two concurrent-flow indirect heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 15) flanking an upper portion of said plenum (FIG. 2 Below element 16), each of said two indirect heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 15) situated above a respective one of said direct heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 14), f. a water distribution system (FIG. 2 element 13A) located above, and configured to selectively distribute water to, said two indirect heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 15), g. at least one recirculation pump (FIG. 2 element 19) located to draw water collecting in said water collection basin (FIG. 2 element 19a) and move it through one or more recirculation pipes (FIG. 2 connecting lines between element 19 and 20) to said water distribution system (FIG. 2 element 13a), h. two side air inlets (FIG. 2 element 18), each one of said two side air inlets located laterally adjacent a respective one of said two direct heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 14); i. two top air inlets (FIG. 2 element 17’), each one of said two top air inlets (FIG. 2 element 17’) located above a respective one of said two indirect heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 15), j. wherein said air mover simultaneously, i. draws a first flow of air (FIG. 2 arrows leaving element 15) into said cooling tower through said two top air inlets (FIG. 2 element 17’), through said two concurrent-flow indirect heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 15) into said plenum (FIG. 2 Below element 16), and out of said cooling tower (FIG. 2) through said air mover, and ii. draws a second flow of air (FIG. 2 arrows leaving element 14) into said cooling tower (FIG. 2) through said two side air inlets (FIG. 2 element 18), said two cross-flow direct heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 14), and into said plenum (FIG. 2 Above element 19a), through said plenum (FIG. 2 Below element 16), and out of said cooling tower (FIG. 2) through said air mover.
CARTER does not teach, k. wherein each of said two concurrent-flow indirect heat exchange sections comprise a plurality of tube bundles, each of said plurality of tube bundles comprising an inlet header, an outlet header, and a plurality of serpentine tubes attached at a first end to said inlet header and attached at a second end to said outlet header, each of said plurality of elliptical serpentine tubes comprising a plurality of straight tube segments connected to adjacent ones of said plurality of straight tube segments by tube bends, 1. wherein each of said tube bundles are oriented in said cooling tower so that said longitudinal axes of said plurality of straight tube segments are parallel to said first air flow as said first flow enters said air inlets and through said cross-flow direct heat exchange sections, and m. wherein a combined length of said inlet headers across a respective one of said two concurrent-flow indirect heat exchange sections is greater than lengths of said plurality of straight tube segments.
BUGLER teaches, a plurality of tube bundles (FIG. 3 claim 1), each of said plurality of tube bundles comprising an inlet header (FIG. 3 claim 1), an outlet header (FIG. 3 claim 1), and a plurality of serpentine tubes (FIG. 3 claim 1) attached at a first end to said inlet header (FIG. 3 claim 1) and attached at a second end to said outlet header (FIG. 3 claim 1), each of said plurality of elliptical serpentine tubes (FIG. 3) comprising a plurality of straight tube segments connected to adjacent ones of said plurality of straight tube segments by tube bends (FIG. 3 claim 1), 1. wherein each of said tube bundles (FIG. 3 claim 1) are oriented in said cooling tower (FIG. 3 claim 1) so that said longitudinal axes of said plurality of straight tube segments (FIG 3 claim 1). are perpendicular to said first air flow as said first flow enters said air inlets and through said cross-flow direct heat exchange sections (FIG. 3 claim 1), and m. wherein a combined length of said inlet headers across a respective one of said two concurrent-flow indirect heat exchange sections is greater than lengths of said plurality of straight tube segments (FIG. 3 claim 1). From 112b longitudinal axes of said plurality of straight tube segments are perpendicular to said first air flow as said first flow enters said air inlets and through said cross-flow direct heat exchange sections. When combined the heat exchanger and tube bundles of BUGLER would be in the claimed location. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify Carters tube bundles and direct heat exchanger to be the design of BUGLER, the motivation is to increase capacity (para. 0007).
Regarding claim 2, BUGLER teaches serpentine tubes (FIG. 3 claim 1) are elliptical or round.
Regarding claim 3, BUGLER teaches serpentine tubes comprise plate fins, flat fins, or spiral fins (FIG. 3 para. 0018).
Regarding claim 4, CARTER teaches said water basin (FIG. 2 element 19a) comprises a central section between said plenum (FIG. 2 directly below element 16) and two flanking sections (Horizontal space of FIG. 2 element 19a) each located beneath a respective one of said two direct heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 14).
Regarding claim 5, CARTER teaches comprising a single recirculation pump (FIG. 2 element 19) and a single pipe (FIG. 2) connecting said recirculation pump (FIG. 2 element 19) and said water distribution system (FIG. 2 element 13a). The word comprising mean’s this is open and thus the claim is not limited to one, but read as at least one.
Regarding claim 6, CARTER teaches two recirculation pump (FIG. 2 element 19 opposite side.) two pipes (FIG. 2 opposite side.) connecting a respective one of said two recirculation pumps (FIG. 2 element 19 opposite side.) and a respective section of said water distribution system (FIG. 2 element 13a opposite side).
Regarding claim 7, BUGLER teaches return bends (FIG. 7), and CARTER teaches in one of said two concurrent-flow indirect heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 15) are located above a respective one of said two side air inlets (FIG. 2 element 13). When combined the heat exchanger of BUGLER would be in the claimed location.
Regarding claim 8, CARTER teaches the cooling tower of claim 1, wherein said air mover simultaneously, " draws a first flow of air (FIG. 2 arrows leaving element 14) into said cooling tower through said two top air inlets, down through said two concurrent-flow indirect heat exchange sections into said plenum, and upward and out of said cooling tower (FIG. 2) through said air mover, and " draws a second flow of air (FIG. 2 arrows leaving element 15) into said cooling tower (FIG. 2) through said two side air inlets (FIG. 2 element 13), across said two cross-flow direct heat exchange sections (FIG. 2 element 14), and into said plenum (FIG. 2 above element 19a), up through said plenum (FIG. 2 below element 16), and out of said cooling tower (FIG. 2) through said air mover.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Uribe(US-20230400255 A1), Yang(US-2022/0299269 A1), & BIEGLER(CN-2019/109844437 A).
/HENRY FRANCIS CANOVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763