DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 2021115807564, filed on December 22, 2021.
Status of Claims
Amendments to claims 1 – 2, 10 – 17 and 19 – 20 have been entered.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending.
Response to Remarks
Regarding Applicant’s first point, nothing in the language of the independent proscribes either one of the transmit power or receive gain being kept constant. In other words, nothing in the claims require that each and every variable of the claimed value must change (emphasis added).
Regarding Applicant’s second point, the specific first product is inherently derived from the signal-to-noise equation that Examiner previously discussed in the 102 rejection below from which radar detection is based on in part as well as other things such as Doppler filtering. The Examiner is unaware as to how else an expected probability of detection and/or a false alarm probability rate is determined without using the signal-to-noise equation.
Also, Frank discloses “The RD map image is processed by the data pre-processing module to determine whether to adjust the transmit power and improve detection and identification of short range targets (306) (Para. 34). As such, Frank considers already detected targets when changing parameters of the transceiver in order to improve detection. The range-Doppler maps in Fig. 7 shows detections from which the adjustments in Para. 34 of Frank is made. Again, the claim language does not require that each variable of the claimed value must change.
Regarding Applicant’s third point, terms such as systems, devices, modules, units do not have as narrow a meaning as specific terms such as transmitter, receiver, transceiver, RF frontend. Frank shows several different devices in Figure 2; in fact, every item in Fig. 2 is a device. It is not entirely clear to the Examiner as to whether Figures 3 – 4 show a monostatic or bistatic setup. The boxes are separate thus making the Examiner inclined to think bistatic, but then again, both the transmit and receive boxes have the term “end device” thus making the Examiner inclined to think said end devices are part of a transceiver, e.g., monostatic. Applicant’s Fig. 1 shows two terminals, but the term terminal is not claimed. Any question as to scope and/or meaning of a claim can be readily resolved because “applicants may amend claims to narrow their scope, a broad construction during prosecution creates no unfairness to the applicant or patentee.” In re ICON Health and Fitness, Inc., 496 F.3d 1374, 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (citing In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
Regarding Applicant’s fourth point, the only difference regarding Franks equation 1 is that you substitute algebraically receive gain for antenna aperture and account for gain being a function of angle and beamwidth as discussed in the 102 rejection below. Equation 1 is simply a macro-overview of how detection probability works. The fact that Frank discloses beamforming as discussed below in the 102 rejection shows that the transmit and receive antenna gains are accounted for.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 – 10 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frank (US 20200103498 A1).
Examiner’s Note: A person of ordinary skill is very familiar with the signal-to-noise range equation given by SNR
=
P
G
1
4
π
R
2
σ
1
4
π
R
2
A
e
1
N
wherein SNR stands for signal-to-noise ratio, P is power, G is transmission antenna gain, R is range,
σ
is radar cross section (RCS), is the
A
e
is the effective area of the receive antenna and N is noise. Antenna gain is given by
G
=
4
π
A
e
λ
2
wherein
λ
is wavelength. Antenna Gain is a factor of angle with respect to cosine as evidenced by Haziza (US 20170155443 A1) Para. 37 “As a result, the transmit power of the phased array antenna system 116 is reduced to comply with the mask 30 (FIGS. 2A and 2B) which effectively limits the terminal's EIRP. Besides beam broadening, the antenna gain of the phased array antenna system 116 exhibits a cosine theta dependency, which results in a main lobe gain reduction (both absolute and relative to the sidelobes).” And, Eden (US 20020167445 A1) Fig. 4 Para. 57 “Of course, the G.sub.r=20 dBi broadside (.theta.=0.degree.) antenna gain will also fall off as (Cos(.theta.)).sup.1.4).”
As to claims 1 and 19 – 20, Jansson discloses the wireless sensing parameter determining method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first device, a first value of a first parameter corresponding to a first target, wherein the first device or a second device detects an echo signal of a signal sent at a first moment, to determine the first target (Para. 27 “detect a cyclist”); and
configuring, by the first device, a signal parameter of the first target according to the first value of the first parameter, wherein the signal parameter of the first target is used for indicating signal transmission and echo signal reception at a second moment (Para. 32 “Once a target is detected, the perception module 204 determines how to adjust the beam focus.” See also Para. 34 “The RD map image is processed by the data pre-processing module to determine whether to adjust the transmit power and improve detection and identification of short range targets (306).” See also Para. 35 “The RD map image is processed by the data pre-processing module 212 to determine whether to adjust the receiver gain and improve detection and identification of short range targets (406).” See also Para. 37 “Note that in either FIG. 3 or FIG. 4, a single transceiver parameter is adjusted to improve target detection and identification: the transmit power is adjusted in FIG. 3 and the receiver gain is adjusted in FIG. 4.” See also Figs. 5 – 6); and
the signal parameter comprises:
signal transmit power (Para. 17 Equation 1 shows transmit power. Para. 18 provides an example scenario of changing transmit power.),
a transmit end aperture gain (Para. 17 Equation 1 shows transmit gain. The adjustment of beam focus in Para. 32 would effect change in transmit gain because gain is function of beamwidth which is inversely proportional.),
a receive end aperture gain (Para. 17 Equation 1 shows receiver gain. Paras. 24 and 35 discuss changing receiver gain.),
a transmit beam pointing (Para. 20 “The signal is provided to the antenna system 206 through a coaxial cable or other connector and propagates through the antenna structure for transmission through the air via RF beams at a given phase, direction, and so on.”), and
a receive beam pointing (Id. Note that it would not make any sense to have the electronic transmit beams to look at a target and have the electronic beams to look away from target because the result would be an unseen target, thus both the electronically transmit and receive beams both look at the target as evidenced by Li (US 20150355313 A1) Figure 2 item 29 and claim 1.),
wherein the second moment is later than the first moment (Cited Paras. 18, 24, 32 and 35 disclose changes that indicate a later moment. See also Para. 22 “At the next scan, the transceiver 208 changes its transmit power to focus on short range targets.” See also Para. 34 “The RD map image is processed by the data pre-processing module to determine whether to adjust the transmit power and improve detection and identification of short range targets (306).”); and
a value of the first parameter is defined as
P
t
G
t
cos
θ
t
P
r
G
r
cos
θ
r
wherein Pr denotes the signal transmit power, and G, and Gr denote the transmit end aperture gain and the receive end aperture gain respectively; and 6t and 0r denote the transmit beam pointing and the receive beam pointing respectively (In addition to the already cited portions of Paras. 34, 35, 37 and Figs. 3 – 6, Frank’s Fig. 2 shows an antenna 208 and transceiver RF frontend 208 thus making the teachings of SNR and Antenna Gain, discussed supra, inherent. See also Para. 27 “at the instruction of its antenna controller 210, to focus additional RF beams at a given phase shift and direction within the portion of the FoV corresponding to the cyclist's location.” – beamforming.).
Examiner’s Comment: Relevant art including the optional second device feature includes Duan (US 20220095319 A1) Figs. 7 – 9. Also relevant, Li (US 20230184883 A1) Para. 214. Note that the claims do not dictate whether the receive end and transmit end are of the same entity or separate entities. As such, whether the claims are directed to a monostatic or bistatic system is a matter of interpretation under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard. The terms first and second devices is broad. The terms receive end and transmit end are not terms of art and could refer to a receive and/or transmit RF frontend.
As to claim 2, Frank discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by a first device, a first value of a first parameter corresponding to a first target comprises: determining, by the first device, the first value of the first parameter corresponding to the first target (Paras. 34, 35, 37 and Figs. 3 – 6 as cited and discussed in claim 1.); or obtaining, by the first device, the first value of the first parameter corresponding to the first target according to first parameter adjustment information sent by the second device, wherein the first parameter adjustment information comprises any one of the following: the first value of the first parameter; a ratio of the first value of the first parameter to a second value of the first parameter; or a difference between the first value of the first parameter and the second value of the first parameter, wherein the second value of the first parameter is determined based on a signal parameter corresponding to signal transmission and a signal parameter corresponding to echo signal reception at the first moment.
As to claim 3, Frank discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the first device is a transmit end device (Fig. 2 item 208 a transceiver would have receive RF frontend electronics as well as transmit RF frontend electronics.), the method further comprises: sending, by the transmit end device to a receive end device, the receive end aperture gain and the receive beam pointing that indicate the echo signal reception at the second moment (Paras. 34, 35, 37 and Figs. 3 – 6. See also Para. 15 “In various examples, radar 102 has an analog beamforming antenna that radiates dynamically controllable and highly-directive RF beams. The RF beams reflect off of targets in the vehicle's path and surrounding environment and the RF reflections are received by the radar 102 for target detection and identification.” See also Para. 16 “The phase of each beam is controlled by Phase Control Elements (“PCEs”) in the analog beamforming antenna in radar 102.”).
As to claim 4, Frank discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the first device is a receive end device (Fig. 2 item 208 a transceiver would have receive RF frontend electronics as well as transmit RF frontend electronics.), the method further comprises: sending, by the receive end device to a transmit end device, the signal transmit power, the transmit end aperture gain, and the transmit beam pointing that indicate the signal transmission at the second moment (Paras. 34, 35, 37 and Figs. 3 – 6 as cited and discussed in claim 1.).
As to claim 5, Frank discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the first device is a sensing function network element (Fig. 2 item 204), the method further comprises: sending, by the sensing function network element to a transmit end device, the signal transmit power, the transmit end aperture gain, and the transmit beam pointing that indicate the signal transmission at the second moment, and sending, to a receive end device, the receive end aperture gain and the receive beam pointing that indicate the echo signal reception at the second moment (Paras. 34, 35, 37 and Figs. 3 – 6 as cited and discussed in claim 1.).
As to claim 6, Frank discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the first device is a transmit end device (Fig. 2 item 208), the method further comprises: sending, by the transmit end device, the signal according to the signal transmit power, the transmit end aperture gain, and the transmit beam pointing (Paras. 34, 35, 37 and Figs. 3 – 6 as cited and discussed in claim 1).
As to claim 7, Frank discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the first device is a receive end device (Fig. 2 item 208), the method further comprises: receiving, by the receive end device, the echo signal according to the receive end aperture gain and the receive beam pointing (Paras. 34, 35, 37 and Figs. 3 – 6 as cited and discussed in claim 1).
As to claim 8, Frank discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining, by the first device, the first value of the first parameter corresponding to the first target comprises: determining, by the first device, the first value of the first parameter according to echo signal quality of the first target at the first moment (Paras. 34, 35, 37 and Figs. 3 – 6 as cited and discussed in claim 1); or determining, by the first device, the first value of the first parameter according to a predicted distance value of the first target at the second moment and echo signal quality of the first target at the first moment.
As to claim 9, Frank discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the echo signal quality of the first target comprises at least one of the following: power of the echo signal of the first target (Para. 37 “either parameter may be adjusted interchangeably depending on the strength of the received RF beams from targets at short and long ranges.”); a signal to noise ratio of the echo signal of the first target; a signal-to-noise plus interference ratio of the echo signal of the first target; reference signal received power of the echo signal of the first target; or reference signal received quality of the echo signal of the first target.
As to claim 10, Frank discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the determining, by the first device, the first value of the first parameter according to echo signal quality of the first target at the first moment comprises: determining the first value of the first parameter according to the second value of the first parameter, the echo signal quality of the first target at the first moment (Para. 18 “radar 102 therefore adapts its transceiver parameters such as transmit power and receiver gain to address this inherent near-far problem of radar detection. The adaptation performed ensures proper detection and identification of both short range and long range targets.” See also Para. 39 “In image 706, the transmit power or the receiver gain has been lowered to better detect and identify all targets in short ranges in such a way that strong reflectors in short ranges do not mask weak reflectors.” Here, power and gain are both taken into consideration to determine parameters.), and first preset echo quality in a case that the echo signal quality of the first target is maintained near the first preset echo quality (contingent limitation.); or determining the first value of the first parameter according to the second value of the first parameter, the echo signal quality of the first target at the first moment, and a first echo quality range in a case that the echo signal quality of the first target is maintained in the first echo quality range, wherein the second value of the first parameter is determined based on a signal parameter corresponding to signal transmission and a signal parameter corresponding to echo signal reception at the first moment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 – 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach all of the claimed limitations of claims 11 – 18. The equations of claims 11 – 12 are not taught by the primary reference and the Examiner does not know of a reason to modify. The preamble of claim 13 requires the contingent limitation of claim 13, which is not taught by primary reference and the Examiner does not know of a reason to modify. At least the lower limit of the receive and transmit ends of claim of claim 16 are not taught. Dependent claims 14 – 15 and 17 – 18 are allowable/objected for being dependent on an allowed/objected base claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W JUSTICE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648