DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they are directed to a computer program per se (Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. at 72). Specifically, Applicant directly claims an “application”, which the specification, in paragraph 19, describes as “an application preferably in the form of computer software available for use, via download or otherwise on a mobile device. The application may also be in the form of a desktop application or a non-downloadable software as a service application.” A claim that covers both statutory and non-statutory embodiments (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim when read in light of the specification and in view of one skilled in the art) embraces subject matter that is not eligible for patent protection and therefore is directed to non-statutory subject matter (see: MPEP, Chapter 2106, Section I, “The Four Categories of Statutory Subject Matter”).
Claims 2-11 depend from and incorporate the specifically rejected claims above while failing to remedy the limitations shown as non-statutory; therefore, they are rejected here for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As per claim 1, it teachings a first user portal that is to receive “a personalized report”, but the second user portal teaches “a report”/“the report”, which is shared with the first user, and it is unclear as to if the shared “report” is meant to be the received “personalized report”.
As per claim 12, the claim teaches two limitations that are labeled “a)”, and it is unclear as to if these are meant to be the same or separate limitations, or if they are missing limitations.
As per claim 13, the claim teaches “the diagnosis report”, but there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As per claims 17-18, which each respectively depend from claim 13, the claims teach “the report”, but it is unclear as to if this is in reference to the “the diagnosis report” of claim 13 or the “report” from parent claim 12.
As per claim 19, the claim teaches two limitations that are labeled “c)” and includes no “a)” limitation, and it is unclear as to if the “c)” limitations are meant to be the same or separate limitations, and it is unclear as to if there is a missing “a)” limitation.
Claims 2-11 and 14-16 depend from and incorporate the specifically rejected claims above while failing to remedy the limitations shown as indefinite; therefore, they are rejected here for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0091743 to Engman in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0335403 to Mabotuwana further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0406423 to Stinnett.
As per claim 1, Engman teaches an application for improving the quality and speed of review and interaction with data, comprising:
a) a first user portal, the first user portal configured to (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 110, 112; and paragraph 50, 57, 68, 70-71, and 125, is met by assistant device 110 including an assistant interface 112, where a mobile assistant device of the patient that runs a monitoring application enables access to a website and enables logging into a portal):
a. receive data from one or more third-party applications or devices (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 104; and paragraph 57, 60, 67, 70-71, and 74, is met by assistant device 110 configured to serve as intermediary device to transfer health data collected from medical monitoring device 104 worn by a patient 102);
b. receive data through manual user input (see: Engman, Fig. 5A-5B; and paragraph 20, 73, and 125-130, is met by supplemental information entered by the user such as symptoms, where the patient is requested to input symptoms into a mobile assistant device of the patient that runs a monitoring application, enables access to a website form, enables logging into a portal, to input the symptomatic information, where a user interface allows the patient to touch or click on a list of symptoms);
c. share data with a second user (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 120; Fig. 8, ele. 844, 846; and paragraph 57, 73, 120, and 169-170, is met by assistant device 110 configured to serve as intermediary device to transfer data to a data management module 122 of a remote computing device 120, where the data includes the health data collected from medical monitoring device 104 worn by a patient 102 and supplemental information entered by the user such as symptoms);
d. receive from the second user (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 110, 120; Fig. 8, ele. 844, 846; paragraph 169-171, is met by user 846 may include a person and/or computing system, such as the assistant device 110 of FIG. 1 and/or the data management device 120 of FIG. 1, where the user 846 may include the patient or a local bystander, and/or the user 846 may be a remote entity, such as the assistant device of a remote person or a medical server device, where the user 846 may be a health support entity such as a doctor, caregiver, other health care provider, an authorized person, where the user interface 844 may be configured to send and receive data and information); and
e. receive automatically generated insights (see: Engman, paragraph 110, is met by an audio message delivered to the patient by the medical monitoring system); and
b) a second user portal, the second user portal configured to (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 120, 122, 124; Fig. 4A-4C; and paragraph 57, 74, 102, and 120, is met by data presentations are displayed on a user interface, where data management module 122 can be configured to receive data acquired by the medical monitoring device 104 along with supplemental information entered by the user to provide a reviewer with a data presentation on a visual display via a display module 124, where a reviewer can be a clinical reviewer, a physician, a caregiver, the patient, a researcher, and the organized displayed of data in the data presentation can provide the reviewer with information):
a. receive data from a first user (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 120; Fig. 8, ele. 844, 846; and paragraph 57, 73, 120, and 169-170, is met by assistant device 110 configured to serve as intermediary device to transfer data to a data management module 122 of a remote computing device 120, where the data includes the health data collected from medical monitoring device 104 worn by a patient 102 and supplemental information entered by the user such as symptoms);
b. view said data on a single review screen (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 120, 122, 124; Fig. 4A-4C; and paragraph 57, 74, and 102-124, is met by data presentations are displayed on a user interface, where a reviewer can be provided a data presentation on a visual display via a display module 124, where a reviewer can be a clinical reviewer, a physician, a caregiver, the patient, a researcher, and the organized displayed of data in the data presentation can provide the reviewer with information)
d. share with the first user (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 110, 120; Fig. 8, ele. 844, 846; paragraph 169-171, is met by user 846 may include a person and/or computing system, such as the assistant device 110 of FIG. 1 and/or the data management device 120 of FIG. 1, where the user 846 may include the patient or a local bystander, and/or the user 846 may be a remote entity, such as the assistant device of a remote person or a medical server device, where the user 846 may be a health support entity such as a doctor, caregiver, other health care provider, an authorized person, where the user interface 844 may be configured to send and receive data and information); and
Engman fails to specifically teach that the received data and information at the assistant device is a personalized report and that the data and information shared by the data management device is the report; however, Mabotuwana teaches combined term annotations and/or recommended annotations inserted directly into a report as cited:
wherein said single review screen comprises one or more classification buttons (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5; and paragraph 37-38, is met by a user interface to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, such as by providing a pop-up list of annotations where the user can select from the list);
c. associate one or more of the one or more classification buttons with the data wherein said association is configured to automatically generate a report (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5 and 8; and paragraph 37-38, is met by a user interface to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, the user selecting a suitable combination of multiple term options to create a description or recommended annotations as the most ideal annotation based on the clinical context, where the user interface supports inserting the annotations directly into a report, and all annotations for a patient are stored);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the data presentations as taught by Engman to include combined term annotations and/or recommended annotations to various types of clinical documents which can be stored and inserted directly into a report as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of subsequently using the annotations by a graphical user interface for user-friendly rendering (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 36) and/or with the motivation of improving clinical workflow and patient care (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 13-14).
Engman and Mabotuwana fail to specifically teach the following limitations met by Stinnett as cited:
e. receive automatically generated insights (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2, 30-34, 37, 49, and 52-53, is met by automatically recommends relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the portals and data presentation devices as taught by Engman and Mabotuwana to receive automatically recommended relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal, as taught by Stinnett, with the motivation of improving both in-person health services and telehealth services (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2).
As per claim 2, Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the classification buttons are non-opaque (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5; and paragraph 37-38, is met by a user interface to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, such as by providing a pop-up list of annotations where the user can select from the list).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the data presentations as taught by Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents by providing a pop-up list of annotations where the user can select from the list as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of subsequently using the annotations by a graphical user interface for user-friendly rendering (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 36) and/or with the motivation of improving clinical workflow and patient care (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 13-14).
As per claim 3, Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the data comprises bioelectrical data (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 104; and paragraph 57-58, 83, 107, 132-133, and 156-160, is met health data collected from medical monitoring device 104 worn by a patient 102, where the medical monitoring device includes sensors and may detect a heart arrhythmia and acquire data representing different health parameters such as electrodes may obtain ECG data and also obtain respiratory data, such as impedance or DC signals, and data from a cardiac monitoring device and data from an spO2 device can be acquired).
As per claim 4, Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the data comprises bioelectrical data (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 104; and paragraph 57-58, 83, 107, 132-133, and 156-160, is met health data collected from medical monitoring device 104 worn by a patient 102, where the medical monitoring device includes sensors and may detect a heart arrhythmia and acquire data representing different health parameters such as electrodes may obtain ECG data and also obtain respiratory data, such as impedance or DC signals, and data from a cardiac monitoring device and data from an spO2 device can be acquired) and symptom information (see: Engman, Fig. 5A-5B; and paragraph 20, 73, and 125-130, is met by supplemental information entered by the user such as symptoms, where the patient is requested to input symptoms into a mobile assistant device of the patient that runs a monitoring application, enables access to a website form, enables logging into a portal, to input the symptomatic information, where a user interface allows the patient to touch or click on a list of symptoms).
As per claim 5, Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the second user portal is configured to share data with non-users (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 110, 120; Fig. 8, ele. 844, 846; paragraph 169-171, is met by user 846 may include a person and/or computing system, such as the assistant device 110 of FIG. 1 and/or the data management device 120 of FIG. 1, where the user 846 may include the patient or a local bystander, and/or the user 846 may be a remote entity, such as the assistant device of a remote person or a medical server device, where the user 846 may be a health support entity such as a doctor, caregiver, other health care provider, an authorized person, where the user interface 844 may be configured to send and receive data and information).
As per claim 6, Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the second user portal is configured to share with the first user (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 110, 120; Fig. 8, ele. 844, 846; paragraph 169-171, is met by user 846 may include a person and/or computing system, such as the assistant device 110 of FIG. 1 and/or the data management device 120 of FIG. 1, where the user 846 may include the patient or a local bystander, and/or the user 846 may be a remote entity, such as the assistant device of a remote person or a medical server device, where the user 846 may be a health support entity such as a doctor, caregiver, other health care provider, an authorized person, where the user interface 844 may be configured to send and receive data and information).
Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett fail to specifically teach the following limitations met by Stinnett as cited:
automatically generated insight (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2, 30-34, 37, 49, and 52-53, is met by automatically recommends relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the portals and data presentation devices as taught by Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett to receive automatically recommended relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal, as taught by Stinnett, with the motivation of improving both in-person health services and telehealth services (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2).
As per claim 7, Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the second user portal further comprises one or more task buttons wherein each task button automatically triggers one or more tasks when selected (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5; and paragraph 37-38, is met by capturing actionable information from annotations which could subsequently be picked up by a management system that then creates an entry that is linked to the clinical document on which the annotation was made, or indicate an issue needs to be monitored, or that a clinical document is to be used as a teaching file).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the data presentations as taught by Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett to enable capturing actionable information from annotations which could subsequently be picked up by a management system that then creates an entry that is linked to the clinical document on which the annotation was made, or indicate an issue needs to be monitored, or that a clinical document is to be used as a teaching file, as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of providing an overview of actionable items and improving workflow efficiency (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 5).
As per claim 8, Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the report is editable (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5 and 8; and paragraph 29 and 37-38, is met by a user interface within which to manually enter the information items and to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, the user selecting a suitable combination of multiple term options to create a description or recommended annotations as the most ideal annotation based on the clinical context, where the user interface supports inserting the annotations directly into a report).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the data presentations as taught by Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett to include be a user interface within which to manually enter the information items and to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents by inserting the annotations directly into a report as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of subsequently using the annotations by a graphical user interface for user-friendly rendering (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 36) and/or with the motivation of improving clinical workflow and patient care (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 13-14).
As per claim 9, Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the report comprises text (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5 and 8; and paragraph 37-38, is met by a user interface to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, the user selecting a suitable combination of multiple term options to create a description or recommended annotations as the most ideal annotation based on the clinical context, where the user interface supports inserting the annotations directly into a report, and all annotations for a patient are stored);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the data presentations as taught by Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett to include combined term annotations and/or recommended annotations to various types of clinical documents which can be stored and inserted directly into a report as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of subsequently using the annotations by a graphical user interface for user-friendly rendering (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 36) and/or with the motivation of improving clinical workflow and patient care (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 13-14).
Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett fail to specifically teach the following limitations met by Stinnett as cited:
and audiovisual content (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2, 30-34, 36-37, 49, and 52-53, is met by automatically recommends relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, where the report video may include speaking, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the portals and data presentation devices as taught by Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett to receive automatically recommended relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, where the report video may include speaking, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal, as taught by Stinnett, with the motivation of improving both in-person health services and telehealth services (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2).
As per claim 7, Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the report comprises text (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5 and 8; and paragraph 37-38, is met by a user interface to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, the user selecting a suitable combination of multiple term options to create a description or recommended annotations as the most ideal annotation based on the clinical context, where the user interface supports inserting the annotations directly into a report, and all annotations for a patient are stored);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the data presentations as taught by Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett to include combined term annotations and/or recommended annotations to various types of clinical documents which can be stored and inserted directly into a report as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of subsequently using the annotations by a graphical user interface for user-friendly rendering (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 36) and/or with the motivation of improving clinical workflow and patient care (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 13-14).
Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett fail to specifically teach the following limitations met by Stinnett as cited:
and audio content (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2, 30-34, 36-37, 49, and 52-53, is met by automatically recommends relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, where the report video may include speaking, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the portals and data presentation devices as taught by Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett to receive automatically recommended relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, , where the report video may include speaking, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal, as taught by Stinnett, with the motivation of improving both in-person health services and telehealth services (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2).
As per claim 11, Engman, Mabotuwana, and Stinnett teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 3, and further teach:
wherein the symptom information is input by a user through selection from a preset symptoms list (see: Engman, Fig. 5A-5B; and paragraph 20, 73, and 125-130, is met by supplemental information entered by the user such as symptoms, where the patient is requested to input symptoms into a mobile assistant device of the patient that runs a monitoring application, enables access to a website form, enables logging into a portal, to input the symptomatic information, where a user interface allows the patient to touch or click on a list of symptoms).
As per claim 17, Engman and Mabotuwana teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 13, and further teach:
wherein the report comprises text (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5 and 8; and paragraph 37-38, is met by a user interface to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, the user selecting a suitable combination of multiple term options to create a description or recommended annotations as the most ideal annotation based on the clinical context, where the user interface supports inserting the annotations directly into a report, and all annotations for a patient are stored);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the data presentations as taught by Engman and Mabotuwana to include combined term annotations and/or recommended annotations to various types of clinical documents which can be stored and inserted directly into a report as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of subsequently using the annotations by a graphical user interface for user-friendly rendering (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 36) and/or with the motivation of improving clinical workflow and patient care (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 13-14)
Engman and Mabotuwana fail to specifically teach the following limitations met by Stinnett as cited:
and audiovisual content (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2, 30-34, 36-37, 49, and 52-53, is met by automatically recommends relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, where the report video may include speaking, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the portals and data presentation devices as taught by Engman and Mabotuwana Stinnett to receive automatically recommended relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, where the report video may include speaking, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal, as taught by Stinnett, with the motivation of improving both in-person health services and telehealth services (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2).
As per claim 18, Engman and Mabotuwana teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 13, and further teach:
wherein the report comprises text (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5 and 8; and paragraph 37-38, is met by a user interface to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, the user selecting a suitable combination of multiple term options to create a description or recommended annotations as the most ideal annotation based on the clinical context, where the user interface supports inserting the annotations directly into a report, and all annotations for a patient are stored);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the data presentations as taught by Engman and Mabotuwana to include combined term annotations and/or recommended annotations to various types of clinical documents which can be stored and inserted directly into a report as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of subsequently using the annotations by a graphical user interface for user-friendly rendering (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 36) and/or with the motivation of improving clinical workflow and patient care (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 13-14).
Engman and Mabotuwana fail to specifically teach the following limitations met by Stinnett as cited:
and audio content (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2, 30-34, 36-37, 49, and 52-53, is met by automatically recommends relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, where the report video may include speaking, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the portals and data presentation devices as taught by Engman and Mabotuwana to receive automatically recommended relevant videos or content generated by the medical provider, as well as relevant content from third-parties, that may be included in a report for the patient, , where the report video may include speaking, where the report may be provided to the patient though a portal, as taught by Stinnett, with the motivation of improving both in-person health services and telehealth services (see: Stinnett, paragraph 2).
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0091743 to Engman in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0335403 to Mabotuwana.
As per claim 12, Engman teaches a method of improving the quality and speed of physician review of data, the method comprising:
a) receiving data (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 120; Fig. 8, ele. 844, 846; and paragraph 57, 73, 120, and 169-170, is met by assistant device 110 configured to serve as intermediary device to transfer data to a data management module 122 of a remote computing device 120, where the data includes the health data collected from medical monitoring device 104 worn by a patient 102 and supplemental information entered by the user such as symptoms) for viewing on a single review screen (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 120, 122, 124; Fig. 4A-4C; and paragraph 57, 74, and 102-124, is met by data presentations are displayed on a user interface, where a reviewer can be provided a data presentation on a visual display via a display module 124, where a reviewer can be a clinical reviewer, a physician, a caregiver, the patient, a researcher, and the organized displayed of data in the data presentation can provide the reviewer with information);
a) associating one or more non-opaque classification buttons to the data wherein said association of the one or more opaque classification buttons automatically generates a report (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5 and 8; and paragraph 37-38, is met by a user interface to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, such as by providing a pop-up list of annotations where the user can select from the list, the user selecting a suitable combination of multiple term options to create a description or recommended annotations as the most ideal annotation based on the clinical context, where the user interface supports inserting the annotations directly into a report, and all annotations for a patient are stored); and
b) selecting one or more non-opaque task buttons wherein each task button automatically triggers one or more tasks when selected (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5; and paragraph 37-38, is met by providing a pop-up list of annotations where the user can select from the list capturing actionable information from annotations which could subsequently be picked up by a management system that then creates an entry that is linked to the clinical document on which the annotation was made, or indicate an issue needs to be monitored, or that a clinical document is to be used as a teaching file).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the data presentations as taught by Engman to include combined term annotations and/or recommended annotations to various types of clinical documents which can be stored and inserted directly into a report, and capturing actionable information from annotations which could subsequently be picked up by a management system that then creates an entry that is linked to the clinical document on which the annotation was made, or indicate an issue needs to be monitored, or that a clinical document is to be used as a teaching file, as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of subsequently using the annotations by a graphical user interface for user-friendly rendering (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 36) and/or with the motivation of providing an overview of actionable items and improving workflow efficiency (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 5 and 13-14).
As per claim 13, Engman and Mabotuwana teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 12, and further teach:
and sharing with a first user (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 110, 120; Fig. 8, ele. 844, 846; paragraph 169-171, is met by user 846 may include a person and/or computing system, such as the assistant device 110 of FIG. 1 and/or the data management device 120 of FIG. 1, where the user 846 may include the patient or a local bystander, and/or the user 846 may be a remote entity, such as the assistant device of a remote person or a medical server device, where the user 846 may be a health support entity such as a doctor, caregiver, other health care provider, an authorized person, where the user interface 844 may be configured to send and receive data and information); and
Engman and Mabotuwana fail to specifically teach that the data and information shared by the data management device is the diagnosis report; however, Mabotuwana teaches combined term annotations and/or recommended annotations inserted directly into a report as cited:
editing the diagnosis report (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5 and 8; and paragraph 29, 33, and 37-38, is met by a user interface within which to manually enter the information items including diagnosis and to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, the user selecting a suitable combination of multiple term options to create a description or recommended annotations as the most ideal annotation based on the clinical context, where the user interface supports inserting the annotations directly into a report).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the data presentations as taught by Engman and Mabotuwana to include be a user interface within which to manually enter the information items including diagnosis and to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents by inserting the annotations directly into a report as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of subsequently using the annotations by a graphical user interface for user-friendly rendering (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 36) and/or with the motivation of improving clinical workflow and patient care (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 13-14).
As per claim 14, Engman and Mabotuwana teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 13, and further teach:
wherein the data comprises bioelectrical data (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 104; and paragraph 57-58, 83, 107, 132-133, and 156-160, is met health data collected from medical monitoring device 104 worn by a patient 102, where the medical monitoring device includes sensors and may detect a heart arrhythmia and acquire data representing different health parameters such as electrodes may obtain ECG data and also obtain respiratory data, such as impedance or DC signals, and data from a cardiac monitoring device and data from an spO2 device can be acquired).
As per claim 15, Engman and Mabotuwana teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 13, and further teach:
wherein the data comprises bioelectrical data (see: Engman, Fig. 1, ele. 104; and paragraph 57-58, 83, 107, 132-133, and 156-160, is met health data collected from medical monitoring device 104 worn by a patient 102, where the medical monitoring device includes sensors and may detect a heart arrhythmia and acquire data representing different health parameters such as electrodes may obtain ECG data and also obtain respiratory data, such as impedance or DC signals, and data from a cardiac monitoring device and data from an spO2 device can be acquired) and symptom information (see: Engman, Fig. 5A-5B; and paragraph 20, 73, and 125-130, is met by supplemental information entered by the user such as symptoms, where the patient is requested to input symptoms into a mobile assistant device of the patient that runs a monitoring application, enables access to a website form, enables logging into a portal, to input the symptomatic information, where a user interface allows the patient to touch or click on a list of symptoms).
As per claim 16, Engman and Mabotuwana teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 13, and further teach:
wherein the symptom information is input by a user through selection from a preset symptoms list (see: Engman, Fig. 5A-5B; and paragraph 20, 73, and 125-130, is met by supplemental information entered by the user such as symptoms, where the patient is requested to input symptoms into a mobile assistant device of the patient that runs a monitoring application, enables access to a website form, enables logging into a portal, to input the symptomatic information, where a user interface allows the patient to touch or click on a list of symptoms).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0079145 to Conward in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0335403 to Mabotuwana.
As per claim 19, Conward teaches a method of improving the quality and speed of physician review of data, the method comprising:
b) receiving a list of multiple patients’ data for review in order of priority (see: Conward, Fig. 3; and paragraph 50 and 74, is met by dashboard 300 that lists all patients (or a subset thereof) within a patient priority list);
c) accessing an individual patient’s data for viewing on a single review screen (see: Conward, Fig. 5; and paragraph 28, 37, and 53, is met by data pertaining to a selected patient 322 may be presented in the dashboard 500 including time series data related to measured biometric data such as electrocardiogram data);
Conward fails to specifically teach the following limitations met by Mabotuwana as cited:
c) associating one or more non-opaque classification buttons to the data wherein said association of the one or more opaque classification buttons automatically generates a report (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5 and 8; and paragraph 37-38, is met by a user interface to enable the user to annotate various types of clinical documents, such as by providing a pop-up list of annotations where the user can select from the list, the user selecting a suitable combination of multiple term options to create a description or recommended annotations as the most ideal annotation based on the clinical context, where the user interface supports inserting the annotations directly into a report, and all annotations for a patient are stored); and
d) selecting one or more non-opaque task buttons wherein each task button automatically triggers one or more tasks when selected (see: Mabotuwana, Fig. 2-5; and paragraph 37-38, is met by providing a pop-up list of annotations where the user can select from the list capturing actionable information from annotations which could subsequently be picked up by a management system that then creates an entry that is linked to the clinical document on which the annotation was made, or indicate an issue needs to be monitored, or that a clinical document is to be used as a teaching file).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the dashboard as taught by Conward to include combined term annotations and/or recommended annotations to various types of clinical documents which can be stored and inserted directly into a report as taught by Mabotuwana with the motivation of subsequently using the annotations by a graphical user interface for user-friendly rendering (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 36) and/or with the motivation of improving clinical workflow and patient care (see: Mabotuwana, paragraph 13-14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the attached PTO-892 form, including:
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0174065 to Kuzara (see abstract);
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0005630 to Jung (see abstract, Fig. 11A-11B);
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0160980 to Lyman (see abstract, Fig. 12D, 13E);
U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0412831 to Gadgil (see abstract, Fig. 5-16).
/ROBERT A SOREY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682