Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 8 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 8, the scope of “for handless carrying” is unclear as it pertains to the claimed handle. What structure is this supposed to impart on the claimed handle? It seems every handle is meant to be carried by hand at some point in time. For the purpose of examination, any handle will be considered sufficient to satisfy this limitation.
In claim 25, the scope of “conventional container” is unclear. What structure do “conventional” containers have that other containers might not? The specification fails to disclose any particular size or shape or ranges of sizes or shape that might be “conventional”. For the purpose of examination, any container capable of holding any size rolled tape ribbon will be considered sufficient to satisfy this limitation.
3. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 24 depends from claim 14 and recites the exact same structure as claim 14. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 8-11, 13-16, 21, 22, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herrera (US 2022/0143806 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Herrera discloses a tape dispenser bag (tape dispenser not being claimed in combination - only a bag), comprising: an enclosure defined by a front wall (112), a rear wall (126), a pair of opposing sidewalls (110,124), and a bottom wall (120) that cooperate to form an inner cavity having a size and shape for select reception and retainment of a rolled tape ribbon (rolled tape ribbon not being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for select reception and retainment”); and wherein at least one of the pair of opposing sidewalls (110) includes a slot (upper opening above 108 - this language does not mean that the slot is formed within the wall itself as the ordinary language might suggest - see claim 2 which basically defines an open space above the sidewall as a slot) having a height and a width sufficient for pass through dispensing of a strip of the rolled tape ribbon out from within the inner cavity of the tape dispenser bag.
Regarding claim 8, to the degree the claim is understood, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, including a handle (102/103 - where a user could easily grab this structure with their hand) outwardly extending from the enclosure for handless carrying (the user could also attach this handle 102/103 to their belt for handless carrying).
Regarding claim 9, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, including a belt loop (102) coupled to an exterior surface of the rear wall (see Figures where 103 is coupled to 126 through the interconnecting structure of the rest of the bag) having an elongated channel (see Figures) for select slide-through reception with a belt (see “for receiving and stabilizing a workman’s belt” in [0012]).
Regarding claim 10, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, (where 126 can be considered the front wall as broadly claimed) including an accessory compartment (116) coupled to an exterior surface of the front wall (see Figures).
Regarding claim 11, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, wherein each of the front wall, the rear wall, the pair of opposing sidewalls, and the bottom wall comprise a material selected from the group consisting of a water-resistant material, a water-proof material, a metal material, a plastic material, a polyester material, a nylon material, a leather material, and a denim material (see “thermoplastic” in [0019]).
Regarding claim 13, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, wherein the front wall and the rear wall are relatively wider than the pair of opposing sidewalls, wherein the enclosure comprises a relatively rectangular shape (see Figures - “relatively rectangular” being interpreted as longer than wide in at least one regard).
Regarding claim 14, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, wherein the rolled tape ribbon (still not being claimed in combination) comprises a metal tape ribbon, a plastic tape ribbon, or a fabric tape ribbon. Nothing in Herrera would physically prevent a user from choosing to insert a rolled tape ribbon of one of these functionally claimed types.
Regarding claim 15, Herrera discloses a tape dispenser bag (tape dispenser not being claimed in combination - only a bag), comprising: a multi-sided enclosure (100) having an opening of a size and shape for select slide-in reception of a container retaining a rolled tape ribbon (container retaining a rolled tape ribbon not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for select slide-in reception”), the multi-sided enclosure having a depth positioning the container therein above at least part of an upper rim of the opening (a container wider than the roll shown by Herrera would sit above the rim of the compartment - see Figures 1B and 2); and a coupling (102) integrated with the multi-sided enclosure for selectively attaching the tape dispenser bag to a user (see “for receiving and stabilizing a workman’s belt” in [0012]) in a position where a strip of the rolled tape ribbon is externally accessible outside the multi-sided enclosure for one-handed dispensing from the tape dispenser bag (see “using only a single hand” in [0017]).
Regarding claim 16, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, wherein the multi-sided enclosure includes a slot (upper opening above 108 - this language does not mean that the slot is formed within the wall itself as the ordinary language might suggest - see claim 2 which basically defines an open space above the sidewall as a slot) of a size sufficient for pass through dispensing of the strip of the rolled tape ribbon out from within the multi-sided enclosure.
Regarding claim 21, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, wherein the coupling comprises a belt loop (102) coupled to an exterior surface of the multi-sided enclosure having a size and shape for select slide-through reception with a belt (see “for receiving and stabilizing a workman’s belt” in [0012]).
Regarding claim 22, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, wherein the tape dispenser bag comprises a water-resistant material, a water proof material, a metal material, a leather material, a denim material, or a plastic material (see “leather” and “thermoplastic” in [0019]).
Regarding claim 24, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 14, wherein the rolled tape ribbon (still not being claimed in combination) comprises a metal tape ribbon, a plastic tape ribbon, or a fabric tape ribbon. Nothing in Herrera would physically prevent a user from choosing to insert a rolled tape ribbon of one of these functionally claimed types.
Regarding claim 25, Herrera discloses a tape dispenser bag (tape dispenser not being claimed in combination - only a bag), comprising: an enclosure (100) having an inner cavity sized to receive and retain a conventional container having a rolled tape ribbon comprising metal, plastic, or fabric therein (conventional container having a rolled tape ribbon not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “sized to receive and retain”); a channel (102) formed from the enclosure exterior to the inner cavity having a size sufficient for slide through reception with a belt (see “for receiving and stabilizing a workman’s belt” in [0012]); a slotted outlet ((upper opening above 108 - this language does not mean that the slot is formed within the wall itself as the ordinary language might suggest - see claim 2 which basically defines an open space above the sidewall as a slot) formed from the enclosure having a size and shape sufficient for one-handed (see “using only a single hand” in [0017]) pass through dispensing of a strip of the rolled tape ribbon out from within the enclosure when the tape dispenser bag is attached to the belt of a user through slotted engagement with the channel.
7. Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 11, 14-17, 20, 22, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tinkey (US 3,217,955 A).
Regarding claim 1, Tinkey discloses a tape dispenser bag (tape dispenser not being claimed in combination - only a bag), comprising: an enclosure defined by a front wall (30), a rear wall (12), a pair of opposing sidewalls (left and right portions of 16), and a bottom wall (bottom portion of 16) that cooperate to form an inner cavity having a size and shape for select reception and retainment of a rolled tape ribbon (rolled tape ribbon not being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for select reception and retainment”); and wherein at least one of the pair of opposing sidewalls (left portion of 16 in Figure 1) includes a slot (either 18 or space between upper edge of 16 and flap 36) having a height and a width sufficient for pass through dispensing of a strip of the rolled tape ribbon out from within the inner cavity of the tape dispenser bag (see Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 2, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, including a closing flap (36) selectively movable between an open position (see Figure 1) exposing the inner cavity and a closed position (see Figures 2-4) at least partially overlying an upper opening of the enclosure and selectively attachable (via 32/34) to at least one of the front wall or the rear wall.
Regarding claim 3, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 2, wherein the closing flap cooperates with at least one of the pair of opposing sidewalls when in the closed position to form the slot (see Figures 2 and 3 where there is visible space between an upper end of wall 16 and the underside of the flap for the tape to be dispensed through - while this is not the intended design/use of Tinkey, the structure is still present).
Regarding claim 7, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, wherein the slot (18) comprises a cutout formed from within at least one of the pair of opposing sidewalls (see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8, to the degree the claim is understood, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, including a handle (26/28 - where a user could easily grab this structure with their hand) outwardly extending from the enclosure for handless carrying.
Regarding claim 11, Herrera discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, wherein each of the front wall, the rear wall, the pair of opposing sidewalls, and the bottom wall comprise a material selected from the group consisting of a water-resistant material, a water-proof material, a metal material, a plastic material, a polyester material, a nylon material, a leather material, and a denim material (see “leather, plastic, metal, or the like” in col. 2 lines 10-12).
Regarding claim 14, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, wherein the rolled tape ribbon (still not being claimed in combination) comprises a metal tape ribbon, a plastic tape ribbon, or a fabric tape ribbon. Nothing in Tinkey would physically prevent a user from choosing to insert a rolled tape ribbon of one of these functionally claimed types.
Regarding claim 15, Tinkey discloses a tape dispenser bag (tape dispenser not being claimed in combination - only a bag), comprising: a multi-sided enclosure (10) having an opening of a size and shape for select slide-in reception of a container retaining a rolled tape ribbon (container retaining a rolled tape ribbon not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for select slide-in reception”), the multi-sided enclosure having a depth positioning the container therein above at least part of an upper rim of the opening (a container wider than the roll shown by Tinkey would sit above the rim of the compartment - see Figure 2); and a coupling (14 and/or 15) integrated with the multi-sided enclosure for selectively attaching the tape dispenser bag to a user (see “slots 14 slidably receive a belt 15” in col. 1 line 47) in a position where a strip of the rolled tape ribbon is externally accessible outside the multi-sided enclosure for one-handed dispensing from the tape dispenser bag (see “all with a single hand” in col. 1 lines 21-22).
Regarding claim 16, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, wherein the multi-sided enclosure includes a slot (either 18 or space between upper edge of 16 and flap 36) of a size sufficient for pass through dispensing of the strip of the rolled tape ribbon out from within the multi-sided enclosure (see Figures).
Regarding claim 17, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, including a flap (36) selectively extendable over an upper portion of the container outwardly protruding from the opening and selectively couplable (via 32/34) to an exterior of the multi-sided enclosure.
Regarding claim 20, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, wherein the coupling (15) comprises a shoulder strap (no structure in Tinkey would physically prevent a user from at least temporarily supporting the belt 15 over their shoulder) outwardly extending from the multi-sided enclosure.
Regarding claim 22, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, wherein the tape dispenser bag comprises a water-resistant material, a water proof material, a metal material, a leather material, a denim material, or a plastic material (see “leather, plastic, metal, or the like” in col. 2 lines 10-12).
Regarding claim 24, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 14, wherein the rolled tape ribbon (still not being claimed in combination) comprises a metal tape ribbon, a plastic tape ribbon, or a fabric tape ribbon. Nothing in Tinkey would physically prevent a user from choosing to insert a rolled tape ribbon of one of these functionally claimed types.
Regarding claim 25, Tinkey discloses a tape dispenser bag (tape dispenser not being claimed in combination - only a bag), comprising: an enclosure (10) having an inner cavity sized to receive and retain a conventional container having a rolled tape ribbon comprising metal, plastic, or fabric therein (conventional container having a rolled tape ribbon not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “sized to receive and retain”); a channel (14) formed from the enclosure exterior to the inner cavity having a size sufficient for slide through reception with a belt (see “slots 14 slidably receive a belt 15” in col. 1 line 47); a slotted outlet (either 18 or space between upper edge of 16 and flap 36) formed from the enclosure having a size and shape sufficient for one-handed (see “all with a single hand” in col. 1 lines 21-22) pass through dispensing of a strip of the rolled tape ribbon out from within the enclosure when the tape dispenser bag is attached to the belt of a user through slotted engagement with the channel.
8. Claims 1-5, 8-10, 13-18, 20, 21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naymark et al. (US 5,395,023 A).
Regarding claim 1, Naymark (Figures 1-5) discloses a tape dispenser bag (tape dispenser not being claimed in combination - only a bag), comprising: an enclosure defined by a front wall (41’), a rear wall (the wall that includes 61 - see Figure 5), a pair of opposing sidewalls (55,56), and a bottom wall (proximate 21a) that cooperate to form an inner cavity (40) having a size and shape for select reception and retainment of a rolled tape ribbon (rolled tape ribbon not being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for select reception and retainment”); and wherein at least one of the pair of opposing sidewalls includes a slot (above or below 55 and/or 56) having a height and a width sufficient for pass through dispensing of a strip of the rolled tape ribbon out from within the inner cavity of the tape dispenser bag (see Figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 2, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, including a closing flap (45) selectively movable between an open position (see Figure 5) exposing the inner cavity and a closed position (see Figure 4) at least partially overlying an upper opening of the enclosure and selectively attachable (via 46/48/49/50) to at least one of the front wall or the rear wall.
Regarding claim 3, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 2, wherein the closing flap cooperates with at least one of the pair of opposing sidewalls (55,56) when in the closed position to form the slot (see Figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 2, wherein the closing flap selectively attaches to at least a portion of an exterior surface of the front wall by at least one strap (46).
Regarding claim 5, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 4, wherein the at least one strap includes a snap-fit clip (48 or 49).
Regarding claim 8, to the degree the claim is understood, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, including a handle (51) outwardly extending from the enclosure for handless carrying.
Regarding claim 9, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, including a belt loop (36) coupled to an exterior surface of the rear wall (see Figure 2) having an elongated channel for select slide-through reception with a belt (30).
Regarding claim 10, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, including an accessory compartment (41) coupled to an exterior surface of the front wall (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 13, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, wherein the front wall and the rear wall are relatively wider than the pair of opposing sidewalls, wherein the enclosure comprises a relatively rectangular shape (see Figures - “relatively rectangular” being interpreted as longer than wide in at least one regard).
Regarding claim 14, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, wherein the rolled tape ribbon (still not being claimed in combination) comprises a metal tape ribbon, a plastic tape ribbon, or a fabric tape ribbon. Nothing in Naymark would physically prevent a user from choosing to insert a rolled tape ribbon of one of these functionally claimed types.
Regarding claim 15, Naymark discloses a tape dispenser bag (tape dispenser not being claimed in combination - only a bag), comprising: a multi-sided enclosure (40) having an opening of a size and shape for select slide-in reception of a container retaining a rolled tape ribbon (container retaining a rolled tape ribbon not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for select slide-in reception”), the multi-sided enclosure having a depth positioning the container therein above at least part of an upper rim of the opening (a container taller than the height of the Naymark enclosure would extend above the rim); and a coupling (30 and/or 36) integrated with the multi-sided enclosure for selectively attaching the tape dispenser bag to a user in a position where a strip of the rolled tape ribbon is externally accessible outside the multi-sided enclosure for one-handed dispensing from the tape dispenser bag.
Regarding claim 16, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, wherein the multi-sided enclosure includes a slot (above or below either of 55 or 56) of a size sufficient for pass through dispensing of the strip of the rolled tape ribbon out from within the multi-sided enclosure (see Figures).
Regarding claim 17, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, including a flap (45) selectively extendable over an upper portion of the container outwardly protruding from the opening and selectively couplable (via 46/48/49/50) to an exterior of the multi-sided enclosure.
Regarding claim 18, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 17, wherein the flap comprises a pair of straps (46), each including a fastener (48,49) selected from the group consisting of a snap-fit clip, a snap-fit button, and a hook and loop fastener.
Regarding claim 20, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, wherein the coupling (30) comprises a shoulder strap (no structure in Naymark would physically prevent a user from at least temporarily supporting the belt 30 over their shoulder) outwardly extending from the multi-sided enclosure.
Regarding claim 21, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, wherein the coupling comprises a belt loop (36) coupled to an exterior surface of the multi-sided enclosure having a size and shape for select slide-through reception with a belt (30).
Regarding claim 23, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 15, wherein an exterior surface of the multi-sided enclosure includes a plurality of hook or loop fasteners (50).
Regarding claim 24, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 14, wherein the rolled tape ribbon (still not being claimed in combination) comprises a metal tape ribbon, a plastic tape ribbon, or a fabric tape ribbon. Nothing in Tinkey would physically prevent a user from choosing to insert a rolled tape ribbon of one of these functionally claimed types.
Regarding claim 25, Naymark discloses a tape dispenser bag (tape dispenser not being claimed in combination - only a bag), comprising: an enclosure (40) having an inner cavity sized to receive and retain a conventional container having a rolled tape ribbon comprising metal, plastic, or fabric therein (conventional container having a rolled tape ribbon not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “sized to receive and retain”); a channel (36) formed from the enclosure exterior to the inner cavity having a size sufficient for slide through reception with a belt (30 - not currently being claimed in combination); a slotted outlet (above or below 55 or 56) formed from the enclosure having a size and shape sufficient for one-handed pass through dispensing of a strip of the rolled tape ribbon out from within the enclosure when the tape dispenser bag is attached to the belt of a user through slotted engagement with the channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tinkey (US 3,217,955 A) as applied above in view of McAllister (US 5,255,833 A).
Regarding claim 6, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the closing flap selectively attaches to the upper opening by a zipper. Tinkey discloses the flap being secured with a snap fastener (32/34).
Regarding claim 19, Tinkey discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 17, but fails to disclose a zipper securing at least a portion of an outer periphery of the flap to at least a portion of the upper rim of the opening. Tinkey shows the flap extending to the front wall and being secured with a snap fastener (32/34).
McAllister teaches that it was already known in the art for a closure flap like that of Tinkey to either extend to the front wall and be secured with a snap fastener (26 - see Figure 1) or to be secured with a zipper to a portion of the upper rim of the opening (see Figure 4 zipper 26). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have replaced the snap closure of Tinkey with a zippered closure like that of McAllister as a simple substitution of one known flap closure for another, as taught by McAllister.
11. Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naymark et al. (US 5,395,023 A) as applied above in view of Grundy et al. (US 2007/0068982 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Naymark discloses the tape dispenser bag of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the front wall, the rear wall, the pair of opposing sidewalls, and the bottom wall comprise a material selected from the group consisting of a water-resistant material, a water-proof material, a metal material, a plastic material, a polyester material, a nylon material, a leather material, and a denim material.
Regarding claim 12, Naymark fails to disclose the tape dispenser bag of claim 11, and also fails to disclose wherein the metal material comprises stainless steel, aluminum, or titanium and the plastic material comprises polyethylene.
Naymark discloses several materials, including a closed cell foam, but is silent as to any of the specific materials listed in this claim. Grundy teaches that polyethylene was already known to be suitable for use as a closed cell foam (see [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the closed cell foam of the Naymark bag as polyethylene, where polyethylene was already known to be suitable for such, as taught by Grundy. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Polyethylene, being a plastic, satisfies both claims 11 and 12.
Conclusion
12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 1/13/26