DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5 and 11-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 17, 2026. Applicants’ election without traverse of Claims 5 and 11-13 in the reply filed on August 17, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 6-10 are pending in the current application. Claims 5 and 11-13 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-4, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 8-9 recites “a functional part, provided on the through port and configured to allow a water flow passing through the functional part to have diverse water effects”, it is unclear on what the “functional part” actually does because “diverse water effects” is indefinite as there are no further explanation of what the water effects are. For purpose of examining “a functional part will be examined as one with the “through port” which allows water to pass through.
Claims 2-4, and 6-10 are hereby rejected due to dependency from rejected Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Farley (US 2024/03427423 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Farley teaches A shower column (dual-zone showerhead 10), comprising:
a water passing body (Fig. 3, manifold 16), wherein the water passing body comprises at least five water passing ports, the water passing ports are a water inlet (external inlet 20) , a through port (see annotated Fig. 6, internal outlet 42), a switching port (Fig. 3, external dial 38), and at least two water outlets (Fig. 3, first outlet 24, second outlet 26), the water inlet is in communication with the switching port via the through port, and the switching port (internal diverter 50) is in communication with the two water outlets(¶0043, “the internal diverter 50 may also be configured to be placed in a third position to allow this fluid flow between the internal inlet 44 and the first and second outlets 24, 26”);
a valve body (Fig. 3, ¶0035, the valve 18), provided on the switching port (internal diverter 50) and configured to select at least one of the water outlets to communicate with the water inlet (¶0043); and
a functional part, provided on the through port (internal outlet 42) and configured to allow a water flow passing through the functional part to have diverse water effects
Regarding Claim 2, Farley teaches the shower column according to claim 1, wherein the water passing body (Fig. 3, manifold 16) comprises five water passing ports, the water passing ports are the water inlet (external inlet 20), the through port (see annotated Fig. 6, internal outlet 42), the switching port (internal diverter 50), a first water outlet (first outlet 24), and a second water outlet (second outlet 26), the water inlet is connected to a water inlet arm (Fig. 3, ¶0031, “external inlet 20 configured to be fluidly connectable to a fluid source 22”), the through port is connected to the functional part, a switching valve unit (external dial 38) is provided on the switching port (internal diverter 50), the switching valve unit comprises the valve body (valve 18), the first water outlet (first outlet 24) is connected to a first water outlet unit (¶0031, fix sprayer 12), and the second water outlet (second outlet 26) is connected to a second water outlet unit (¶0031, handheld sprayer 14).
Regarding Claim 6, Farley teaches the shower column according to claim 1, wherein the functional part is a filter (Fig. 6, filter cartridge 40).
Regarding Claim 7, Farley teaches the shower column according to claim 6, wherein the filter comprises a filter body (Fig. 6, ¶0041, housing 54) and a filter connector (first seal 62) provided on the filter body (Fig. 6, ¶0041), the filter body has a cavity with an open end (Fig. 6, filter inlet 56), a filter core (filter cartridge 40) is arranged in the cavity (Fig. 6), the filter connector is connected to the open end of the filter body (Fig. 6, ¶0041, “the first seal 62 may be coupled to the housing 54 and configured to be engageable with the manifold when the housing 54… create a water-tight connection between the internal outlet 42 and the filter inlet 56”), and the filter connector is connected to the through port (Fig. 6 shows the first seal 62 is connected to the internal outlet 42)
Regarding Claim 8, Farley teaches the shower column according to claim 7, wherein inside the filter connector, there are a water inlet channel (Fig. 6, internal outlet 42) and a water outlet channel annularly surrounded outside the water inlet channel (Fig. 6, internal inlet 44), the water inlet channel and the water outlet channel are separated by an annular partition wall (see annotated Fig. 6, ¶0038, “the spacing between the internal cylindrical wall and radially outward wall may results in the internal inlet 44 having an annular configuration disposed about the internal outlet 42”), the water outlet channel is connected to an inner wall surface of the filter connector through a plurality of connecting walls (Fig. 6 shows the internal inlet 44 connected to multiple inner wall of the structure), the filter core is configured as a cylindrical structure that penetrates up and down (Fig. 6,¶0006, “shower filters are formed as cylindrical bodies having cylindrical filter cartridge formed therein”), the water inlet channel is in communication with an inner wall of the cylindrical structure (¶0040, “the filter cartridge 40 may include an internal flow path having an inlet segment 56 extending from the filter inlet and along the inner wall”), and the water outlet channel is in communication with a flow space between the filter core and the filter body (Fig. 6 shows the flow path to the internal inlet 44 between the inner cylindrical and the housing 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farley (US 2024/03427423 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Erath (EP 2940219 B1).
Regarding Claim 4, Farley teaches the shower column according to claim 3, wherein the water inlet is arranged at an inclined direction relative to the water passing body (see annotated Fig. 1), the first water outlet is provided on an upper end surface of the water passing body (Fig. 4 shows first outlet 24 is on the upper end of the manifold 16), the second water outlet is provided on a lower end surface of the water passing body (Fig.4 shows the second outlet 26 is on the lower end of the manifold 16), the through port is provided close to the water inlet (see annotated Fig. 6), and the switching port is provided between the through port and the first water outlet (see annotated Fig. 6).
Farley does not teach the first water outlet and the second water outlet to be arranged oppositely, and the water inlet is arranged away from the two water outlets.
Erath teaches the first water outlet (Fig. 1, first fluid outlet connection 2) and the second water outlet (Fig. 1, second fluid outlet connection 3) to be arranged oppositely, and the water inlet (Fig. 1, fluid inlet channel 21) is arranged away from the two water outlets (Description, “two connections lying opposite one another serve as outlets and two connections lying perpendicularly opposite one another serve as inlets for cold water or hot water”).
Farley and Erath are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of shower manifold. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Farley’s arrangement of the water outlets and inlet as disclosed by Erath in order to offer a compact design with high ease of use and further improve what is well known in the art (Erath Description)
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farley (US 2024/03427423 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanner (WO 2009/033048 A2).
Regarding Claim 3, Farley teaches the shower column according to claim 1, wherein the water passing body has a regular outer shape (Fig. 3, manifold 16), the water passing body is provided with five interface portions protruding outward (Fig. 3 shows each of the interface protruding outward), the water inlet (external inlet 20), the through port (see annotated Fig. 6), the switching port (internal diverter 50), the first water outlet (first outlet 24), and the second water outlet (second outlet 26) are provided on the interface portions, respectively (¶0031).
Farley does not teach the shower column according to claim 1, wherein the water passing body is made of a plastic material;
the water passing body comprises an upper body and a lower body, the upper body and the lower body are formed into one piece by welding;
Tanner teaches the shower column according to Claim 1, wherein the water passing body is made of plastic material;
the water passing body comprises an upper body (upper body 41) and a lower body (lower body 42), the upper body and the lower body are formed into one piece by welding (Fig. 1, ¶0080, “the upper and lower bodies 41 and 42 may be connected to each other using a variety of conventional components and methods, including by not limited to… heat seal, welds (e.g., sonic welds, solvent welds)”; ¶0081, “Exemplary materials that the first and second inner cores may be fabricated from include, but are not limited to,… semi-to-rigid plastics”, Tanner does not explicitly teach the passing body is made of plastic, however components that connects and joined to the upper and lower body 41, 42 can be made with plastic, as well as the parts can also be welded together which further implies that the upper and lower body is made of plastic).
Farley and Tanner are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of water splitter for filtering purposes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of Farley to be made of a plastic material as disclosed by Tanner because doing so would create a pressure vessel with a fluid flow path from unfiltered water outlet to filtered water channel (Tanner ¶0080).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farley (US 2024/03427423 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (CN 1751158 A).
Regarding Claim 10, Farley teaches the shower column according to claim 7.
Farley does not teach an outer wall surface of the filter connector is provided with a plurality of inclined portions, a plurality of receiving portions below the inclined portions, and a plurality of transition portions between the inclined portions and the receiving portions, and the transition portion is in communication with the receiving portion; an engaging portion corresponding to the receiving portion is provided on an inner wall of the through port, and the engaging portion enters from the transition portion and is guided by the inclined portion to enter and be engaged with the receiving portion
Kim et al. teaches an outer wall surface of the filter connector (Fig. 1, fixing member 70) is provided with a plurality of inclined portions (Fig. 4, inclined guide groove 71c), a plurality of receiving portions (Fig. 4, the connecting parts 75) below the inclined portions, and a plurality of transition portions (insertion portion 73) between the inclined portions and the receiving portions (Fig. 4), and the transition portion is in communication with the receiving portion (Fig. 4 shows the connecting part 75 and insertion portion 73 are linked together); an engaging portion (receiving part 80) corresponding to the receiving portion (connecting parts 75) is provided on an inner wall of the through port, and the engaging portion enters from the transition portion and is guided by the inclined portion to enter and be engaged with the receiving portion (Fig. 4, “receiving part 80 and drainage adjusting part 77 of the connecting part 75 can be detachably connected”).
Farley and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of filter adapting components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Farley’s connecting portion of the through port to utilize a different type of connector as taught by Kim to provide easy access to the filter component.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farley (US 2024/03427423 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Sharratt (US 20160236118 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Farley teaches the shower column according to claim 8, wherein the through port (internal outlet 42) is internally provided with a connector (first seal 62), a partition wall is provided inside the connector (Fig. 6, ¶0038, “the internal outlet 42 of the manifold 16 is defined by an internal cylindrical wall”).
Farley does not teach the partition wall divides the interior of the connector into two circulation parts, and the two circulation parts are in communication with the water inlet channel and the water outlet channel, respectively.
Sharratt teaches the partition wall (¶0139, baffle member 4600) divides the interior of the connector into two circulation parts, and the two circulation parts are in communication with the water inlet channel and the water outlet channel (Fig. 34, ¶0139, “the first baffle 4620 directs water passing through the first inlet port 4572a… from the second outlet port 4564a”), respectively.
Farley and Sharratt are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of filter cartridge assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the connector of Farley by incorporating the partition wall to divide the interior of said connector as disclosed by Sharratt in order to provide a more circuitous and longer water flow path for enhanced filtering/purification for unfiltered water entering the filter cartridge (Sharratt, ¶0139).
Conclusion
/A.H.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1773 /EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773