DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election without traverse of Group 2 by Paul Stellman dated 9/15/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The examiner considers the amendment to claim 2 does not place Claims 2-7 under the elected Group because the sheath of Group 2 is not an obvious variant of the tether of Group 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 8-9 and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-7, 9-11, 13-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11351359. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a pump in a housing with struts contacting a blood vessel and having inflection points.
Claims 8-9 and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 10-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11471665. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a pump in a housing with struts contacting a blood vessel and having inflection points.
Claims 8-9 and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-15, and 17-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11697017. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a pump in a housing with struts contacting a blood vessel and having inflection points.
Claims 8-9 and 11-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-16, 18-19, 21-23, 25-31, and 34-35 of U.S. Patent No. 12017060. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a pump in a housing with struts contacting a blood vessel and having inflection points.
Therefore, the claims of each of the preceding patents anticipate the claims of the current application.
Claims 8-9 and 11-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-4 and 6-17 of copending Application No. 18/165,212 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose vessel pumps with struts making intermittent contact with the vessel wall.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Delgado (PG Pub. 2006/0036127).
Regarding Claim 8, Delgado discloses a blood flow assist system comprising:
a pump (see pump 110; Fig. 4; par. 33) comprising:
an impeller (see impeller 115) disposed in a pump housing (see housing 114); and a strut (see support member 121) comprising a first end disposed at or coupled with the pump housing (see Fig. 4), a second end (see end 122) opposite the first end, and an inflection zone (see hook 123) disposed between the first end and the second end, the second end elastically deflectable toward and away from a longitudinal axis of the pump (see Fig. 3 and 4), a free state of the strut spacing the second end thereof away from the longitudinal axis of the pump (see Fig. 4), the second end of the strut configured to engage a wall of the blood vessel (see wall surface 98’ of aorta 98; par. 34); and a sheath (see sheath 140) comprising an inner wall configured to be disposed over the pump and to deflect the strut between the first and the second end thereof (see Fig. 3); wherein the inflection zone is configured such that when the strut is deflected by the inner wall of the sheath, the second end of the strut is spaced away from the inner wall of the sheath (see inward curve of 121 in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Delgado discloses wherein the second end of the strut comprises a hook (see hook 123). The examiner considers the inflection zone is the curve that produces the hook.
Regarding Claim 11, Delgado discloses further comprising a tether (see wire 117) coupled with a first end of the pump, the tether comprising an electrical conveyance comprising a conductor configured to convey current to and from a source (see battery; par. 41) connectable to a proximal end of the electrical conveyance (see par. 40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delgado (PG Pub. 2006/0036127) in view of Najafi et al. (PG Pub. 2011/0303229).
Regarding Claim 10, Delgado does not disclose an S-shaped inflection zone. Najafi discloses a similar device having struts (see arms 26) implanted within a blood vessel (see par. 38) wherein the inflection zone comprises an S-connection between a first span of the strut and a second span of the strut, the first span and the second span being disposed along parallel trajectories (see modified Fig. 1 below and par. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to shape the arms in this way because Najafi teaches it allows for smooth corners and edges (see par. 30) for vessel contact.
Regarding Claim 12, Delgado does not disclose a convex contact pad at the end of the strut. Najafi discloses convex contact pads (see surfaces 36; par. 38) at a distal portion of the strut, the convex contact pads configured to contact a blood vessel wall to maintain spacing of the device housing from a blood vessel wall (see par. 24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include convex contact pads at the ends of the struts because Najafi teaches they help to navigate blood vessel curvature without causing damage to the walls (see par. 38).
Regarding Claim 13, Najafi further discloses wherein a major lateral dimension of the at least a portion of the strut is less than a major lateral dimension of the device housing (see sheath 16 of catheter 14; see modified Fig. 5 below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention o make the lateral dimension of the strut less than a lateral dimension of the housing for an easy, low-profile deployment (see par. 18-19 and 31). The examiner considers the lateral dimension of the strut in closed position is necessarily less than the lateral dimension of the housing because it must fit within the housing during deployment. Furthermore, the claim only requires “a portion” of the strut to be less than the lateral dimension of the housing in which case even the tiniest portion of the strut would read on the claim.
Conclusion
/N.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792