DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Papakos US 8605459.
Regarding claim 1, Papakos US 8605459 discloses (in Fig. 9) a rack (1800), comprising:
a plurality of trays (1801) mounted in the rack (1800) in a first orientation (horizontal orientation); and
a cable cartridge (1821) mounted in the rack (1800) in a second orientation (vertical orientation) perpendicular to the first orientation (horizontal orientation),
the cable cartridge (1821) comprising
connectors (connector not numbered of 1825) configured to connect to tray connectors (connectors of 1801) on respective sides of the plurality of trays (1801) and
(ii) cables (1825) connected to the connectors (connector not numbered of 1825) in the cable cartridge (1821) to facilitate communication between the plurality of trays (1801).
Regarding claim 7, Papakos discloses the rack of claim 1, wherein the plurality of trays (1801) and the cable cartridge (1805) are part of a first stack (top stack in Fig. 9) in the rack (1800), and
wherein the rack (1800) further comprises:
a second stack (bottom stack in Fig. 9), comprising:
a second plurality of trays (bottom 1801) mounted in the rack (1800); and
a second cable cartridge (bottom 1805) comprising
(i) connectors (connector not numbered of bottom 1825) configured to connect to tray connectors (connectors of bottom 1801) on respective sides of the second plurality of trays (bottom 1801) and
(ii) cables (bottom 1825) connected to the connectors (connector not numbered of bottom 1825) in the second cable cartridge (bottom 1805) to facilitate communication between the second plurality of trays (bottom 1801).
Claim(s) 1-6,11-12 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schubert US 20250261326.
Regarding claim 1, Schubert US 20250261326 discloses (in Fig. 3-4) a rack (300), comprising:
a plurality of trays (302/304) mounted in the rack (300) in a first orientation (horizontal orientation); and
a cable cartridge (306/406) mounted in the rack (300) in a second orientation (vertical orientation) perpendicular to the first orientation (horizontal orientation),
the cable cartridge (306/406) comprising
connectors (connectors of 306 shown not numbered in Fig. 3 numbered as 422 in Fig. 4) configured to connect to tray connectors (414 in Fig. 4) on respective sides of the plurality of trays (302/304) and
(ii) cables (cables of 306/406 shown not numbered in Fig. 3-4) connected to the connectors (connectors of 306 shown not numbered in Fig. 3 numbered as 422 in Fig. 4) in the cable cartridge (306/406) to facilitate communication between the plurality of trays (302/304).
Regarding claim 2, Schubert discloses the rack of claim 1, wherein the cable cartridge (306/406) is disposed on a first side of the rack (300), the rack (300) further comprising:
a second cable cartridge (other 306/406 in Fig. 3-4) disposed on a second side opposite the first side (as depicted in Fig. 3-4),
the second cable cartridge (other 306/406) comprising (i) connectors (connectors of other 306/406) configured to connect to tray connectors (414) on respective sides of the plurality of trays (302/304) and
(ii) cables (cables of other 306/406) connected to the connectors (connectors of other 306/406) in the second cable cartridge (other 306/406) to facilitate communication between the plurality of trays (302/304).
Regarding claim 3, Schubert discloses the rack of claim 2, wherein the cable cartridge (306/406) and the second cable cartridge (other 306/406) are slidable.
Regarding claim 4, Schubert discloses the rack of claim 3, wherein the cable cartridge (306/406), the second cable cartridge (other 306/406), and the plurality of the trays (302/304) can be slid out at a front side of the rack (300).
Regarding claim 5, Schubert discloses the rack of claim 1, wherein the plurality of trays comprises:
a first plurality of compute trays (302/34; 104 in Fig. 1a); and
at least one switch tray (102/112/113 in Fig. 1a see [0020]),
wherein the connectors of the cable cartridge (306/406) are configured to connect to the tray connectors of the plurality of compute trays (302/304; 104) and the tray connectors of the at least one switch tray (102/112/113 as depicted in Fig. 1a), and
the cables (cables of other 306/406) connected to the connectors in the cable cartridge (306/406) facilitate communication between the plurality of compute trays (302/304; 104) and the at least one switch tray (102/112/113 as depicted in Fig. 1a).
Regarding claim 6, Schubert discloses the rack of claim 5, further comprising:
a second plurality of compute trays (trays 304/104 located bellow 112/113 in Fig. 1a) disposed on a different side of the at least one switch tray (112/113) as the plurality of compute trays (trays 304/104 located above 112/113),
wherein the connectors of the cable cartridge (306/406) are configured to connect to the tray connectors of the second plurality of compute trays (trays 304/104 located bellow 112/113), and
the cables (cables of other 306/406) connected to the connectors in the cable cartridge (306/406) facilitate communication between the second plurality of compute trays (trays 304/104 located bellow 112/113) and the at least one switch tray (112/113).
Regarding claim 11, Schubert discloses the rack of claim 1, wherein the cable cartridge (306/406) has an inner side (inner side of 306/406) and an outer side (outer side of 306/406) and has a housing (housing of 306/406) in which the connectors (connectors of 306/406) and the cables (cables of 306/406) are disposed (as depicted in Fig. 3-4), and
wherein the connectors (connectors of 306/406) are arranged at the inner side (inner side of 306/406) and spaced from the outer side (outer side of 306/406) so as to define an outer volume in which the cables (cables of 306/406) travel to connect to respective pairs of the connectors (connectors of 306/406 as depicted in Fig. 3-4).
Regarding claim 12, Schubert US 20250261326 discloses (in Fig. 3-4) a system, comprising: a plurality of trays (302/304) slidably mounted in a rack (300); and
a cable cartridge (306/406) slidably mounted in the rack (300),
wherein the cable cartridge (306/406) is disposed between the plurality of trays (302/304) and a side of the rack (300),
the cable cartridge (300) comprising
(i) connectors (connectors of 306 shown not numbered in Fig. 3 numbered as 422 in Fig. 4) configured to connect to tray connectors (414 in Fig. 4) on respective sides of the plurality of trays (302/304) and
(ii) cables (cables of 306/406 shown not numbered in Fig. 3-4) to the connectors (422) in the cable cartridge (306/406) to facilitate communication between the plurality of trays (302/304).
Regarding claim 17, Schubert US 20250261326 discloses (in Fig. 3-4) a cable cartridge (306/406), comprising:
connectors (connectors of 306 shown not numbered in Fig. 3 numbered as 422 in Fig. 4) configured to connect to tray connectors (414 in Fig. 4) on respective sides of a plurality of trays (302/304) when the plurality of trays (302/304) and the cable cartridge (306/406) are mounted in a rack (300) in orthogonal orientations (as depicted in Fig. 3 and 4); and
cables (cables of 306/406 shown not numbered in Fig. 3-4) connected to the connectors (connectors of 306 shown not numbered in Fig. 3 numbered as 422 in Fig. 4) in the cable cartridge (306/406) to facilitate communication between the plurality of trays (302/304).
Regarding claim 18, Schubert discloses the cable cartridge of claim 17, wherein the cable cartridge (306/406) has
an inner side (inner side of 306/406 as depicted in Fig. 3 and 4) and
an outer side (outer side of 306/406 as depicted in Fig. 3 and 4) and has
a housing (housing of 306/406) in which the connectors (connectors of 306 shown not numbered in Fig. 3 numbered as 422 in Fig. 4) and the cables (cables of 306/406 shown not numbered in Fig. 3-4) are disposed (as depicted in Fig. 3 and 4), and
wherein the connectors (connectors of 306 shown not numbered in Fig. 3 numbered as 422 in Fig. 4) are arranged at the inner side (inner side of 306/406 as depicted in Fig. 3 and 4) and spaced from the outer side (outer side of 306/406 as depicted in Fig. 3 and 4) so as to define an outer volume in which the cables (cables of 306/406 shown not numbered in Fig. 3-4) travel,
at least in part,
to connect to respective pairs of the connectors (connectors of 306 shown not numbered in Fig. 3 numbered as 422 in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Schubert discloses the cable cartridge of claim 17, wherein the connectors (connectors of 306 shown not numbered in Fig. 3 numbered as 422 in Fig. 4) are arranged in a cross pattern (as depicted in Fig. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 20, Schubert discloses the cable cartridge of claim 17, wherein the cable cartridge (306/406) has a vertical orientation and the plurality of trays (302/304) each have a horizontal orientation when mounted in the rack (300 as depicted in Fig. 3-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1 and 7, a combination of limitations that “a stack-interconnecting cable cartridge disposed between the first stack and the second stack,
the stack-interconnecting cable cartridge comprising cables and connectors for connecting at least one of the plurality of trays in the first stack to at least one of second plurality of trays in the second stack”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “wherein the plurality of trays and the cable cartridge are part of a first stack in the rack, and
wherein the rack further comprises:
a second stack, comprising:
a second plurality of trays mounted on the rack; and
a second cable cartridge comprising (i) connectors configured to connect to tray connectors on respective sides of the second plurality of trays and
(ii) cables connected to the connectors in the second cable cartridge to facilitate communication between the second plurality of trays; and
at least two cable cartridges disposed between the plurality of trays in the first stack and the second plurality of trays in the second stack,
the at least two cable cartridges comprising cables and connectors for connecting at least one of the plurality of trays in the first stack to at least one of second plurality of trays in the second stack”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that “wherein the cable cartridge has a forward section and a rear section that are movable relative to one another”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 12, a combination of limitations that “wherein the plurality of trays and the cable cartridge are part of a first rack, and
wherein the system further comprises:
a second rack, comprising:
a second plurality of trays slidably mounted in the second rack; and a second cable cartridge slidably mounted in the second rack, the second cable cartridge comprising (i) connectors configured to connect to tray connectors on respective sides of the second plurality of trays and (ii) cables connected to the connectors in the second cable cartridge to facilitate communication between the second plurality of trays, wherein at least one tray of the plurality of trays is interconnected with at least one tray of the second plurality of trays”.
None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 14-16 depending from claim 13 would therefore also be allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Whitted US 6870095 Fig. 1; Lawrence US 11283248 Fig. 1-6 disclose a rack with a side mounted cable way.
/CHRISTOPHER L AUGUSTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841