DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Malaysia on 6/24/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the PI2023003832 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “anterior-posterior horizontal beam” recited in Claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Please note: it appears that the applicant is referring to element 12 (“horizontal beam”)
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “the frame” which renders the claims indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, the claim attempts to describe a walker frame by listing components, one of which is the frame itself. A device cannot be defined recursively. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be treated as reciting “an anterior-posterior horizontal beam with one end attached to a main frame” (emphasis added).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fulkerson in US Patent 12226363.
Regarding Claim 1, Fulkerson teaches a walking frame comprising: an anterior-posterior horizontal beam (94) with one end attached to a main frame (59), and the other end attached to a seat (140), and a backrest comprising two side brackets (16/16’) that can be open (Fig. 1) or closed (Fig. 4) by rotating means (100/110).
Regarding Claim 2, Fulkerson teaches that the walking frame is in a cantilever configuration (the seat is cantilevered from the main frame in the same manner as the applicant’s).
Regarding Claim 3, Fulkerson teaches that the walking frame is wheeled (35/35’/37/37’).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mulholland in US Patent 7275554.
Regarding Claim 1, Mulholland teaches a walking frame comprising: an anterior-posterior horizontal beam (64) with one end attached to a main frame (12), and the other end attached to a seat (62), and a backrest comprising two side brackets (52/54) that can be open (see arrows G/H in Fig. 5) or closed (Fig. 1) by rotating means (57/59).
Regarding Claim 2, Mulholland teaches that the walking frame is in a cantilever configuration (the seat is cantilevered from the main frame in the same manner as the applicant’s).
Regarding Claim 3, Mulholland teaches that the walking frame is wheeled (36).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Duke, Moore et al., Marchetti, Li, Karlsson, Palmer et al., Fawcett et al., and Motloch teach walker frames with seats.
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636