DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 6/23/2024.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are rejected.
Priority
This application is a continuation of PCT/CN2021/141777 filed 12/27/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-15 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0145921 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 2025/0039728 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Zhang teaches:
A control method, comprising:
controlling, by a terminal device, communication parameters, in response to the terminal device performing a state transition and/or receiving an instruction of triggering the state transition; (a wireless communications device may reset and/or adjust parameters associated with a wake-up signal time window and a counter of non-wake up signals upon transitioning between a sleep and wake state [Zhang: 0010-11; 0003-4]).
wherein the terminal device performing the state transition comprises: the terminal device transitioning from a normal receiving state to a low-power receiving state; and/or the terminal device transitioning from the low-power receiving state to the normal receiving state; (a UE may initialize WUS parameters and enter DRX sleep state, wherein the UE may wake up only its low-power WUS receiver to detect a WUS while the main receiver of the UE may remain off to save power, wherein if a WUS indicates a “non wake-up” the UE's main receiver does not wake up to detect NR-PDCCH during the DRX cycle, and wherein if a WUS indicates a “wake-up”, the UE may wake up and turn on its main receiver to perform NR-PDCCH detection and follow DRX procedures [Zhang: 0008; 0071-73; 0076-78; Fig. 6]).
However, Zhang does not teach (where underlining indicates the portion of each limitation not taught):
controlling, by a terminal device, at least one of a resource configuration and a timer, in response to the terminal device performing a state transition and/or receiving an instruction of triggering the state transition.
In a similar field of endeavor involving receiving a wake-up signal in a DRX sleep state, Martin discloses:
controlling, by a terminal device, at least one of a resource configuration and a timer, in response to the terminal device performing a state transition and/or receiving an instruction of triggering the state transition; (upon detecting a power condition which causes a WTRU to enter a low power state, the RRC state or DRX/DTX configuration may be changed, data transfer operations may be suspended, and all protocol timers may be suspended [Martin: 0079-80; 0145; 0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang in view of Martin in order to control resource configuration and a timer in the system of Zhang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhang with Martin as doing so would allow user data to be maintained so that the transmitter and the receiver entities may more quickly resume data communication without data loss or with very small loss of data [Martin: 0080].
With regard to Claim 2, Zhang-Martin teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the normal receiving state comprises a main receiver of the terminal device being in a working state; (if a WUS indicates a “wake-up”, the UE may wake up and turn on its main receiver to perform NR-PDCCH detection and follow DRX procedures [Zhang: 0008; 0071-73; 0076-78; Fig. 6]).
With regard to Claim 3, Zhang-Martin teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the low-power receiving state comprises a low-power receiver of the terminal device being in a working state, and/or a main receiver of the terminal device being in an off state or in a deep sleep state; (the UE may wake up only its low-power WUS receiver to detect a WUS while the main receiver of the UE may remain off to save power [Zhang: 0008; 0071-73; 0076-78; Fig. 6]).
With regard to Claim 4, Zhang-Martin teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the instruction of triggering the state transition comprises at least one of: an instruction of entering the low-power receiving state; and an ultra-low power wake-up signal (LP-WUS); (if a WUS indicates a “wake-up”, the UE may wake up and turn on its main receiver to perform NR-PDCCH detection and follow DRX procedures [Zhang: 0008; 0071-73; 0076-78; Fig. 6]. Martin teaches a wake-up signal (WUS) and/or go-to-sleep signal (GOS) (WUS/GOS) may be used with a DRX operation [Martin: 0087]).
With regard to Claim 5, Zhang-Martin teaches:
The method according to claim 4, wherein in response to the terminal device transitioning from the normal receiving state to the low-power receiving state and/or receiving the instruction of entering the low-power receiving state, the terminal device controls at least one of: an uplink and downlink pre-configured grant; a channel state information (CSI) report; a sounding reference signal (SRS); a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH); a power headroom report (PHR); a secondary cell (SCell) state; and a data inactivity timer; the terminal device controlling the uplink and downlink pre-configured grant comprises at least one of: suspending a configured grant (CG) type 1; clearing the CG type 1; clearing or deactivating a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS); and clearing or deactivating a CG type 2; the terminal device controlling the CSI report comprises at least one of: suspending or clearing a periodic CSI report; and suspending, clearing, or deactivating a semi-persistent CSI report; the terminal device controlling the SRS comprises at least one of: suspending or clearing a periodic SRS; and suspending, clearing, or deactivating a semi-persistent SRS; the terminal device controlling the PUCCH comprises: suspending or clearing the PUCCH; the terminal device controlling the PHR comprises: stopping or suspending at least one of: a PHR periodic timer; a PHR prohibit timer; and a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) prohibit timer; the terminal device controlling the SCell state comprises: deactivating a SCell; the terminal device controlling the data inactivity timer comprises: stopping the data inactivity timer; (upon detecting a power condition which causes a WTRU to enter a low power state, the RRC state or DRX/DTX configuration may be changed, data transfer operations may be suspended, and all protocol timers may be suspended [Martin: 0079-80; 0145; 0004], wherein during an OFF duration, a WTRU may not measure or report CSI in a subframe configured to measure and/or report a periodic CSI reporting [Martin: 0086]).
With regard to Claim 9, Zhang-Martin teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the terminal device transitioning from the normal receiving state to the low-power receiving state comprises: the terminal device transitioning from the normal receiving state to the low-power receiving state in response to the terminal device being in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state, an RRC inactive state, or an RRC idle state; (the UE may monitor the WUS in RRC_IDLE state or RRC_INACTIVE state [Zhang: 0099] Martin teaches the WTRU may move into an RRC state (e.g., RRC_POWER_OFF) based on a power condition being met, and may transition from the RRC_POWER_OFF to RRC_CONNECTED state when the WTRU moves back to a normal operation [Martin: 0145-47; Claim 21]).
With regard to Claim 10, Zhang-Martin teaches:
The method according to claim 4, wherein the terminal device receives the instruction of entering the low-power receiving state in response to the terminal device being in an RRC connected state, an RRC inactive state, or an RRC idle state; (the UE may monitor the WUS in RRC_IDLE state or RRC_INACTIVE state [Zhang: 0099] Martin teaches the WTRU may move into an RRC state (e.g., RRC_POWER_OFF) based on a power condition being met, and may transition from the RRC_POWER_OFF to RRC_CONNECTED state when the WTRU moves back to a normal operation [Martin: 0145-47; Claim 21]).
With regard to Claims 11-15 & 18-20, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 1-5 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 11-15 & 18-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1-5.
Claims 6-8 & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0145921 A1) in view of Martin et al. (US 2025/0039728 A1) as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2025/0106773 A1).
With regard to Claim 6, Zhang-Martin teaches the method according to claim 4, but does not teach:
wherein in response to the terminal device transitioning from the low-power receiving state to the normal receiving state and/or receiving the LP-WUS, the terminal device controls at least one of: an uplink and downlink pre-configured grant; a CSI report; a SRS; a PUCCH; a PHR; a SCell state; and a data inactivity timer; the terminal device controlling the uplink and downlink pre-configured grant comprises: initializing or recovering a suspended CG type 1; the suspended CG type 1 is a CG type 1 configured on a special cell (SpCell) and/or a CG type 1 configured on an activated Scell; the terminal device controlling the CSI report comprises at least one of: initializing or recovering a suspended periodic CSI report; and initializing or recovering a suspended semi-persistent CSI report; the terminal device controlling the SRS comprises at least one of: initializing or recovering a suspended periodic SRS; and initializing or recovering a suspended semi-persistent SRS; the terminal device controlling the PUCCH comprises: initializing or recovering a suspended PUCCH; the terminal device controlling the PHR comprises: triggering the PHR; and recovering or starting at least one of: a PHR periodic timer; a PHR prohibit timer; and an MPE prohibit timer; the terminal device controlling the SCell state comprises: activating all or a part of SCells; the terminal device controlling the data inactivity timer comprises: starting the data inactivity timer.
In a similar field of endeavor involving wake-up/sleep based power saving operations [Zhou: 0046], Zhou discloses:
wherein in response to the terminal device transitioning from the low-power receiving state to the normal receiving state and/or receiving the LP-WUS, the terminal device controls at least one of: an uplink and downlink pre-configured grant; a CSI report; a SRS; a PUCCH; a PHR; a SCell state; and a data inactivity timer; the terminal device controlling the uplink and downlink pre-configured grant comprises: initializing or recovering a suspended CG type 1; the suspended CG type 1 is a CG type 1 configured on a special cell (SpCell) and/or a CG type 1 configured on an activated Scell; the terminal device controlling the CSI report comprises at least one of: initializing or recovering a suspended periodic CSI report; and initializing or recovering a suspended semi-persistent CSI report; the terminal device controlling the SRS comprises at least one of: initializing or recovering a suspended periodic SRS; and initializing or recovering a suspended semi-persistent SRS; the terminal device controlling the PUCCH comprises: initializing or recovering a suspended PUCCH; the terminal device controlling the PHR comprises: triggering the PHR; and recovering or starting at least one of: a PHR periodic timer; a PHR prohibit timer; and an MPE prohibit timer; the terminal device controlling the SCell state comprises: activating all or a part of SCells; the terminal device controlling the data inactivity timer comprises: starting the data inactivity timer; (base station and/or a wireless device may employ an activation/deactivation mechanism of an SCell to improve battery or power consumption of the wireless device [Zhou: 0251], wherein when a wireless device receives an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE activating an SCell, the wireless device may activate the one or more SCells [Zhou: 0253; 0272]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang-Martin in view of Zhou in order to controlling the SCell state by activating all or a part of SCells in the system of Zhang-Martin.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Zhang-Martin with Zhou as doing so would further maximize power savings while enabling quick restoration of carrier aggregation upon wake up.
With regard to Claim 7, Zhang-Martin-Zhou teaches:
The method according to claim 6, wherein the terminal device activating all or a part of the SCells comprises: the terminal device determining SCells transitioning from an activated state to a deactivated state during a latest state transition process of the terminal device; and the terminal device activating determined SCells; or, the terminal device determining to activate all or a part of the SCells according to a first instruction; (when a wireless device receives an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE activating an SCell, the wireless device may activate the one or more SCells [Zhou: 0253; 0272]).
With regard to Claim 8, Zhang-Martin-Zhou teaches:
The method according to claim 7, wherein the first instruction is carried in at least one of: RRC signaling; a medium access control element (MAC CE); and a LP-WUS; (when a wireless device receives an SCell Activation/Deactivation MAC CE activating an SCell, the wireless device may activate the one or more SCells [Zhou: 0253; 0272]).
With regard to Claims 16-17, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 6-7 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 16-17 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 6-7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Teyeb et al. (US 2023/0308905 A1) which teaches SCell activation/deactivation can be performed via RRC signaling (during SCell addition/Handover/Connection Resume), or a MAC CE, wherein when an SCell is deactivated, the UE does not need to receive the corresponding PDCCH or PDSCH, cannot transmit in the corresponding uplink, nor is it required to perform CQI/CSI measurements, and conversely, when an SCell is active, the UE shall receive PDSCH and PDCCH and is expected to be able to perform CQI measurements [Teyeb: 0029].
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446