DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.JP2023-103529, filed on 06/23/2023.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/03/2026, has been received and made of record. In response to the Non-Final Office Action, dated on 01/07/2026. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are pending in the current application. No new claims have been added. Claim 3 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/03/2026 have been fully considered.
In the Arguments/Remarks:
Re: Claim Objections
Objection of claim 11 for informalities has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Re: Rejection of the Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)
Applicant’s arguments regarding rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but are moot in view of the references cited in the most current rejection (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azuma (US 2021/0205989 A1) in view of Diankov (US 2020/0376659 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Azuma teaches a robot control system, comprising: a first robot that includes: a first attracting device configured to attract a first part of an indefinite-shape object placed at a predetermined location; and a first attraction pressure detector configured to detect a first attraction pressure which is an attraction pressure of the first attracting device; a second robot that includes: a second attracting device configured to attract a second part, different from the first part, of the indefinite-shape object; and a second attraction pressure detector configured to detect a second attraction pressure which is an attraction pressure of the second attracting device [(see at least Figs. 7A-7B, paragraphs 23, 43, 71, 83) As in 23 “The robot 10 according to this embodiment has two arms of the first arm 12 (right arm) and the second arm 13 (left arm). The two arms 12 and 13 are configured as a dual arm which is rotatable about a vertical first axis S1 defined on a pedestal 11. Each of the two arms 12 and 13 has a first link 14, a second link 15, and a third link 16. The first link 14 is horizontally rotatable about the first axis S1 defined on the pedestal 11. The second link 15 is horizontally rotatable about a vertical second axis S2 defined at an end part of the first link 14. The third link 16 is provided below an end part of the second link 15. The third link 16 is comprised of a member pivotable about a horizontal third axis S3 perpendicular to the drawing sheet (See FIGS. 3(A) and 3(B)). The number of movable axes of the robot 10 is not limited to this example.” As in 43 “In FIGS. 8 and 9(A), a sucking hole 36 is formed inside a movable plate 33 provided to a holding part or holder 31, and a suction pad 37 is provided as a suction part at an end part on an outer surface of the movable plate 33. The suction pad 37 and the sucking hole 36 communicate with each other, and the sucking hole 36 is connected to a suction pipe 39 at its rear-end part. The suction pipe 39 is connected to a suction device 80 such as a vacuum pump or suction generator. According to this, when the second holdable object 6 is held by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 33, it can be appropriately held while being sucked by the suction pads 37 even when a surface of the second holdable object 6 is made of soft material (e.g., nylon).” As in 71 “Moreover, the robot 10 is one example, and not limited to the dual-arm robot 10. For example, the robot 10 may be comprised of two robots 10 which control the two hands 20 and 30, respectively.” As in 83 “the holdable object can be held appropriately even when the surface of the holdable object may deform by the sucking through the suction pad during the holding operation of the holdable object by the holding part.”] Examiner notes that applicant’s specification paragraph 29 states “the indefinite-shape object (an amorphous object or a flexible object)”. Examiner is interpreting the indefinite-shaped object as an object which has any degree of flexibility/deformability.; and circuitry configured to: acquire the second attraction pressure; move the first attraction device to the indefinite-shape object; acquire the first attraction pressure; move the second attraction device to the indefinite-shape object [(see at least paragraphs 40-47) As in 40 “the larger second holdable object 6 placed on the second tray 61 (e.g., a box body of shoes) is held from its side surfaces by the holding parts 21 provided to the first arm 12 and the second arm 13, respectively. In detail, the movable plates 23 of the holding parts 21 are approached to the fixed plates 22 and closed by the holding cylinders 24, respectively, and the two holding parts 21 are positioned so that they can sandwich the second holdable object 6 from the side surfaces of the second holdable object 6 by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 23. Then, the holding parts 21 of the first arm 12 and the second arm 13 sandwich the second holdable object 6 therebetween while each holding part 21 being closed. A holding force for holding the second holdable object 6 can be appropriately adjusted based on feedback of a reaction force acting on the second links 15. Moreover, since the holding part 21 is comprised of the fixed plate 22 and the movable plate 23 each having a plate shape, the holding part 21 is thin even when being closed. Therefore, even when the plurality of second holdable objects 6 are lined up, the holding parts 21 can be inserted between the aligned second holdable objects 6, respectively, so as to hold it. That is, even when the second holdable objects 6 are aligned with small gaps therebetween, the holding parts 21 in the plate shape can be inserted into the gaps, respectively, so as to appropriately hold the second holdable object 6. The second holdable object 6 held by the holding parts 21 of both hands is transferred to a given position by two of the first arm 12 and the second arm 13.” As in 43 “a sucking hole 36 is formed inside a movable plate 33 provided to a holding part or holder 31, and a suction pad 37 is provided as a suction part at an end part on an outer surface of the movable plate 33. The suction pad 37 and the sucking hole 36 communicate with each other, and the sucking hole 36 is connected to a suction pipe 39 at its rear-end part. The suction pipe 39 is connected to a suction device 80 such as a vacuum pump or suction generator. According to this, when the second holdable object 6 is held by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 33, it can be appropriately held while being sucked by the suction pads 37 even when a surface of the second holdable object 6 is made of soft material (e.g., nylon).”]
Azuma does not explicitly teach control the first robot so that when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a second threshold value, a movement speed of the first attracting device is decreased; and control the second robot so that when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a first threshold value, a movement speed of the second attracting device is decreased.
However, Diankov teaches control the first robot so that when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a second threshold value, a movement speed of the first attracting device is decreased; and control the second robot so that when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a first threshold value, a movement speed of the second attracting device is decreased. [(see at least paragraphs 90-94) As in 90 “The robotic system 100 can compare the torque measurement “T” to the force threshold 322, which can represent, for example, the maximum amount of force at which the suction cups 324 can hold to the target object 112. Based on the comparison, the robotic system 100 can determine whether the tasks 118 can successfully be executed without dropping the target object 112. Further, based on the torque measurement the robotic system 100 can compensate for the torque applied to the target object 112, by adjusting the speed 340 and the acceleration 342 of the arm unit 102 to counteract the effects of the torque on the target object 112. As an example, in one embodiment, if the torque measurement is greater than the force threshold 322, such that the suction grippers 308 will lose grip on the target object 112, the robotic system 100 can adjust the speed 340 and the acceleration 342 of the arm unit 102 by, for example, decreasing the speed 340 and the acceleration 342 of the arm unit 102 to lower the torque and allow the suction grippers 308, the suction cups 324, or a combination thereof, to maintain a grip on the target object 112, and deliver the target object 112 without the target object 112 being dropped.”] Examiner notes that Diankov only discloses the use of one robot/arm, however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement this feature to other robots/arms within the system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Azuma to incorporate the teachings of Diankov of controlling the first robot so that when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a second threshold value, a movement speed of the first attracting device is decreased and controlling the second robot so that when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a first threshold value, a movement speed of the second attracting device is decreased in order to deliver/handle the object without being dropped. [(Diankov 90)]
Regarding claim 2, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to control the second robot so that the first robot and the second robot sandwich the indefinite-shape object to support the indefinite-shape object. [(see at least Fig.7A-7B, paragraph 36) “In detail, the movable plate 23 of the holding part 21 is opened and separated from the fixed plate 22 by the holding cylinders 24, and positioned so that the movable plate 23 and the fixed plate 22 can sandwich the first holdable object 5 therebetween from the side surfaces of the first holdable object 5. Then, the holding cylinders 24 are contracted so that the first holdable object 5 is sandwiched and held”]
Regarding claim 4, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein at least one of the first attracting device and second attracting device is a suction device configured to suck the indefinite-shape object. [(see at least paragraphs 42-43) As in 42 “FIG. 8 is a front view illustrating a second hand 30, which is the first hand 20 illustrated in FIGS. 3(A) and 3(B) additionally provided with a sucking function. FIGS. 9(A) and 9(B) are enlarged views illustrating a sucking mechanism of the second hand 30 illustrated in FIG. 8, where FIG. 9(A) is a front view of Example 1, and FIG. 9(B) is a front view of Example 2. FIGS. 10(A) and 10(B) are views illustrating a state in which the second hands 30 illustrated in FIG. 8 hold the second holdable object 6, where FIG. 10(A) is a plan view, and FIG. 10(B) is a front view.” As in 43 “a sucking hole 36 is formed inside a movable plate 33 provided to a holding part or holder 31, and a suction pad 37 is provided as a suction part at an end part on an outer surface of the movable plate 33”]
Regarding claim 5, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: control at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the first or second attracting device moves toward the indefinite-shape object until the attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a threshold value. [(see at least paragraphs 36, 40, 55) As in 36 “Then, the holding cylinders 24 are contracted so that the first holdable object 5 is sandwiched and held. A holding force for holding the first holdable object 5 can be appropriately adjusted based on feedback of a reaction force acting on the holding cylinders 24.” As in 40 “Then, the holding parts 21 of the first arm 12 and the second arm 13 sandwich the second holdable object 6 therebetween while each holding part 21 being closed. A holding force for holding the second holdable object 6 can be appropriately adjusted based on feedback of a reaction force acting on the second links 15.” As in 55 “Therefore, the heavy second holdable object 6 can be appropriately held with both hands by the suction force of the suction nozzles 56 and the holding force of holding parts or holders 51. The usage of the fourth hand 50 illustrated in the drawings is one example, and the sucking by the suction nozzles 56 and the holding by the holding part(s) 51 may be combined according to the holdable objects 5 and 6.”]
Regarding claim 6, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: control the first robot so that, when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than the first threshold value, the first attracting device stops moving, and, when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than the second threshold value before the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than the first threshold value, a movement speed of the first attracting device is decreased, and control the second robot so that, when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than the second threshold value, the second attracting device stops moving, and, when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than the first threshold value before the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than the second threshold value, a movement speed of the second attracting device is decreased. [(see at least Figs. 10A-10B, paragraphs 43-46) As in 43 “n FIGS. 8 and 9(A), a sucking hole 36 is formed inside a movable plate 33 provided to a holding part or holder 31, and a suction pad 37 is provided as a suction part at an end part on an outer surface of the movable plate 33. The suction pad 37 and the sucking hole 36 communicate with each other, and the sucking hole 36 is connected to a suction pipe 39 at its rear-end part. The suction pipe 39 is connected to a suction device 80 such as a vacuum pump or suction generator. According to this, when the second holdable object 6 is held by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 33, it can be appropriately held while being sucked by the suction pads 37 even when a surface of the second holdable object 6 is made of soft material (e.g., nylon).” As in 46 “the second hands 30 can hold the second holdable object 6 while the suction pads 37 provided to the outer surfaces of the movable plates 33, respectively, suck the second holdable object 6. In this embodiment, since the second holdable object 6 is sucked by the suction pads 37, the second holdable object 6 can be stably held even when the surface of the second holdable object 6 deforms during the change”]
Regarding claim 7, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to determine a position at which the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object, based on a position at which the first robot supports the indefinite-shape object. [(see at least paragraph 38) “As described above, when the smaller first holdable object 5 is held by one arm 12 (13), the holding part 21 is opened so that the fixed plate 22 and the movable plate 23 sandwich and hold the first holdable object 5 therebetween by their inner surfaces. Therefore, the first holdable object 5 can be promptly held and changed in its position. Although in the drawings the first arm 12 (right arm) holds the first holdable object 5, the second arm 13 (left arm) may hold the first holdable object 5, or both of the first arm 12 and the second arm 13 may hold the first holdable objects 5, respectively.”]
Regarding claim 8, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to start attraction by the first attracting device after the first attracting device comes into contact with the indefinite-shape object and start attraction by the second attracting device after the second attracting device comes into contact with the indefinite-shape object. [(see at least paragraph 43) “In FIGS. 8 and 9(A), a sucking hole 36 is formed inside a movable plate 33 provided to a holding part or holder 31, and a suction pad 37 is provided as a suction part at an end part on an outer surface of the movable plate 33. The suction pad 37 and the sucking hole 36 communicate with each other, and the sucking hole 36 is connected to a suction pipe 39 at its rear-end part. The suction pipe 39 is connected to a suction device 80 such as a vacuum pump or suction generator. According to this, when the second holdable object 6 is held by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 33, it can be appropriately held while being sucked by the suction pads 37 even when a surface of the second holdable object 6 is made of soft material (e.g., nylon).”]
Regarding claim 9, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to control at least one of the first attracting device and the second attracting device so that an attraction force corresponding to the indefinite-shape object is obtained. [(see at least paragraphs 43-46) As in 46 “As illustrated in FIGS. 10(A) and 10(B), the second hands 30 can hold the second holdable object 6 while the suction pads 37 provided to the outer surfaces of the movable plates 33, respectively, suck the second holdable object 6. In this embodiment, since the second holdable object 6 is sucked by the suction pads 37, the second holdable object 6 can be stably held even when the surface of the second holdable object 6 deforms during the change in its position.”]
Regarding claim 10, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: identify a type of the indefinite-shape object, and control at least one of the first attracting device and the second attracting device so that an attraction force corresponding to the type is obtained. [(see at least paragraphs 21, 34) As in 21 “The holdable objects are not limited to two types, but may be more than two types.” As in 34 “Such a robot system 1 selects whether to use one first hand 20 or two first hands 20 when holding the holdable objects 5 and 6 having different sizes. Therefore, the holdable objects 5 and 6 can be efficiently held and transferred as described below.”]
Regarding claim 15, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: identify a size of the indefinite-shape object; and control at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a size position corresponding to the size. [(see at least paragraphs 26-30) As in 26 “This stereo camera 3 is installed at a location where it can image the holdable object 5 (6). For example, the stereo camera 3 may be provided above the pedestal 11 on the rear side. Since the stereo camera 3 is provided, the holdable object 5 (6) can be imaged three dimensionally. By the holdable object 5 (6) being imaged three dimensionally, the size of the holdable object 5 (6) can be calculated based on an image analysis as described later.” As in 30 “Moreover, the control device 70 is provided with an image processing module or circuitry 75 which analyzes the image of the holdable object captured by the stereo camera 3. The robot controlling module 72 calculates by a holdable-object information calculating module or circuitry 76 at least the size of the holdable object 5 (6) based on the image processed by the image processing module 75, and determines by the hand-number determining module 73 the number of first hands 20 to be used based on the calculated size of the holdable object 5 (6).”]
Regarding claim 17, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to control at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that at least one of the first attracting device and the second attracting device attracts the indefinite-shape object in an orientation corresponding to the indefinite-shape object. [(see at least paragraph 66) “It should be noted that when the control device 70 images the second holdable object 6 by the stereo camera 3 in Step S2, the control device 70 performs, in Steps S3 to S5, the same processing as when the control device images the first holdable object 5 by the stereo camera 3 in Step S2. Then, it is determined in Step S5 that the calculated width of the second holdable object 6 is larger than the predetermined threshold (NO in Step S5 of FIG. 16). Therefore, the control device 70 determines by the hand-number determining module 73 that the number of first hands 20 used to hold the second holdable object 6 is two (Step S9 in FIG. 16). Then, the control device 70 closes the holding parts 21 and holds the second holdable object 6 with the outer surfaces of the two holding parts 21 by the hold controlling module 74 (Step S10 in FIG. 16). Finally, the control device 70 changes the postures of the first and second arms 12 and 13 (arms) and moves the second holdable object 6 to the third tray 63 (Step S8 in FIG. 16).”]
Regarding claim 18, In view of the above combination of references, Azuma further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to control at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a post-process position corresponding to a post-process performed after the indefinite-shape object is conveyed. [(see at least paragraph 75) “According to this configuration, the size of the holdable object is calculated based on the result of analyzing the image captured by the camera, and whether to hold the holdable object by one hand or by two hands is determined according to the size of the holdable object, and thus, the holdable object can be efficiently held and changed in its position”]
Regarding claim 19, Azuma teaches a robot control method, comprising: controlling a first robot that includes a first attracting device so that the first attracting device attracts a first part of an indefinite-shape object placed at a predetermined location; controlling a second robot that includes a second attracting device so that the second attracting device attracts a second part of the indefinite-shape object, the second part being different from the first part [(see at least Figs. 7A-7B, paragraphs 23, 43, 71, 83) As in 23 “The robot 10 according to this embodiment has two arms of the first arm 12 (right arm) and the second arm 13 (left arm). The two arms 12 and 13 are configured as a dual arm which is rotatable about a vertical first axis S1 defined on a pedestal 11. Each of the two arms 12 and 13 has a first link 14, a second link 15, and a third link 16. The first link 14 is horizontally rotatable about the first axis S1 defined on the pedestal 11. The second link 15 is horizontally rotatable about a vertical second axis S2 defined at an end part of the first link 14. The third link 16 is provided below an end part of the second link 15. The third link 16 is comprised of a member pivotable about a horizontal third axis S3 perpendicular to the drawing sheet (See FIGS. 3(A) and 3(B)). The number of movable axes of the robot 10 is not limited to this example.” As in 43 “In FIGS. 8 and 9(A), a sucking hole 36 is formed inside a movable plate 33 provided to a holding part or holder 31, and a suction pad 37 is provided as a suction part at an end part on an outer surface of the movable plate 33. The suction pad 37 and the sucking hole 36 communicate with each other, and the sucking hole 36 is connected to a suction pipe 39 at its rear-end part. The suction pipe 39 is connected to a suction device 80 such as a vacuum pump or suction generator. According to this, when the second holdable object 6 is held by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 33, it can be appropriately held while being sucked by the suction pads 37 even when a surface of the second holdable object 6 is made of soft material (e.g., nylon).” As in 71 “Moreover, the robot 10 is one example, and not limited to the dual-arm robot 10. For example, the robot 10 may be comprised of two robots 10 which control the two hands 20 and 30, respectively.” As in 83 “the holdable object can be held appropriately even when the surface of the holdable object may deform by the sucking through the suction pad during the holding operation of the holdable object by the holding part.”] Examiner notes that applicant’s specification paragraph 29 states “the indefinite-shape object (an amorphous object or a flexible object)”. Examiner is interpreting the indefinite-shaped object as an object which has any degree of flexibility/deformability.; acquiring a second attraction pressure which is an attraction pressure of the second attracting device; moving the first attraction device to the indefinite-shape object; acquiring a first attraction pressure which is an attraction pressure of the first attracting device; moving the second attraction device to the indefinite-shape object [(see at least paragraphs 40-47) As in 40 “the larger second holdable object 6 placed on the second tray 61 (e.g., a box body of shoes) is held from its side surfaces by the holding parts 21 provided to the first arm 12 and the second arm 13, respectively. In detail, the movable plates 23 of the holding parts 21 are approached to the fixed plates 22 and closed by the holding cylinders 24, respectively, and the two holding parts 21 are positioned so that they can sandwich the second holdable object 6 from the side surfaces of the second holdable object 6 by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 23. Then, the holding parts 21 of the first arm 12 and the second arm 13 sandwich the second holdable object 6 therebetween while each holding part 21 being closed. A holding force for holding the second holdable object 6 can be appropriately adjusted based on feedback of a reaction force acting on the second links 15. Moreover, since the holding part 21 is comprised of the fixed plate 22 and the movable plate 23 each having a plate shape, the holding part 21 is thin even when being closed. Therefore, even when the plurality of second holdable objects 6 are lined up, the holding parts 21 can be inserted between the aligned second holdable objects 6, respectively, so as to hold it. That is, even when the second holdable objects 6 are aligned with small gaps therebetween, the holding parts 21 in the plate shape can be inserted into the gaps, respectively, so as to appropriately hold the second holdable object 6. The second holdable object 6 held by the holding parts 21 of both hands is transferred to a given position by two of the first arm 12 and the second arm 13.” As in 43 “a sucking hole 36 is formed inside a movable plate 33 provided to a holding part or holder 31, and a suction pad 37 is provided as a suction part at an end part on an outer surface of the movable plate 33. The suction pad 37 and the sucking hole 36 communicate with each other, and the sucking hole 36 is connected to a suction pipe 39 at its rear-end part. The suction pipe 39 is connected to a suction device 80 such as a vacuum pump or suction generator. According to this, when the second holdable object 6 is held by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 33, it can be appropriately held while being sucked by the suction pads 37 even when a surface of the second holdable object 6 is made of soft material (e.g., nylon).”]
Azuma does not explicitly teach controlling the first robot so that, when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a second threshold value, a movement speed of the first attracting device is decreased and controlling the second robot so that, when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a first threshold value, a movement speed of the second attracting device is decreased.
However, Diankov teaches controlling the first robot so that, when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a second threshold value, a movement speed of the first attracting device is decreased and controlling the second robot so that, when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a first threshold value, a movement speed of the second attracting device is decreased. [(see at least paragraphs 90-94) As in 90 “The robotic system 100 can compare the torque measurement “T” to the force threshold 322, which can represent, for example, the maximum amount of force at which the suction cups 324 can hold to the target object 112. Based on the comparison, the robotic system 100 can determine whether the tasks 118 can successfully be executed without dropping the target object 112. Further, based on the torque measurement the robotic system 100 can compensate for the torque applied to the target object 112, by adjusting the speed 340 and the acceleration 342 of the arm unit 102 to counteract the effects of the torque on the target object 112. As an example, in one embodiment, if the torque measurement is greater than the force threshold 322, such that the suction grippers 308 will lose grip on the target object 112, the robotic system 100 can adjust the speed 340 and the acceleration 342 of the arm unit 102 by, for example, decreasing the speed 340 and the acceleration 342 of the arm unit 102 to lower the torque and allow the suction grippers 308, the suction cups 324, or a combination thereof, to maintain a grip on the target object 112, and deliver the target object 112 without the target object 112 being dropped.”] Examiner notes that Diankov only discloses the use of one robot/arm, however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement this feature to other robots/arms within the system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Azuma to incorporate the teachings of Diankov of controlling the first robot so that, when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a second threshold value, a movement speed of the first attracting device is decreased and controlling the second robot so that, when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a first threshold value, a movement speed of the second attracting device is decreased in order to deliver/handle the object without being dropped. [(Diankov 90)]
Regarding claim 20, Azuma teaches a non-transitory computer-readable information storage medium storing a program for causing a robot controller to: control a first robot that includes a first attracting device so that the first attracting device attracts a first part of an indefinite-shape object placed at a predetermined location; control a second robot that includes a second attracting device so that the second attracting device attracts a second part of the indefinite-shape object, the second part being different from the first part [(see at least Figs. 7A-7B, paragraphs 23, 43, 71, 83) As in 23 “The robot 10 according to this embodiment has two arms of the first arm 12 (right arm) and the second arm 13 (left arm). The two arms 12 and 13 are configured as a dual arm which is rotatable about a vertical first axis S1 defined on a pedestal 11. Each of the two arms 12 and 13 has a first link 14, a second link 15, and a third link 16. The first link 14 is horizontally rotatable about the first axis S1 defined on the pedestal 11. The second link 15 is horizontally rotatable about a vertical second axis S2 defined at an end part of the first link 14. The third link 16 is provided below an end part of the second link 15. The third link 16 is comprised of a member pivotable about a horizontal third axis S3 perpendicular to the drawing sheet (See FIGS. 3(A) and 3(B)). The number of movable axes of the robot 10 is not limited to this example.” As in 43 “In FIGS. 8 and 9(A), a sucking hole 36 is formed inside a movable plate 33 provided to a holding part or holder 31, and a suction pad 37 is provided as a suction part at an end part on an outer surface of the movable plate 33. The suction pad 37 and the sucking hole 36 communicate with each other, and the sucking hole 36 is connected to a suction pipe 39 at its rear-end part. The suction pipe 39 is connected to a suction device 80 such as a vacuum pump or suction generator. According to this, when the second holdable object 6 is held by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 33, it can be appropriately held while being sucked by the suction pads 37 even when a surface of the second holdable object 6 is made of soft material (e.g., nylon).” As in 71 “Moreover, the robot 10 is one example, and not limited to the dual-arm robot 10. For example, the robot 10 may be comprised of two robots 10 which control the two hands 20 and 30, respectively.” As in 83 “the holdable object can be held appropriately even when the surface of the holdable object may deform by the sucking through the suction pad during the holding operation of the holdable object by the holding part.”] Examiner notes that applicant’s specification paragraph 29 states “the indefinite-shape object (an amorphous object or a flexible object)”. Examiner is interpreting the indefinite-shaped object as an object which has any degree of flexibility/deformability.; acquire a second attraction pressure which is an attraction pressure of the second attracting device; move the first attraction device to the indefinite-shape object; acquire a first attraction pressure which is an attraction pressure of the first attracting device; move the second attraction device to the indefinite-shape object [(see at least paragraphs 40-47) As in 40 “the larger second holdable object 6 placed on the second tray 61 (e.g., a box body of shoes) is held from its side surfaces by the holding parts 21 provided to the first arm 12 and the second arm 13, respectively. In detail, the movable plates 23 of the holding parts 21 are approached to the fixed plates 22 and closed by the holding cylinders 24, respectively, and the two holding parts 21 are positioned so that they can sandwich the second holdable object 6 from the side surfaces of the second holdable object 6 by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 23. Then, the holding parts 21 of the first arm 12 and the second arm 13 sandwich the second holdable object 6 therebetween while each holding part 21 being closed. A holding force for holding the second holdable object 6 can be appropriately adjusted based on feedback of a reaction force acting on the second links 15. Moreover, since the holding part 21 is comprised of the fixed plate 22 and the movable plate 23 each having a plate shape, the holding part 21 is thin even when being closed. Therefore, even when the plurality of second holdable objects 6 are lined up, the holding parts 21 can be inserted between the aligned second holdable objects 6, respectively, so as to hold it. That is, even when the second holdable objects 6 are aligned with small gaps therebetween, the holding parts 21 in the plate shape can be inserted into the gaps, respectively, so as to appropriately hold the second holdable object 6. The second holdable object 6 held by the holding parts 21 of both hands is transferred to a given position by two of the first arm 12 and the second arm 13.” As in 43 “a sucking hole 36 is formed inside a movable plate 33 provided to a holding part or holder 31, and a suction pad 37 is provided as a suction part at an end part on an outer surface of the movable plate 33. The suction pad 37 and the sucking hole 36 communicate with each other, and the sucking hole 36 is connected to a suction pipe 39 at its rear-end part. The suction pipe 39 is connected to a suction device 80 such as a vacuum pump or suction generator. According to this, when the second holdable object 6 is held by outer surfaces of the respective movable plates 33, it can be appropriately held while being sucked by the suction pads 37 even when a surface of the second holdable object 6 is made of soft material (e.g., nylon).”]
Azuma does not explicitly teach control the first robot so that, when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a second threshold value, a movement speed of the first attracting device is decreased and control the second robot so that, when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a first threshold value, a movement speed of the second attracting device is decreased.
However, Diankov teaches control the first robot so that, when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a second threshold value, a movement speed of the first attracting device is decreased; and control the second robot so that, when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a first threshold value, a movement speed of the second attracting device is decreased. [(see at least paragraphs 90-94) As in 90 “The robotic system 100 can compare the torque measurement “T” to the force threshold 322, which can represent, for example, the maximum amount of force at which the suction cups 324 can hold to the target object 112. Based on the comparison, the robotic system 100 can determine whether the tasks 118 can successfully be executed without dropping the target object 112. Further, based on the torque measurement the robotic system 100 can compensate for the torque applied to the target object 112, by adjusting the speed 340 and the acceleration 342 of the arm unit 102 to counteract the effects of the torque on the target object 112. As an example, in one embodiment, if the torque measurement is greater than the force threshold 322, such that the suction grippers 308 will lose grip on the target object 112, the robotic system 100 can adjust the speed 340 and the acceleration 342 of the arm unit 102 by, for example, decreasing the speed 340 and the acceleration 342 of the arm unit 102 to lower the torque and allow the suction grippers 308, the suction cups 324, or a combination thereof, to maintain a grip on the target object 112, and deliver the target object 112 without the target object 112 being dropped.”] Examiner notes that Diankov only discloses the use of one robot/arm, however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement this feature to other robots/arms within the system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Azuma to incorporate the teachings of Diankov of controlling the first robot so that, when the second attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a second threshold value, a movement speed of the first attracting device is decreased and controlling the second robot so that, when the first attraction pressure becomes equal to or larger than a first threshold value, a movement speed of the second attracting device is decreased in order to deliver/handle the object without being dropped. [(Diankov 90)]
Claims 11-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azuma in view of Diankov and in further view of Skyum (US 2023/0150777 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Azuma has all of the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Azuma does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is configured to: identify a center of gravity of the indefinite-shape object placed at the predetermined location; and control at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a supporting position corresponding to the center of gravity.
However, Skyum teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: identify a center of gravity of the indefinite-shape object placed at the predetermined location; and control at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a supporting position corresponding to the center of gravity. [(see at least paragraph 36) “Further, the objects may be classified with respect to various parameters based on analysis of the image. E.g. for each identified object, a centre of gravity may be determined, which has an influence on where to place the gripping members of the gripper to grip the object with the highest possible rate of success.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Azuma to incorporate the teachings of Skyum of identifying a center of gravity of the indefinite-shape object placed at the predetermined location; and control at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a supporting position corresponding to the center of gravity in order to grip/pick the object with the highest possible rate of success. [(Skyum 36)]
Regarding claim 12, Modified Azuma has all of the elements of claim 11 has discussed above.
Azuma does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is configured to control the at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a first horizontal position corresponding to the center of gravity in a horizontal direction, and supports the indefinite-shape object at a predetermined first vertical position in a vertical direction.
However, Skyum teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to control the at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a first horizontal position corresponding to the center of gravity in a horizontal direction, and supports the indefinite-shape object at a predetermined first vertical position in a vertical direction. [(see at least Fig.2, paragraphs 36-40) As in 36 “Further, the objects may be classified with respect to various parameters based on analysis of the image. E.g. for each identified object, a centre of gravity may be determined, which has an influence on where to place the gripping members of the gripper to grip the object with the highest possible rate of success.” As in 37 “a sensor is arranged to sense a height of the object after it has been picked up by the controllable gripper. Especially, the control system is connected to said sensor and to receive information indicative of the height of the object, and being arranged to control the controllable gripper and the controllable robotic actuator to release grip of the object at a height above the target position in response to said information indicative of the height of the object. This allows the robot system to place a small object with an unknown height gently on the target position without dropping it from a too high position above the target position, or without pressing an unexpected high object onto the induction or sorter. E.g. this solves the problem of picking an object from a stack of objects, thus not knowing the height of the object based on the picking height above the feeding conveyor or disc. Even further, the height sensor prevents damage of the gripper.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of modified Azuma to further incorporate the teachings of Skyum of controlling the at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a first horizontal position corresponding to the center of gravity in a horizontal direction, and supports the indefinite-shape object at a predetermined first vertical position in a vertical direction in order to grip/pick the object with the highest possible rate of success [(Skyum 36)] and improve pick and place performance of the robot system. [(Skyum 40)]
Regarding claim 13, Modified Azuma has all of the elements of claim 12 as discussed above.
Azuma does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is configured to control the at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a second vertical position lower than the center of gravity in the vertical direction.
However, Skyum teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to control the at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a second vertical position lower than the center of gravity in the vertical direction. [(see at least Fig.2, paragraphs 36-40) As in 36 “Further, the objects may be classified with respect to various parameters based on analysis of the image. E.g. for each identified object, a centre of gravity may be determined, which has an influence on where to place the gripping members of the gripper to grip the object with the highest possible rate of success.” As in 37 “a sensor is arranged to sense a height of the object after it has been picked up by the controllable gripper. Especially, the control system is connected to said sensor and to receive information indicative of the height of the object, and being arranged to control the controllable gripper and the controllable robotic actuator to release grip of the object at a height above the target position in response to said information indicative of the height of the object. This allows the robot system to place a small object with an unknown height gently on the target position without dropping it from a too high position above the target position, or without pressing an unexpected high object onto the induction or sorter. E.g. this solves the problem of picking an object from a stack of objects, thus not knowing the height of the object based on the picking height above the feeding conveyor or disc. Even further, the height sensor prevents damage of the gripper.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of modified Azuma to further incorporate the teachings of Skyum of controlling the at least one of the first robot or the second robot so that the at least one of the first robot or the second robot supports the indefinite-shape object at a second vertical position lower than the center of gravity in the vertical direction in order to grip/pick the object with the highest possible rate of success. [(Skyum 36)]
Regarding claim 14, Modified Azuma has all of the elements of claim 11 as discussed above.
Azuma does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is configured to identify the center of gravity based on an image indicating the indefinite-shape object captured by a camera.
However, Skyum teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to identify the center of gravity based on an image indicating the indefinite-shape object captured by a camera. [(see at least paragraph 36) “Based on the image, the control algorithm may both identify objects and classify objects. Preferably, the step of identifying objects comprises analysing the image to discriminate between single objects in the bulk of objects, thus identifying single objects in the bulk as the basis for deciding which object to pick first. Further, the objects may be classified with respect to various parameters based on analysis of the image. E.g. for each identified object, a centre of gravity may be determined, which has an influence on where to place the gripping members of the gripper to grip the object with the highest possible rate of success.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of modified Azuma to further incorporate the teachings of Skyum of identifying the center of gravity based on an image indicating the indefinite-shape object captured by a camera in order to allow evaluation of how the object is placed compared to the target position, and thus evaluation of the total pick and place performance. [(Skyum 38)]
Regarding claim 16, Modified Azuma has all of the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Azuma does not explicitly teach wherein the circuitry is configured to: identify a center of gravity of the indefinite-shape object being conveyed; and control a posture of at least one of the first robot or the second robot during conveyance of the indefinite-shape object, based on the center of gravity.
However, Skyum teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: identify a center of gravity of the indefinite-shape object being conveyed; and control a posture of at least one of the first robot or the second robot during conveyance of the indefinite-shape object, based on the center of gravity. [(see at least paragraph 36) “Based on the image, the control algorithm may both identify objects and classify objects. Preferably, the step of identifying objects comprises analysing the image to discriminate between single objects in the bulk of objects, thus identifying single objects in the bulk as the basis for deciding which object to pick first. Further, the objects may be classified with respect to various parameters based on analysis of the image. E.g. for each identified object, a centre of gravity may be determined, which has an influence on where to place the gripping members of the gripper to grip the object with the highest possible rate of success.”]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Azuma to incorporate the teachings of Skyum of identifying a center of gravity of the indefinite-shape object being conveyed; and control a posture of at least one of the first robot or the second robot during conveyance of the indefinite-shape object, based on the center of gravity in order to grip/pick the object with the highest possible rate of success. [(Skyum 36)]
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED YOUSEF ABUELHAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656