DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear what is meant by the locking means being constrained to the movement of the rotary member. Does this mean they are attached to the member that rotates or prevented from acting somehow do to the rotation? Based on the drawings, for the purposes of examination, this is considered to mean they are connected to the rotating means.
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear what elements are requires as the claims recites an “elastic return means” but has no structure described which performs this function. As examiner has no idea what structure is required, no rejection can be made.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 requires separate retaining members and joining means. This claim indicates they are the same element which broadens the scope of the claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
The locking means of claim 1 are considered to be two elements which work together to hold the sheet between them and all equivalents thereof, and the joining means of claim 1 are considered to be elements which press the two sheets together and all equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Pasqualoni(US Publication 2007/0113984).
Pasqualoni teaches a device for splicing webs comprising a head with two slots(spaces between the rolls 16 and the member 14) configured for passage of the two webs, a splicing device having locking means(24) and joining means[0059] which pass from a non-operating position to an operating position, the locking means holding the materials during operation and the joining means joining during operation, two cutting members for cutting the two webs(24), and two retaining members for retaining the webs(20) which are configured to vary their orientation from a first configuration oriented towards the head(Figure 3) and a second configuration oriented to position the webs to confront each other.(Figure 4; [0040]-[0059])
Regarding claim 2, the retaining members have a chamber which exerts a vacuum(18) via openings(20).
Regarding claim 4, the retaining members rotate about a rotary member.(Figure 3 and 4)
Regarding claim 5, the locking members rotate with the rotating means.(Figure 3)
Regarding claim 9, since the adhesive tape is located on the vacuum surface(18) one in the art would understand the two retaining surfaces would have to be brought together as otherwise bonding would not occur.
Regarding claim 11, the device includes two unwinding stations(A, B) and an accumulation location.(F)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasqualoni.
Regarding claim 3, Pasqualoni discloses the vacuum chamber is split up into a number of compartments which allows selective creation of suction.[0040] While this does not explicitly state that an element prevents suction through part of the retaining surface, one in the art would appreciate there is no reason for multiple suction compartments unless some of them are intended to be turned off in some manner, and that this manner requires an element of some sort to separate the ones suction is occurring in from those it is not. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use an element to deactivate some of the suction compartments since Pasqualoni discloses the suction can be applied selectively, i.e. only in certain locations.
Regarding claim 6, while Pasqualoni does not disclose using pneumatic means to move the retaining member, it does use pneumatic means for other elements.[0065] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use pneumatic means to move the retaining members since the use of pneumatics to move elements is known in general in the manufacturing arts as shown by Pasqualoni and since pneumatics would be easier than the operator rotating it by hand as suggested by Pasqualoni.[0062]
Regarding claim 10, Pasqualoni shows a frame.(Figure 1) While Pasqualoni does not disclose covers over the top surface of Figure 1, it is well-known and conventional in general to have covers for surfaces to prevent contamination of the equipment and to prevent limbs or clothing from becoming trapped in the equipment and it would have been obvious for this reason. Since the webs would need to pass on either side of element 14, there would need to be two covers
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pasqualoni as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Campedelli et al.(US Publication 2022/0289509).
Campedelli et al. discloses a splicing device with a spongy material on the pad which creates the vacuum in order to avoid damaging the equipment when joining.([0073]-[0074]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to cover the vacuum surface with a spongy material to avoid damaging it during joining as taught by Campedelli et al.([0073]-[0074])
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746