DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-19 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Priority
The instant Application has a filing date of June 21, 2024. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. The instant application is a national phase under 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCT International Application No. 2023/099735 (CN), filed on June 12, 2023, which claims for the benefit of a prior-filed foreign application number 202210992626.X (CN), filed on August 18, 2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 8, 2024 and October 15, 2025 have been considered by the examiner. Abstracts only were provided for each of the foreign patent documents, and therefore only the abstracts were considered.
Claim Interpretation
Each of Independent claims 1, 14, and 17 require “receiving a trigger operation on a first consumable option in the consumable option interface, the first consumable option corresponding to a first virtual consumable” and “controlling, based on the trigger operation, a first virtual object to perform an interaction operation on the first virtual consumable, the interaction operation comprising at least one of (i) a discard operation that is configured to discard the first virtual consumable in a virtual environment, (ii) a discard and mark operation that is configured to discard the first virtual consumable in the virtual environment and mark a position of the first virtual consumable in the virtual environment, or (iii) a request operation that is configured to request the first virtual consumable from a second virtual object”. Because the claims only require one interaction operation (see “an interaction operations…comprising at least one of (i)…(ii)… or (iii)…”) in response to a trigger operation, a practitioner (and therefore the prior art) need only perform one of these interaction operations to infringe the claim scope. For example, an infringing system need not have circuitry configured to perform each of these interaction operations, as the claims only require circuitry configured to perform at least one of them. Similarly, dependent claims 2, 15, and 18 only require that the controlling (the “controlling…comprising at least one of (i)…(ii)… or (iii)…”) further comprises one of the three listed trigger operations due to the inclusion of the word or in the phrase “controlling the first virtual object to perform the discard operation on the first virtual consumable when a first trigger operation is received, controlling the first virtual object to perform the discard and mark operation on the first virtual consumable when a second trigger operation is received, or controlling the first virtual object to perform the request operation on the first virtual consumable when a third trigger operation is received”. This aligns with the language and claim scope of the independent claims, which only requires one interaction operation. The suggestion that each of these three listed trigger operations are “different from each other” (claims 2, 15, and 18), or that “the first trigger operation and the second trigger operation are drag operations on the first consumable option with different drag end positions” (claims 3, 16, and 19) does not change the fact that the claims only require the ability to perform one interaction operation in response to a single trigger operation. The prior art need not teach all three potential trigger operations or corresponding three interaction operations.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 10, and 11 each contain limitations or information dependent on a conditional “when” being true (e.g., “wherein the controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable further comprises: controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable when the first virtual consumable does not belong to a target virtual consumable, the target virtual consumable being consumed by a virtual prop possessed by the first virtual object” recited in claim 7). These claims are directed to methods, yet the claim language does not require the recited conditions to be true/met (e.g., it is not explicit or required that the first virtual consumable does not belong to a target virtual consumable in claim 7). As such, the contingent limitations in these claims are not given patentable weight and cannot result in a patentable distinction over the prior art. Per MPEP 2111.04 II “the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B”. See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016). However, Applicant must appropriately amend the claims in order for these limitations to be given patentable weight. Using claim 7 as an example, Applicant may amend to recite, “wherein the controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable further comprises: determining the first virtual consumable does not belong to a target virtual consumable; and controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable in response to the determination that the first virtual consumable does not belong to a target virtual consumable, the target virtual consumable being consumed by a virtual prop possessed by the first virtual object”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
v Claim 4 recites "displaying a first interaction identification region when the drag end operation on the first consumable option is within the first interaction identification region and a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables is greater than zero; and displaying a second interaction identification region when the drag end operation on the first consumable option is within the second interaction region and a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables is greater than zero." There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitations in the claim. Claim 3 introduces different “drag operations” that have “different drag end positions”, and it is unclear as to what is being referred by “the drag end operation”. For the purpose of examination, the phrase “displaying a first interaction identification region when the drag end operation on the first consumable option is within the first interaction identification region and a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables is greater than zero; and displaying a second interaction identification region when the drag end operation on the first consumable option is within the second interaction region and a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables is greater than zero” will be interpreted as being “displaying a first interaction identification region when the drag end position of the drag operation on the first consumable option is within the first interaction identification region and a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables is greater than zero; and displaying a second interaction identification region when the drag end position of the drag operation on the first consumable option is within the second interaction region and a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables is greater than zero.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
v Claims 1-8 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Alderman et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2021/0031106, February 4, 2021 - hereinafter "Alderman”)
With respect to claims 1, 14, and 17, Alderman teaches a method for requesting and discarding a virtual consumable (claim 1); an apparatus for demanding and discarding a virtual consumable (claim 14) (Fig 1, Fig 18 & [0189]-0197]); and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the method (claim 17) (Fig 18 & [0189]-0197]), , comprising:
processing circuitry configured to: (claim 14) (Fig 18 & [0189]-0197] “electrical circuitry configured to process computer-executable instructions…digital circuitry”)
displaying, by processing circuitry, a consumable option interface; (Fig 17 shows a GUI with a plurality of consumables (e.g., types of ammo, med kits, grenades, etc.) and consumable options, see also [0184]-[0185])
receiving a trigger operation on a first consumable option in the consumable option interface, the first consumable option corresponding to a first virtual consumable; and (Fig 17 tag 1701 and 1703 shows a click (may also be a tap operation per [0055] “user input can be received from a first player…For example, the user can press a button on a controller, a key on a keyboard, a button on a mouse, a tap on a part of a touch screen, and the like”) in combination with a button trigger operation on a first consumable option in the consumable option interface corresponding to a first virtual consumable (in this case, “energy ammo”), see also [0184]-[0185] “The inventory menu 1700 shows a plurality of inventory icons. A cursor 1701 is positioned over the inventory icon 1703 representing energy ammo, causing an information box 1705 to be displayed….a contextually aware communication action can be made available to the player to ask teammates for more energy ammo. The cursor 1701 can be used as a reference point to identify the unit that the player is focusing on instead of using the center of the screen. The informational box 1705 can indicate that the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button) can be activated to “Request Ammo.” In response, the player's character can say, “I need energy ammo,” to player's teammates…If the player's cursor were moved over a different icon such as the icon for a grenade, then in response to the player providing the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button), the character can say, “I need more grenades.” If the player's cursor were positioned over the icon for a body shield, then in response to the player providing the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button), the character can say, “I need better body armor.” Various contextual voice lines can be spoken by character according to which icon a player is focusing on when the player provides the user input for contextually aware communications. Additionally or alternatively to the voice lines, a marker can be visually shown at the location of the player's character making the request”)
controlling, based on the trigger operation, a first virtual object to perform an interaction operation on the first virtual consumable, the interaction operation comprising at least one of (i) a discard operation that is configured to discard the first virtual consumable in a virtual environment, (ii) a discard and mark operation that is configured to discard the first virtual consumable in the virtual environment and mark a position of the first virtual consumable in the virtual environment, or (iii) a request operation that is configured to request the first virtual consumable from a second virtual object (Fig 17 tag “request ammo” and [0184]-[0185] “The inventory menu 1700 shows a plurality of inventory icons. A cursor 1701 is positioned over the inventory icon 1703 representing energy ammo, causing an information box 1705 to be displayed….a contextually aware communication action can be made available to the player to ask teammates for more energy ammo. The cursor 1701 can be used as a reference point to identify the unit that the player is focusing on instead of using the center of the screen. The informational box 1705 can indicate that the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button) can be activated to “Request Ammo.” In response, the player's character can say, “I need energy ammo,” to player's teammates…If the player's cursor were moved over a different icon such as the icon for a grenade, then in response to the player providing the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button), the character can say, “I need more grenades.” If the player's cursor were positioned over the icon for a body shield, then in response to the player providing the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button), the character can say, “I need better body armor.” Various contextual voice lines can be spoken by character according to which icon a player is focusing on when the player provides the user input for contextually aware communications. Additionally or alternatively to the voice lines, a marker can be visually shown at the location of the player's character making the request” – therefore the system controls (based on the trigger operation a virtual object (the user’s player) to perform an interaction operation on the first virtual consumable such as a request operation that is configured to request the first virtual consumable (e.g., more energy ammo, more grenades, etc.) from a second virtual object (e.g., a second player, such as a teammate player) – Examiner notes Alderman also discloses at least an operation that marks the location of a first virtual consumable in the virtual environment ([0030] & [0069] & [0135]-[0139])
Examiner notes that, per the claim interpretation section at the beginning of this action, the claim language only require one interaction operation (see “an interaction operations…comprising at least one of (i)…(ii)… or (iii)…”) in response to a trigger operation and therefore Alderman need not disclose (i) a discard operation that is configured to discard the first virtual consumable in a virtual environment and/or (ii) a discard and mark operation that is configured to discard the first virtual consumable in the virtual environment and mark a position of the first virtual consumable in the virtual environment). For the sake of expediting prosecution, Examiner notes that Kojima (cited at the end of this action and not relied upon) discloses a discard and mark operation, and Pan (cited below) discloses a discard operation that is configured to discard the first virtual consumable in a virtual environment.
With respect to claims 2, 15, and 18, Alderman teaches the method of claim 1, the apparatus of claim 14, and the medium of claim 17;
wherein the controlling further comprises: controlling the first virtual object to perform the discard operation on the first virtual consumable when a first trigger operation is received, controlling the first virtual object to perform the discard and mark operation on the first virtual consumable when a second trigger operation is received, or controlling the first virtual object to perform the request operation on the first virtual consumable when a third trigger operation is received; and wherein the first trigger operation, the second trigger operation, and the third trigger operation are different from each other (Fig 17 tag “request ammo” and [0184]-[0185] “The inventory menu 1700 shows a plurality of inventory icons. A cursor 1701 is positioned over the inventory icon 1703 representing energy ammo, causing an information box 1705 to be displayed….a contextually aware communication action can be made available to the player to ask teammates for more energy ammo. The cursor 1701 can be used as a reference point to identify the unit that the player is focusing on instead of using the center of the screen. The informational box 1705 can indicate that the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button) can be activated to “Request Ammo.” In response, the player's character can say, “I need energy ammo,” to player's teammates…If the player's cursor were moved over a different icon such as the icon for a grenade, then in response to the player providing the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button), the character can say, “I need more grenades.” If the player's cursor were positioned over the icon for a body shield, then in response to the player providing the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button), the character can say, “I need better body armor.” Various contextual voice lines can be spoken by character according to which icon a player is focusing on when the player provides the user input for contextually aware communications. Additionally or alternatively to the voice lines, a marker can be visually shown at the location of the player's character making the request” – therefore the the controlling comprises controlling the first virtual object (the user’s player) to perform the request operation on the first virtual consumable when a third trigger operation is received, such that the request operation that is configured to request the first virtual consumable (e.g., more energy ammo, more grenades, etc.) from a second virtual object (e.g., a second player, such as a teammate player) is performed – Examiner notes Alderman also discloses at least an operation that marks the location of a first virtual consumable in the virtual environment ([0030] & [0069])
Examiner notes that, per the claim interpretation section at the beginning of this action, Alderman need not controlling the first virtual object to perform the discard operation on the first virtual consumable when a first trigger operation is received, controlling the first virtual object to perform the discard and mark operation on the first virtual consumable when a second trigger operation is received. For the sake of expediting prosecution, Examiner notes that Kojima (cited at the end of this action and not relied upon) discloses a discard and mark operation, and Pan (cited below) discloses a discard operation that is configured to discard the first virtual consumable in a virtual environment.
With respect to claims 3, 16, and 19, Alderman teaches the method of claim 2, the apparatus of claim 15, and the medium of claim 18. Alderman does not appear to disclose,
wherein the first trigger operation and the second trigger operation are drag operations on the first consumable option with different drag end positions.
However, as discussed in the claim interpretation section at the beginning of this action, this limitation merits no patentable weight, and cannot result in a patentable distinction over the prior art. For example, claim 1 does not require that a first trigger operation (corresponding to a discard operation) or a second trigger operation (corresponding to a “discard and mark”) operation be received (e.g., because claim 1 only requires “an interaction operations…comprising at least one of (i)…(ii)… or (iii)…”, and therefor may only comprise receiving a “request” operation). Furthermore, the conditional phrases “when” in claim 2 mean the first trigger operation and/or second trigger operation may not have been received.
For the sake of expediting prosecution, Examiner notes that Pan (cited below) discloses this element (See Fig. 1B and Fig. 2)
With respect to claim 4, Alderman teaches the method of claim 3. Alderman does not appear to disclose,
further comprising: displaying a first interaction identification region when the drag end operation on the first consumable option is within the first interaction identification region and a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables is greater than zero; and displaying a second interaction identification region when the drag end operation on the first consumable option is within the second interaction region and a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables is greater than zero
However, as discussed in the claim interpretation section at the beginning of this action, this limitation merits no patentable weight, and cannot result in a patentable distinction over the prior art. For example, claim 1 does not require that a first trigger operation (corresponding to a discard operation) or a second trigger operation (corresponding to a “discard and mark”) operation be received (e.g., because claim 1 only requires “an interaction operations…comprising at least one of (i)…(ii)… or (iii)…”, and therefor may only comprise receiving a “request” operation). Furthermore, the conditional phrases “when” in claim 2 mean the first trigger operation and/or second trigger operation may not have been received. Finally, this claim itself also comprises condition “when” phrases (e.g., “when the drag end operation on the first consumable option is within the first interaction identification region”, “when the drag end operation on the first consumable option is within the second interaction identification region”) that are not required to be true, and therefore the claim scope does not require displaying the first interaction identification region or second interaction region.
For the sake of expediting prosecution, Examiner notes that Pan (cited below) discloses this element (See Fig. 1B and Fig. 2)
With respect to claim 5, Alderman teaches the method of claim 2;
wherein the third trigger operation is a tap operation on the first consumable option (Fig 17 tag 1701 and 1703 shows a click (may also be a tap operation per [0055] “user input can be received from a first player…For example, the user can press a button on a controller, a key on a keyboard, a button on a mouse, a tap on a part of a touch screen, and the like”) on a first consumable option in the consumable option interface corresponding to a first virtual consumable (in this case, “energy ammo”), see also [0184]-[0185])
With respect to claim 6, Alderman teaches the method of claim 1;
wherein the controlling further comprises: controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable when the interaction operation is the discard operation; controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable when the interaction operation is the discard and mark operation and transmitting a discard and mark message to the second virtual object based on a position of the first virtual consumable; or controlling the first virtual object to transmit a first request message to the second virtual object when the interaction operation is the request operation, wherein the first request message contains a name of the first virtual consumable (Fig 17 tag “request ammo” and [0184]-[0185] “The inventory menu 1700 shows a plurality of inventory icons. A cursor 1701 is positioned over the inventory icon 1703 representing energy ammo, causing an information box 1705 to be displayed….a contextually aware communication action can be made available to the player to ask teammates for more energy ammo. The cursor 1701 can be used as a reference point to identify the unit that the player is focusing on instead of using the center of the screen. The informational box 1705 can indicate that the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button) can be activated to “Request Ammo.” In response, the player's character can say, “I need energy ammo,” to player's teammates…If the player's cursor were moved over a different icon such as the icon for a grenade, then in response to the player providing the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button), the character can say, “I need more grenades.” If the player's cursor were positioned over the icon for a body shield, then in response to the player providing the user input for contextually aware communications (e.g., the left alt button), the character can say, “I need better body armor.” Various contextual voice lines can be spoken by character according to which icon a player is focusing on when the player provides the user input for contextually aware communications. Additionally or alternatively to the voice lines, a marker can be visually shown at the location of the player's character making the request” – therefore the controlling comprises controlling the first virtual object (the user’s player) to transmit a first request message (e.g., “I need energy ammo”) to the second virtual object (e.g., a second player, such as a teammate player) when the interaction operation is the request operation and wherein the first request message contains a name of the first virtual consumable)
Examiner notes that, per the claim interpretation section at the beginning of this action, Alderman need not controlling the first virtual object to perform the discard operation on the first virtual consumable or controlling the first virtual object to perform the discard and mark operation on the first virtual consumable, and therefore need not disclose “wherein the controlling further comprises: controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable when the interaction operation is the discard operation; controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable when the interaction operation is the discard and mark operation and transmitting a discard and mark message to the second virtual object based on a position of the first virtual consumable”. Further, the conditional “when” clauses also mean these limitations merit no patentable weight, and cannot result in a patentable distinction.
For the sake of expediting prosecution, Examiner notes that Kojima (cited at the end of this action and not relied upon) discloses controlling the first virtual object to perform the discard and mark operation on the first virtual consumable, and Pan (cited below) discloses a controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable when the interaction operation is the discard operation.
With respect to claim 7, Alderman teaches the method of claim 6. Alderman does not appear to disclose,
wherein the controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable further comprises: controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable when the first virtual consumable does not belong to a target virtual consumable, the target virtual consumable being consumed by a virtual prop possessed by the first virtual object
However, as discussed in the claim interpretation section at the beginning of this action, this limitation merits no patentable weight, and cannot result in a patentable distinction over the prior art. For example, claim 1 does not require that a first trigger operation (corresponding to a discard operation) or a second trigger operation (corresponding to a “discard and mark”) operation be received (e.g., because claim 1 only requires “an interaction operations…comprising at least one of (i)…(ii)… or (iii)…”, and therefor may only comprise receiving a “request” operation). Furthermore, the conditional “when the first virtual consumable does not belong to a target virtual consumable” is not required to be true. As such, the description of controlling the first virtual object to discard (i.e., what the discard operation entails) cannot result in a patentable distinction over the prior art.
For the sake of expediting prosecution, Examiner notes that Pan (cited below) discloses this element (See Fig. 1B and Fig. 2)
With respect to claim 8, Alderman teaches the method of claim 6. Alderman does not appear to disclose,
wherein the controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable further comprises: displaying a discard confirmation, a target virtual consumable being the virtual consumable consumed by a virtual prop possessed by the first virtual object; and controlling the first virtual object to discard the first virtual consumable in response to a confirmation operation on the discard confirmation
However, as discussed in the claim interpretation section at the beginning of this action, this limitation merits no patentable weight, and cannot result in a patentable distinction over the prior art. For example, claim 1 does not require that a first trigger operation (corresponding to a discard operation) or a second trigger operation (corresponding to a “discard and mark”) operation be received (e.g., because claim 1 only requires “an interaction operations…comprising at least one of (i)…(ii)… or (iii)…”, and therefor may only comprise receiving a “request” operation). As such, the description of what interfaces are displayed during/after a discard operation cannot result in a patentable distinction over the prior art (e.g., because claim 1 does not require a discard operation be part of the method).
For the sake of expediting prosecution, Examiner notes that Pan (cited below) discloses this element (See Fig 5 and Fig 7 and Fig. 2)
With respect to claim 12, Alderman teaches the method of claim 2;
wherein the displaying the consumable option interface further comprises: displaying the consumable option interface in response to a fourth trigger operation on a consumable loading control, the consumable loading control being configured to trigger loading of a virtual consumable into a carried virtual prop (Fig 17 shows the consumable option interface in the top right is displayed in response to trigger operation (e.g., tap, click) on an ammo icon used to reload the ammo (virtual consumable) into a weapon (carried virtual prop), [0184]-[0185])
With respect to claim 13, Alderman teaches the method of claim 1;
wherein the consumable option interface contains consumable options corresponding to a plurality of virtual consumables, and a second consumable option corresponding to a second virtual consumable in the consumable option interface is displayed in a centralized manner (Fig 17 shows that the consumable option interface contains consumable options corresponding to a plurality of virtual consumables (see all the consumables in the central region) and a second consumable option corresponding to a second virtual consumable in the consumable option interface is displayed in a centralized manner (e.g., the one or more consumables in the central region of the screen), [0184]-[0185])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
v Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alderman et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2021/0031106, February 4, 2021 - hereinafter "Alderman”) view of Pan et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. WO2020/244415, October 10, 202 - hereinafter "Pan”)
With respect to claim 9, Alderman teaches the method of claim 1. Alderman does not appear to disclose,
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a quantity setting control, wherein the quantity setting control is configured to set an interaction quantity of the first virtual consumable; and determining a first quantity based on a set operation on the quantity setting control
However, Pan discloses
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a quantity setting control, wherein the quantity setting control is configured to set an interaction quantity of the first virtual consumable; and determining a first quantity based on a set operation on the quantity setting control (Fig 1B tag 171 and Fig 7 tags 111 and 112, see also Fig 11 tag 216)
Pan suggests it is advantageous to displaying a quantity setting control, wherein the quantity setting control is configured to set an interaction quantity of the first virtual consumable; and determining a first quantity based on a set operation on the quantity setting control, because doing so can provide the player with an ability to select an amount of a consumable (e.g., ammo) they desire to drop from their inventory, which increase player control, convenience, and satisfaction (Fig 1B tag 171 and Fig 7 tags 111 and 112, see also Fig 11 tag 216 and corresponding section in spec).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Anderson to include displaying a quantity setting control, wherein the quantity setting control is configured to set an interaction quantity of the first virtual consumable; and determining a first quantity based on a set operation on the quantity setting control, as taught by Pan, because doing so can provide the player with an ability to select an amount of a consumable (e.g., ammo) they desire to drop from their inventory, which increase player control, convenience, and satisfaction.
With respect to claim 10, Alderman teaches the method of claim 9. Alderman does not appear to disclose,
wherein the displaying the quantity setting control comprises: displaying the quantity setting control when an operation duration of the trigger operation on the first consumable option in the consumable option interface is greater than a duration threshold
Examiner notes this phrase comprises a condition “when” that is not required to be true, and therefore this limitation is given no patentable weighty.
Furthermore, Pan discloses
wherein the displaying the quantity setting control comprises: displaying the quantity setting control when an operation duration of the trigger operation on the first consumable option in the consumable option interface is greater than a duration threshold (Fig 1B tags 20 and 171 and Fig 7 tags 111 and 112, see also Fig 11 tag 216 and [0043]-[0045] in spec shows that the quantity setting control is displayed when an operation duration of the trigger operation on the first consumable option in the consumable option interface is greater than a duration threshold (press and hold)).
Pan suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the displaying the quantity setting control comprises: displaying the quantity setting control when an operation duration of the trigger operation on the first consumable option in the consumable option interface is greater than a duration threshold, because doing so can provide a convenient way to increase player control, convenience, and satisfaction (Fig 1B tags 20 and 171 and Fig 7 tags 111 and 112, see also Fig 11 tag 216 and corresponding section and [0043]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Anderson to include wherein the displaying the quantity setting control comprises: displaying the quantity setting control when an operation duration of the trigger operation on the first consumable option in the consumable option interface is greater than a duration threshold, as taught by Pan, because doing so can provide a convenient way to increase player control, convenience.
With respect to claim 11, Alderman teaches the method of claim 1. Alderman does not appear to disclose,
wherein the interaction operation is the discard operation or the discard and mark operation, and the method further comprises: when a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is greater than zero, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface; when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object possesses a virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface; or when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object does not possess the virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, removing the first consumable option from the consumable option interface
However, Pan discloses
wherein the interaction operation is the discard operation or the discard and mark operation, and the method further comprises: when a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is greater than zero, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface; when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object possesses a virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface; or when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object does not possess the virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, removing the first consumable option from the consumable option interface (Fig 1B tag 171 and Fig 7 tags 111 and 112, see also Fig 11 tag 216 shows that the interaction operation is the discard operation and the method further comprises: when a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is greater than zero, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface and when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object possesses a virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface)
Examiner notes that, as discussed in the “claim interpretation” section, the phrase when a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is greater than zero, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface; when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object possesses a virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface; or when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object does not possess the virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, removing the first consumable option from the consumable option interface merits no patentable weight and cannot result in a patentable distinction over the prior art due to the conditional “when” clauses.
Pan suggests it is advantageous to include wherein the interaction operation is the discard operation or the discard and mark operation, and the method further comprises: when a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is greater than zero, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface; when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object possesses a virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface; or when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object does not possess the virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, removing the first consumable option from the consumable option interface, because doing so can increase player control, convenience, and satisfaction (Fig 1B tag 171 and Fig 7 tags 111 and 112, see also Fig 11 tag 216 and corresponding section in spec).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Anderson to include wherein the interaction operation is the discard operation or the discard and mark operation, and the method further comprises: when a remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is greater than zero, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface; when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumable after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object possesses a virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, updating the first consumable option in the consumable option interface; or when the remaining quantity of the first virtual consumables after discarding is equal to zero and the first virtual object does not possess the virtual prop that consumes the first virtual consumable, removing the first consumable option from the consumable option interface, as taught by Pan, because doing so can increase player control, convenience, and satisfaction.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Kojima et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2020/0038755, February 6, 2020) teaches ) a discard and mark operation that is configured to discard the first virtual consumable in the virtual environment and mark a position of the first virtual consumable in the virtual environment ([0079] & [0101]-[0102] & [0115]-[0117] & [0131]-[0133])
Fung (U.S. PG Pub No. 2022/0080308, March 17, 2022) teaches a request operation that is configured to request the first virtual consumable from a second virtual object ([0038])
Kurlancheek et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 2013/0059663, March 7, 2013) teaches teammates players to share consumable resources with each other.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed
/JAMES M DETWEILER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621