This communication is in response to Amendment filed on August 27, 2026. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13-15 and 17-22 are pending. Claims 1, 10, 13, and 20 are amended. Claims 5, 11, 12 and 16 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims as amended have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that DeBoer/Acosta/Zheng, specifically DeBoer does not disclose that the query results from the second service are configured to obtain configured data having a configured data format specified by a user of the client device, where the configured data format comprises an object format and the configured data does not include any data visualization. However Examiner respectfully disagrees. DeBoer teaches that the user can select available objects from the returned external source 1804 (i.e. the query results from the second service), wherein the selection includes objects such as ‘accounts’ and attributes of the selected accounts object and then modifies the ESQL statement formatted to the native language of the external source according to the user’s selections [see para 381-382, Fig 23A-C]. As such, Examiner maintains that DeBoer does teach the ‘the query results from the second service are configured to obtain configured data having a configured data format specified by a user of the client device’ as amended.
Furthermore, DeBoer teaches that the results from the external source can be in non-tabular format such as JSON or XML format (i.e. reads on: object format) and are reformatted by data source connector 1802 into a native system format wherein the native system format can include a non-tabular format [para 370-371, Fig 19, element 1914]. Examiner submits that the non-tabular format such as JSON or XML do not include data visualization (as opposed to tabular format) and as such, does teach ‘where the configured data format comprises an object format and the configured data does not include any data visualization’, as amended.
All other arguments not addressed are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/21/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10, 13-15, 18 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0149935 by De Boer, in view of US 2019/0034496 by Acosta et al (hereafter Acosta), and further in view of US 2018/0341388 by Zheng et al (hereafter Zheng).
Referring to claim 1, De Boer discloses a method for retrieving data, performed at a computer system executing a first data service and having one or more processors and memory storing one or more programs configured for execution by the one or more processors, the method comprising [machine 2400, medium 2422 with instructions 2424, processor 2402, para 402, 405; machine 2400 includes an application, applet, app or program that is executed to perform functions in Fig 19-22, para 402-403, Fig 24; data intake and query system 108 comprising data source connector 1802, Fig 18, para 328]:
receiving a query from a programmatic interface of a client device executing an application with the programmatic interface, wherein the query i) is received via one or more external API calls and ii) specifies a data source and one or more data fields of the data source [user interface for search screen 800, para 238, Fig 8A; user inputs search string and can specify different sources for events and time ranges, para 238; command to perform live query against API of external source is received, the command triggers a config file that calls a script associated with data source connector customized for the external source, para 341, Fig 19, element 1902; Examiner submits that the live query against the API of an external source is a query received via one or more external API calls because it retrieves live data from the source through its API; datasource connector assistant (DC assistant) 1808 provides a customized user interface (UI) for the user at client device 404 to build the search query, para 337. Fig 18];
in accordance with receiving the query:
generating, via the first data service, a query specification according to the one or more data fields of the data source, wherein the query specification is an extended version of the one or more external API calls [data source connector 1802 takes search query comprising attributes of a native language of the native data search and formats/translates the attributes of the search query into a query language statement in a native language of the external source 1804, the data source connector corresponding to the external source to which the API call is made, para 33, formatted to ESQL statement, para 330, 340-341, 368, Fig 19, element 1908, Fig 20 and corresponding portions of specification];
transmitting, via the first data service, the query specification to a second data service that is different from the first data service, wherein transmitting the query specification to the second data service includes translating the query specification into a serialized data format to send to the second data service [data source connector 1802 formats the attributes of the query into a query language statement in a native language of the external source 1804, para 33, formatted to ESQL statement, para 330, 340-341, 368, Fig 19, element 1908; sequence of commands, para 201-204; series of consecutive commands, para 203] and causing the second data service to execute one or more database queries against a database to retrieve query results from the data source, according to the query specification [ESQL (formatted) statement sent to API of external source which causes the external source 1804 (i.e. reads on: second data service) to run the query against its live data, para 369, Fig 19, element 1910; data source connector 1802 performs query with ESQL statement, para 331];
receiving, via the first data service, the query results from the second data service [results received by data source connector 1802 from external source 1804, para 370, Fig 19, element 1912];
configuring, via the first data service, the query results to obtain configured data having a configured data format specified by a user of the client device, the configured data format comprising an object format or an array format, wherein the configured data does not include any data visualization [results reformatted by data source connector 1802 into native system format wherein the native system format can include a non-tabular format- results are in JSON or XML format, para 370-371, Fig 19, element 1914; the user can select available objects from the returned external source 1804 such as ‘accounts’ and attributes of the selected object and modifies the ESQL statement formatted to the native language of the external source, para 381-382, Fig 23A-C]; and
transmitting, via the first data service, the configured data to the client device for display in the programmatic interface [results displayed in native system format at client device 404, para 372-375, Fig 20, element 2010].
Referring to claim 1, while De Boer discloses all of the above claimed subject matter and also discloses a first data service including an application, applet, app or program that is executed on machine 2400 to perform functions [Fig 19-22, para 402-403, Fig 24], it remains silent as to the first data service being a headless business intelligence (BI) service; and causing the second data service to convert the query specification to logical queries which are then passed to a query pipeline to output SQL queries that are executed.
Acosta discloses that once an input query 512 is converted into an intermediate data structure such as an abstract syntax tree (AST), the intermediate data structure is sent to runtime device 506 (second data service) that generates one or more requests based on the query 518 [para 61, Fig 5]. Acosta furthermore discloses that after generating the one or more requests, runtime 506 transmits a message containing the one or more requests 520 to API 508 that transmits the one or more generated requests to the appropriate data sources, receives data from the data sources responding to the requests and transmits the data to runtime where it can be stored in, for instance, block memory for subsequent processing [para 62].
De Boer and Acosta are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor- querying data sources. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the external source of De Boer to include the logical transformation of the query specification and forwarding taught by Acosta because it would achieve predictable results.
The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification because the conversion of the SQL query into an intermediate AST structure and forwarding of results to runtime for subsequent processing in Acosta provides for further refinement of the processing of the ESQL query results of DeBoer.
Still referring to claim 1, while DeBoer/Acosta disclose all of the above claimed subject matter, and also disclose a first data service in the form of an application, applet, app or program that is executed on machine 2400 to perform functions [DeBoer, Fig 19-22, para 402-403, Fig 24] and an execution service 406 [Acosta, para 48, Fig 4], it remains silent as to the data service being a headless business intelligence service. Zheng discloses a headless execution engine DL 205 within MRTE execution model 200 that communicates with different layers within the MRTE such as the PSVL 210 layers [para 11, 46, 51, Fig 2].
De Boer, Acosta and Zheng are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor- querying data sources. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the application, applet, app or program executed on machine 2400 to perform functions of DeBoer and the execution service 406 of Acosta to include the headless execution engine DL 250 taught by Zheng because it would achieve predictable results.
The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification because the headless execution engine of Zheng further refines the application, applet, app or program executed on machine 2400 to perform functions of DeBoer and the execution service 406 of Acosta.
Referring to claim 13, the limitations of the claim are similar to those of claim 1 in the form of a system [DeBoer, machine 2400, para 402, 405, Fig 24] comprising one or more processors [DeBoer, processor 2402, para 402, 405, Fig 24]; memory storing programs including instructions [DeBoer, medium 2422 with instructions 2424, para 402, 405, Fig 24; memory 2404, 2406,2402, para 409, Fig 24]. As such, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Referring to claim 20, the limitations of the claim are similar to those of claim 1 in the form of a computer medium storing programs for execution by one or more processors [DeBoer, medium 2422 with instructions 2424, para 402, 405, Fig 24] and memory [DeBoer, memory 2404, 2406,2402, para 409, Fig 24]. As such, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Referring to claims 2 and 14, De Boer/Acosta/Zheng discloses that the query comprises a JSON object [Acosta, para 64, Fig 6].
Referring to claims 3 and 15, De Boer/Acosta/Zheng discloses that the query specification further specifies one or more filters to apply to the query, each of the one or more filters including a data column to filter on and a filter type [DeBoer, fields-percent filter, para 211, Fig 6B, para 205].
Referring to claim 4, De Boer/Acosta/Zheng discloses that the filter type includes: a quantitative filter [DeBoer, time range, para 168], a set filter, a date filter [DeBoer, para 204], or a topN filter [DeBoer, top ten product names by price 1201, para 259, Fig 12].
Referring to claims 8 and 18, De Boer/Acosta/Zheng discloses that the query specifies a sort priority for the one or more data fields; and configuring, via the first data service, the query results to obtain configured data includes sorting the query results according to the sort priority [DeBoer, sort order, para 180].
Referring to claim 10, De Boer/Acosta/Zheng discloses that configuring, via the first data service, the query results to obtain the configured data includes formatting, by the first data service, data values of date/time fields from a priority format to a standard date format [DeBoer, filtering criteria includes a time period specific to time periods allowed by the external source 1804 (e.g. today, yesterday, week to date etc.), para 389; see query with ‘createdDate’ filter selected, Fig 23H-I].
Referring to claim 21, De Boer/Acosta/Zheng discloses that the query specification further specifies whether to apply a densification setting or a table calculation to the query [DeBoer, fields-percent filter, para 211, Fig 6B, para 205].
Referring to claim 22, De Boer/Acosta/Zheng discloses that the query specification does not include visual layout information for rendering a data visualization, the visual layout information including at least one of an axis or a data mark [DeBoer, the external source 1804 may require a format having lower cases in the query or require use of commas instead of spaces to separate search attributes, para 330].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0149935 by De Boer, in view of Acosta, in view of Zheng, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2020/0073987 by Perumala et al (hereafter Perumala).
Referring to claim 6, while De Boer/Acosta/Zheng discloses all of the above claimed subject matter and also discloses that the query specification is converted to an ESQL formatted query with a sequence of consecutive commands [DeBoer, para 201-204], it remains silent as to the data format specifically being a protobuf data schema. Perumala discloses converting messages (e.g. HTTP) including data items to a format for storage where the messages may include any type of Internet protocol message including based on Google Protocol Buffers (Protobuf) database objects [para 47,101].
DeBoer, Acosta, Zheng and Perumala are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor- transmitting of messages between systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the queries of De Boer to include the HTTP protobuf messages, as in Perumala because it would achieve predictable results.
The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification because it would further refine the formatting type of the query specification in De Boer.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Boer, in view of Acosta, in view of Zheng, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of US 2004/0243593 by Stolte et al (hereafter Stolte).
Referring to claims 7 and 17, De Boer/Acosta/Zheng discloses all of the above claimed subject matter and also discloses converting the formatting of the input native query into a query language statement in a native language of the external source [DeBoer, para 33, 330, 340-341, 368, Fig 19, element 1908] and transmitting the query to the API of the external source [Fig 19, element 1910], however remains silent as to converting the query specification into one or more abstract queries, wherein the one or more abstract queries are lower level queries than the query specification.
Stolte discloses converting a visual specification 550 derived from user-selected (i.e. queried) operand names corresponding to each selected database 558 [para 107] into a set of one or more abstract query descriptions 554 that describe the required queries using values specified in the visual specification 550 [para 123, Fig 6, element 606]. Stolte furthermore teaches that the abstract query descriptions 554 are used to query databases [para 97]. Examiner submits that because the abstracted query descriptions are derived from the visual specification, they are lower level queries than the visual (query) specification.
DeBoer, Acosta, Zheng and Stolte are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor- querying data sources/databases. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the formatting of queries of De Boer to include conversion to a lower level abstract query from a query specification, as in Stolte because it would achieve predictable results.
The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification because it would further refine the query formatting capabilities of De Boer.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Boer, in view of Acosta, in view of Zheng, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of US 2002/0069193 by Beavin et al (hereafter Beavin).
Referring to claims 9 and 19, De Boer/Acosta/Zheng discloses all of the above claimed subject matter and also discloses extraction rules that include truncating a character string [para 213, 225], however remains silent as to the truncation according to a maximum number of decimal places. Beavin discloses truncation of the length of an integer to a length of a small integer [para 50, 53].
DeBoer, Acosta, Zheng and Beavin are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor- querying data sources/databases. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extraction, specifically truncation, rules of De Boer to include decimal (integer) truncation, as in Beavin because it would achieve predictable results.
The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make this modification because it would further refine the truncation formatting rules of De Boer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Certain et al (US 2020/0167424) directed to: performing lexical and semantic analysis of a received query including converting textual components of the query into non-textual data structures such as abstract syntax trees [para 26].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHERYL M SHECHTMANPatent Examiner
Art Unit 2164
/C.M.S/
/AMY NG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2164