DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The status of the claim(s) is as follows:
Claims 1-7 and 9 have been amended,
Claim 8 was previously presented, and
Claims 10-15 were added,
Therefore, claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (11,150,701) in view of Ashley et al (9,241,053).
As to claim 1, Zhang discloses a protective case (101, 107) for a portable computing device (110), comprising a plurality of generally concentric rings (201) as shown in above annotation) of openings configured clustered around each corner on a screen side and/or on a body side (as shown in Figure 1, the cluster rings are form on the screen side, which is the screen of the laptop, and also on the body side which is the keyboard portion of the laptop), the concentric rings are configured to cluster around and adhere to an overall curvature of an edge region of each corner on the screen side and/or on the body side (Figure 5 shows the screen side and Figure 8 shows the body side);each ring further comprises a preset shape and size arranged along its circumference with a preset spacing from one another, and the openings from adjacent rings are configured in a staggered manner (as shown in Figure 5 above, each of the corner with cluster of concentric rings are staggered to each other). However, Zhang does not specifically disclose that each ring comprises a plurality of openings (Zhang teaches the outer ring with two or three openings, but the inner ring only have one opening).
Ashley discloses a protective case (1) for a portable computing device (3), comprising a plurality of generally concentric rings of openings configured around each corner (as shown in Figure 1, the openings are all around the periphery of the protective case, therefore, the specific embodiment shows multiple smaller circular openings form around the periphery of the protective case) each ring further comprises a plurality of openings (Figure 17 above), with a preset shape and size, arranged along its circumference with a preset spacing from one another; and the openings from adjacent rings are configured in a staggered manner (as shown in Figure 17 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each ring of Zhang with plurality of openings as taught by Ashley in order to provide sufficient resiliency to the each corner portion as additional openings at the corner provide greater resilient when impact with force.
As to claims 2-3, Zhang as modified further discloses at least two rings of openings are configured cluster around each corner of the case (Figure 5 above) and configured in an in-line manner (as modified and shown in Figure 5 above, the plurality of openings in the ring are in in-line manner).
As to claim 4, Zhang as modified further discloses that the openings are elongated shaped. But does not disclose that the shape, size, and spacing for openings from adjacent rings are configure independently from one another. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the openings of Zhang so the shape, size and spacing of the adjacent openings are independently from one another because the selection of the specific shape, size and spacing such as disclosed by Zhang or as claimed would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well.
As to claim 10, Zhang discloses a protective case (101, 107) for a portable computing device (110), comprising a first protective layer (101) to enclose and to capture a first portion of a body (the screen portion of the laptop computer as shown in Figure 9) and a first portion of a perimeter of the foldable computing device (Figure 9), a second protective layer (107) to enclose and to capture a second portion of a body (keyboard portion of the laptop computer as shown in Figure 9) and a second portion of a perimeter of the foldable computing device, a plurality of generally concentric rings (201) as shown in above annotation) of openings configured clustered around each corner on a screen side and/or on a body side (as shown in Figure 1, the cluster rings are form on the screen side, which is the screen of the laptop, and also on the body side which is the keyboard portion of the laptop), the concentric rings are configured to cluster around and adhere to an overall curvature of an edge region of each corner on the screen side and/or on the body side (Figure 5 shows the screen side and Figure 8 shows the body side);each ring further comprises a preset shape and size arranged along its circumference with a preset spacing from one another, and the openings from adjacent rings are configured in a staggered manner (as shown in Figure 5 above, each of the corner with cluster of concentric rings are staggered to each other). However, Zhang does not specifically disclose that each ring comprises a plurality of openings (Zhang teaches the outer ring with two or three openings, but the inner ring only have one opening).
Ashley discloses a protective case (1) for a portable computing device (3), comprising a plurality of generally concentric rings of openings configured around each corner (as shown in Figure 1, the openings are all around the periphery of the protective case, therefore, the specific embodiment shows multiple smaller circular openings form around the periphery of the protective case) each ring further comprises a plurality of openings (Figure 17 above), with a preset shape and size, arranged along its circumference with a preset spacing from one another; and the openings from adjacent rings are configured in a staggered manner (as shown in Figure 17 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each ring of Zhang with plurality of openings as taught by Ashley in order to provide sufficient resiliency to the each corner portion as additional openings at the corner provide greater resilient when impact with force.
As to claims 11-12, Zhang as modified further discloses at least two rings of openings are configured cluster around each corner of the case (Figure 5 above) and configured in an in-line manner (as modified and shown in Figure 5 above, the plurality of openings in the ring are in in-line manner).
As to claim 13, Zhang as modified further discloses that the openings are elongated shaped. But does not disclose that the shape, size, and spacing for openings from adjacent rings are configure independently from one another. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the openings of Zhang so the shape, size and spacing of the adjacent openings are independently from one another because the selection of the specific shape, size and spacing such as disclosed by Zhang or as claimed would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well.
Claims 5-9 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (11,150,701) in view of Ashley et al (9,241,053) and Lindley (2,727,738).
As to claim 5, Zhang discloses a protective case (101, 107) for a portable computing device (110), comprising a plurality of generally concentric rings (201) as shown in above annotation) of openings configured clustered around each corner on a screen side and/or on a body side (as shown in Figure 1, the cluster rings are form on the screen side, which is the screen of the laptop, and also on the body side which is the keyboard portion of the laptop), the concentric rings are configured to cluster around and adhere to an overall curvature of an edge region of each corner on the screen side and/or on the body side (Figure 5 shows the screen side and Figure 8 shows the body side);each ring further comprises a preset shape and size arranged along its circumference with a preset spacing from one another, and the openings from adjacent rings are configured in a staggered manner (as shown in Figure 5 above, each of the corner with cluster of concentric rings are staggered to each other).
However, Zhang does not specifically disclose that each ring comprises a plurality of openings (Zhang teaches the outer ring with two or three openings, but the inner ring only have one opening) and does not disclose a plurality of openings, with a preset shape, size, and spacing, configured in a staggered manner along at least one straight edge of the case.
Ashley discloses a protective case (1) for a portable computing device (3), comprising a plurality of generally concentric rings of openings configured around each corner (as shown in Figure 1, the openings are all around the periphery of the protective case, therefore, the specific embodiment shows multiple smaller circular openings form around the periphery of the protective case) each ring further comprises a plurality of openings (Figure 17 above), with a preset shape and size, arranged along its circumference with a preset spacing from one another; and the openings from adjacent rings are configured in a staggered manner (as shown in Figure 17 above), Ashley further discloses a plurality of openings, with a preset shape, size and spacing, configured in an aligned matter along the at least one straight edge of the case (Figure 17 above). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each ring of Zhang with plurality of openings as taught by Ashley in order to provide sufficient resiliency to the each corner portion as additional openings at the corner provide greater resilient when impact with force. It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side wall of Zhang with plurality of openings along the side wall portion of the case as taught by Ashley in order to provide additional protection to the side wall portion of the portable computing device.
With regarding to the plurality of opening at least one straight edge of the case are configured in a staggered manner. Lindley discloses a shock mount (10), the shock mount comprises plurality of openings (15) and the openings are all in staggered manner (Figures 1, 3, 4, are all in staggered manner). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify plurality of opening at the straight edge of Zhang as modified with staggered opening as taught by Lindley so the distance between each openings are uniform throughout the rows to evenly distribute the impact force between the spacing of each openings. Furthermore, the staggered manner makes the protector width more compact and narrow which reduce the overall width of the side suspension section.
As to claims 6-7, Zhang as modified further discloses at least two rings of openings are configured cluster around each corner of the case (Figure 5 above) and configured in an in-line manner (as modified and shown in Figure 5 above, the plurality of openings in the ring are in in-line manner) and the openings along the straight edge of the case are configured in an in-line manner (as taught by Ashley in above Figure 17).
As to claim 9, Zhang as modified further discloses that the openings are elongated shaped and Lindley also teaches that the openings are different shape and orientations. But does not disclose that the shape, size, and spacing for openings from adjacent rings are configure independently from one another. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the openings of Zhang as modified so the shape, size and spacing of the adjacent openings are independently from one another because the selection of the specific shape, size and spacing such as disclosed by Zhang or as claimed would have been an obvious matter of design choice inasmuch as the resultant structures will work equally well.
As to claims 14-15, Zhang as modified does not disclose a plurality of openings, with a preset shape, size, and spacing, configured in a staggered manner along at least one straight edge of the case and the openings along the straight edge of the case are configured in an in-line manner. Ashley further discloses a plurality of openings, with a preset shape, size and spacing, configured in an aligned matter along the at least one straight edge of the case (Figure 17 above) and the openings along the straight edge of the case are configured in an in-line manner. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side wall of Zhang with plurality of openings along the side wall portion of the case as taught by Ashley in order to provide additional protection to the side wall portion of the portable computing device.
With regarding to the plurality of opening at least one straight edge of the case are configured in a staggered manner. Lindley discloses a shock mount (10), the shock mount comprises plurality of openings (15) and the openings are all in staggered manner (Figures 1, 3, 4, are all in staggered manner). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify plurality of opening at the straight edge of Zhang as modified with staggered opening as taught by Lindley so the distance between each openings are uniform throughout the rows to evenly distribute the impact force between the spacing of each openings. Furthermore, the staggered manner makes the protector width more compact and narrow which reduce the overall width of the side suspension section.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN HOI CHEUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736