DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an amendment filed on 7/1/26 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (WO 2022/208884 A1), herein Matsumura.
As to claim 1, Matsumura teaches a communication method, comprising:
Receiving, by a communication apparatus, configuration information that indicates to report channel state information, wherein the configuration information comprises identifiers of one or more first reference signals (Matsumura [0115] The UE may receive configuration information regarding storage of QCL characteristics. The configuration information may be information about the number of reports (eg, X above) of power/quality (eg, L1-RSRP/L1-SINR) of the measured signal. [0094]-[0099] The UE may utilize RRC signaling/MAC CE to receive information indicating the TCI state associated with the QCL characteristics to store. The UE may be configured/indicated which QCL characteristics to store based on the information indicating the TCI state. For example, the information indicating the TCI status may be a list containing one or more RS IDs);
and
sending, by a communication apparatus, information comprising channel state information of at least one second reference signal that is a one of, the one or more first reference signals, wherein the information comprises indication information that indicates whether to store a first quasi co-location (QCL) parameter of the at least one second reference signal (Matsumura [0115] The UE may receive configuration information regarding storage of QCL characteristics. The configuration information may be information about the number of reports (eg, X above) of power/quality (eg, L1-RSRP/L1-SINR) of the measured signal. [0094]-[0099] The UE may utilize RRC signaling/MAC CE to receive information indicating the TCI state associated with the QCL characteristics to store. The UE may be configured/indicated which QCL characteristics to store based on the information indicating the TCI state. For example, the information indicating the TCI status may be a list containing one or more RS IDs and [0028] Even if the UE measures/stores/maintains the QCL characteristics, the NW does not allow the UE to measure/store/maintain the QCL characteristics unless the UE does L1-RSRP reporting/beam reporting to the network (NW, e.g., base station). Therefore, the UE measures and reports beams/RSs, and the UE and the NW need to have a common understanding of whether the TCI state is known or unknown.);
As to claim 5, Matsumura teaches a communication method, comprising:
obtaining a quasi co-location (QCL) parameter of at least one first reference signal (Matsumura [0096]-[0097] The UE may utilize RRC signaling/MAC CE to receive information indicating the TCI state associated with the QCL characteristics to store. The UE may be configured/indicated which QCL characteristics to store based on the information indicating the TCI state. For example, the information indicating the TCI status may be a list containing one or more RS IDs); and
sending first information comprising an identifier of the at least one first reference signal, and the first information indicates to store the QCL parameter of the at least one first reference signal (Matsumura [0115]-[0116] The UE may receive configuration information regarding storage of QCL characteristics. The configuration information may be information about the number of reports (e.g., X above) of power/quality (e.g., L1-RSRP/L1-SINR) of the measured signal. For example, the UE may report the top X beams (CRI/SSBRI) in the L1-RSRP/L1-SINR report and store the QCL characteristics of the root SSB for the TCI state associated with that reported beam [0028] Even if the UE measures/stores/maintains the QCL characteristics, the NW does not allow the UE to measure/store/maintain the QCL characteristics unless the UE does L1-RSRP reporting/beam reporting to the network (NW, e.g., base station). Therefore, the UE measures and reports beams/RSs, and the UE and the NW need to have a common understanding of whether the TCI state is known or unknown.);)
As to claim 14, Matsumura teaches a communication apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions, the at least one processor being configured to execute the instructions to cause the communication apparatus to (Matsumura Fig. 19):
receive, by a communication apparatus configuration information that indicates to report channel state information,
wherein the configuration information comprises identifiers of one or more first reference signals (Matsumura [0115] The UE may receive configuration information regarding storage of QCL characteristics. The configuration information may be information about the number of reports (eg, X above) of power/quality (eg, L1-RSRP/L1-SINR) of the measured signal. [0094]-[0099] The UE may utilize RRC signaling/MAC CE to receive information indicating the TCI state associated with the QCL characteristics to store. The UE may be configured/indicated which QCL characteristics to store based on the information indicating the TCI state. For example, the information indicating the TCI status may be a list containing one or more RS IDs);
and
send, by the communication apparatus information comprising channel state information of at least one second reference signal that is a part, or all of, the one or more first reference signals, wherein the information comprises indication information that indicates whether to store a first quasi co-location (QCL) parameter of the at least one second reference signal (Matsumura [0115] The UE may receive configuration information regarding storage of QCL characteristics. The configuration information may be information about the number of reports (eg, X above) of power/quality (eg, L1-RSRP/L1-SINR) of the measured signal. [0094]-[0099] The UE may utilize RRC signaling/MAC CE to receive information indicating the TCI state associated with the QCL characteristics to store. The UE may be configured/indicated which QCL characteristics to store based on the information indicating the TCI state. For example, the information indicating the TCI status may be a list containing one or more RS IDs [0028] Even if the UE measures/stores/maintains the QCL characteristics, the NW does not allow the UE to measure/store/maintain the QCL characteristics unless the UE does L1-RSRP reporting/beam reporting to the network (NW, e.g., base station). Therefore, the UE measures and reports beams/RSs, and the UE and the NW need to have a common understanding of whether the TCI state is known or unknown);
As to claim 18, Matsumura teaches a communication apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions, the at least one processor being configured to execute the instructions to cause the communication apparatus to (Matsumura Fig. 19):
obtain a quasi co-location (QCL) parameter of at least one first reference signal (Matsumura [0115] The UE may receive configuration information regarding storage of QCL characteristics. The configuration information may be information about the number of reports (eg, X above) of power/quality (eg, L1-RSRP/L1-SINR) of the measured signal. [0094]-[0099] The UE may utilize RRC signaling/MAC CE to receive information indicating the TCI state associated with the QCL characteristics to store. The UE may be configured/indicated which QCL characteristics to store based on the information indicating the TCI state. For example, the information indicating the TCI status may be a list containing one or more RS IDs; and
send first information comprising an identifier of the at least one first reference signal, and the first information indicates to store the QCL parameter of the at least one first reference signal Matsumura [0028] Even if the UE measures/stores/maintains the QCL characteristics, the NW does not allow the UE to measure/store/maintain the QCL characteristics unless the UE does L1-RSRP reporting/beam reporting to the network (NW, e.g., base station). Therefore, the UE measures and reports beams/RSs, and the UE and the NW need to have a common understanding of whether the TCI state is known or unknown);
As to claim 2, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving the one or more first reference signals (Matsumura [0096]-[0097] The UE may utilize RRC signaling/MAC CE to receive information indicating the TCI state associated with the QCL characteristics to store. The UE may be configured/indicated which QCL characteristics to store based on the information indicating the TCI state. For example, the information indicating the TCI status may be a list containing one or more RS IDs)
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 3, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the indication information further indicates whether to store a second QCL parameter of at least one third reference signa (Matsumura [0099] Also, the RS ID may be a TRS ID/CSI-RS ID. For example, the UE may decide to store the QCL characteristics of the TRS/CSI-RS root SSBs corresponding to the TRS IDs/CSI-RS IDs included in the list)l;
and when the indication information indicates to store the second QCL parameter of the at least one third reference signal, the information further comprises an identifier of the at least one third reference signal (Matsumura [0099] Also, the RS ID may be a TRS ID/CSI-RS ID. For example, the UE may decide to store the QCL characteristics of the TRS/CSI-RS root SSBs corresponding to the TRS IDs/CSI-RS IDs included in the list)l
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
As to claim 4, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 1, wherein any one of the at least one third reference signal meets a QCL relationship with a synchronization signal block SSB or a tracking reference signal TRS (Matsumura [0097]-[0098] For example, the information indicating the TCI status may be a list containing one or more RS IDs. The relevant RS ID may be the SSB ID. For example, the UE may decide to store the QCL characteristics of the SSBs corresponding to the SSB IDs included in the list. For example, a list of SSB IDs for setting/instructing storage of QCL characteristics is set for the UE, and the list includes SSB#1, SSB#20, SSB#35, and SSB#51. At this time, the UE measures/stores the QCL characteristics of the SSBs corresponding to SSB#1, SSB#20, SSB#35 and SSB#51)
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 6, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 5, wherein any one of the at least one first reference signal is a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a tracking reference signal (TRS), or any one of the at least one first reference signal meets a QCL relationship with a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a tracking reference signal (TRS) ((Matsumura [0097]-[0098] For example, the information indicating the TCI status may be a list containing one or more RS IDs. The relevant RS ID may be the SSB ID)
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 6.
As to claim 7, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the method further comprises: receiving first indication information that indicates to activate a transmission configuration indicator state (TCI-state), wherein when the at least one first reference signal comprises a second reference signal corresponding to the TCI-state, an effective moment of the TCI-state is after the first information is sent (Matsumura [0032] When using MAC CE for TCI state switching (MAC-CE based TCI state switch), if the target TCI state (the TCI state to switch to) is a known TCI state, the UE activates the TCI state in slot n. Upon reception of the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) containing the activation command (TCI status indication), after slot n+ .sub.THARQ +3N .sup.subframe, μslot .sub.+ .sub.TOk *( .sub.Tfirst-SSB + .sub.TSSB-proc )/(NRslotlength) In the first slot of , the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the target TCI state of the serving cell where the TCI state switching occurred can be received and [0021] The TCI state may be, for example, information about the QCL between the channel of interest (in other words, the reference signal (RS) for the channel) and another signal (for example, another RS).
As to claim 8, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving first indication information that indicates to activate a transmission configuration indicator state TCI-state, wherein when a second reference signal corresponding to the TCI-state meets a first condition, an effective moment of the TCI-state is a first moment (Matsumura [0032] When using MAC CE for TCI state switching (MAC-CE based TCI state switch), if the target TCI state (the TCI state to switch to) is a known TCI state, the UE activates the TCI state in slot n. Upon reception of the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) containing the activation command (TCI status indication), after slot n+ .sub.THARQ +3N .sup.subframe, μslot .sub.+ .sub.TOk *( .sub.Tfirst-SSB + .sub.TSSB-proc )/(NRslotlength) In the first slot of , the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the target TCI state of the serving cell where the TCI state switching occurred can be received and [0021] The TCI state may be, for example, information about the QCL between the channel of interest (in other words, the reference signal (RS) for the channel) and another signal (for example, another RS). or
when the second reference signal corresponding to the TCI-state does not meet the first condition, an effective moment of the TCI-state is a second moment, wherein the first condition comprises that the second reference signal is one of the at least one first reference signal, or the second reference signal meets the QCL relationship with one of the at least one first reference signal; and the first moment is earlier than the second moment.
As to claim 9, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the first moment is before a first duration elapses from a moment at which the first indication information is received, the second moment is before a second duration elapses from the moment at which the first indication information is received, and the second duration is greater than or equal to a sum of the first duration, a duration of waiting for the SSB or the TRS, and a duration of processing the SSB or the TRS (Matsumura [0027] Rel. In 15/16, a delay time (active TCI switch delay, TCI switch delay) for active TCI state switching (TCI switch) for UEs with one or more TCI states set in the serving cell is defined)
As to claim 11, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 8, wherein a duration between a third moment and a fourth moment is less than or equal to a first threshold, wherein the third moment is when the first indication information is received, and the fourth moment is when the first information is sent (Matsumura [0027] Rel. In 15/16, a delay time (active TCI switch delay, TCI switch delay) for active TCI state switching (TCI switch) for UEs with one or more TCI states set in the serving cell is defined)
As to claim 12, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the method further comprises: receiving second indication information that indicates to report a type of the QCL parameter, wherein the first information further comprises third indication information that indicates the type of the QCL parameter that is of the at least one first reference signal and that is obtained (Matsumura [0161] For example, in MAC CE/RRC-based TCI state switching, aperiodic triggering of SSBs (root SSB) with a specific QCL type (e.g., QCL type A/QCL type C) relation to the target TCI state /measure/transmit may be used. The UE may determine that the aperiodic triggering/measurement/transmission of SSB is done based on the information contained in the MAC CE/RRC that configures/instructs the TCI state switching)
As to claim 13, Matsumura teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the reported type of the QCL parameter comprises a typeA or a typeC (Matsumura [0161] For example, in MAC CE/RRC-based TCI state switching, aperiodic triggering of SSBs (root SSB) with a specific QCL type (e.g., QCL type A/QCL type C) relation to the target TCI state /measure/transmit may be used. The UE may determine that the aperiodic triggering/measurement/transmission of SSB is done based on the information contained in the MAC CE/RRC that configures/instructs the TCI state switching)
As to claim 20, Matsumura teaches the communication apparatus of claim 18, wherein the communication apparatus comprises a terminal device or a chip in a terminal device (Matsurmura Fig. 19)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/1/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s states the reference needs to teach all of the limitations of the claim in a single embodiment and needs to show they are combinable. The paragraphs and embodiments are indeed combinable, we learn of a configuration for storing QCL characteristics a TCI state associated with QCL and TCI state may be a list of RS IDs, each of these can be combined. QCL characteristics -> TCI state -> list of RS IDs. QCL defines large scale channel properties and can be inferred from one reference signal and TCI state tells the UE use the QCL relationship defined. With respect to the amendment Matsumura clearing points out the sending step and the same apparatus that received the configuration transmits the information [0028] Even if the UE measures/stores/maintains the QCL characteristics, the NW does not allow the UE to measure/store/maintain the QCL characteristics unless the UE does L1-RSRP reporting/beam reporting to the network (NW, e.g., base station). For this reason the examiner maintains the rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467