DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feature wherein “the valve is biased into the first position”, as recited in claim 16, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, on lines 16-18, the recitation that the “sensor” is “to detect... a pressure level” is somewhat vague and unclear. When reading this recitation, one must ask, “to detect a pressure level of what”? As understood, in light of the specification, this recitation will be interpreted as “to detect... a pressure level of the fluid in the pipe insert”.
Further, regarding claim 1, the “wherein” clause on the last three lines of the claim regarding the valve moving from the open position to the closed position “when the sensor detects... the pressure level” is unclear and indefinite. The recitation, “the pressure level”, finds antecedent basis to “a pressure level” recited on lines 17-18 of the claim; and in that recitation, it can be assumed that the “sensor” detects any and all pressure levels within a range of undefined pressure levels, which could be virtually infinite. Thus, when reading the last three lines of claim 1, the claim can be interpreted in a manner whereby the valve moves from the open position to the closed position at any and all pressure levels detected by the “sensor”, which is both confusing and not consistent with the specification, as such an arrangement would essentially never allow fluid to flow through the insert, rendering the claimed “device” inoperable.
Regarding claim 2, it is noted that the last two lines of the claim again refer to “the pressure level”, and thus this claim is unclear for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the “wherein” clause on the last three lines of the claim regarding the valve moving from the open position to the closed position “when the sensor detects... the pressure level” is unclear and indefinite. The recitation, “the pressure level”, finds antecedent basis to “a pressure level” recited on lines 15-16 of the claim; and in that recitation, it can be assumed that the “sensor” detects any and all pressure levels within a range of undefined pressure levels, which could be virtually infinite. Thus, when reading the last three lines of claim 8, the claim can be interpreted in a manner whereby the valve moves from the open position to the closed position at any and all pressure levels detected by the “sensor”, which is both confusing and not consistent with the specification, as such an arrangement would essentially never allow fluid to flow through the insert, rendering the claimed “device” inoperable.
Regarding claim 9, it is noted that the last line of the claim again refers to “the pressure level”, and thus this claim is unclear for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 15, the “wherein” clause on the last three lines of the claim regarding the valve moving from the first position to the second position “when the sensor detects... the pressure level” is unclear and indefinite. The recitation, “the pressure level”, finds antecedent basis to “a pressure level” recited on lines 14-15 of the claim; and in that recitation, it can be assumed that the “sensor” detects any and all pressure levels within a range of undefined pressure levels, which could be virtually infinite. Thus, when reading the last three lines of claim 8, the claim can be interpreted in a manner whereby the valve moves from the first position to the second position at any and all pressure levels detected by the “sensor”, which is both confusing and not consistent with the specification, as such an arrangement would essentially never allow fluid to flow through the insert, rendering the claimed “device” inoperable.
Regarding claim 17, it is noted that the last line of the claim again refers to “the pressure level”, and thus this claim is unclear for the same reasons discussed above with respect to claim 15.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,964,176. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, as set forth below, the claims of the aforementioned patent essentially include (or at least imply) all of the elements and interrelated details of the device claimed in the instant application.
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, see patented claims 1, 8 and 15. It is noted that the alternatively recited stipulations of the instant application claims regarding the response of the “valve” to “one of” detection of the “target compound and the pressure level”, renders the scope of the instant application claims broader than the aforementioned patented claims; and with one of the two stipulations being met by the patented claims, the compared claims at hand are thus not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claims 2, 9 and 17, see patented claims 3, 10 and 17.
As to claims 3 and 10, while the exact recitations of the claims are not expressly matched with limitations recited in the patented claims, it is clearly implied that the upstream end of the fire control system recited in the patented claims is coupled to a local water supply, as evidenced by the recitations in each of patented claims 1, 8 and 15, regarding the “fire department connection” and the associated “building” at the “upstream end” of the “system” recited in the patented claims.
As to claims 4 and 11, see patented claims 1, 8 and 15.
As to claims 5, 12 and 18, see patented claims 5, 12 and 18.
As to claims 6, 13 and 19, see patented claims 6, 13 and 19.
As to claims 7, 14 and 20, see patented claims 7, 14 and 20.
As to claim 16, see patented claims 2, 9 and 16.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,330,002. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, as set forth below, the claims of the aforementioned patent essentially include (or at least imply) all of the elements and interrelated details of the device claimed in the instant application.
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, see patented claims 1, 8 and 15. It is noted that the alternatively recited stipulations of the instant application claims regarding the response of the “valve” to “one of” detection of the “target compound and the pressure level”, renders the scope of the instant application claims broader than the aforementioned patented claims; and with one of the two stipulations being met by the patented claims, the compared claims at hand are thus not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claims 2, 9 and 17, see patented claims 3, 10 and 17.
As to claims 3 and 10, while the exact recitations of the claims are not expressly matched with limitations recited in the patented claims, it is clearly implied that the upstream end of the fire control system recited in patented claim 1 is coupled to a local water supply, as evidenced by the recitations in patented claim 1, regarding the “fire control system” and the associated “building” at the “upstream end” of the “system” recited in the patented claim.
As to claims 4 and 11, while the exact recitations of the claims are not expressly matched with limitations recited in the patented claims, it is clearly implied that the upstream end of the fire control system recited in patented claim 1 is coupled to a fire department connection, as evidenced by the recitations in patented claim 1, regarding the “fire control system” and the associated “building” at the “upstream end” of the “system” recited in the patented claim. It should also be noted, Applicant’s own specification (see paragraph [0007]) clearly discloses that “building codes” require a “Fire Department Connection”, and thus for this reason, the limitations recited in claims 4 and 11 are also implicit from (at least) patented claim 1.
As to claims 5, 12 and 18, see patented claims 5, 12 and 18.
As to claims 6, 13 and 19, see patented claims 6, 13 and 19.
As to claims 7, 14 and 20, see patented claims 7, 14 and 20.
As to claim 16, see patented claims 2, 9 and 16.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/799,949 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, as set forth below, the claims of the aforementioned copending application essentially include all of the elements and interrelated details of the device claimed in the instant application.
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, see copending application claims 1, 8 and 15.
As to claims 2, 9 and 17, see copending application claim 18.
As to claims 3 and 10, see copending application claims 3 and 10.
As to claims 4 and 11, see copending application claims 4 and 11.
As to claims 5, 12 and 18, see copending application claims 5, 12 and 15.
As to claims 6, 13 and 19, see copending application claims 6, 13 and 19.
As to claims 7, 14 and 20, see copending application claims 7, 14 and 20.
As to claim 16, see copending claim 17.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 10, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seo et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0017577.
As to claim 1, Seo shows (see Fig. 1) and describes a protective device comprising: a pipe insert (100; and note that Seo expressly states “housing 101” of device “100” is “placed in a pipe” between upstream and downstream portions of the pipe, and supports “all components”, thus making “100” a pipe insert; see paragraph [0030]) disposed within a fire control system (see paragraphs [0002]-[0007], which implicitly and/or expressly discloses incorporation of the insert in a fire control system) between upstream and downstream ends of the fire control system; a valve (see discussion of “valve seat 102” in paragraphs [0030]-[0033] and [0044]-[0046]) within the pipe insert (see again, Fig. 1), the valve moveable between open and closed positions, wherein the open position opens the pipe insert, enabling transmission of a flow of fluid through the pipe insert, and the closed position occludes the pipe insert, disabling transmission of the flow of the fluid through the pipe insert to the downstream end of the fire control system; and a sensor (105) for disposition within the flow of the fluid to detect one of a target compound in the pipe insert and a pressure level of the fluid in the pipe insert; wherein the valve moves from the open position to the closed position when the sensor detects the one of the target compound and a particular pressure level (see paragraph [0046]). As to the preamble recitation, of the claimed device being a “protective device for preventing tampering with a fire control system in a building, the fire control system for transmission of a flow of a fluid from an upstream end of the fire control system to a downstream end of the fire control system at sprinklers within the building”, such is afforded, at best, limited patentable weight, because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951). However, it should also be noted that Seo implicitly and/or expressly discloses advantageous implementation of the protective device into water-based fire control systems having sprinklers in buildings (see, at least paragraphs [0002]-[0007]).
As to claim 3, as noted above, Seo implicitly and/or expressly discloses advantageous implementation of the protective device into water-based fire control systems having sprinklers in buildings (see, at least paragraphs [0002]-[0007]), including (at least) “high-rise buildings”, which implies that an upstream portion of the fire control system would be coupled to a local water supply.
As to claim 4, as noted above, Seo implicitly and/or expressly discloses advantageous implementation of the protective device into water-based fire control systems having sprinklers in buildings (see, at least paragraphs [0002]-[0007]), including (at least) “high-rise buildings”, which implies that an upstream portion of the fire control system would be coupled to a fire department connection, which Applicant expressly states in paragraph [0007] of the instant application is required by building codes.
As to claim 8, Seo shows (see Fig. 1) and describes a protective device comprising: a pipe insert (100; and note that Seo expressly states “housing 101” of device “100” is “placed in a pipe” between upstream and downstream portions of the pipe, and supports “all components”, thus making “100” a pipe insert; see paragraph [0030]) disposed within a pipe system between upstream and downstream ends of the pipe system; a valve (see discussion of “valve seat 102” in paragraphs [0030]-[0033] and [0044]-[0046]) within the pipe insert (see again, Fig. 1), the valve moveable between open and closed positions, wherein the open position opens the pipe insert, enabling transmission of a flow of fluid through the pipe insert, and the closed position occludes the pipe insert, disabling transmission of the flow of the fluid through the pipe insert; and a sensor (105) within the pipe insert for disposition within the flow of the fluid to detect one of a target compound and a pressure level in the pipe insert; wherein the valve moves from the open position to the closed position when the sensor detects the one of the target compound and a particular pressure level (see paragraph [0046]). As to the preamble recitation, of the claimed device being a “protective device for preventing tampering with a pipe system in a building, the pipe system for transmission of a flow of a fluid from an upstream end of the pipe system to a downstream end of the pipe system”, such is afforded, at best, limited patentable weight, because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951). However, it should also be noted that Seo implicitly and/or expressly discloses advantageous implementation of the protective device into water-based pipe systems, including (at least) water-based fire control systems in buildings (see, at least paragraphs [0002]-[0007]).
As to claim 10, as noted above, Seo implicitly and/or expressly discloses advantageous implementation of the protective device into water-based pipe systems, including (at least) fire control systems in buildings (see, at least paragraphs [0002]-[0007]), including (at least) “high-rise buildings”, which implies that an upstream portion of such a fire control system would be coupled to a local water supply.
As to claim 11, as noted above, Seo implicitly and/or expressly discloses advantageous implementation of the protective device into water-based pipe systems, including (at least) fire control systems in buildings (see, at least paragraphs [0002]-[0007]), including (at least) “high-rise buildings”, which implies that an upstream portion of such a fire control system would be coupled to a fire department connection, which Applicant expressly states in paragraph [0007] of the instant application is required by building codes.
As to claim 15, Seo shows (see Fig. 1) and describes a protective device comprising: a pipe insert (100; and note that Seo expressly states “housing 101” of device “100” is “placed in a pipe” between upstream and downstream portions of the pipe, and supports “all components”, thus making “100” a pipe insert; see paragraph [0030]) disposed within a pipe system between upstream and downstream ends of the pipe system; a valve (see discussion of “valve seat 102” in paragraphs [0030]-[0033] and [0044]-[0046]) within the pipe insert (see again, Fig. 1), the valve moveable between first and second positions, wherein the first position enables transmission of a flow of fluid through the pipe insert, and the second position disables transmission of the flow of the fluid through the pipe insert; and a sensor (105) for disposition within the flow of the fluid to detect one of a target compound in the pipe insert and a pressure level in the pipe system; wherein the valve moves from the first position to the second position when the sensor detects the one of the target compound and a particular pressure level (see paragraph [0046]). As to the preamble recitation, of the claimed device being a “protective device for preventing tampering with a pipe system in a building, the pipe system for transmission of a flow of a fluid from an upstream end of the pipe system to a downstream end of the pipe system”, such is afforded, at best, limited patentable weight, because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951). However, it should also be noted that Seo implicitly and/or expressly discloses advantageous implementation of the protective device into water-based pipe systems, including (at least) water-based fire control systems in buildings (see, at least paragraphs [0002]-[0007]).
Claims 8, 9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al., KR 20210026501 A (see the English-language translation of Cho et al. for specifically cited locations within the written description thereof, as discussed below)
As to claim 8, Cho shows (see Figs. 1-4) and describes a protective device comprising: a pipe insert (10) disposed within a pipe system (P, P’) between upstream and downstream ends of the pipe system; a valve (200, 300) within the pipe insert (see again, Figs. 1-4), the valve moveable between open (see Figs. 1 and 3) and closed positions (see Figs. 2 and 4), wherein the open position opens the pipe insert, enabling transmission of a flow of fluid (W) through the pipe insert, and the closed position occludes the pipe insert, disabling transmission of the flow of the fluid through the pipe insert; and a sensor (400 in Figs. 1 and 2; and 410, 420 in Figs. 3 and 4) within the pipe insert for disposition within the flow of the fluid to detect one of a target compound and a pressure level in the pipe insert (see the sixth paragraph on page 3; and see the fourth and fifth paragraphs on page 4); wherein the valve moves from the open position to the closed position when the sensor detects the one of the target compound and a particular pressure level (see the seventh paragraph on page 3; and see the sixth paragraph on page 4; and see the fourth paragraph on page 5). As to the preamble recitation, of the claimed device being a “protective device for preventing tampering with a pipe system in a building, the pipe system for transmission of a flow of a fluid from an upstream end of the pipe system to a downstream end of the pipe system”, such is afforded, at best, limited patentable weight, because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951). However, it should also be noted that Cho implicitly and/or expressly discloses advantageous implementation of the protective device into fluid-conveying pipe systems, including (at least) those which would be in buildings (see the first paragraph on page 2).
As to claim 9, the protective device of Cho, as shown in Figs. 3 and 4, includes a first sensor (410) upstream from the valve and a second sensor (420) downstream from the valve, wherein the valve moves from the open position to the closed position in response to either of the first or second sensors detecting the one of the target compound and the particular pressure level.
As to claim 15, Cho shows (see Figs. 1-4) and describes a protective device comprising: a pipe insert (10) disposed within a pipe system (P, P’) between upstream and downstream ends of the pipe system; a valve (200, 300) within the pipe insert (see again, Figs. 1-4), the valve moveable between first (see Figs. 1 and 3) and second positions (see Figs. 2 and 4), wherein the first position enables transmission of a flow of fluid (W) through the pipe insert, and the second position disables transmission of the flow of the fluid through the pipe insert; and a sensor (400 in Figs. 1 and 2; and 410, 420 in Figs. 3 and 4) for disposition within the flow of the fluid to detect one of a target compound in the pipe insert and a pressure level in the pipe system (see the sixth paragraph on page 3; and see the fourth and fifth paragraphs on page 4); wherein the valve moves from the first position to the second position when the sensor detects the one of the target compound and a particular pressure level (see the seventh paragraph on page 3; and see the sixth paragraph on page 4; and see the fourth paragraph on page 5). As to the preamble recitation, of the claimed device being a “protective device for preventing tampering with a pipe system in a building, the pipe system for transmission of a flow of a fluid from an upstream end of the pipe system to a downstream end of the pipe system”, such is afforded, at best, limited patentable weight, because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951). However, it should also be noted that Cho implicitly and/or expressly discloses advantageous implementation of the protective device into fluid-conveying pipe systems, including (at least) those which would be in buildings (see the first paragraph on page 2).
As to claim 16, portion “200” of the valve shown by Cho is described as being an “elastic member”, and thus it is reasonable to expect that the valve exhibits an amount of bias into the first position.
As to claim 17, the protective device of Cho, as shown in Figs. 3 and 4, includes a first sensor (410) upstream from the valve and a second sensor (420) downstream from the valve, wherein the valve moves from the open position to the closed position in response to either of the first or second sensors detecting the one of the target compound and the particular pressure level.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al., in view of Cho et al.
Regarding each of claims 2, 9 and 17, Seo shows all of the recited limitations as set forth in claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively. However, Seo shows and describes a single sensor, and is thus silent as to the sensor including a first sensor upstream from the valve and a second sensor downstream from the valve, wherein the valve moves from the open position to the closed position in response to either of the first or second sensors detecting the one of the target compound and the pressure level.
Cho (see Figs. 1-4) shows a protective device for a fluid-conveying pipe system having a similar design, function and effect as that of Seo; and Cho shows two different embodiments of the protective device, wherein a first thereof (see Figs. 1 and 2) includes a single pressure sensor (400), and wherein a second thereof (see Figs. 3 and 4) includes a first pressure sensor (410) upstream from the corresponding valve and a second pressure sensor (420) downstream from the corresponding valve. Cho expressly states that whether a pressure sensor is installed on one side, the other side, or both sides of the corresponding valve essentially matters very little, as in any instance, the pressure may be “quickly and accurately identified” (see the first paragraph on page 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the sensor of Seo, to include a first sensor upstream from the valve and a second sensor downstream from the valve, as functionally-equivalently taught by Cho, since including first and second sensors in the manner taught by Cho will still quickly and accurately identify fluid pressure flowing through the device, as similarly required by the Seo system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Pending a complete reply (as discussed above in paragraph 5 of the instant Office action), including a timely-filed terminal disclaimer in response to the double patenting rejections set forth above in paragraphs 6-8 of the instant Office action, claims 5-7, 12-14 and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patents to McHugh and Harriss, US Patent Application Publications to Johnson and Klicpera, are cited as of interest.
/DARREN W GORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752