DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170125806 A1), in view of Lee et al. (WO2021149996A1; citation to English equivalent US20230049476A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 2, Wang discloses
an anode (negative electrode, Abstract), for a lithium secondary battery ([0025] with Title, Abstract), comprising: an anode current collector ( negative current collector, Abstract, [0055]);
an anode active material layer (12) formed on at least one surface of the anode current collector (11, see Fig. 2),
the anode active material layer (12) comprising a first region adjacent to the anode current collector (12b) and a second region (12a) spaced apart (see Fig. 2) from the anode current collector (11) in a thickness direction with the first region (12b) interposed therebetween,
wherein the anode active material layer includes an anode active material including a graphite-based active material and a silicon-based active material ([0054]).
Wang further discloses many possible types of graphite, including natural graphite, such as scaly graphite, weightive graphite, and earthy graphite; and artificial graphite such as weightive artificial graphite (MAG) and graphitized mesophase carbon microbeads (MCMB) ([0027]).
While Wang fails to disclose artificial graphite in example 1 above with sufficient specificity, given the finite list of types of graphite, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the claimed invention’s effective filing date, to routinely select artificial graphite with a reasonable expectation of achieving a successful graphite active material.
Wang further discloses that the silicon material has an average particle size i.e. D50 of preferably 4-10 microns because if the size is too small, the surface area becomes larger and reduces capacity, whereas if the size is too large, there is excess volume expansion during charge and discharge which degrades cycling characteristics ([0029]). While Wang does not explicitly disclose Dmin of 1-5 microns (claim 1) or 2-4 microns (claim 2), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at the recited Dmin for the silicon-based active material of Wang in order to arrive at a desired balance between ensuring sufficient surface area to maintain capacity and avoiding excess volume expansion.
Additionally, Lee teaches an analogous silicon based active material (title) whose Dmin may be 0.1-3 micrometers ([0049]). Lee teaches that, in combination with a Dmax of 6-25 micrometers, the active material’s packing density may be maximized and the electrode slurry’s printing characteristics are excellent ([0050-0051]).
It would have been further obvious to incorporate Wang’s silicon active material with a Dmin of 0.1-3 micrometers and arrive at the recited range with the reasonable expectation of maximizing the active material packing density and achieving excellent electrode slurry printing characteristics, as taught by Lee.
Regarding claim 4, modified Wang discloses the anode for a secondary battery according to claim 1.
As explained above, Wang discloses a D50 of preferably 4-10 microns ([0029]), which overlaps with the instant D50 greater than 6 and less than or equal to 10 microns, for suitable surface area without excess volume expansion. Although, Wang fails to explicitly disclose a D50 greater than 6 and less than or equal to 10 microns, it would have been obvious to arrive at the claimed range to balance sufficient surface area while avoiding excess volume expansion.
Regarding claim 5, modified Wang discloses the anode for a secondary battery according to claim 1. As explained above, Wang discloses a D50 of preferably 4-10 microns for suitable surface area without excess volume expansion ([0029]). However, in appearing unconcerned with the rest of the particle distribution, Wang fails to explicitly disclose a D90/D10 range of 1.5-2.5 based on the 10% and 90% cumulative particle distribution based on the volume of the silicon-based active material.
Lee further teaches a D90/D10 of preferably 2.0-4.1 ([0048]). Lee teaches that this range improves the viscoelasticity of the negative electrode slurry to enhance the battery’s performance ([0048]).
It would have been obvious to incorporate Wang’s silicon active material with a D90/D10 of 2.0-4.1 and arrive at the claimed range with the reasonable expectation of improving the viscoelasticity of the negative electrode slurry to enhance the battery’s performance, as taught by Lee.
Regarding claim 6, modified Wang discloses the anode for a secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the content of the silicon based active material based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the first region is 4 wt% (Wang, [0054]), which falls within 1 wt% or more and less than 10 wt%, and the content of the silicon based active material based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the second region is 10 wt% (Wang, [0054]), falling within 10 wt% to 25 wt%.
Regarding claim 10, modified Wang discloses the anode for a secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first region is 40% of a total thickness of the anode active material layer (Wang, [0012]), meaning a thickness of the second region is 60% given the active material layer consists of these regions (Wang, [0012]), both values falling within 30% to 70%.
Regarding claim 11, modified Wang discloses the anode for a secondary battery according to claim 1.
Wang further discloses middle region 12c between first region 12a and second region 12b (fig. 2, [0040]), where the amount of SiOx increases from second region 12 b, i.e., instant first region, toward first region 12 a, i.e., instant second region ([0041]). Thus, Wang discloses that an interface region exists between the first region and the second region, a content of the silicon-based active material based on a total weight of the anode active material included in the interface region is equal to or greater than the content of the silicon-based active material based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the first region, and is equal to or less than the content of the silicon-based active material based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the second region.
Regarding claims 12-14, modified Wang discloses the anode for a secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the anode active material layer includes pores (Wang, [0076-007]).
Wang discloses that the pores allow the electrolyte to easily diffuse into the active layer to improve lithium-ion conductivity and discharge rate ([0076]). On the other hand, Wang implies that an excessive number of pores degrades electron conductivity and reduces capacity retention ([0077]). Although Wang fails to explicitly disclose that a pore amount in the anode active material layer measured using a mercury porosimeter is in a range from 0.165 ml/g to 0.25 ml/g, an average pore diameter of the anode active material layer measured using a mercury porosimeter is in a range from 500 nm to 1,000 nm, it would have been obvious to arrive at these ranges by routinely optimizing Wang’s porosity to balance lithium ion conductivity and discharge rate with electron conductivity and capacity retention (MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Further regarding claim 14’s limitation that the anode active material layer has a pore diffusion resistance of 8 ohms or less, as evidenced by the instant specification's [0088] and [0089], the pore diffusion correlates with the pore size and amount. Therefore, although modified Wang fails to explicitly disclose the recited pore diffusion resistance, in optimizing the porosity parameters above, it would have been further obvious to arrive at the claimed pore diffusion resistance to balance lithium-ion conductivity and discharge rate with electron conductivity and capacity retention (MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Regarding claim 15, modified Wang discloses a lithium secondary battery, comprising: the anode for a secondary battery of claim 1; a cathode facing the anode; and an electrolyte solution (Wang, [0057-0059]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170125806 A1) in view of Lee et al. (WO2021149996A1; citation to English equivalent US20230049476A1), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Tsuchida et al. (US 20190319254A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Wang discloses the anode for a secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein the silicon based active material includes a silicon based oxide (Wang, [0054]).
Wang further discloses that the silicon active material may contain lithium silicate ([0030]) which as least suggest introducing lithium, but Wang fails to explicitly disclose in example 1 that the silicon based oxide contains at least one doping element selected from Mg, Li, N, B, P, Al, Cu, Mn, Ca and Zn.
Tsuchida teaches an analogous silicon active material that is doped with lithium ([0012]) and teaches that such avoids the largest volume expansion that occurs from initial cycling and yields a silicon material with small volume expansion from subsequent cycling ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to dope Wang’s silicon material with lithium to avoid the largest volume expansion that occurs from initial cycling and yield a silicon material with small volume expansion from subsequent cycling, as taught by Tsuchida.
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170125806 A1) in view of Lee et al. (WO2021149996A1; citation to English equivalent US20230049476A1), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Hyun et al. (WO 2023106822 A1; citation to English equivalent US20240429389A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, modified Wang discloses the anode for a secondary battery according to claim 1.
However, in being unconcerned with the graphite’s structure, Wang fails to disclose wherein the artificial graphite-based active material includes a first graphite having a single particle structure and a second graphite having a secondary particle structure.
Hyun teaches an analogous negative active material including two types of artificial graphite where the first is single particle and coated with amorphous carbon layer and the second is a secondary particle type ([0021]) where the average size D50 of the second material is 1.2 to 4.7 times the average size of the first ([0021]).
Hyun teaches that the first active material may be disposed between the second material, and the second material improves energy density to improve the quick charging performance and reducing resistance ([0022]).
It would have been obvious to use Hyun’s first and second artificial graphite as Wang’s graphite to improve energy density to improve the quick charging performance and reducing resistance, as taught by Hyun.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20170125806 A1), in view of Lee et al. (WO2021149996A1; citation to English equivalent US20230049476A1), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Hyun et al. (WO 2023106822 A1; citation to English equivalent US20240429389A1), as applied to claim 7, further in view of Thomas-Alyea et al. (US 20120328942A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Wang discloses the anode for a secondary battery according to claim 7.
Hyun teaches that the second graphite is larger than the first ([0021]). However, in appearing unconcerned with the distribution of the first and second graphite, modified Wang fails to disclose wherein a content of the first graphite based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the second region is greater than a content of the first graphite based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the first region, and a content of the second graphite based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the second region is smaller than a content of the second graphite based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the first region.
Thomas-Alyea teaches an analogous negative active material which may include synthetic carbon ([0024]) and teaches that the variation gradient, where smaller particles are farther away from the current collector and larger particles are closer, provides increased mechanical robustness at the electrode interface and adjacent electrode regions ([0099]). Moreover, particles of a different size can be layered as shown in figure 1.
It would have been obvious to distribute modified Wang’s graphite in a gradient with the smaller particles occupying a larger concentration in the second region and the larger particles occupying a larger concentration in the first region to provide increased mechanical robustness at the electrode interface and adjacent electrode regions, as taught by Thomas-Alyea.
Thus, modified Wang would disclose wherein a content of the first graphite based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the second region is greater than a content of the first graphite based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the first region, and a content of the second graphite based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the second region is smaller than a content of the second graphite based on the total weight of the anode active material included in the first region (by distributing the first/smaller graphite (from Hyun) farther from current collector, i.e., more in second region, and the second/larger graphite (from Hyun) closer to current collector, i.e., more or in first region, per Thomas Alyea).
Conclusion
/C.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 10/27/2026