DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on April 21, 2026. Claims 6-11 are added. Claims 1, 4, and 5 are amended. Claims 1-11 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant's Amendments dated April 21, 2026, Examiner withdraws the previous ground(s) of rejection. However, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 20100324796 (hereinafter, "Takeuchi"; newly of record).
Regarding claim 1, Takeuchi discloses a deceleration assistance apparatus, comprising a control apparatus that executes deceleration control that decelerates a vehicle when a vehicle speed of the vehicle is greater than a target vehicle speed set as a target value of the vehicle speed of the vehicle when the vehicle travels on a curved road (“When it is determined in step S300 that the vehicle has reached the position within the predetermined distance L.sub.0 to the start point Rs of the curve section Zr, the control unit 20 obtains the necessary deceleration Gr for reducing the speed of the vehicle to the target vehicle speed V.sub.0 at the start point Rs of the curve section Zr by processing of the vehicle speed information obtaining unit 21a and the deceleration control unit 21e (step S305)” (para 0069)), wherein the control apparatus is configured to cause the target vehicle speed to be greater by a predetermined value when a predetermined condition (“deceleration start determination processing, processing to set the deceleration control state DS to "1" or "2" based on a predetermined condition is performed” (para 0068)) in which a decrease of a deceleration speed of the vehicle is detected when the vehicle travels on the curved road is met (“the accelerating speed ratio may be obtained based on a necessary acceleration amount for increasing the target vehicle speed to the recommended vehicle speed. For example, it is structured such that the vehicle speed information obtaining means obtains the recommended vehicle speed after the vehicle travels the predetermined section, and the accelerating speed ratio obtaining means obtains a necessary acceleration amount for accelerating the vehicle from the target vehicle speed to the recommended vehicle speed and obtains an accelerating speed ratio for allowing the vehicle to travel with this necessary acceleration amount” (para 0013)).
Regarding claim 2, Takeuchi discloses the deceleration assistance apparatus according to claim 1. Additionally, Takeuchi discloses wherein the predetermined condition includes a condition in which the deceleration speed at a time point at which the decrease of the deceleration speed of the vehicle is detected is equal to or more than a predetermined deceleration speed (“the predetermined section may be a section where it is preferred to decelerate the vehicle to the target vehicle speed before the vehicle reaches this section and accelerate the vehicle after the vehicle travels the predetermined section at the target vehicle speed, and a structure to select a section where the vehicle should travel while maintaining a target vehicle speed (or at a speed not higher than the target vehicle speed) may be employed as the predetermined section” (para 0009)).
Regarding claim 3, Takeuchi discloses the deceleration assistance apparatus according to claim 1. Additionally, Takeuchi discloses wherein the
predetermined condition includes a condition in which the decrease of the deceleration speed of
the vehicle is detected at a time point at which the vehicle enters the curved road (“the predetermined section may be a section where it is preferred to decelerate the vehicle to the target vehicle speed before the vehicle reaches this section and accelerate the vehicle after the vehicle travels the predetermined section at the target vehicle speed, and a structure to select a section where the vehicle should travel while maintaining a target vehicle speed (or at a speed not higher than the target vehicle speed) may be employed as the predetermined section. Examples include a curve section, a section in a predetermined distance before and after the point of an ETC (Electronic toll collection) gate where it is recommended to decelerate the vehicle to a vehicle speed limit or lower when the vehicle is passing through the gate, a low speed section where it is instructed to travel at or lower than a vehicle speed limit, and the like. The predetermined section may be defined by a location. Further, the target vehicle speed is a preferred vehicle speed when the vehicle travels this predetermined section, and may be set in advance. For example, in a curve section, it is preferred to travel a section with a constant radius in the curve section at a constant speed, and thus it is possible to employ a structure to set the constant speed as the target vehicle speed” (para 0009)).
Regarding claim 4, Takeuchi discloses a deceleration assistance method that executes deceleration control that decelerates a vehicle when a vehicle speed of the vehicle is greater than a target vehicle speed set as a target value of the vehicle speed of the vehicle when the vehicle travels on a curved road (“When it is determined in step S300 that the vehicle has reached the position within the predetermined distance L.sub.0 to the start point Rs of the curve section Zr, the control unit 20 obtains the necessary deceleration Gr for reducing the speed of the vehicle to the target vehicle speed V.sub.0 at the start point Rs of the curve section Zr by processing of the vehicle speed information obtaining unit 21a and the deceleration control unit 21e (step S305)” (para 0069)), the deceleration assistance method comprising a step of causing the target vehicle speed to be greater by a predetermined value when a predetermined condition (“deceleration start determination processing, processing to set the deceleration control state DS to "1" or "2" based on a predetermined condition is performed” (para 0068)) in which a decrease of a deceleration speed of the vehicle is detected when the vehicle travels on the curved road is met (“the accelerating speed ratio may be obtained based on a necessary acceleration amount for increasing the target vehicle speed to the recommended vehicle speed. For example, it is structured such that the vehicle speed information obtaining means obtains the recommended vehicle speed after the vehicle travels the predetermined section, and the accelerating speed ratio obtaining means obtains a necessary acceleration amount for accelerating the vehicle from the target vehicle speed to the recommended vehicle speed and obtains an accelerating speed ratio for allowing the vehicle to travel with this necessary acceleration amount” (para 0013)).
Regarding claim 5, Takeuchi discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that are executable by one or more processors and that cause the one or more processors to perform functions comprising:
executing deceleration control that decelerates a vehicle when a vehicle speed of the vehicle is greater than a target vehicle speed set as a target value of the vehicle speed of the vehicle when the vehicle travels on a curved road (“When it is determined in step S300 that the vehicle has reached the position within the predetermined distance L.sub.0 to the start point Rs of the curve section Zr, the control unit 20 obtains the necessary deceleration Gr for reducing the speed of the vehicle to the target vehicle speed V.sub.0 at the start point Rs of the curve section Zr by processing of the vehicle speed information obtaining unit 21a and the deceleration control unit 21e (step S305)” (para 0069)); and
causing the target vehicle speed to be greater by a predetermined value when a predetermined condition (“deceleration start determination processing, processing to set the deceleration control state DS to "1" or "2" based on a predetermined condition is performed” (para 0068)) in which a decrease of a deceleration speed of the vehicle is detected when the vehicle travels on the curved road is met (“the accelerating speed ratio may be obtained based on a necessary acceleration amount for increasing the target vehicle speed to the recommended vehicle speed. For example, it is structured such that the vehicle speed information obtaining means obtains the recommended vehicle speed after the vehicle travels the predetermined section, and the accelerating speed ratio obtaining means obtains a necessary acceleration amount for accelerating the vehicle from the target vehicle speed to the recommended vehicle speed and obtains an accelerating speed ratio for allowing the vehicle to travel with this necessary acceleration amount” (para 0013)).
Regarding claim 6, Takeuchi discloses the deceleration assistance apparatus according to claim 1. Additionally, Takeuchi discloses wherein the decrease of the deceleration speed is by a driver of the vehicle when the vehicle travels on the curved road (“it becomes possible to set the speed ratio according to the operation of the driver” (para 0085)).
Regarding claim 7, Takeuchi discloses the deceleration assistance method according to claim 4. Additionally, Takeuchi discloses wherein the decrease of the deceleration speed is by a driver of the vehicle when the vehicle travels on the curved road (“it becomes possible to set the speed ratio according to the operation of the driver” (para 0085)).
Regarding claim 8, Takeuchi discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 5. Additionally, Takeuchi discloses wherein the decrease of the deceleration speed is by a driver of the vehicle when the vehicle travels on the curved road (“it becomes possible to set the speed ratio according to the operation of the driver” (para 0085)).
Regarding claim 9, Takeuchi discloses the deceleration assistance apparatus according to claim 1. Additionally, Takeuchi discloses wherein the predetermined value is a variable value set on a basis of at least one of the vehicle speed of the vehicle, a yaw rate of the vehicle, and a curvature of the curved road (“a vehicle speed information obtaining means may be able to obtain, with respect to the predetermined section ahead of the vehicle, a target vehicle speed when traveling the predetermined section, and may obtain information indicating the vehicle speed directly or indirectly. For obtaining the information directly, it is possible to employ a structure to correlate a target vehicle speed in advance with a predetermined section which is set in advance, and obtain the target vehicle speed correlated with this predetermined section. For obtaining the information indirectly, it is possible to employ a structure to determine a target vehicle speed based on information indicating the predetermined section and a road before and after this section” (para 0008)).
Regarding claim 10, Takeuchi discloses the deceleration assistance method according to claim 4. Additionally, Takeuchi discloses wherein the predetermined value is a variable value set on a basis of at least one of the vehicle speed of the vehicle, a yaw rate of the vehicle, and a curvature of the curved road (“a vehicle speed information obtaining means may be able to obtain, with respect to the predetermined section ahead of the vehicle, a target vehicle speed when traveling the predetermined section, and may obtain information indicating the vehicle speed directly or indirectly. For obtaining the information directly, it is possible to employ a structure to correlate a target vehicle speed in advance with a predetermined section which is set in advance, and obtain the target vehicle speed correlated with this predetermined section. For obtaining the information indirectly, it is possible to employ a structure to determine a target vehicle speed based on information indicating the predetermined section and a road before and after this section” (para 0008)).
Regarding claim 11, Takeuchi discloses the non-transitory storage medium according to claim 5. Additionally, Takeuchi discloses wherein the predetermined value is a variable value set on a basis of at least one of the vehicle speed of the vehicle, a yaw rate of the vehicle, and a curvature of the curved road (“a vehicle speed information obtaining means may be able to obtain, with respect to the predetermined section ahead of the vehicle, a target vehicle speed when traveling the predetermined section, and may obtain information indicating the vehicle speed directly or indirectly. For obtaining the information directly, it is possible to employ a structure to correlate a target vehicle speed in advance with a predetermined section which is set in advance, and obtain the target vehicle speed correlated with this predetermined section. For obtaining the information indirectly, it is possible to employ a structure to determine a target vehicle speed based on information indicating the predetermined section and a road before and after this section” (para 0008)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM M ALHARBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663