DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-final Office Action for application number 18/751,137 SOLAR PANEL MOUNTING APPARATUS filed on 6/21/2024. Claims 2-21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 10/10/2025 and 10/3/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(5) because Figure 98 show(s) modified forms of construction in the same view. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 10,756,668 to Bamat et al.
With regards to claims 2, 10 and 11, the patent to Bamat et al. teaches a cap (20, 20’) a first wing (28, 158); a second wing (26, 156) extending opposite the first wing; a first vertical leg (24a, 24a’) extending perpendicular to the first wing and the second wing from a position between the first wing and the second wing, the position being closer to an end of the first wing than to an end of the second wing (See Figure 9); and a tooth (30) formed on the first vertical leg; and a base (10) configured to engage the cap when installed, the base comprising: a first support (14a); a second support (14b) extending opposite the first support; a second vertical leg (12, 12’) extending perpendicular to the first support and the second support; and a groove (19) formed in the second vertical leg of the base, the groove being engageable with the tooth.
With regards to claims 3, 16 and 20, Bamat et al. teaches wherein the groove is a first groove of a plurality of grooves (19) formed along a length of the second vertical leg, and the base is vertically adjustable with respect to the cap (20, 20’) via engagement of the tooth with one of the plurality of grooves.
With regards to claim 4, Bamat et al. teaches wherein the second support has an upward spring (186, 186’) bias toward the second wing.
With regards to claim 5, Bamat et al. teaches an opening in the cap (155); and a fastener (38, 168) extending through the opening.
With regards to claim 6, Bamat et al. teaches a fastener (38, 168) attaching the cap to the base; and a spring clip (186, 186’) attached to the fastener and the first vertical leg to maintain engagement of the tooth with the groove.
With regards to claims 7, 17 and 21, Bamat et al. teaches wherein the first wing, the second wing, the first vertical leg, and the tooth are integrally formed as a single integrated structure. (See Figure 32)
With regards to claims 8, 17 and 21, Bamat et al. teaches wherein the first support, the second support, the second vertical leg, and the groove are integrally formed as a single integrated structure. (See Figure 30)
With regards to claim 9, Bamat et al. teaches a cap (20. 20’) having a first vertical leg (24a, 24a’) extending perpendicular to the cap; and a tooth (30) formed on the first vertical leg; and a base (10) configured to engage the cap when installed, the base comprising: a second vertical leg (12. 12’) extending perpendicular to the base; and a groove formed in the second vertical leg of the base; and a spring clip (186, 186’) attached to the cap to maintain engagement of the tooth with the groove.
With regards to claim 12, Bamat et al. teaches wherein the tooth is engaged with the groove. (See Figure 21)
With regards to claim 13, Bamat et al. teaches a fastener (38, 168) attaching the cap to the base.
With regards to claims 14 and 15, Bamat et al. teaches wherein the first and/or second support have a biasing force towards the first wing to retain a solar panel module (374) between the first support and the first wing.
With regards to claim 18, as shown above Bamat et al. teaches all of the following limitations including a cap comprising: a first wing extending horizontally from the cap; a second wing extending horizontally from the cap opposite the first wing; a first vertical leg extending downward from the cap perpendicular to the first wing and the second wing from the cap and at a position between the first wing and the second wing, the position being closer to an end of the first wing than to an end of the second wing; and a tooth formed on the first vertical leg; and a base configured to engage the cap when installed with the cap, the base comprising: a first support extending horizontally from the base; a second support extending horizontally from the base opposite the first support; a second vertical leg extending upward to be aligned with the first vertical leg of the cap; and a groove formed in the second vertical leg of the base, the groove being engageable with the tooth; a fastener attaching the cap to the base; and a spring clip attached to the fastener and the first vertical leg to maintain engagement of the tooth with the groove.
With regards to claim 19, Bamat et al. teaches wherein the second support has an upward spring bias toward the second wing. (See Figure 72)
Cited References
PN 2019/0013772 to Bamat et al. shows a solar mount
PN 2016/0268958 to Wildes et al. shows a solar mount
PN 8,938,932 to Wentworth et al. shows a solar mount
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Amy J. Sterling at telephone number 571-272-6823 or to Supervisor Jonathan Liu at 571-272-8227 if the examiner cannot be reached. The examiner can normally be reached (Mon-Fri 8am-5:00pm). The fax machine number for the Technology center is 571-273-8300 (formal amendments), informal amendments or communications 571-273-6823. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Technology Center receptionist at 571-272-3600.
/AMY J. STERLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631 1/16/26