DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 7/23/26. Claims 1 – 6, 8, 9, 12, 14 – 16, 18, and 19 have been amended. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the current application.
35 USC § 101
With respect to 101, the Examiner acknowledges that a practical application has been disclosed in paragraph 0013, regarding the customizing of hot zones in a game application, which adjusts the hot zones in a user interface. Therefore, the customization of hot zones recited in the current claims overcome step 2a by reciting a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (U.S. 2013/0288790) in view of Jeong et al. (U.S. 2017/0185212).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 16, Wang discloses a hot zone method, apparatus, and medium, (“The interactive game includes a virtual hot zone”, par. 0007), comprising displaying, by processing circuitry of a terminal, a hot zone interface of an application, (“The interactive game includes a virtual hot zone”, par. 0007), the hot zone being a touch control region, (“an interactive game controlling method for use in a touch panel device medium”, par. 0001), for executing a control function of a virtual character, (“players are required to control the character”, par. 0004), and the virtual character being configured to move in virtual world provided by the application, (“When the character controlled by the player encounters an enemy 83, the player, in the hope of aiming the enemy 83 as shown in FIG. 2, could use the visual angle controlling button 82 to change the visual angle until the enemy 83 enters the shooting area 84 in the center of the screen”, par. 0004), receiving user operation for a first hot zone, (“The interactive game includes a virtual hot zone, and an interactive program will be executed in response to a finger tapping on the virtual hot zone”, par. 0007), and executing the control function associated with the first hot zone based on a user touch operation, via the user control interface, (“The interactive game includes a virtual hot zone, and an interactive program will be executed in response to a finger tapping on the virtual hot zone”, par. 0007, wherein the Examiner views the interactive program including a virtual hot zone, being executed in response to a finger tapping as being equivalent executing a control function associated with a first hot zone based on a user touch operation).
Wang, as cited above, discloses a hot zone, however, Wang is silent on adjusting the hot zone. In a related art, Jeong discloses gaming device comprising a touch screen that a user operates to play a game using the touch screen, (“FIG. 12C depicts a situation where, while the user grips the electronic device 1200 with the left and right hands 1201 and 1203 to play a video game”, par. 0155 and fig. 12c), wherein Jeong further discloses adjusting a hot zone that includes a touch control region of the user control interface, including adjusting a parameter of the hot zone from the user, (“That is, it is possible to change the parameters 1530 and 1535 to thereby adjust the designated area for determining whether to store a down event. It is also possible to change thresholds related to the parameters 1540, 1550 and 1555 to adjust the criteria for determining whether a touch event is associated with gripping”, wherein the Examiner views changing the parameters to adjust the designated area as being equivalent to adjusting a hot zone, since a hot zone is defined as a touch control region for executing a control function of a virtual character, (See par. 0033 of Specification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the adjusting of a hot zone, (touch control region), of Jeong into the art disclosed by Wang in order to improve accessibility by allowing players to scale and move buttons to fit their respective grip and improve gaming performance by allowing players to reposition buttons closer to their natural positions which reduces reaction time.
Regarding claims 2, Wang, as cited above, discloses a hot zone, however, Wang is silent on adjusting the hot zone. In a related art, Jeong discloses gaming device comprising a touch screen that a user operates to play a game using the touch screen, (“FIG. 12C depicts a situation where, while the user grips the electronic device 1200 with the left and right hands 1201 and 1203 to play a video game”, par. 0155 and fig. 12c), wherein Jeong further discloses adjusting a hot zone that includes a touch control region of the user control interface, including adjusting a parameter of the hot zone from the user, (“That is, it is possible to change the parameters 1530 and 1535 to thereby adjust the designated area for determining whether to store a down event. It is also possible to change thresholds related to the parameters 1540, 1550 and 1555 to adjust the criteria for determining whether a touch event is associated with gripping”, wherein the Examiner views changing the parameters to adjust the designated area as being equivalent to adjusting a hot zone, since a hot zone is defined as a touch control region for executing a control function of a virtual character, (See par. 0033 of Specification).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein the first operation is the first user operation for the first hot zone, (“The interactive game includes a virtual hot zone, and an interactive program will be executed in response to a finger tapping on the virtual hot zone”, par. 0007), however, as stated above, Wang is silent on adjusting the hot zone. In a related art, Jeong discloses gaming device comprising a touch screen that a user operates to play a game using the touch screen, (“FIG. 12C depicts a situation where, while the user grips the electronic device 1200 with the left and right hands 1201 and 1203 to play a video game”, par. 0155 and fig. 12c), wherein Jeong further discloses adjusting a hot zone that includes a touch control region of the user control interface, including adjusting a parameter of the hot zone from the user, (“That is, it is possible to change the parameters 1530 and 1535 to thereby adjust the designated area for determining whether to store a down event. It is also possible to change thresholds related to the parameters 1540, 1550 and 1555 to adjust the criteria for determining whether a touch event is associated with gripping”, wherein the Examiner views changing the parameters to adjust the designated area as being equivalent to adjusting a hot zone, since a hot zone is defined as a touch control region for executing a control function of a virtual character, (See par. 0033 of Specification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the adjusting of a hot zone, (touch control region), of Jeong into the art disclosed by Wang in order to improve accessibility by allowing players to scale and move buttons to fit their respective grip and improve gaming performance by allowing players to reposition buttons closer to their natural positions which reduces reaction time.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the first operation is the first user operation for the first hot zone, (“The interactive game includes a virtual hot zone, and an interactive program will be executed in response to a finger tapping on the virtual hot zone”, par. 0007), however, as stated above, Wang is silent on adjusting the hot zone that includes switching. In a related art, Jeong discloses gaming device comprising a touch screen that a user operates to play a game using the touch screen, (“FIG. 12C depicts a situation where, while the user grips the electronic device 1200 with the left and right hands 1201 and 1203 to play a video game”, par. 0155 and fig. 12c), wherein Jeong further discloses adjusting a hot zone that includes a touch control region of the user control interface, including adjusting a parameter of the hot zone from the user, (“That is, it is possible to change the parameters 1530 and 1535 to thereby adjust the designated area for determining whether to store a down event. It is also possible to change thresholds related to the parameters 1540, 1550 and 1555 to adjust the criteria for determining whether a touch event is associated with gripping”, wherein the Examiner views changing the parameters to adjust the designated area as being equivalent to adjusting a hot zone, since a hot zone is defined as a touch control region for executing a control function of a virtual character, (See par. 0033 of Specification), that includes switching, (“it is possible to switch the screen displayed at position 1303 in accordance with the user's intention”, par. 0171).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the adjusting of a hot zone, (touch control region), of Jeong into the art disclosed by Wang in order to improve accessibility by allowing players to scale and move buttons to fit their respective grip and improve gaming performance by allowing players to reposition buttons closer to their natural positions which reduces reaction time.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses wherein the first operation is the first user operation for the first hot zone, (“The interactive game includes a virtual hot zone, and an interactive program will be executed in response to a finger tapping on the virtual hot zone”, par. 0007), however, as stated above, Wang is silent on adjusting the hot zone that includes changing a location parameter. In a related art, Jeong discloses gaming device comprising a touch screen that a user operates to play a game using the touch screen, (“FIG. 12C depicts a situation where, while the user grips the electronic device 1200 with the left and right hands 1201 and 1203 to play a video game”, par. 0155 and fig. 12c), wherein Jeong further discloses adjusting a hot zone that includes a touch control region of the user control interface, including adjusting a parameter of the hot zone from the user, (“That is, it is possible to change the parameters 1530 and 1535 to thereby adjust the designated area for determining whether to store a down event. It is also possible to change thresholds related to the parameters 1540, 1550 and 1555 to adjust the criteria for determining whether a touch event is associated with gripping”, wherein the Examiner views changing the parameters to adjust the designated area as being equivalent to adjusting a hot zone, since a hot zone is defined as a touch control region for executing a control function of a virtual character, (See par. 0033 of Specification), that includes changing a location parameter, (“it is possible to switch the screen displayed at position 1303 in accordance with the user's intention”, par. 0171, wherein the Examiner views switching the display screen position as meeting the claim limitation of changing a location parameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the adjusting of a hot zone, (touch control region), of Jeong into the art disclosed by Wang in order to improve accessibility by allowing players to scale and move buttons to fit their respective grip and improve gaming performance by allowing players to reposition buttons closer to their natural positions which reduces reaction time.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses wherein the first operation is the first user operation for the first hot zone, (“The interactive game includes a virtual hot zone, and an interactive program will be executed in response to a finger tapping on the virtual hot zone”, par. 0007), however, as stated above, Wang is silent on adjusting the hot zone that includes adjusting a size parameter. In a related art, Jeong discloses gaming device comprising a touch screen that a user operates to play a game using the touch screen, (“FIG. 12C depicts a situation where, while the user grips the electronic device 1200 with the left and right hands 1201 and 1203 to play a video game”, par. 0155 and fig. 12c), wherein Jeong further discloses adjusting a hot zone that includes a touch control region of the user control interface, including adjusting a parameter of the hot zone from the user, (“That is, it is possible to change the parameters 1530 and 1535 to thereby adjust the designated area for determining whether to store a down event. It is also possible to change thresholds related to the parameters 1540, 1550 and 1555 to adjust the criteria for determining whether a touch event is associated with gripping”, wherein the Examiner views changing the parameters to adjust the designated area as being equivalent to adjusting a hot zone, since a hot zone is defined as a touch control region for executing a control function of a virtual character, (See par. 0033 of Specification), that includes adjusting a size parameter, (“Touch input parameters may include dead zone width 1535 (for dead zone 1527), curved area width 1530 (for curved area 1520), and contact region size and difference between the major axis 1550 and minor axis 1555 of the contact region 1540 (for a touch event). That is, it is possible to change the parameters 1530 and 1535 to thereby adjust the designated area for determining whether to store a down event”, par. 0187).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the adjusting of a hot zone, (touch control region), of Jeong into the art disclosed by Wang in order to improve accessibility by allowing players to scale and move buttons to fit their respective grip and improve gaming performance by allowing players to reposition buttons closer to their natural positions which reduces reaction time.
Regarding claims 7, 13, and 17, Wang discloses displaying, based on historical touch behavior data of the terminal, a recommended hot zone on the hot zone adjustment interface of the application, (“ The processor device activates an interactive firearm firing program when the virtual shooting zone 13 senses the finger tapping and, therefore, receives a change in state of touch”, par. 0027, wherein the Examiner views the finger tapping as historical touch behavior).
Regarding claims 8, 14, and 18, Wang discloses generating the recommended hot zone by connecting a plurality of contact points with a frequency greater than a threshold, the historical touch behavior data including a touch region based on the plurality of contact points, (“The processor device activates an interactive firearm firing program when the virtual shooting zone 13 senses the finger tapping and, therefore, receives a change in state of touch”, par. 0027, wherein the Examiner views the shooting zone sensing finger tapping as being equivalent to a plurality of contact points).
Regarding claims 9, 15, and 19, Wang discloses generating the recommended hot zone by connecting historical touch points overlapping within a range greater than a threshold, the historical touch behavior data including the historical touch points, (“The processor device activates an interactive firearm firing program when the virtual shooting zone 13 senses the finger tapping and, therefore, receives a change in state of touch”, par. 0027 and fig. 1, wherein the Examiner views the shooting zone sensing finger tapping as being equivalent to connecting historical touch points).
Regarding claims 10, 11, and 20, Wang discloses obtaining a tilt angle and a tilt direction of the terminal; and displaying, based on the tilt angle and the tilt direction, at least one offset hot zone on the hot zone adjustment interface of the application, (“the virtual display range 12 is moved left-upwardly in an opposite direction of the vector”, par. 0026).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the 101 rejection of claims 1 - 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejection of claims 1 – 20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 102 rejection of claims 1 - 20 have been considered but are moot based new grounds of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/E.M.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/JUSTIN L MYHR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715