CTNF 18/751,112 CTNF 75652 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application, Provisional Application No. 63524996 filed 7-5-23, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Information Disclosure Statement These information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6-21-24 & 10-18-24. These submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, these information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. Drawings 06-37 AIA The drawings were received on 6-21-24 . These drawings are acceptable . Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3, line 1, “the process” should be changed to ---the processor --- Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-33-01 Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without “a memory, coupled to the processor, storing executable instructions (e.g. OS program stored in the memory 229-Fig.2A & ¶0074-¶0075 and memory 260-Fig.2B & ¶0082-¶0083, U.S. Patent Application Publication of this instant application, US 2025/0015961 A1), when executed by the processor to perform/configure the claimed operations (e.g. transmit a request frame, receive a response frame and transmit/receive the timing information in independent claims 1 & 11, respectively)” , which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew , 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). In this case, the first device in claims 1 & 11 requires essential elements , e.g. a memory, coupled to the processor, storing executable instructions , when executed by the processor to perform/configure the claimed operations (e.g. transmit a request frame, receive a response frame and transmit/receive the timing information in independent claims 1 & 11, respectively) . The claims 1 & 11 recite ”a processor configured to” being insufficient structure to be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device without any relative parts [See MPEP 2106]. Dependent claims 2-10 & 12-20 are also rejected in virtue of their dependencies on the independent claims 1 & 11, respectively. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-14 AIA Claim s 3 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: no relationship between “determine that a first link between the first device and the second device is congested”{claims 3 & 13} and “transmit the request frame and receive the response frame on a second link between the first device and the second device; and transmit the timing information on the first link between the first device and the second device”{claim 3} & “transmit the request frame and receive the response frame on a second link between the first device and the second device; and receive the timing information on the first link between the first device and the second device”{claim 13} . Please clarify whether the transmitting & receiving steps in claims 3 & 13 resulted from the determining step “that a first link between the first device and the second device is congested”{claims 3 & 13} . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-12, 14-15 & 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1-2) as being anticipated by Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ) . Regarding Claim 1 . A first device { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): STA MLD 420-Fig.4} associated with a second device { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): AP MLD 410-Fig.4} in a wireless network, the first device { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): STA MLD 420-Fig.4} comprising: at least one station (STA) { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): STA421-Fig.4} affiliated with the first device { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): STA MLD 420-Fig.4}; a processor { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): processor 270-Fig.2 of STA421} coupled to the at least one STA { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): STA421-Fig.4}, the processor configured to: transmit a request frame to the second device, wherein the request frame requests permission from the second device in order for the first device to provide to the second device timing information for packets transmitted to the second device { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): ¶0056 wherein “STA 421 may transmit a TWT request to AP 411”; and also step 1802-Fig.18 & ¶0187 wherein “in step 1802 , which may include receiving, by the AP from a first STA, a setup request frame for a TE r-TWT”}; receive a response frame from the second device indicating acceptance to receive the timing information from the first device { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): ¶0056 wherein “In response to the TWT request, AP 411 may transmit a TWT response to STA 421. The TWT response may include three TWT elements. Each TWT element may indicate a respective link of links 1-3 and may include a value of ‘accept TWT’ in a TWT setup command field.” See also ¶0057-¶0071 & Fig.5; and also step 1804-Fig.18 & ¶0188 wherein “In step 1804, example process 1800 may include transmitting, by the AP to the first STA, a setup response frame. The setup response frame may accept the TE r-TWT requested in the setup request frame”}; and transmit the timing information to the second device { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): ¶0057 wherein “initial TWT SPs 430-1, 430-2, and 430-3 of links 1-3 respectively may be aligned.” In other words, upon receiving the acceptance of TE r-TWT requested in the setup request frame, the STA421-STA423 can transmit to AP during the SP 430-1 to SP 430-3 and SP 431-1 to SP 431-3, emphasis added ; and also ¶0189 wherein “Upon successful setup of the TE r-TWT following steps 1802 and 1804, the first STA may be a member r-TWT scheduled STA of the TE r-TWT. The first STA may be allowed to transmit during a service period of the TE r-TWT in response to a trigger frame received from the AP during the service period”}. Regarding Claim 2 . The first device of claim 1, wherein a plurality of links are established between the first device and the second device { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): links 1-3 in Fig.4} and the timing information { Kim : ¶0057 wherein “SPs 430-1, 430-2, and 430-3 of links 1-3”} is information for packets associated with a particular link from the plurality of links between the first device and the second device. Regarding Claim 4 . The first device of claim 2, wherein the request frame and the timing information are transmitted on different links { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): ¶0056 & in Figure 4 wherein STA421 transmits TWT request to AP411 on link 1 and receives TWT response including a value of accept TWT in the TWT setup command field on link 1 and ¶0056 “The TWT response may include three TWT elements. Each TWT element may indicate a respective link of links 1-3 and may include a value of ‘accept TWT’ in a TWT setup command field”; In other words, STA421 transmits TWT request on link 1, and STA422 transmits on the SP 430-2 & 431-2 (the claimed timing information) on link 2, ¶0058, emphasis added}. Regarding Claim 5 . The first device of claim 2, wherein the request frame and the timing information are transmitted on a same link { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): ¶0056 & in Figure 4 wherein STA421 transmits TWT request to AP411 on link 1 and receives TWT response including a value of accept TWT in the TWT setup command field on link 1 and ¶0056 “The TWT response may include three TWT elements. Each TWT element may indicate a respective link of links 1-3 and may include a value of ‘accept TWT’ in a TWT setup command field”; In other words, STA421 transmits TWT request on link 1, and also transmits on the SP 430-1 & 431-1 (the claimed timing information) on link 1, ¶0058, emphasis added}. Regarding Claim 7 . The first device of claim 1, wherein the timing information is transmitted after receipt of a trigger frame from the second device { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): Fig.7 & ¶0189 wherein “Upon successful setup of the TE r-TWT following steps 1802 and 1804, the first STA may be a member r-TWT scheduled STA of the TE r-TWT. The first STA may be allowed to transmit during a service period of the TE r-TWT in response to a trigger frame received from the AP during the service period”}. Regarding Claim 8 . The first device of claim 1, wherein the STA is an access point (AP) STA or a non-AP STA { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): ¶0053 wherein “An MLD may be an access point MLD (AP MLD) when a STA affiliated with the MLD is an AP STA (or an AP). An MLD may be a non-access point MLD (non-AP MLD) or STA MLD when a STA affiliated with the MLD is a non-AP STA (or a STA)”}. Regarding Claim 9 . The first device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to advertise a capability to provide the timing information to the second device { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): Figs.6 & 8 and ¶0075 wherein “The TWT parameter information field may include a request type field, a target wake time field (e.g., 2 octets), a nominal minimal TWT wake duration field (e.g., 1 octet), a TWT wake interval mantissa (e.g., 2 octets ), a broadcast TWT info field (e.g., 2 octets) , and an optional r-TWT traffic info field (e.g., 0 or 3 octets).” See also ¶0077}. Regarding Claim 10 . The first device of claim 1, wherein the timing information is related to an enqueue time or an expiration time { Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ): in Fig.4 wherein SP 430 & 431 are the claimed timing information; In other words, the STAs may transmit during the SP 430 & 431 or the STA cannot transmit to AP if the SP 430 & 431 expired, emphasis added}. Regarding Claim 11 . - Claim 11 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. A first device associated with a second device in a wireless network, the first device comprising: at least one station (STA) affiliated with the first device; a processor coupled to the at least one STA, the processor configured to: transmit a request frame to the second device, wherein the request frame requests that the second device provide timing information for packets transmitted to the first device; receive a response frame from the second device indicating acceptance to provide the timing information to the first device; and receive the timing information from the second device. Regarding Claim 12 . The first device of claim 11, wherein a plurality of links are established between the first device and the second device and the timing information is information for packets associated with a particular link from the plurality of links between the first device and the second device. - Claim 12 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 2. Regarding Claim 14 . The first device of claim 12, wherein the request frame and the timing information are communicated on different links. - Claim 14 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 4. Regarding Claim 15 . The first device of claim 12, wherein the request frame and the timing information are communicated on a same link. - Claim 15 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 5. Regarding Claim 17 . The first device of claim 11, wherein the timing information is received after transmission of a trigger frame from the first device. - Claim 17 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 7. Regarding Claim 18 . The first device of claim 11, wherein the STA is an access point (AP) STA or a non-AP STA. - Claim 18 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 8. Regarding Claim 19 . The first device of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to advertise a capability to receive the timing information to the second device. - Claim 19 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 9. Regarding Claim 20 . The first device of claim 11, wherein the timing information is related to an enqueue time or an expiration time. - Claim 20 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 10 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ( US 2024/0049285 A1 ) in view of Xin ( US 2023/0047705 A1 ) . Regarding Claim 6 . With the same reasons as set forth in the first device of claim 1, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the timing information is transmitted on an on-demand basis as determined by the first device based on traffic conditions between the first device and the second device . However, in the same field of endeavor, Xin ( US 2023/0047705 A1 ) disclose wherein the timing information is transmitted on an on-demand basis as determined by the first device based on traffic conditions between the first device and the second device { Xin ( US 2023/0047705 A1 ): Fig.30 & ¶0273 wherein “AP1 triggers 324 the UL transmission 326 of SCS1. AP1 triggers the UL transmission of SCS1 twice as shown in the figure. As shown in the figure, the first UL PPDU 326 of SCS1 has EOSP set to a first state (e.g., “1”) which indicates that there are no more UL PPDUs to be transmitted during the current R-TWT1 SP. However, the BA response 328 indicates that retransmission is needed and AP1 sends another trigger frame 330 for the UL transmission 332 of SCS1. This second UL PPDU 332 of SCS1 also sets EOSP set to a first state (e.g., “1”) and its response BA 334 frame indicates that the UL transmissions was successful. Then, STA1 finishes its UL transmissions of the scheduled traffic streams of R-TWT1 during the current R-TWT1 SP. Since STA1 is operating in power saving mode and only has scheduled UL traffic streams of R-TWT1, it can fall asleep immediately.”} Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to Xin’s teaching to Kim’s system with the motivation being “to improve the efficiency of channel usage and avoid fair use issues (abuse) of R-TWT SP, the R-TWT SP should be terminated immediately after the RTA frame exchange is completed.”{ Xin : ¶0011} Regarding Claim 16 . The first device of claim 11, wherein the timing information is requested on an on-demand basis as determined by the first device based on traffic conditions between the first device and the second device. - Claim 16 is rejected with the same reasons as set forth in claim 6 . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 Claims 3 & 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a & b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 1 st & 2 nd paragraphs, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 3 (112) . (Currently Corrected) The prior art fails to teach the first device of claim 2, wherein the process or is further configured to: determine that a first link between the first device and the second device is congested; transmit the request frame and receive the response frame on a second link between the first device and the second device; and transmit the timing information on the first link between the first device and the second device . Regarding Claim 13 (112) . The prior art fails to teach the first device of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that a first link between the first device and the second device is congested; transmit the request frame and receive the response frame on a second link between the first device and the second device; and receive the timing information on the first link between the first device and the second device . 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 20240422613 A1) discloses a traffic transmission method performed by a first multi-link device (MLD) comprising a plurality of stations respectively operating on a plurality of links in a wireless communication system; and an apparatus. In detail, an MLD of the present invention receives a beacon frame from a second MLD including a plurality of access points (APs) operating on the plurality of links, respectively, and transmits and receives a data unit on the basis of the beacon frame. Here, the beacon frame includes a multi-link traffic indication element indicating mapping between at least one traffic identifier (TID) for a buffered unit (BU) of the plurality of APs from among a plurality of TIDs and the plurality of links, according to whether or not mapping between the plurality of TIDs and the plurality of links is default mapping for downlink or bidirectional {Fig.29}. Nayak (US 12349194 B2, same assignee) discloses methods and apparatuses for facilitating multi-AP association on NSTR links. A method for wireless communication performed by a non-access point (AP) multi-band device (MBD), wherein the non-AP MBD comprises wireless stations (STAs), the method comprising: identifying, while a first STA of the STAs is associated with a first AP, that a second STA of the STAs is either associated or to be associated with a second AP; detecting a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) condition; when the second STA is to be associated with the second AP, determining whether an association procedure to associate the second STA with the second AP is to be initiated based on a first MBD transmission procedure; and when the second STA is associated with the second AP, generating an indication to initiate a second MBD transmission procedure {Claims 1-18}. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHUONGCHAU BA NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571) 272-3148. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 7:30 AM -5:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, RICKY NGO can be reached at 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHUONGCHAU BA NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 2 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 3 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 4 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 5 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 6 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 7 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 8 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 9 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 10 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 11 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 12 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 13 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 14 Art Unit: 2464 Application/Control Number: 18/751,112 Page 15 Art Unit: 2464