DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-7 are pending. Claims 6 and 7 are withdrawn due to an Election of Species. Claims 1-5 are rejected herein. This is a First Action on the Merits.
Election/Restrictions
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species: Species 1- using temperature and resistance/impedance to detect gas concentration and Species 2- using an oscillator and electron excitation to detect gas concentration. The species are independent or distinct because they use completely different physical principles and sensors to operate and will therefore require completely different searches. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, claim 1 is generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: The inventions of the different species have different classifications and will require different classification and text searching.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Mitchell Walsh on 13 Oct 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Species 1, claims 1-5. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 6 and 7 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COMMANDER et al. (US 20180116869) in view of WYETH et al. (US 2019/0262526) and KERTSER (US 20190060591).
Regarding claims 1-4: COMMANDER discloses: A method, comprising: preparing a volume of mixed gas (para. 27, 37), and introducing the gas into a patient's eye (para. 27; FIG. 1).
COMMANDER does not disclose dividing the fluid into two portions and testing one of the portions.
WYETH, however, does teach that when injecting fluids into a patient (718 in FIG. 17A), the volume of mixed fluid can be divided into a first portion and a second portion (“a sample of the mixing container is withdrawn and tested at 473” in para. 206) to test that the first portion/sample has the correct concentration (para. 206); introducing the first portion into a chamber (in conductivity sensor 764 in FIG. 17A; para. 206), the chamber housing an element (conductivity sensing element; para. 206); determining a change in a physical characteristic (“The concentration of electrolyte concentrate can be determined by the controller 739 by the conductivity measurement” in para. 206) of the element that changes in response to temperature (Conductivity measurement is temperature dependent as set forth in para. 171.) or electron excitation, the physical characteristic indicative of a parameter of the first portion (Concentration in para. 206); determining that the parameter satisfies a predetermined value (para. 206).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to test the concentration of the injected fluid of COMMANDER with a sensor as taught by WYETH to ensure that the correct amount of agent is injected into the patient (para. 118 of WYETH).
Please note that the temperature-dependent conductivity measurement of WYETH is performed on a liquid not a gas.
It is, however, known to test the conductivity of a gas as taught by KERTSER, which teaches a chamber (132 in FIG. 1) that receives a gas sample (TARGET SAMPLE in FIG. 1; para. 52) and measures thermal conductivity (para. 52) while heating the sample (para. 52) and measuring the temperature (para. 43) to determine a concentration of a constituent of the gas (para. 52). WYETH also teaches that the element is an electrical element configured to heat a gas, measure a temperature of a gas, or a combination thereof (heating element; temperature sensor; MEMS chip; para. 6-9), thus meeting the limitations of claim 2. Because the device is implemented electronically (para. 6-9), the output signal of the temperature sensors will be based on a change in resistance of the sensing element, thus meeting the limitations of claims 3 and 4.
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use gas concentration sensor of KERTSER to measure the concentration of a portion of a gas administered to a patient’s eye (para. 27 of COMMANDER) to ensure that the correct amount of agent is injected into the patient (para. 118 of WYETH).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COMMANDER, WYETH, and KERTSER in view of ROBERTSON et al. (US 20140367092).
Regarding claim 5: The MEMS temperature sensor cited in the rejection of claims 2 and 3 does not teach using an AC voltage and measuring impedance.
ROBERTSON teaches that it is known to use both AC and DC measurements (Para. 149; 135-136) in their invention that measures temperature (para. 49; 58) of a gas (para. 89).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to use any known temperature sensor to produce the temperature data of the invention of COMMANDER as modified by WYETH and KERTSER because the data sought is the temperature of the medium. Therefore this is an instance of “Simple Substitution of One Known Element for Another to Obtain Predictable Results” (see MPEP 2143 B). In the present case the known elements are different types of temperature sensors, and the predictable results are that the temperature is measured.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL J KOLB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855