DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al (US 2021/0273035 A1).
Clam 1, Cho (Fig. 1-17B) discloses a display substrate (100; Fig. 12; Paragraph [0091]; wherein discloses a base substrate), provided with a display region (AA; Fig. 1 and 2; Paragraph [0048]; wherein discloses a display area AA) and a non-display region (PA; Fig. 1 and 2; Paragraph [0049]; wherein discloses a peripheral area PA) at least partially surrounding the display region (AA; Fig. 1 and 2), comprising:
data cables (DL1-DLn+1; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0069]; wherein discloses data lines) arranged in the display region (AA; Fig. 2);
adapter cables (Connecting Line; Fig. 10) arranged in the display region (AA: Fig. 10), wherein at least a part of the data cables (Data Line (1-719); Fig. 10) are electrically connected (Contact; Fig. 10) to the adapter cables (Connecting Line; Fig. 10); and
connecting cables (Data Spider Line; Fig. 10) arranged in the non-display region (PA; Fig. 9; Fig. 10; Paragraph [0072]; wherein discloses data spider line is in the peripheral area PA), wherein a part of the connecting cables (Data Spider Line; Fig. 10) are electrically connected (Contacts; Fig. 10) to the part of the data cables (Data Line; Fig. 10) through the adapter cables (Connecting Line; Fig. 10), and the remaining connecting cables (Connecting Line; Fig. 10) are electrically connected (Paragraph [0070]; wherein discloses “the data line may be directly connected to the data spider line DSPL through the spider contact hole SCNT”) to the remaining data cables directly (DL; Fig. 4; 589-1175; Fig. 5), wherein the data cables (DL1-DLn+1; Fig. 2; Paragraph [0069]; wherein discloses data lines) are arranged in a first direction (D1; Fig. 2), the connecting cables (Data Spider Line; Fig. 10; DSPL; Fig. 4) are arranged in the first direction (D1; Fig. 4), and the data cables (Data Line (1-590); Fig. 10) are arranged in a same sequence (Paragraph [0123]; wherein discloses “the data lines DATA LINE may be electrically connected to the data spider lines DATA SPIDER LINE in the same order as the data spider lines DATA SPIDER LINE are arranged”) as the connecting cables (Data Spider Line (1-590); Fig. 10) electrically connected (Connecting Line; Fig. 10) to the data cables (Data Line (1-590); Fig. 10).
Claim 10, Cho (Fig. 1-17B) discloses wherein the data cables (DL1-DLn+1; Fig. 2) are grouped into first data cables (DLn and DLn+1; Fig. 2) and second data cables (DL1-DLn-1; Fig. 2), the connecting cables (DSPL1 and DSPL; Fig. 4) are grouped into first connecting cables (DSPL; Fig. 4) and second connecting cables (DSPL1; Fig. 4), the second connecting cables (DSPL1; Fig. 4) are electrically connected (SCNT1 and CCNT1; Fig. 4) to the second data cables (DL1-DLn+1; Fig. 2) through the adapter cables (CL1-CLn-1; Fig. 2; CL; Fig. 4), and the first connecting cables (DSPL; Fig. 4) are electrically connected (SCNT; Fig. 4) to the first data cables directly (DLn and DLn+1; Fig. 2 DL; Fig. 4); and
the first data cables (DLn and DLn+1; Fig. 2) are sandwiched between the second data cables (DL1-DLn+1; Fig. 2; Fig. 2; wherein figure shows connecting lines used on both left and right side of the display area) and the first connecting cables (DSPL; Fig. 4) are sandwiched between the second connecting cables (DSPL1; Fig. 4), in the first direction (D1; Fig. 4).
Claim 11, Cho (Fig. 1-17B) discloses wherein the display region (AA; Fig. 2 and 4) comprises an edge (Fig. 4; wherein figure shows an edge of the display area AA adjacent to peripheral area PA) comprising a corner edge (Fig. 4; wherein figure shows a curved edge portion) and a straight edge (Fig. 4; wherein figure shows a straight edge portion) extending along the first direction (DR1; Fig. 4), the second data cables (1-588; Fig. 5) each correspond to the corner edge (Fig. 5; wherein figure shows a curved edge portion) and a part of the straight edge (Fig. 5; wherein figure shows a straight edge portion), and the first data cables (589-1175; Fig. 5) each correspond to the straight edge only (Fig. 5; wherein figure shows a straight edge portion).
Claim 12, Cho (Fig. 1-17B) discloses wherein the first data cables (589-1175; Fig. 5) are more than a half (Fig. 1 and 2; wherein further additional data lines are arranged between the two connection lines area on the left and right) of the second data cables (1-588; Fig. 5).
Claim 13, Cho (Fig. 1-17B) discloses wherein the non-display region (PA; Fig. 9) comprises a binding region (COP; Fig. 9 and 4), data signal terminals (Paragraph [0053]) arranged in the binding region (COP; Fig. 9 and 4) along the first direction (D; Fig. 9 and 4), and the connecting cables (DSPL1 and DSPL; Fig. 4) are connected to the data signal terminals (Paragraph [0053]), respectively (Fig. 4); and
the data cables (1-590; Fig. 10) are arranged in the same sequence (Paragraph [0123]; wherein discloses “Accordingly, unlike the display apparatus of FIGS. 4 and 5, it is unnecessary to change an order of output signals of a data driving chip that is connected to the data spider line, and a generally-designed data driving chip may be used”) as the data signal terminals (1-590; Fig. 10) electrically connected to the data cables (1590; Fig. 10).
Claim 14, Cho (Fig. 1-17B) discloses a display panel (Fig. 1 and 2; wherein discloses a display apparatus), comprising:
the display substrate (100; Fig. 1) according to claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above).
Claim 15, Cho (Fig. 1-17B) discloses a display device (500; Fig. 17A and 17B), comprising:
the display panel (Fig. 1 and 2; wherein discloses a display apparatus) according to claim 14 (see rejection to claim 14 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (US 2021/0273035 A1) in view of Choi et al (US 2024/0420633 A1).
Claim 2, Cho (Fig. 1-17B) discloses wherein the data cables (DL1-DLn+1; Fig. 2) are n in number (Fig. 2; wherein figure shows a plurality of data lines), and n is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (Fig. 2; wherein figure shows more than two data lines).
Cho does not expressly disclose the display substrate further comprises m*n auxiliary cables, m is an integer greater than or equal to 2, the auxiliary cables extend in a same direction as the data cables, and the m*n auxiliary cables are evenly distributed in the display region;
the adapter cables comprise respective first segments extending in a same direction as the auxiliary cables; and
at least part of the auxiliary cables are partially integrally formed with the first segments, respectively.
Choi (Fig. 1-21) discloses the display substrate (110; Fig. 1-3) further comprises m*n auxiliary cables (ASL2; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0168]; wherein discloses second auxiliary lines ASL2), m is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (Fig. 8; wherein figure 8 shows two auxiliary arranged between two data lines DL1 or DL2), the auxiliary cables (ASL2; Fig. 8) extend in a same direction (DR2; Fig. 8) as the data cables (DL1 and DL2; Fig. 8), and the m*n auxiliary cables (ASL2; Fig. 8) are evenly distributed in the display region (DA; Fig. 7);
the adapter cables (TASL1 and TASL2; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0167-0168]) comprise respective first segments (TASL2; Fig. 8) extending in a same direction (DR2; Fig. 8) as the auxiliary cables (ASL2; Fig. 8); and
at least part of the auxiliary cables (ASL2; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0168]) are partially integrally formed with the first segments (TASL2; Fig. 8), respectively (Fig. 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cho’s display device by applying auxiliary lines, as taught by Choi, so to use a display device with auxiliary lines for providing a display device capable of reducing the width of a non-display area (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim 3, Choi (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein the adapter cables (TASL1 and TASL2; Fig. 8) comprise respective second segments (TASL1; Fig. 8) extending along the first direction (DR1; Fig. 8), and the second segments (TASL1; Fig. 8) are electrically connected (Paragraph [0167]) to the data cables at first ends (DL1; Fig. 8), and are electrically connected (Paragraph [0168]) to the auxiliary cables (ASL2 and TASL2; Fig. 8) at second ends (Paragraph [0168]), respectively (Fig. 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cho’s display device by applying auxiliary lines, as taught by Choi, so to use a display device with auxiliary lines for providing a display device capable of reducing the width of a non-display area (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim 4, Choi (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein m auxiliary cables (ASL2; Fig. 8; wherein figure shows two ASL2 lines arranged between two adjacent data lines DL1 or DL2) are arranged between two adjacent data cables (DL1 or DL2; Fig. 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cho’s display device by applying auxiliary lines, as taught by Choi, so to use a display device with auxiliary lines for providing a display device capable of reducing the width of a non-display area (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim 5, Choi (Fig. 1-21) discloses further comprising:
pixel driving circuits (EPD; Fig. 5 and 8) arranged in columns (Paragraph [0081]) respectively connected to the data cables (DL1 or DL2; Fig. 8); and
m is equal to 2 (Fig. 8; wherein figure 8 shows two auxiliary arranged between two data lines DL1 or DL2), each column (EPD; Fig. 8) corresponds to two of the auxiliary cables (VSAVL and TASL2; Fig. 8), wherein the corresponding data cable (DL1 or DL2; Fig. 8) is sandwiched between the two auxiliary cables (ASL2; Fig. 8) in the first direction (DR1; Fig. 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cho’s display device by applying auxiliary lines, as taught by Choi, so to use a display device with auxiliary lines for providing a display device capable of reducing the width of a non-display area (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim 6, Cho (Fig. 1-17B) discloses wherein the auxiliary cables (CL1c; Fig. 9) are arranged on a different film layer (CL1; Fig. 8) than the data cables (DL; Fig. 8), and the m*n auxiliary cables (CL1c; Fig. 9) are arranged on a same film layer (CL1; Fig. 8).
Claim 7, Choi (Fig. 1-21) discloses further comprising:
a first power cable (VDL; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0195]) extending along a second direction (DR2; Fig. 8), wherein the first power cable (VDL; Fig. 8) is configured to transmit a positive voltage signal (Paragraph [0095]; wherein discloses “a first power line VDL for transmitting the first power ELVDD”), the second direction (DR2; Fig. 8) intersects the first direction (DR1; Fig. 8), and the auxiliary cables (VSAVL or TASL2; 8) are arranged on a same film layer (VSAVL or TASL2; 10) as the first power cable (VDL; Fig. 10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cho’s display device by applying auxiliary lines, as taught by Choi, so to use a display device with auxiliary lines for providing a display device capable of reducing the width of a non-display area (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim 8, Choi (Fig. 1-21) discloses wherein the auxiliary cables (ASL2; Fig. 8) are grouped into first auxiliary cables (TASL2; Fig. 8) and second auxiliary cables (VSAVL; Fig. 8);
the first auxiliary cables (TASL2; Fig. 8) are partially integrally formed with the first segments (TASL2; Fig. 8) of the adapter cables (TASL1 and TASL2; Fig. 8), respectively (Fig. 8); and
the second auxiliary cables (VSAVL; Fig. 8) are electrically connected to a constant voltage signal cable (VSSPL; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0193]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cho’s display device by applying auxiliary lines, as taught by Choi, so to use a display device with auxiliary lines for providing a display device capable of reducing the width of a non-display area (Paragraph [0010]).
Claim 9, Choi (Fig. 1-21) discloses, further comprising:
a second power cable (VSSPL; Fig. 8) electrically connected to the second auxiliary cables (VSAVL; Fig. 8; Paragraph [0193]) and configured to transmit a negative voltage signal (ELVSS; Paragraph [0188]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cho’s display device by applying auxiliary lines, as taught by Choi, so to use a display device with auxiliary lines for providing a display device capable of reducing the width of a non-display area (Paragraph [0010]).
Conclusion
/Adam J Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623 07/29/2026