DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 19 only requires the hydrolysate of claim 7, rather than all the limitations of the process of claim 7. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Forster et al. (US Pat. 4,237,110).
Considering Claims 1-6: Forster et al. teaches a process for producing a sugar mixture comprising hydrolyzing a lignocellulose material with concentrated hydrochloric acid at 34-45 weight percent at 15-30ºC (3:15-30). Forster et al. teaches a process comprising preparing a mixture of hydrochloric acid and a sugar mixture (3:1-31), and extracting the hydrochloric acid with a C5-9 alcohol (2:25-44) at 15 to 30 ºC (4:57-64).
Forster et al. does not teach the make-up of the sugar mixture produced by the process. However, the process of Forster et al. is substantially similar to the process disclosed in the original specification for producing the claimed sugar mixture (Examples 5-7). The original specification teaches the lignocellulose material as being hydrolyzed with a concentrated hydrochloric acid at 42% at a temperature of 10-15ºC (Example 5). The hydrolysate is then extracted (Example 5) with hexanol or 2 ethylhexanol/C6 and C8 alcohols at a temperature of less than 60 ºC (pg. 19-21, claim 15-17). As the process of the prior art and the original specification are substantially similar, the process of Forster et al. would inherently produce a product having the claimed saccharide composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Forster et al. (US Pat. 4,237,110).
Considering Claim 7: Forster et al. teaches a process for producing a sugar mixture comprising hydrolyzing a lignocellulose material with concentrated hydrochloric acid at 34-45 weight percent at 15-30ºC (3:15-30). Forster et al. teaches a process comprising preparing a mixture of hydrochloric acid and a sugar mixture (3:1-31), extracting the hydrochloric acid with a C5-9 alcohol (2:25-44) at 15 to 30 ºC (4:57-64), and removing lignin from the raffinate/adjusting the composition (5:15-42). Forster et al. teaches an example comprising 12.4 parts of glucose and 56.1 parts of water (or a ratio of 0.18) in the hydrolysate and 33.2 parts of glucose and 53.8 parts of water (or a ratio of 0.38) in the raffinate in the example (Table II).
Forster et al. does not teach the make-up of the sugar mixture produced by the process. However, the process of Forster et al. is substantially similar to the process disclosed in the original specification for producing the claimed sugar mixture (Examples 5-7). The original specification teaches the lignocellulose material as being hydrolyzed with a concentrated hydrochloric acid at 42% at a temperature of 10-15ºC (Example 5). The hydrolysate is then extracted (Example 5) with hexanol or 2 ethylhexanol/C6 and C8 alcohols at a temperature of less than 60 ºC (pg. 19-21, claim 15-17). As the process of the prior art and the original specification are substantially similar, the process of Forster et al. would inherently produce a product having the claimed saccharide composition.
Forster et al. does not teach the total saccharide of the hydrolysate of the example, but rather only disclosed the amount of glucose. However, Forster et al. teaches the amount of saccharide in the hydrolysate as being 3 to 36 weight percent in the broader disclosure (6:18-40). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a sugar content within the overlapping portion of the claimed range, and the motivation to do so would have been, Forster et al. suggests, to control the extraction efficiency during the acid removal (6:18-40).
Claim 18 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Forster et al. (US Pat. 4,237,110) in view of Wahnon (US 2008/0041366).
Considering Claim 18: Forster et al. teaches a process for producing a sugar mixture comprising hydrolyzing a lignocellulose material with concentrated hydrochloric acid at 34-45 weight percent at 15-30ºC (3:15-30). Forster et al. teaches a process comprising preparing a mixture of hydrochloric acid and a sugar mixture (3:1-31), and extracting the hydrochloric acid with a C5-9 alcohol (2:25-44) at 15 to 30 ºC (4:57-64).
Forster et al. does not teach the make-up of the sugar mixture produced by the process. However, the process of Forster et al. is substantially similar to the process disclosed in the original specification for producing the claimed sugar mixture (Examples 5-7). The original specification teaches the lignocellulose material as being hydrolyzed with a concentrated hydrochloric acid at 42% at a temperature of 10-15ºC (Example 5). The hydrolysate is then extracted (Example 5) with hexanol or 2 ethylhexanol/C6 and C8 alcohols at a temperature of less than 60 ºC (pg. 19-21, claim 15-17). As the process of the prior art and the original specification are substantially similar, the process of Forster et al. would inherently produce a product having the claimed saccharide composition.
Forster et al. does not teach fermenting the sugar mixture. However, Wahnon teaches fermenting a deacidified aqueous sugar stream from a lignocellulose hydrolysis process (¶0100). Forster et al. and Wahnon are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lignocellulose hydrolysate mixtures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have fermented the hydrolysate of Forster et al., as in Wahnon, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Wahnon suggests, to provide ethanol from the sugar stream (¶0008).
Claim 19 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Forster et al. (US Pat. 4,237,110) in view of Wahnon (US 2008/0041366).
Considering Claim 19: Forster et al. teaches a process for producing a sugar mixture comprising hydrolyzing a lignocellulose material with concentrated hydrochloric acid at 34-45 weight percent at 15-30ºC (3:15-30). Forster et al. teaches a process comprising preparing a mixture of hydrochloric acid and a sugar mixture (3:1-31), extracting the hydrochloric acid with a C5-9 alcohol (2:25-44) at 15 to 30 ºC (4:57-64), and removing lignin from the raffinate/adjusting the composition (5:15-42). Forster et al. teaches an example comprising 12.4 parts of glucose and 56.1 parts of water (or a ratio of 0.18) in the hydrolysate and 33.2 parts of glucose and 53.8 parts of water (or a ratio of 0.38) in the raffinate in the example (Table II).
Forster et al. does not teach the make-up of the sugar mixture produced by the process. However, the process of Forster et al. is substantially similar to the process disclosed in the original specification for producing the claimed sugar mixture (Examples 5-7). The original specification teaches the lignocellulose material as being hydrolyzed with a concentrated hydrochloric acid at 42% at a temperature of 10-15ºC (Example 5). The hydrolysate is then extracted (Example 5) with hexanol or 2 ethylhexanol/C6 and C8 alcohols at a temperature of less than 60 ºC (pg. 19-21, claim 15-17). As the process of the prior art and the original specification are substantially similar, the process of Forster et al. would inherently produce a product having the claimed saccharide composition.
The product of the process of Forster et al. reads on the claimed de-acidified preparation. With regard to the hydrolysate of claim 7, Forster et al. does not teach the total saccharide of the hydrolysate of the example, but rather only disclosed the amount of glucose. However, Forster et al. teaches the amount of saccharide in the hydrolysate as being 3 to 36 weight percent in the broader disclosure (6:18-40). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a sugar content within the overlapping portion of the claimed range, and the motivation to do so would have been, Forster et al. suggests, to control the extraction efficiency during the acid removal (6:18-40). Thus Forster et al. teaches or renders obvious both alternatives for step (b).
Forster et al. does not teach fermenting the sugar mixture. However, Wahnon teaches fermenting a deacidified aqueous sugar stream from a lignocellulose hydrolysis process (¶0100). Forster et al. and Wahnon are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lignocellulose hydrolysate mixtures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have fermented the hydrolysate of Forster et al., as in Wahnon, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Wahnon suggests, to provide ethanol from the sugar stream (¶0008).
Claims 40, 47, 48, and 51 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Forster et al. (US Pat. 4,237,110) in view of Foody et al. (US 2009/0023187).
Considering Claims 40, 47, 48, and 51: Forster et al. teaches a process for producing a sugar mixture comprising hydrolyzing a lignocellulose material with concentrated hydrochloric acid at 34-45 weight percent at 15-30ºC (3:15-30). Forster et al. teaches a process comprising preparing a mixture of hydrochloric acid and a sugar mixture (3:1-31), extracting the hydrochloric acid with a C5-9 alcohol (2:25-44) at 15 to 30 ºC (4:57-64), and removing lignin from the raffinate/adjusting the composition (5:15-42). Forster et al. teaches an example comprising 12.4 parts of glucose and 56.1 parts of water (or a ratio of 0.18) in the hydrolysate and 33.2 parts of glucose and 53.8 parts of water (or a ratio of 0.38) in the raffinate in the example (Table II).
Forster et al. does not teach the total saccharide of the hydrolysate of the example, but rather only disclosed the amount of glucose. However, Forster et al. teaches the amount of saccharide in the hydrolysate as being 3 to 36 weight percent in the broader disclosure (6:18-40). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a sugar content within the overlapping portion of the claimed range, and the motivation to do so would have been, Forster et al. suggests, to control the extraction efficiency during the acid removal (6:18-40).
Forster et al. does not teach treating the deacidified hydrolysate with an enzyme. However, Foody et al. teaches treating a deacidified sugar stream from cellulose acid hydrolysis with cellulase (¶0036-42) followed by fermentation/converting the saccharides to a conversion process (¶0141). Forster et al. and Foody et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lignocellulose hydroylsates. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have treated the hydrolysate of Forster et al. with the enzyme of Foody et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Foody et al. suggests, to increase the conversion of the biomass to ethanol.
Forster et al. teaches the cellulase treatment is intended to maximize the formation of glucose (¶0117). As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have controlled the reaction parameters to reduce the amount of disaccharides by at least 10%.
Claim 49 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Forster et al. (US Pat. 4,237,110) in view of Foody et al. (US 2009/0023187) as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Tebeka et al. (Langmuir 2009, 25, 1582-1587).
Considering Claim 49: Forster et al. and Foody et al. collectively teach the process of claim 40 as shown above.
Forster et al. and Foody et al. do not teach the enzyme as being immobilized. However, Tebeka et al. teaches using an immobilized cellulase in lignocellulose hydrolysis (Abstract). Forster et al. and Tebeka et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cellulose hydrolysis. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used an immobilized enzyme in the enzymatic treatment, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Tebeka et al. suggests, to allow for reuse of the enzyme (pg. 1582).
Claims 50 and 52 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Forster et al. (US Pat. 4,237,110) in view of Foody et al. (US 2009/0023187) as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of South et al. (Applied Biochemistry and Biotechnology, Vol. 39/40, 1993, 587-599).
Considering Claims 50 and 52: Forster et al. and Foody et al. collectively teach the process of claim 40 as shown above.
Forster et al. and Foody et al. do not teach the saccharification and fermentation as occurring simultaneously. However, South et al. teaches performing a saccharification and fermentation simultaneously, with both and enzyme and a microorganism (Abstract). Forster et al. and South et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely cellulose hydrolysis. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have performed the enzymatic treatment and fermentation simultaneously, and the motivation to do so would have been, to simplify the reactor set up.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-6, 18, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,410,216. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claims 1 and 2: Claim 2 of Patent ‘216 teaches a sugar mixture comprising monosaccharides; oligosaccharides in a ratio to total saccharides of less than 0.2; a ratio of disaccharide hydrolysates to total saccharides of ≧0.05 on a weight by weight basis; a ratio of pentose to total saccharides of ≧0.05 on a weight by weight basis; at least one alpha-bonded di-glucose; and at least one beta-bonded di-glucose.
Considering Claims 3-6: Claims 3-6 of Patent ‘216 correspond to instant claims 3-6.
Considering Claims 18 and 19: Claim 12 of Patent ‘216 corresponds to instant claims 18 and 19.
Claim 1-6, 18, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 9,963,673. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Considering Claims 1 and 2: Claim 1 of Patent ‘673 teaches a sugar mixture comprising monosaccharides; oligosaccharides in a ratio to total saccharides of less than 0.2; a ratio of disaccharide hydrolysates to total saccharides of ≧0.05 on a weight by weight basis; a ratio of pentose to total saccharides of ≧0.05 on a weight by weight basis; at least one alpha-bonded di-glucose; and at least one beta-bonded di-glucose.
Considering Claims 3-6: Claims 2-5 of Patent ‘673 correspond to instant claims 3-6.
Considering Claims 18 and 19: Claim 11 of Patent ‘673 corresponds to instant claims 18 and 19.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767