DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a first side of the cooler” and “a second side of the cooler” in claim 10 should respectively read –the first side of the cooler-- and --the second side of the cooler--, since the elements have been recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu (US PGPub No. 2002/0116933).
Regarding claim 1, Chu discloses an apparatus for reducing a humidity of a volume of gas (a device that condenses moisture of an airflow to condensate in Figs. 1-4), the apparatus comprising:
a gas delivery conduit (U shaped conduit 102) comprising a first conducting portion (conduit inlet side 103) and a second conducting portion (conduit outlet side 104), each of the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion comprising heat-conductive sidewalls (the conduit inlet side 103 has a wall 162 and walls surrounding fins 164; and the conduit outlet side 104 has a wall 163 and walls surrounding fins 164, Figs. 2A and 2B);
at least one heat-conductive media (fins 164 and 165, Figs. 2A and 2B) comprising a first heat-conductive media (the fins 164) positioned in-line within the first conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the fins 164 are provided within the conduit inlet side 103 and in line with the airflow within) and a second heat-conductive media (the fins 165) positioned in-line within the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the fins 165 are provided within the conduit outlet side 104 and in line with the airflow within); and
a cooler (thermoelectric heat pump 161) defining a first side (left side of the heat pump 161 in Fig. 2A) and an opposite second side (right side of the heat pump 161 in Fig. 2A), the first side being in contact with a heat-conductive sidewall of the first conducting portion (the left side of the heat pump 161 contacts the wall 162) and the second side being in contact with a heat-conductive sidewall of the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the right side of the heat pump 161 contacts the wall 163).
Regarding claim 2, Chu in claim 1 further discloses a housing (enclosure 171 and walls 404, door 409 and 410 surrounding the U shaped conduit 402, see embodiment Fig. 4A-4C) comprising an exterior housing portion (the enclosure 171) and an interior housing portion (the walls 404, door 409 and 410), wherein at least a portion of the gas delivery conduit, the at least one heat-conductive media, and the cooler are enclosed within the interior housing portion (the U shaped conduit 402 is enclosed within the space enclosed by the walls 404, door 409 and 410).
Regarding claim 3, Chu in claim 1 further discloses wherein the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are positioned within an interior portion of the first conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit and the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit, respectively (the fins 164 and 165 are positioned respectively within an interior of the conduit inlet side 103; and within an interior of the conduit outlet side 104).
Regarding claim 4, Chu in claim 1 further discloses wherein the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are in contact with an interior surface of sidewalls of the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit, respectively (the fins 164 and 165 are in contact with a rail 115 and internal surfaces within the conduit inlet 103 and outlet side 104 through the base joining each fins 164, 165 and walls 162, 163).
Regarding claim 5, Chu in claim 1 further discloses disclose wherein the first heat-conductive media (the fins 164) fills an interior of the first conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the fins 164 occupy a space in the conduit inlet side 103, Fig. 2A) such that a cross-sectional area of the first heat-conductive media (an area in the conduit inlet side 103 occupied by the fins 164 shown in cross-section view of Fig. 2A) is at least substantially equal to a cross-sectional area of the interior of the first conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the occupied area is substantially equal to cross-sectional area of the fins 164 themselves).
Regarding claim 6, Chu in claim 1 further discloses wherein the second heat-conductive media (the fins 165) fills an interior of the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the fins 165 occupy a space in the conduit outlet side 104, Fig. 2A) such that a cross-sectional area of the second heat-conductive media (an area in the conduit outlet side 104 occupied by the fins 165 shown in cross-section view of Fig. 2A) is at least substantially equal to a cross-sectional area of the interior of the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the occupied area is substantially equal to cross-sectional area of the fins 165 themselves).
Regarding claim 7, Chu in claim 1 further discloses wherein respective cross-sectional shapes of the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media match cross-sectional shapes of the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit, respectively (the shape of the fins 164 and 165 matches the respective occupied cross-sectional area in the conduit inlet side 103 and conduit outlet side 104).
Regarding claim 8, Chu in claim 1 further discloses wherein the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are welded to an interior of the first conducting portion and an interior of the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit, respectively (“are welded” is understood as “are fixed” that two pieces are in complete union and does not necessary include the structure of a weld or involve a process of welding. The fins 164 and 165 are fixed to the respective conduit inlet side 103 and conduit outlet side 104 through the wall 162 and 163 and the heat pump 161).
Regarding claim 10, Chu in claim 1 further discloses wherein the first conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit is in contact with the first side of the cooler (the conduit inlet side 103 is in contact with the left side of the heat pump 161), wherein the second conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit is in contact with a second side of the cooler (the conduit outlet side 104 is in contact with the right side of the heat pump 161).
Regarding claim 11, Chu in claim 10 further discloses wherein the first side of the cooler is configured to cool the first conducting portion and the first heat-conductive media (the left side, wall 162 and fins 164 is normally a cooling side, paragraph 0061), while the second side of the cooler is configured to heat the second conducting portion and the second heat-conductive media (the right side, wall 163 and fins 165 is normally a heating side, paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 12, Chu in claim 10 further discloses wherein the first side of the cooler is configured to heat the first conducting portion and the first heat-conductive media (the left side, wall 162 and fins 164 may be a heating side when the heat pump 161 is in defrost mode, paragraph 0066), while the second side of the cooler is configured to cool the second conducting portion and the second heat-conductive media (the right side, wall 163 and fins 165 may be a cooling side when the heat pump 161 is in defrost mode, paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 13, Chu in claim 1 further discloses wherein a pump (air moving device 106, Fig. 1B) configured to direct a flow of the volume of gas through the gas delivery conduit (the air moving device 106 directs a flow to the U shaped conduit 102).
Regarding claim 14, Chu in claim 13 further discloses the pump (106) is configured to change a directional flow of the volume of gas (the air moving device 106 drives the air downward to the conduit inlet side 103 and upward to the conduit outlet side 104) between a first flow direction (the downward direction) and a second flow direction (the upward direction) within the gas delivery conduit (in the U shaped conduit 102).
Regarding claim 16, Chu discloses a method for reducing a humidity of a volume of gas (an operation of a device that condenses moisture of an airflow to condensate in Figs. 1 and 2), the method comprising:
passing the volume of gas through a gas delivery conduit in a first flow direction (passing an air downwardly in a U shaped conduit 102, Figs. 1B and 1C), wherein the gas delivery conduit comprises at least one conducting portion (conduit inlet side 103 and conduit outlet side 104) comprising heat-conductive sidewalls (the conduit inlet side 103 has a wall 162 and a base joining each fins 164; and the conduit outlet side 104 has a wall 163 and a base joining each fins 165 Figs. 2A and 2B), and wherein at least one heat-conductive media (fins 164 and 165, Figs. 2A and 2B) is positioned in-line within the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the fins 164 and 165 are in line with the airflow in respective the conduit inlet side 103 and conduit outlet side 104); and
cooling the at least one heat-conductive media within the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit via a cooler in contact with an outer surface of a heat conductive sidewall of the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (cooling the fins 164 within the conduit inlet side 103 via a thermoelectric heat pump 161 in contact with the wall 162 on an outer side of the conduit inlet side 103, paragraph 0061 and Fig. 2B) to condense the humidity within the volume of gas on a surface of the at least one heat-conductive media (moisture is condensed on the fins 164 and collected in sump 105, paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 17, Chu in claim 16 further discloses wherein the cooler is a solid-state thermoelectric cooler (the thermoelectric heat pump 161), wherein cooling the at least one heat-conductive media comprises applying a voltage in a first direction to the cooler to cool a first side of the cooler (the thermoelectric heat pump 161 is inherently being driven by a voltage to enable a cold left side), wherein the first side of the cooler is in contact with the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit (the cold left side contacts the conduit inlet side 103 and conduit outlet side 104).
Regarding claim 18, Chu in claim 17 further discloses reversing the voltage applied to the cooler to heat the first side of the cooler to heat the at least one heat-conductive media to remove condensed water from the gas delivery conduit (reversing the voltage applied to the heat pump 161 in defrost mode, paragraph 0066, to heat the cold fins 164 to remove frost or moisture).
Regarding claim 19, Chu in claim 18 further discloses changing a directional flow of the volume of gas through the gas delivery conduit via a pump to a second flow direction opposite from the first flow direction (an air moving device 106 changes an air flow from downward direction to upward direction in Figs. 1B and 1C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US PGPub No. 2002/0116933) in view of Kadotani (US Patent No. 5,216,887).
Regarding claim 9, Chu in claim 1 fails to disclose the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are adhered via heat-conductive adhesive within the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion, respectively.
Kadotani discloses fins 25 are mounted on the thermoelectric elements 22 by adhesive 23.
Therefore, the fins 164 and 165 may be mounted on the thermoelectric heat pump 161 by adhesive 23. The resultant structure meets the language recited that the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media (164, 165) are adhered via heat-conductive adhesive (adhesive 23 taught by Kadotani) within the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion (respectively within the conduit inlet side 103 and conduit outlet side 104), respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the first heat-conductive media and the second heat-conductive media are adhered via heat-conductive adhesive within the first conducting portion and the second conducting portion, respectively in Chu as taught by Kadotani. It has been held that a "simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” is obvious. In this instance both prior arts provide for known element of heat sink structure with fins. It is known in the art to substitute the heat sinks with fins 164 and 165 with integral base in Chu for heat sinks with adhered fins in Kadotani. The result of the substitution would have been predictable to exchange heat with flowing fluid. MPEP 2143 B.
Claim(s) 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu (US PGPub No. 2002/0116933) in view of Kessel (US Patent No. 5,654,498).
Regarding claim 15, Chu in claim 1 fails to disclose wherein the apparatus is configured to be fluidly connected to a photoionization detector and positioned upstream from the photoionization detector.
Regarding claim 20, Chu in claim 16 fails to disclose wherein the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit is fluidly connected to a photoionization detector and positioned upstream from the photoionization detector.
Kessel discloses a photoionization detector and a prefilter that removes water (col. 1, lines 45-50) upstream from the photoionization detector.
Chu further discloses sensors 121-123 (Figs. 1B and 8D) to detect environment values within the enclosure 171.
Therefore, the photoionization detector and a prefilter may be provided in the enclosure 171 to detect specific component in the enclosure 171. This is useful for a detection of, for example, coolant/refrigerant leakage into the enclosure 171 from piping of evaporative coolers 182 and 194. The photoionization detector and a prefilter may also be provided downstream the U shaped conduit 102 to receive air that already has the water or moisture removed for more accurate result.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the apparatus is configured to be fluidly connected to a photoionization detector and positioned upstream from the photoionization detector (claim 15) and wherein the at least one conducting portion of the gas delivery conduit is fluidly connected to a photoionization detector and positioned upstream from the photoionization detector (claim 20) in Chu as taught by Kessel in order to detect leak in the enclosure 171.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (i.e., the new reference, Chu, US 2002/0116933).
Conclusion
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763