CTNF 18/750,775 CTNF 100030 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-7, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by IBRAHIM et al. (US 20220014954, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM”) . Claim 1. IBRAHIM teaches: A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: - See Fig. 18 at least one memory; - See Fig. 18, ¶ [0142], (“UE…may include the memory”) and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: - See Fig. 18, ¶ [0142], (“a UE…may include the memory 360 and/or at least one of the TX processor”) receive, from one or more access points, - in ¶ [0050], (“The base station may include…an access point”) a first configuration message – in ¶ [0098], (“the base station 1504 may transmit a configuration for one or more CSI-IM resources…to the UE 1502”) comprising one or more uplink transmit reference signal resources, - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0100], (“the base station 1504 may configure the UE 1502 to transmit a UL reference signal concurrent with the CSI-IM resources…”); ¶ [0088], (“may be configured to measure the CLI based on an uplink reference signal of nearby aggressor UEs…the base station may configure the aggressor UE1 with the SRS transmission…”) one or more inter-UE cross-link interference measurement resources, - in ¶ [0098], (“the base station 1504 may transmit a configuration for one or more CSI-IM resources…The CSI-IM resources configuration may notify the UE 1502 of the CSI-IM resources that the base station 1504 may configure…and instruct the UE 1502 to measure the interference components in the configured CSI-IM resources. ”); ¶ [0102], (“ The interference components may include the intra-cell CLI from the interfering UL signal from aggressor UE and/or the self-interference from UL signal of the UE 1502”) and one or more inter-UE cross-link interference reporting resources; - in ¶ [0104], (“the base station 1504 may transmit, to the UE 1502, the control signal to instruct the UE to generate and transmit the CLI report…The control signal may include at least one of the CSI report configurations identifying a report quantity for reporting the CLI…”) transmit, based at least in part on the first configuration message, one or more uplink transmit reference signals - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0101], (“the UE 1502 may transmit an uplink signal to the base station in an uplink portion of the downlink BWP based on the configuration received from the base station ”) comprising at least one of one or more inter-UE cross-link interference reference signals or one or more uplink channel state information reference signals; - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0101], (“the UE 1502 may transmit an uplink signal to the base station… the uplink signal may include the UL reference signal concurrent with the CSI-IM resources in the time domain, based on the configuration received at 1511 from the base station .”) and receive, based at least in part on the first configuration message, - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0100], (“UE 1502 may receive, from the base station 1504, the configuration to transmit the UL reference signal concurrent with the CSI-IM resources in the time domain.”) at least one of one or more uplink transmit reference signals from one or more UEs or one more downlink reference signals from one or more access points. - in ¶ [0100], (“The base station 1504 may also configure another UE, e.g., the aggressor UE, to transmit the UL reference signal concurrent with the CSI-IM resources…the UL reference signal may be the SRS. The UE 1502 may measure at least one interference component in the CSI-IM resources based on the UL reference signal that the aggressor UE and/or the UE 1502 transmit concurrently with the CSI-IM resources”) Claim 2. IBRAHIM teaches The UE of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). IBRAHIM teaches: wherein the first configuration message further comprises at least one of a time period, a periodic time-domain behavior configuration, a semi-persistent time-domain behavior configuration, an aperiodic time-domain behavior configuration, a time-frequency resources configuration, – See Fig. 15, ¶ [0097], (“At 1506, the base station 1504 may determine the CSI-IM resource patterns…the CSI-IM resource pattern 3 1308 of FIG. 13, may have a pattern further spanning multiple symbols…may have a flexible frequency domain resource configuration for CSI-IM”, Examiner Note: Only one option needs to be satisfied.) an uplink transmit reference signal pattern, one or more uplink transmit beam indexes associated with a transmit beam pattern, or one or more downlink receive beam indexes associated with a receive beam pattern. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. Claim 4. IBRAHIM teaches The UE of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). IBRAHIM teaches: wherein the first configuration message configures the UE to at least one of: report an inter-UE cross-link interference measured quantity based at least in part on the inter-UE cross-link interference measured quantity being below or above a configured threshold; - See Fig. 16B, ¶ [0123], (“ The UE may generate the CLI report in response to the measurement of at least one interference component in the CSI-IM resources being above the threshold value…the base station may…transmit the threshold for CLI to the UE. The UE may drop the CLI report if the measured CLI falls below the threshold…the UE may report only the measurement of the interference components (e.g., CLI-RSSI) that are above the threshold value . ”) report one or more of a maximum or minimum inter-UE cross-link interference measured quantity of a plurality of inter-UE cross-link interference measured quantities; or report at least one inter-UE cross-link interference measured quantity of a plurality of inter-UE cross-link interference measured quantities by integrating the at least one inter-UE cross-link interference measured quantity into one or more channel state information reported quantities. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. Claim 5. IBRAHIM teaches The UE of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). IBRAHIM teaches: wherein the first configuration message further comprises a configuration for at least one of self-interference measurement and reporting resources – See Fig. 12, ¶ [0089], (“the base station may configure a full-duplex UE with the CSI-IM resources for the self-interference measurement.”) or channel state information measurement and reporting resources – in ¶ [0114], (“The UE may receive, from a base station, a configuration of CSI-IM resources for measuring intra-cell interferences or self-interferences in full-duplex communication and generate and transmit the CLI report to the base station based on the configuration of the CSI-IM resources.”) each associated with at least one of a time period, a periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic time-domain behavior configuration, - in ¶ [0106], (“periodicity of the CLI report may be configured based on whether the CSI-IM resources are configured periodically, semi-persistently, or aperiodically.”) a time-frequency resources configuration, an uplink transmit reference signal pattern, uplink transmit reference signal beam indexes associated with a transmit beam pattern, or downlink receive beam indexes associated with a receive beam pattern. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. Claim 6. IBRAHIM teaches The UE of claim 5, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). IBRAHIM teaches: wherein the first configuration message configures the UE to at least one of: report at least one of self-interference measured quantity associated with a corresponding uplink transmit reference signal resource index, uplink transmit beam index, downlink receive beam index, measurement subband index, or measurement resource index, wherein the self-interference measured quantity comprises at least one of a self-interference reference signal received power or a self-interference received signal strength indicator; - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. report at least one self-interference measured quantity being below or above a configured threshold; - in ¶ [0133], (“The base station may configure the UE with CSI-IM resources for measuring intra-cell interferences or self-interferences …and receive the CLI report from the UE.”); ¶ [0123], (“ The UE may generate the CLI report in response to the measurement of at least one interference component in the CSI-IM resources being above the threshold value…the base station may…transmit the threshold for CLI to the UE. The UE may drop the CLI report if the measured CLI falls below the threshold…the UE may report only the measurement of the interference components (e.g., CLI-RSSI) that are above the threshold value . ”) report a maximum or minimum self-interference measured quantity of a plurality of self-interference measured quantities; report at least one self-interference measured quantity of a plurality of self-interference measured quantities by integrating the at least one self-interference measured quantity into one or more channel state information reported quantities; or report at least one of a channel state information measured quantity associated with a corresponding downlink reference signal index, a measurement resource index, a measurement subband index, or an access point index. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. Claim 7. IBRAHIM teaches The UE of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). IBRAHIM teaches: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a second configuration message indicating at least one of a downlink signal or channel configuration resources associated with at least one of a channel state information, a quasi-co-location or transmission configuration indicator state configuration, – in ¶ [0099], (“the UE may be configured to measure the CSI-IM resources based on the spatial receiver parameters, e.g., QCL-TypeD, and signal the TCI state to the UE…The TCI state may be signaled to the UE 1502 in a similar manner to transmitting the configuration for one or more CSI-IM resources”) an uplink signal or channel configuration resources associated with a channel state information, or quasi co-location or transmission configuration indicator state configuration. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. Claims 19-20 are rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1 since they recite nearly identical limitations . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IBRAHIM et al. (US 20220014954, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM”) in view of IBRAHIM et al. (US 20230318767, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM’767”) . Claim 3. IBRAHIM teaches The UE of claim 1, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). IBRAHIM does not explicitly teach: wherein the first configuration message at least one of: classifies at least one uplink transmit reference signal of a plurality of uplink transmit reference signals into at least one group of three groups, wherein an uplink transmit reference signal of a first group of the three groups is designated for UE cell searching for a downlink access point, an uplink transmit reference signal of a second group of the three groups is designated for UE cell searching for an uplink access point, and an uplink transmit reference signal of a third group of the three groups is designated for an inter-UE cross-link interference reference signal; associates at least one uplink transmit reference signal of the plurality of uplink transmit reference signals with one or more of a traffic quality of service or a traffic priority class; or classifies at least one uplink transmit reference signal of the plurality of uplink transmit reference signals into at least one of a cell common reference signal, a UE group common reference signal, or a UE specific reference signal each associated with one or more of a weight or a priority level. However, IBRAHIM’767 teaches: wherein the first configuration message at least one of: classifies at least one uplink transmit reference signal of a plurality of uplink transmit reference signals into at least one group of three groups, wherein an uplink transmit reference signal of a first group of the three groups is designated for UE cell searching for a downlink access point, an uplink transmit reference signal of a second group of the three groups is designated for UE cell searching for an uplink access point, and an uplink transmit reference signal of a third group of the three groups is designated for an inter-UE cross-link interference reference signal; - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. associates at least one uplink transmit reference signal of the plurality of uplink transmit reference signals with one or more of a traffic quality of service or a traffic priority class; - in ¶ [0112], (“a CLI-SRS priority configuration may refer to one or more rules or protocols carried out by a UE 715 and/or the BS 705 to resolve and/or prevent collisions of CLI-SRS resources with other UL/SL resources.”); ¶ [0117], (“the CLI-SRS priority configuration…may indicate a priority of a CLI-SRS relative to other CLI-SRSs and/or other UL/SL communications…may indicate a priority value or rank of each type of communication, including aperiodic CLI-SRS, semi-persistent CLI-SRS, periodic CLI-SRS, non-CLI SRS…”) or classifies at least one uplink transmit reference signal of the plurality of uplink transmit reference signals into at least one of a cell common reference signal, a UE group common reference signal, or a UE specific reference signal each associated with one or more of a weight or a priority level. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM with IBRAHIM’767 to include associates at least one uplink transmit reference signal with one or more of a traffic quality of service, as taught by IBRAHIM’767. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce latency, as suggested by IBRAHIM’767, undesirable delays, latency, and network overhead may be reduced, and network efficiency and user experience may be improved. - ¶ [0046] 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IBRAHIM et al. (US 20220014954, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM”) in view of Gunnarsson et al. (US 20230076306, hereinafter, “Gunnarsson”), and further in view of Iimori et al. (WO 2024160376 A1, hereinafter, “Iimori”) . Claim 8. IBRAHIM teaches The UE of claim 7, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). IBRAHIM does not explicitly teach: wherein the second configuration message further comprises at least one of assigned access points indexes and locations in downlink mode , assigned access points indexes and locations in uplink mode, or assigned access points indexes and locations in full-duplex mode, associated with an assignment period. However, Gunnarsson teaches: wherein the second configuration message – in ¶ [0127], (“A typical TRP configuration to be provided as assistance data for UE-based positioning includes a static part and a dynamic part. The static part typically includes TRP location information…”) further comprises at least one of assigned access points indexes – in ¶ [0130], (“Various types of relative representation can be used for the static TRP configuration information shown in FIG. 8B…each TRP can be associated with an ID such as…an index in a list”) and locations in downlink mode , – in ¶ [0127], (“A typical TRP configuration to be provided as assistance data for UE-based positioning includes a static part…The static part typically includes TRP location information…¶ [0129] nr-TRP-LocationInfo-r16 field includes the TRP absolute location information (e.g., in 3D)”) assigned access points indexes and locations in uplink mode, or assigned access points indexes and locations in full-duplex mode, associated with an assignment period. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM with Gunnarsson to include receiving access points indexes and locations, as taught by Gunnarsson. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce signaling overhead, as suggested by Gunnarsson, improve the efficiency of provisioning of positioning assistance data, e.g., by reducing the signaling overhead…Such improvements can facilitate better availability of positioning assistance data to UEs. - ¶ [0126] Combination of IBRAHIM and Gunnarsson does not explicitly teach: wherein the second configuration message further comprises at least one of assigned access points indexes and locations in downlink mode, assigned access points indexes and locations in uplink mode, or assigned access points indexes and locations in full-duplex mode , associated with an assignment period. However, Iimori teaches: wherein the second configuration message further comprises at least one of assigned access points indexes and locations in downlink mode, - See pg. 1, lines 33-34, (“each AP operates either in downlink (DL) or uplink (UL) mode”) assigned access points indexes and locations in uplink mode, or assigned access points indexes and locations in full-duplex mode , associated with an assignment period. - See pg. 18, lines 15-17, (“when the wireless device moves from the first position to the second position, it is likely that the inter-cell interference will change. Which also may motivate an update in AP assignment); See pg. 22, lines 4-7, (“The method may further comprise monitoring 311 whether the at least one link characteristic changes more than the predetermined amount in a predetermined time interval…an investigation if the at least one link characteristic has changed may occur every 1 seconds.”) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM and Gunnarsson with Iimori to include access point modes associated with an assignment period, as taught by Iimori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid cross-link interference, as suggested by Iimori, Since the system serves UL and DL at the same time and frequency, the system may suffer from cross-link interference, i.e., interference from DL APs to UL APs, and interference from UL UEs to DL UEs. – See pg. 13, lines 11-13 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IBRAHIM et al. (US 20220014954, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM”) in view of XU et al (US 20200112420, hereinafter, “XU”) . Claim 9. IBRAHIM teaches: A network equipment for wireless communication, comprising: - See Fig. 4A-4C at least one memory; - See Fig. 19, ¶ [0146], (“The apparatus 1902 is a base station…may include the memory 376”) and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network equipment to: - See Fig. 19, ¶ [0146], (“The apparatus 1902 is a base station…may include the memory 376 and/or at least one of the TX processor 316”) transmit a first configuration message – in ¶ [0098], (“the base station 1504 may transmit a configuration for one or more CSI-IM resources…to the UE 1502”) comprising one or more uplink transmit reference signal resources, - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0100], (“the base station 1504 may configure the UE 1502 to transmit a UL reference signal concurrent with the CSI-IM resources…”); ¶ [0088], (“may be configured to measure the CLI based on an uplink reference signal of nearby aggressor UEs…the base station may configure the aggressor UE1 with the SRS transmission…”) one or more inter-user equipment (UE) cross-link interference measurement resources, - in ¶ [0098], (“the base station 1504 may transmit a configuration for one or more CSI-IM resources…The CSI-IM resources configuration may notify the UE 1502 of the CSI-IM resources that the base station 1504 may configure…and instruct the UE 1502 to measure the interference components in the configured CSI-IM resources. ”); ¶ [0102], (“ The interference components may include the intra-cell CLI from the interfering UL signal from aggressor UE and/or the self-interference from UL signal of the UE 1502”) and one or more inter-UE cross-link interference reporting resources; - in ¶ [0104], (“the base station 1504 may transmit, to the UE 1502, the control signal to instruct the UE to generate and transmit the CLI report…The control signal may include at least one of the CSI report configurations identifying a report quantity for reporting the CLI…”) receive one or more reference signals comprising at least one of one or more UE uplink reference signals, - See Fig. 15, ¶ [0101], (“the UE 1502 may transmit an uplink signal to the base station in an uplink portion of the downlink BWP based on the configuration received from the base station ”) one or more inter-access point cross-link interference reference signals, or one or more downlink reference signals; - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. and IBRAHIM does not explicitly teach: transmit one or more reference signals comprising at least one of one or more downlink channel state information references signals or one or more inter-access point cross-link interference reference signals. However, XU teaches: transmit one or more reference signals comprising at least one of one or more downlink channel state information references signals or one or more inter-access point cross-link interference reference signals. – in ¶ [0061], (“measuring CLI between TRP and TRP…¶ [0062] As discussed above, the signals that can be used for the measurements of the above metrics include: CSI-RS, DMRS, SRS, and SSS. ¶ [0063] CSI-RS in LTE is mainly used for downlink CSI measurements, sent by TRP, where UE receives and measures the signal. In this embodiment for measuring CLI between TRP and TRP, the CSI-RS can be sent by a TRP, where another TRP receives and performs the CLI measurements.”) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM with XU to include transmit one or more reference signals comprising at least one of one or more downlink channel state information references signals, as taught by XU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid interference, as suggested by XU, There is no satisfactory solution for the problem of cross-link interference measurement and cross-link interference mitigation in existing literatures or existing technologies. - ¶ [0007] Claim 17. Combination of IBRAHIM and XU teaches The network equipment of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). XU further teaches: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to receive a third configuration message indicating an event-based measurement and reporting resources configuration associated with at least one of time-frequency resources, - See Fig. 6, ¶ [0057], (“At 604, BS1 receives a wireless signal from BS2. The wireless signal may be downlink measurement signal sent by the BS2. At 606, BS1 measures the wireless signal to determine a measurement value according to the metric…the BS1 may measure the wireless signal on a measurement resource based on some configuration information. Based on the measurement value, BS1 determines an event at 608, e.g. by comparing the measurement value with a determined threshold value.”); ¶ [0073], (“some time/frequency resources in the transmission configuration of CSI-RS or in the configuration of CSI measurement configured for UE is/are used as the CLI measurement resource/configuration.”) downlink reference signal resources, uplink reference signal resources, downlink transmit beam indexes resources, uplink receive beam indexes resources, inter-access point cross-link measurement resources, self-interference measurement resources, a time period, a periodic, or semi-persistent or aperiodic time-domain behavior configuration. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM with XU to include third configuration message indicating an event-based measurement and reporting resources configuration, as taught by XU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid interference, as suggested by XU, There is no satisfactory solution for the problem of cross-link interference measurement and cross-link interference mitigation in existing literatures or existing technologies. - ¶ [0007] 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IBRAHIM et al. (US 20220014954, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM”) in view of XU et al (US 20200112420, hereinafter, “XU”), and further in view of ABEDINI et al. (US 20220086672, hereinafter, “ABEDINI”) . Claim 10. Combination of IBRAHIM and XU teaches The network equipment of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). Combination of IBRAHIM and XU does not explicitly teach: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to receive a third configuration message comprising a slot configuration pattern configuring network equipment to operate in a downlink mode, an uplink mode, or a full-duplex mode associated with at least one of a time period, one or more frequency resources, one or more time resources, a periodic time-domain behavior configuration, a semi-persistent time-domain behavior configuration, or a aperiodic time-domain behavior configuration. However, ABEDINI teaches: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to receive a third configuration message - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0114], (“base station DU 805-1 may receive information identifying the TDD configuration from base station CU 810.”) comprising a slot configuration pattern configuring network equipment to operate in a downlink mode, an uplink mode, or a full-duplex mode - in ¶ [0100], (“a base station CU may configure a TDD configuration (e.g., a TDD pattern) with more uplink transmission time intervals (TTIs) (e.g., frames, subframes, slots, mini-slots, symbols, and/or the like) for a base station DU when the base station DU has uplink data to transmit, and may configure a TDD configuration with more downlink TTIs for the base station DU when the base station DU has downlink data to receive.”) associated with at least one of a time period, one or more frequency resources, one or more time resources, a periodic time-domain behavior configuration, a semi-persistent time-domain behavior configuration, or a aperiodic time-domain behavior configuration. - in ¶ [0117], (“A CLI measurement object may include a configuration of one or more parameters for performing one or more CLI measurements of inter-DU CLI…The one or more CLI measurement objects may identify the one or more resources (e.g., the one or more time-domain resources and/or the one or more frequency domain resources)…a time duration, a periodicity…a reference signal configuration for the one or more cells of base station DU 805-2…an index of SSBs transmitted from base station DU 805-2”) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM and XU with ABEDINI to include receive a third configuration message comprising a slot configuration pattern, as taught by ABEDINI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce interference, as suggested by ABEDINI, inter-link interference may be reduced. - ¶ [0089] Claim 11. Combination of IBRAHIM, XU, and ABEDINI teaches The network equipment of claim 10, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). ABEDINI further teaches: wherein the third configuration message at least one of: configures the network equipment with at least one of a plurality of downlink transmit reference signal resources or a plurality of inter-access point cross-link interference measurement and reporting resources each associated with at least one of a time period, a periodic time-domain behavior configuration, a semi-persistent time-domain behavior configuration, or an aperiodic time-domain behavior configuration, a time-frequency resources configuration, a downlink transmit reference signal pattern, one or more downlink transmit beam indexes associated with a transmit beam pattern, or one or more uplink beam indexes associated with a receive beam pattern; configures the network equipment to report at least one of a inter-access point cross-link interference measured quantity associated with a corresponding downlink transmit reference signal resource index, an uplink receive beam index, a downlink transmit beam index, a measurement subband index, or a measurement resource index, wherein the inter-access point cross-link interference measured quantity comprises one or more of a cross-link interference reference signal received power or a cross-link interference received signal strength indicator; - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. configures the network equipment to report an inter-access point cross-link interference measured quantity if that is below or above a configured threshold; - in ¶ [0180], (“the CLI measurement reporting configuration may indicate that base station DU 1405-1 is to report CLI measurements and associated information for the base station DUs and associated cells for which a corresponding CLI measurement satisfies a measurement threshold (e.g., an RSSI threshold, an RSRP threshold…”); ¶ [0291], (“As used herein, satisfying a threshold may, depending on the context, refer to a value being greater than the threshold, greater than or equal to the threshold, less than the threshold”) configures the network equipment to report a maximum or minimum inter-access point cross-link interference measured quantity of a plurality of cross-link interference measured quantities; or configures the network equipment to report at least one inter-access point cross-link interference measured quantity of a plurality of inter-access point CLI measured quantities by integrating the at least one inter-access point cross-link interference measured quantity into an uplink channel state information reported quantity. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM and XU with ABEDINI to include configures the network equipment to report an inter-access point cross-link interference measured quantity if that is below or above a configured threshold, as taught by ABEDINI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce interference, as suggested by ABEDINI, inter-link interference may be reduced. - ¶ [0089] Claim 12. Combination of IBRAHIM and XU teaches The network equipment of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). ABEDINI further teaches: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to receive a third configuration message - See Fig. 7, ¶ [0114], (“base station DU 805-1 may receive information identifying the TDD configuration from base station CU 810.”) comprising at least one of a plurality of self-interference measurement and reporting resources or a plurality of uplink channel state information measurement and reporting resources – in ¶ [0116], (“the base station DU 805-1 may receive the one or more CLI measurement objects from base station CU 810”…¶ [0117], (“The one or more CLI measurement objects may identify the one or more resources (e.g., the one or more time-domain resources and/or the one or more frequency domain resources)…a time duration, a periodicity, and/or other parameter for the measurement window)”) each associated with at least one of a time period, - in ¶ [0117], (“The one or more CLI measurement objects may identify the one or more resources (e.g., the one or more time- domain resources and/or the one or more frequency domain resources)…a time duration, a periodicity, and/or other parameter for the measurement window)”) a periodic time-domain behavior configuration, a semi-persistent time-domain behavior configuration, or an aperiodic time-domain behavior configuration, a time-frequency resources configuration, a downlink transmit reference signal pattern, downlink transmit beam indexes associated with a transmit beam pattern, or uplink receive beam indexes associated with an receive beam pattern. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM and XU with ABEDINI to include receive a third configuration message, as taught by ABEDINI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce interference, as suggested by ABEDINI, inter-link interference may be reduced. - ¶ [0089] Claim 13. Combination of IBRAHIM and XU teaches The network equipment of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). ABEDINI further teaches: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to receive a third configuration message configuring the network equipment to at least one of: report at least one self-interference measured quantity that is below or above a configured threshold; - in ¶ [0180], (“the CLI measurement reporting configuration may indicate that base station DU 1405-1 is to report CLI measurements and associated information for the base station DUs and associated cells for which a corresponding CLI measurement satisfies a measurement threshold (e.g., an RSSI threshold, an RSRP threshold…”); ¶ [0291], (“As used herein, satisfying a threshold may, depending on the context, refer to a value being greater than the threshold, greater than or equal to the threshold, less than the threshold”) report a maximum or minimum self-interference measured quantity of a plurality of self-interference measured quantities; report at least one self-interference measured quantity of a plurality of self-interference measured quantities by integrating the at least one self-interference measured quantity into one or more uplink channel state information reported quantities; or report at least one uplink channel state information measured quantity associated with a corresponding uplink transmit reference signal resource index, a measurement resource index, a measurement subband index, or an access point index. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM and XU with ABEDINI to include report at least one self-interference measured quantity that is below or above a configured threshold, as taught by ABEDINI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce interference, as suggested by ABEDINI, inter-link interference may be reduced. - ¶ [0089] 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IBRAHIM et al. (US 20220014954, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM”) in view of XU et al (US 20200112420, hereinafter, “XU”), and further in view of IBRAHIM et al. (US 20230147157, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM’157”) . Claim 14. Combination of IBRAHIM and XU teaches The network equipment of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). Combination of IBRAHIM and XU does not explicitly teach: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to receive a third configuration message classifying at least one configured downlink transmit reference signal into one group of four groups, wherein a reference signal of a first group of the four groups is configured for indicating when the network equipment indicates a downlink only mode, a reference signal of a second group of the four groups indicates an uplink only mode, a reference signal of a third group of the four groups indicates a full-duplex mode, and a reference signal of a fourth group of the four groups indicates an inter-access point cross-link interference reference signal. However, IBRAHIM’157 teaches: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to receive a third configuration message classifying at least one configured downlink transmit reference signal into one group of four groups, - in ¶ [0062], (“A ‘D+U’ slot may include downlink only symbols, uplink only symbols, or full-duplex symbols.”); ¶ [0093], (“CLI specific reference signal) for cross-link interference measurement.”) wherein a reference signal of a first group of the four groups is configured for indicating when the network equipment indicates a downlink only mode, - in ¶ [0062], (“a slot may be defined as D+U slot where a band is used for both uplink and downlink transmission….In a given ‘D+U’ symbol, a half-duplex UE may transmit in an UL band or receive in a DL band. In a given ‘D+U’ symbol, a full-duplex UE may transmit in the uplink band and/or receive in the downlink band in the same slot. A ‘D+U’ slot may include downlink only symbols , uplink only symbols, or full-duplex symbols.”) a reference signal of a second group of the four groups indicates an uplink only mode, - in ¶ [0062], (“A ‘D+U’ slot may include downlink only symbols, uplink only symbols , or full-duplex symbols.”) a reference signal of a third group of the four groups indicates a full-duplex mode, - in ¶ [0062], (“A ‘D+U’ slot may include downlink only symbols, uplink only symbols, or full-duplex symbols .”) and a reference signal of a fourth group of the four groups indicates an inter-access point cross-link interference reference signal. - See Fig. 4, ¶ [0093], (“The signaling may further indicate a cross-link interference report configuration with a zero-power SRS resource ( or a CLI specific reference signal) for cross-link interference measurement .”); ¶ [0058], (“the second BS 102b may encounter cross-link interference from other wireless nodes”) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM and XU with IBRAHIM’157 to include reference signal groups, as taught by IBRAHIM’157. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce cross-link interference, as suggested by IBRAHIM’157, techniques and apparatus for configuring a reference signal for measuring cross-link interference in wireless communication systems. - ¶ [0001] 07-21-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IBRAHIM et al. (US 20220014954, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM”) in view of XU et al (US 20200112420, hereinafter, “XU”), and further in view of Iimori et al. (WO 2024160376 A1, hereinafter, “Iimori”) . Claim 15. Combination of IBRAHIM and XU teaches The network equipment of claim 9, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). Combination of IBRAHIM and XU does not explicitly teach: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to transmit a predefined signal sequence to indicate a local communication direction assignment. However, Iimori teaches: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to transmit a predefined signal sequence to indicate a local communication direction assignment. – See pg. 14, lines 29-30, (“AP assignment problem may be considered as a binary classification problem by, e.g., regarding indices of DL APs as 1 and those of UL APs as 0.”) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM and XU with Iimori to include transmit a predefined signal sequence to indicate a local communication direction assignment, as taught by Iimori. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to avoid cross-link interference, as suggested by Iimori, Since the system serves UL and DL at the same time and frequency, the system may suffer from cross-link interference, i.e., interference from DL APs to UL APs, and interference from UL UEs to DL UEs. – See pg. 13, lines 11-13 07-21-aia AIA Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IBRAHIM et al. (US 20220014954, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM”) in view of XU et al (US 20200112420, hereinafter, “XU”), and further in view of Iimori et al. (WO 2024160376 A1, hereinafter, “Iimori”) and FRENGER et al. (WO 2021049985 A1, hereinafter, “FRENGER”) . Claim 16. Combination of IBRAHIM, XU, and Iimori teaches The network equipment of claim 15, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). Combination of IBRAHIM, XU, and Iimori does not explicitly teach: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to receive a response message that one or more of: - See pg. 13, lines 19-21, (“The network node, or CPU, informs all the APs in the CPU-centric cluster…”) confirms, rejects, or reverts the local communication direction assignment; - See pg. 13, lines 19-21, (“The network node, or CPU, informs all the APs in the CPU-centric cluster that the UE has been admitted into the cluster and will use the assigned uplink pilot sequence.”) or indicates or configures at least one of uplink signal resources or downlink signal resources according to an indicated downlink or uplink mode. However, FRENGER teaches: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to receive a response message that one or more of: - See pg. 13, lines 19-21, (“The network node, or CPU, informs all the APs in the CPU-centric cluster…”) confirms, rejects, or reverts the local communication direction assignment; - See pg. 13, lines 19-21, (“The network node, or CPU, informs all the APs in the CPU-centric cluster that the UE has been admitted into the cluster and will use the assigned uplink pilot sequence.”) or indicates or configures at least one of uplink signal resources or downlink signal resources according to an indicated downlink or uplink mode. - This does not require teaching since it’s stated as optional. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM, XU, and Iimori with FRENGER to include confirms, rejects, or reverts the local communication direction assignment, as taught by FRENGER. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve assignment in cell-free massive MIMO systems, as suggested by FRENGER, provides a scalable solution that enables optimized pilot assignment in a cell-free distributed (massive) MIMO communications system. – See pg. 14, lines 20-22 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IBRAHIM et al. (US 20220014954, hereinafter, “IBRAHIM”) in view of XU et al (US 20200112420, hereinafter, “XU”), and further in view BAI et al. (US 20200028652, hereinafter, “BAI”) and Babaei et al. (US 20190215870, hereinafter, “Babaei”) . Claim 18. Combination of IBRAHIM and XU teaches The network equipment of claim 17, - refer to the indicated claim for reference(s). Combination of IBRAHIM and XU does not explicitly teach: wherein the event-based measurement and reporting configuration indicates whether a difference in a first value of an L1-reference signal received power associated with an active beam and a second value of an L1- reference signal received power associated with an indicated beam is larger than a configured threshold, and However, BAI teaches: wherein the event-based measurement and reporting configuration indicates whether a difference in a first value of an L1-reference signal received power associated with an active beam and a second value of an L1- reference signal received power associated with an indicated beam is larger than a configured threshold, - See Fig. 10, ¶ [0081], (“the UE 1002 can be configured to detect the occurrence of a triggering event…the triggering event can occur when the UE detects that a certain measurement has fallen below a given threshold (e.g., L1-RSRP…the triggering event can be based on the measurement differences of the multiple beams…if the strength/quality of the serving beams falls below the strength/quality of non-serving beams…the UE may detect a triggering event when a strength/quality difference between two beams is larger than a threshold.”); ¶ [0092], (“detecting the triggering event may include detecting an identification of a beam other than a serving beam that has a better quality measurement than the serving beam. In another example, detecting the triggering event may include detecting an RSRP difference between two beams being larger than a threshold .”) and It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM and XU with BAI to include the event-based measurement and reporting configuration indicates whether a difference in L1-RSRP is larger than a configured threshold, as taught by BAI. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve resource usage, as suggested by BAI, a UE that may be configured to transmit feedback information (e.g., a CSI feedback report) in a manner that reduces power consumption and improves the efficient use of wireless resources. - ¶ [0073] Combination of IBRAHIM, XU, and BAI does not explicitly teach: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to transmit an indication of whether an event occurred via a configured contention-based reference signal resource or a contention-free reference signal resource. However, Babaei teaches: wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the network equipment to transmit an indication of whether an event occurred – in ¶ [0460], (“A gNB may transmit one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of an uplink physical channel or signal for transmitting beam failure recovery request.”) via a configured contention-based reference signal resource or a contention-free reference signal resource. – in ¶ [0460], (“A gNB may transmit one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of an uplink physical channel or signal for transmitting beam failure recovery request. The uplink physical channel or signal may be based one of: on a non-contention based PRACH (so called BFR-PRACH)…or a contention-based PRACH resource.”) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified IBRAHIM, XU, and BAI with Babaei to include transmit an indication of whether an event occurred via a configured contention-based reference signal resource or a contention-free reference signal resource, as taught by Babaei. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce interference, as suggested by Babaei, an improved uplink resource utilization with reduced interference. - ¶ [0651] Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Shima Wasel whose telephone number is (703)756-4725. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Khaled Kassim can be reached at (571) 270-3770. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHIMA WASEL/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2475 /KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 2 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 3 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 4 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 5 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 6 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 7 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 8 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 9 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 10 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 11 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 12 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 13 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 14 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 15 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 16 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 17 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 18 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 19 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 20 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 21 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 22 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 23 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 24 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 25 Art Unit: 2475 Application/Control Number: 18/750,775 Page 26 Art Unit: 2475