DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al (US PG Pub. 2022/0130375, referred to as Miller).
The features defined by independent claims 1-2, 16 and 23 include: (1) enhancing an audio signal from a target direction, (2) diminishing audio signals from other directions. Although the specification discloses a neural network implemented system, the recited limitations are related to basic functions of a beamforming technique. After performing an extensive search, the examiner discovered many prior art references. All these prior references meet broadly recited limitations of independent claims.
Miller is a patent publication by the same assignee (Google Inc.) of the instant application. Miller discloses when a user issuing voice commands / queries to a speech-enabled device (Miller, Fig. 1), the system with a speech-enabled device determines user’s location. The system enhances audio signals from a user’s direction and de-emphasizes other directions using beamforming processing techniques (Miller, [0038-0039], Fig. 6). Miller further discloses using deep learning neural network techniques to determine user’s location / direction (Miller, [0041], [0054]). Independent 16 and 23 are narrower than claim 1. In the following analysis, the examiner analyzes limitations recited in a narrower independent claim 16.
Regarding claims 1-2, 16 and 23, Miller discloses a method, a non-transitory computer readable medium and an apparatus (Miller, [0059], Fig. 1, a computer implemented system for processing user’s voice request by focusing on audio signals from a user’s direction), comprising:
identify an audio capture device and a target direction associated with the audio capture device (Miller, [0032-0035], a voice-enabled device is configured to detecting user’s direction when a user issues a voice request);
detect first audio associated with the target direction (Miller, [0041], [0054], using deep learning neural network model to determine user’s location and enhance audios from the determined a target user direction);
enhance the first audio using a machine learning model configured to detect audio associated with the target direction (Miller, [0038-0039], using a beamformer to emphasis audio signals coming from a user’s direction, de-emphasizing audio signals from other directions);
detect second audio associated with a direction different from the target direction (Miller, [0039], de-emphasizing noises from other directions); and
diminish the second audio using the machine learning model (Miller, [0039], [0054]).
Claims 1-10, 12, 16-20, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al (US Pat. 12,300,261, referred to as Liu).
Liu discloses a deep neural network (DNN) implemented audio processing system (Fig. 9A) for enhancing audio signals coming from a target user’s direction and cancelling non-speech / noises from other directions (Abstract, Col. 15, lines 21-50, Fig. 8). Fig. 8 shows an illustration of beamforming obtained from a neural network implemented system in Fig. 9A. In the following analysis, the examiner analyzes limitations of independent claim 16. Other independent claims are broader than claim 16.
Regarding claims 1-2, 16 and 23, Liu discloses a method, a non-transitory computer readable medium and an apparatus (Liu, Col. 31, lines 10-25, Fig. 17, a computer implemented speech enhance system for enhancing speech signals from a desired direction and cancelling non-speech / noises from other directions), comprising:
identify an audio capture device and a target direction associated with the audio capture device (Liu, Col. 3, lines 54-67, enhancing speech signals from a desired direction of a user; Fig. 1 shows devices for recording user’s voice request);
detect first audio associated with the target direction (Liu, Col. 3, lines 63-67, Col. 7, lines 40-56; detecting target audio signals from a direction of a desired);
enhance the first audio using a machine learning model configured to detect audio associated with the target direction (Liu, Col. 4, lines 4-15; enhance audio signal from a target direction by using a neural network model);
detect second audio associated with a direction different from the target direction (Liu, Abstract, Col. 4, lines 102, Col. 15, lines 1-15, 62-65; Fig. 7 and Fig. 8, cancelling noises from other directions); and
diminish the second audio using the machine learning model (Liu, Abstract, Col. 8, lines 60-67, Col. 15, lines 1-15, 62-65; Fig. 7 and Fig. 8,).
Regarding claims 3, 17 and 24, Liu further discloses diminishing the second audio includes decreasing an amplitude of at least one sound wave associated with the second audio (Liu, Col. 3, lines 63-67, Col. 8, lines 60-67; Col. 10, lines 1-3, Fig. 8, non-speech / noises from other directions, side lobe directions, are cancelled and reduced).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 18, Liu further discloses wherein diminishing the second audio includes decreasing an amplitude of at least one sound wave associated with the second audio (Liu, Abstract, Col. 3, lines 62-67, Col. 5, lines 1-6, Fig. 9A, Neural Sidelobe canceller for cancelling noises of other directions); diminishing the second audio includes eliminating the second audio by removing the second audio from an output of the second machine learning model (Liu, Col. 10, lines 20-32, Fig. 9A, removing remaining noises after enhancing speech from target direction and cancelling noise from other directions; neural network implemented noise canceller).
Regarding claim 6, Liu further discloses the first machine learning model and the second machine learning model are a same machine learning model (Liu, Col. 3, lines 54-67, Fig. 9A, enhancing speech from a target direction and cancelling noises from other directions using a neural network model).
Regarding claim 7, Liu further discloses enhancing the first audio includes increasing an amplitude of at least one sound wave associated with the first audio (Liu, Col. 3, lines 25-54; Fig. 8, increase gain for signals from a desired direction).
Regarding claim 8, Liu further discloses enhancing the first audio includes de-reverbing the first audio by removing resonant frequencies from the first audio (Liu, Col. 4, lines 4-15, removing reverberation and other noises in all sidelobe directions; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Liu further discloses enhancing the first audio includes de-noising the first audio by filtering the first audio (Liu, Col. 6, lines 39-50, Col. 8, lines 3-36, Fig. 5, Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Liu further discloses the target direction is associated with a focus region (Liu, Col. 3, lines 25-67, focusing on a desired direction of a user; Fig. 8, beamforming towards to the main lobe direction).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Liu further discloses the enhancing of the first audio using the first machine learning model includes:
compressing the first audio using a first machine learning model (Liu, Fig. 9A, #930); and
decompressing the compressed audio using a second machine learning model (Liu, Fig. 9A, #990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Shah et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0222691, referred to as Shah).
Liu discloses training a neural network model for enhancing audio signals from a desired direction of a user and suppressing noises of other directions (Liu, Abstract, Col. 3, lines 54-67, Fig. 8, Fig. 9A). Liu does not explicitly mentions using “using an impulse response dataset”.
Shah discloses an echo cancellation system by using impulse response dataset as training data (Shah, [0032]).
Both Liu and Shan are dealing with enhancing audio and removing noise. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine Liu’s teaching with Shah’s teaching to use impulse response dataset as training data. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to improve noise / echo cancellation performance (Shan, [0024], [0026]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 and 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 13-15 and 21-22 recite detailed limitations related to training a neural network-based system for enhancing audio signals for a target direction. In particular, these claims include steps:
“convolving the first training data with a first subset of the impulse response dataset as a first convolved audio, the first subset of the impulse response dataset being associated with the target direction;
convolving the second training data with a second subset of the impulse response dataset as a second convolved audio; and
training the neural network model based on the first convolved audio and the second convolved audio.”
Several prior art references of the record disclose a neural network-based techniques for enhancing audio signals from a target user direction and cancelling non-speech from other directions. The prior art references fail to disclose two convolving steps in the above underlined limitations. When considering all limitations as a whole, prior art references of the record fail to anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The examiner discovered several relevant prior art references that are related to one or more concepts disclosed by the instant application. These references are included in the attached PTO-892 form for completeness of the record.
/JIALONG HE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659