DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on June 21, 2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 27, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-11 are drawn to methods while claim(s) 12-20 is/are drawn to an apparatus. As such, claims 1-20 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A - Prong One:
Claim 1 (representative of independent claim(s) 12 and 17) recites the following steps:
scraping, for sampling data for each of a plurality of compliance requirements for a particular public water system;
for each of the plurality of compliance requirements:
comparing the sampling data for the respective compliance requirement with sampling criteria associated defined under the respective compliance requirement; and
determining a time-to-sample value for the respective compliance requirement;
generating a sorted sampling list for the particular public water system, the sorted sampling list comprising a plurality of entries, each entry comprising at least an indication of a different compliance requirement of the plurality of compliance requirements and the time-to-sample value for the respective compliance requirement, wherein the entries in the sorted sampling list are sorted by the time-to-sample values; and
outputting, at least a portion of the sorted sampling list
These steps, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, encompass a human manually (e.g., in their mind, or using paper and pen) testing for water compliance (i.e., one or more concepts performed in the human mind, such as one or more observations, evaluations, judgments, opinions), but for the recitation of generic computer components. If one or more claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the "mental processes" subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A - Prong One: YES).
Independent claim(s) 12 and 17 are determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
Step 2A - Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim(s) recite the additional elements/limitations of:
one or more processors,
a server hosting a state water regulatory website
output via a display device,
a graphical user interface
A computing device comprising one or more processors ‘
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of a computing device to:
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions listed above is equivalent to adding the words ''apply it'' on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. This/these limitation(s) do/does not impose any meaningful limits on producing the abstract idea and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claim(s) is/are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A -Prong Two: NO).
Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above in "Step 2A - Prong 2", the requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions listed above is equivalent to adding the words "apply it" on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations therefore do not qualify as "significantly more" (see MPEP 2106.05 (f)).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claim(s) amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Regarding Dependent Claims:
Dependent claims 4-9, 13-16, and 18-20 , fail to include any additional elements and are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner.
Dependent claims 2, 3, 10 and 11 include additional limitations that are part of the abstract idea except for:
one or more processors
a graphical user interface
The additional elements of the dependent claims are equivalent to adding the words ''apply it'' on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins (2011/0304475) in view of Lynch (2024/0005338).
Claims 1, 12 and 17
Higgins discloses monitoring water quality.
scraping, by one or more processors, a server hosting a state water regulatory website for sampling data for each of a plurality of compliance requirements for a particular public water system (Higgins [0144]); See at least “Some embodiments of the present invention also provide a system and method for remotely monitoring, storing,… information and data relating to water quality and/or treatment derived from raw data obtained from a plurality of sensors of a water treatment system, which may be strategically placed to gather data or information necessary for analysis or manipulation.” See also “Such information and data may be remotely stored, manipulated, etc., on one or more servers, and/or stored on one or more removed databases, which may be associated with the one or more servers.”
for each of the plurality of compliance requirements: comparing, by the one or more processors, the sampling data for the respective compliance requirement with sampling criteria associated defined under the respective compliance requirement (Higgins [0157]); See at least “the data may be analyzed and compared to federal and/or state regulatory requirements for water quality and environmental protections.”
determining, by the one or more processors, a time-to-sample value for the respective compliance requirement (Higgins [0005]); See at least “a server monitor of a communication server continuously querying a server database for tasks that are scheduled to be run by each of one or more environmental instruments based on a task schedule and a current time..” See also [0058].
generating, by the one or more processors, a sorted sampling list for the particular public water system, the sorted sampling list comprising a plurality of entries, each entry comprising at least an indication of a different compliance requirement of the plurality of compliance requirements and the time-to-sample value for the respective compliance requirement, wherein the entries in the sorted sampling list are sorted by the time-to-sample values (Higgins [0131]); See “An output may also be used to present scheduled and predicted maintenance reports… the output may provide or present… scheduling for preventive maintenance, troubleshooting, etc.”
Higgins teaches an interface does not explicitly disclose the sorted sampling list. Lynch teaches:
outputting, by the one or more processors, and for output via a display device, at least a portion of the sorted sampling list in a graphical user interface (Lynch [Figures 6, 7, and 8]). See also [0073] “FIG. 8 shows an example of the task template view 800, which includes a listing of task templates 802, which can be filtered using a plurality of template filters 804. New tasks may be created from the selected templates, the details 806 of which are shown besides the listing 802.” See also [0069] for sorted sampling list.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the method of monitoring water quality, as taught by Higgins, to teach the sorted information details of the interface, as taught by Lynch, to improve the management of the compliance process (Lynch [0003]).
Claims 2, 13 and 18
Modified Higgins and Lynch disclose the above limitations. Modified Lynch further teaches:
for each of the plurality of compliance requirements, based on the comparing of the sampling data with the sampling criteria, determining, by the one or more processors, a status for the respective compliance requirement (Lynch [0079]). See “Each task on the calendar view 1402 may have a status indicator.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the method of monitoring water quality, as taught by Higgins, to teach the above limitations, as taught by Lynch, to improve methods for automatically evaluating compliance requirements for water related entities (Lynch [0007]).
Claim 3
Modified Higgins and Lynch disclose the above limitations. Modified Lynch further teaches:
color-coding, by the one or more processors, each entry of the plurality of entries based on the status for the respective compliance requirement (Lynch [0079]). See “Each task on the calendar view 1402 may have a status indicator. The legend 1406 indicates which color is applied to a task based on its status. These may include, for example, different colors for being closed, open, overdue, or if the task is a recurring task. Future recurring tasks may be shown in light gray or similar to indicate that these tasks are due to populate the calendar view 1402 in the future.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the method of monitoring water quality, as taught by Higgins, to teach the above limitations, as taught by Lynch, to improve methods for automatically evaluating compliance requirements for water related entities (Lynch [0007]).
Claim 4
Modified Higgins and Lynch disclose the above limitations. Modified Lynch further teaches:
wherein the status comprises one or more of: past due [overdue]; sampling due within a first predetermined time period; sampling due within a second predetermined time period; and sampling not due within a third predetermined time period (Lynch [0079]). See “The legend 1406 indicates which color is applied to a task based on its status. These may include, for example, different colors for being closed, open, overdue, or if the task is a recurring task.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the method of monitoring water quality, as taught by Higgins, to teach the above limitations, as taught by Lynch, to improve methods for automatically evaluating compliance requirements for water related entities (Lynch [0007]).
Claims 5 and 14
Modified Higgins and Lynch disclose the above limitations. Modified Lynch further teaches:
wherein the sampling data comprises one or more of: a type of test conducted; a date of a most recent test; a time span of a most recent sequence of tests; a pass/fail indication of a most recent test; an amount of water tested; and a location within the particular public water system tested (Lynch [Figure 26][0098]). See “FIG. 27 shows an example of the Compliance dashboard view 2700. This allows the user to rapidly view if any compliance requirements have failed, and to see the overall performance of the water-related systems.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the method of monitoring water quality, as taught by Higgins, to teach the above limitations, as taught by Lynch, to improve methods for automatically evaluating compliance requirements for water related entities (Lynch [0007]).
Claim 6
Modified Higgins and Lynch disclose the above limitations. Modified Lynch further teaches:
wherein the sampling criteria comprises one or more of: a testing frequency for the compliance requirement; a test procedure for the compliance requirement; a location to be tested for the compliance requirement; a component to be tested; pass/fail criteria; and a due date for the compliance requirement (Lynch [Figure 26][0098]). See “FIG. 27 shows an example of the Compliance dashboard view 2700. This allows the user to rapidly view if any compliance requirements have failed, and to see the overall performance of the water-related systems.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the method of monitoring water quality, as taught by Higgins, to teach the above limitations, as taught by Lynch, to improve methods for automatically evaluating compliance requirements for water related entities (Lynch [0007]).
Claims 7, 15 and 19
Modified Higgins and Lynch disclose the above limitations. Modified Lynch further teaches:
wherein the time-to-sample value comprises a number of days until a next due date for the compliance requirement based on a date of the most recent test recorded in the sampling data for the compliance requirement and the sampling criteria of the compliance requirement (Lynch [0113][Figure 41]). See at least “boxes are used to clearly show the total number on inspections that are due today, in the current week, current month or in the current quarter.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the method of monitoring water quality, as taught by Higgins, to teach the above limitations, as taught by Lynch, to improve methods for automatically evaluating compliance requirements for water related entities (Lynch [0007]).
Claim 8
Modified Higgins and Lynch disclose the above limitations. Modified Lynch further teaches:
wherein the time-to-sample value comprises a negative value when the sampling data indicates that the respective compliance requirement is past due (Lynch [0079]). Where the reference teaches color coding but a negative value symbol is merely a rearrangement of parts or design choice.
See MPEP 2144.04 VI C Rearrangement of Parts
In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the method of monitoring water quality, as taught by Higgins, to teach the above limitations, as taught by Lynch, to improve methods for automatically evaluating compliance requirements for water related entities (Lynch [0007]).
Claim 9
Modified Higgins and Lynch disclose the above limitations. Modified Lynch further teaches:
wherein the sorted sampling list is sorted by the time-to-sample values in ascending order (Lynch [Figure 18, 1808]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the method of monitoring water quality, as taught by Higgins, to teach the above limitations, as taught by Lynch, to improve methods for automatically evaluating compliance requirements for water related entities (Lynch [0007]).
Claims 10, 16 and 20
Modified Higgins and Lynch disclose the above limitations. Modified Higgins further teaches:
determining, by the one or more processors, based on the plurality of compliance requirements and the sampling data for each respective compliance requirement, whether the particular public water system is in compliance with state regulations (Higgins [0158]). See at least “quality assurance personnel may be able to monitor the quality and quantity of the treated water to confirm compliance with specifications and standards.”
Claim 11
Modified Higgins and Lynch disclose the above limitations. Modified Lynch further teaches:
wherein the graphical user interface further includes an indication of whether the particular public water system is in compliance with the state regulations (Lynch [Figure 27][0098]). See [0098] “This allows the user to rapidly view if any compliance requirements have failed, and to see the overall performance of the water-related systems.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in the method of monitoring water quality, as taught by Higgins, to teach the above limitations, as taught by Lynch, to improve methods for automatically evaluating compliance requirements for water related entities (Lynch [0007]).
Conclusion
/RASHIDA R SHORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626