DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. This Office Action is in response to the filing of the application on 06/24/2024. Since the initial filing, no claims have been amended, added, or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 7, 17, 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 line 11 recites “to sense force situation,” it is suggested to replace this with –to sense a force situation— for clarity of the claim.
Claim 17 lines 4-5 recite the limitation “to determine the current ventilation volume of the respirator (5) equal to the set ventilation volume,” it is suggested to replace this with -- to determine if the current ventilation volume of the respirator is equal to the set ventilation volume—
Claim 17 lines 9-10 recite “determine the current ventilation volume of the respirator (5) less than the set ventilation volume,” it is suggested to replace this with –determine if the current ventilation volume of the respirator is less than the set ventilation volume--.
Claim 18 lines 8-9 recite “a next ventilation time node does not reach,” it is suggested to replace this with –a next ventilation time node is not reached—for clarity of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
9. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“frequency dynamic indication module” in claim 3 lines 2-3 and claim 18 lines 2-3 are interpreted as circuits or the like according to paragraph [0011] of the specification.
“control module” in claim 1 line 8, claim 2 lines 2, 5-6, and 9-10, claim 3 lines 6 and 8, claim 7 line 11, claim 8 line 9, claim 15 line 13, claim 17 lines 2 and 9, claim 18 line 7, and claim 19 line 19 are interpreted as circuits or the like according to paragraph [0011] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 2, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “wherein a basis for the control module to control whether the three-way valve switches to the gas path comprises” in lines 1-3 is unclear if the limitation is referring to a method of operating or a structure for controlling the valve. It is suggested to include the language –configured to—to clarify that the claim is directed to a structure.
Regarding claim 7, the term “force situation” is unclear in its scope regarding if it is referring to a force measurement on the diaphragm, a pressure on each side of the diaphragm, or some other meaning. The limitation is being interpreted as --a force--.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the gas pressures" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myklebust et al. (US 2008/0314386) in view of Fan et al. (CN-110878858, see the translated and numbered version provided regarding paragraph numbers).
Regarding claim 1, Myklebust discloses an artificial resuscitator device (fig. 1), comprising: a gas control valve (fig. 5A-5B, hyperventilation prevention mechanism 40 which includes flexible seal 45 for blocking airflow) and a flow sensor ([0012] states that the device includes a sensor, and claims 2-4, 7, and 12 of Myklebust states that the sensor is a flow sensor) set on an exhaust pipe (fig. 1, outlet 13 houses the sensor according to [0012]) of a respirator (fig. 1, ventilation device 10); a control module ([0047] states a microcontroller can be used to control the valve of fig. 5A-5B) configured to obtain a current ventilation volume of the respirator based on a gas flow detected by the flow sensor ([0029] states that a ventilation volume can be calculated by integrating a measured flow);
wherein the respirator comprises a gas storage bag (fig. 1, self-inflating bag 11) with an inlet one-way valve (fig. 1, V4, [0009] states the valves connected to the inlet and outlet are one-way valves, and [0023] states that valve V4 connected to the inlet 12 to restrict air flow into the bag through the inlet 12) disposed at an intake end of the gas storage bag (fig. 1, V4 is disposed at an inlet 12 to bag 11) and an outlet one-way valve (fig. 1, V2, [0009] states the valves connected to the inlet and outlet are one-way valves, and [0021] states that V2 is connected to the outlet and lets air from the bag into the outlet) disposed at an exhaust end of the gas storage bag ([0021] states V2 allows air from the bag to an outlet 13 thereby functioning as an outlet) and connected to the exhaust pipe ([0021] states that V2 lets air from the bag into outlet 13 where the outlet is defined as an exhaust pipe); and
wherein the exhaust pipe (figs. 5A-5B, inlet 47 and housing 41) comprises a first pipe section (fig. 5A-5B inlet 47) connected to the exhaust end of the gas storage bag ([0046] states that the inlet is connected to the outlet of a device with a bag 11) and a second pipe section (figs. 5A-5B, housing 41) connected to a gas guiding section ([0020] states the outlet 13 of device 10 is secured to an airway 14 via a mask, tube, or other suitable means which is defined as the gas guiding section); the gas control valve (figs. 5A-5B, flexible seal 45) is set at a junction of the first pipe section and the second pipe section (figs. 5A-5B, seal 45 is set between inlet 47 and housing 41). The device of Myklebust does not expressly disclose a connecting tube (12) branching off the exhaust pipe (11), with a three-way valve (9) on the connecting tube (12) that selectively communicates with a control side of the gas control valve (6), and a side of the three-way valve (9) defines a pressure relief opening (10), and the pressure relief opening (10) selectively communicates with the control side of the gas control valve (6); a control module configured to obtain a current ventilation volume of the respirator (5) based on a gas flow detected by the flow sensor (7) and control whether the three-way valve (9) switches to a gas path according to the current ventilation volume, to open or close the exhaust pipe (11) through the gas control valve (6) and the connecting tube (12) is branched off at the first pipe section (111), and the flow sensor (7) is set on the second pipe section (112).
However, Fan teaches of a gas path switch valve (figs. 1-2) that functions by directing air from inlet pipeline 2 using valve 9 to a cavity 6 behind the valve 5 thereby sealing the air path (see figs. 1-2) comprising a connecting tube (figs. 1-2, drainage pipe 8 receives air from inlet pipe 2) branching off the exhaust pipe (figs. 1-2, inlet pipe 2), with a three-way valve (figs. 1-2, 9 according to [0011] which states the control valve is a two-position three-way solenoid valve) on the connecting tube that selectively communicates with a control side of the gas control valve (see figs. 1-2, where valve 9 allows air through pipe 8 to control the position of the diaphragm), and a side of the three-way valve defines a pressure relief opening ([0023] states valve 9 discharges air from the chamber, and because the valve is a two-position three-way solenoid valve the discharging step implies a relief opening when the valve is switched to discharge the air), and the pressure relief opening selectively communicates with the control side of the gas control valve (see fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the hyperventilation prevention mechanism valve structure of the device of Myklebust with the valve as taught by Fan as a simple substitution of one known valve element for another to obtain a predictable result of controlling the air flow out of the device.
The modified device of Myklebust reads on a connecting tube branching off the exhaust pipe (Fan figs. 1-2, drainage pipe 8 receives air from inlet pipe 2, also see fig. 4 which shows the relative position of valves SWV and SV), with a three-way valve on the connecting tube (Fan figs. 1-2, control valve 9 is on drainage pipe 8) that selectively communicates with a control side of the gas control valve (Fan figs. 1-2, drainage pipe 8 feeds into cavity 6 to open or close valve 5), and a side of the three-way valve defines a pressure relief opening (Fan figs. 1-2, the side of valve 9 that discharges the air is defined as the pressure relief opening, see Fan [0023] which states that when the flow rate is low, the two-position three-way valve switches to discharge the gas from the upper end of the valve diaphragm and therefore must have a relief opening for discharging the gas), and the pressure relief opening selectively communicates with the control side of the gas control valve (Fan fig. 2, shows the cavity 6 being drained after the three-way valve 9 is switched), the control module configured obtain a current ventilation volume of the respirator based on a gas flow detected by the flow sensor (Myklebust [0012] states a ventilation volume for each ventilation can be measured) and control whether the three-way valve switches to a gas path according to the current ventilation volume (Myklebust [0031] states that the valves can be controlled based on ventilation volume), to open or close the exhaust pipe (Fan fig. 1, outlet pipe 3 is blocked from inlet pipe 2 when the valve is closed) through the gas control valve (Fan figs. 1-2 show how control valve 9 can adjust air within cavity 6 to open or close valve 5) and the connecting tube is branched off at the first pipe section (Fan figs. 1-2 show drainage pipe 8 originating on air inlet pipe 2 which is considered the first pipe section), and the flow sensor (Fan figs. 1-2, flow sensor 10) is set on the second pipe section (fan figs. 1-2, sensor 10 is located on outlet pipe 3 which is considered the second pipe section).
Regarding claim 2, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 1 and reads on wherein a basis for the control module to control whether the three-way valve switches to the gas path comprises: comparing the current ventilation volume of the respirator with a set ventilation volume (Myklebust [0047] states a microcontroller can be used to control the valve of fig. 5A-5B based on a predefined ventilation rate, see [0031] regarding a volume being used to control the operation of the valves); if the current ventilation volume of the respirator reaches the set ventilation volume, controlling the control module to switch the three-way valve to a locked gas path (Myklebust [0047] states that if hyperventilation is detected, the valve locks), connecting the exhaust pipe to the connecting tube, causing the gas control valve to close the exhaust pipe (Fan fig. 1 shows a closed state where control valve 9 allows air to fill cavity 6 to close valve 5); if the current ventilation volume of the respirator does not reach the set ventilation volume, controlling the control module to maintain a pressure relief gas path (Myklebust [0047] states that before hyperventilation, the valve is open), connecting the connecting tube to the pressure relief opening (Fan [0023] states that when the flow rate is low, the three-way valve switches to discharge the gas from the upper end of the valve diaphragm), and controlling the control side of the gas control valve to remain unforced, keeping the exhaust pipe open (Fan fig. 2 depicts this open state where air is discharged from cavity 6 and valve 5 allows air from inlet 2 to be transmitted to outlet 3).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 1 and reads on a frequency dynamic indication module (Myklebust [0047] states the microprocessor controls the valve according to a ventilation rate), wherein the frequency dynamic indication module is configured to prompt an operator to perform ventilation operations based on a set breathing time interval of a set frequency (Myklebust [0035] states a display can be provided that indicates to the operator with a number or colored lights according to an appropriate ventilation rate), and control the three-way valve to switch to a pressure relief gas path through the control module (Fan [0023] states that when the flow rate is low, the three-way valve switches to discharge the gas from the upper end of the valve diaphragm where the microprocessor of Myklebust [0047] operates the three-way valve according to ventilation rate and volume, see [0031]); after ventilation ends, when the current ventilation volume of the respirator reaches a set ventilation volume and has not reached a next ventilation time node (Myklebust [0031] the ventilation volume is used to control the valve where the ventilation rate is not met, but the volume is met, [0022] advises that the rate can be adjusted according to ventilation volume and be closed according to [0047]), the control module switches the three-way valve to a locked gas path (Myklebust [0047] states the microprocessor controls the valve to be in a closed state once the predetermined threshold is reached).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 1 and reads on
wherein an end of the first pipe section communicating with the second pipe section is located inside the second pipe section to form an annular connecting section (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below, inlet pipe 2 provides air past opening and closing chamber 7 to form an annular connecting section), and the gas control valve is set at an end of the second pipe section near the annular connecting section (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below); and wherein the gas control valve comprises a pressure chamber body connected between the second pipe section and the connecting tube (Fan fig. 2, cavity 6 is between the outlet pipe 3 which is the second pipe section and the drainage pipe 8 which is the connecting tube), the three-way valve is set at a connection between the connecting tube and the pressure chamber body (Fan fig. 2, three-way control valve 9 is set on drainage pipe 8 before the cavity 6 which is the pressure chamber body), and the pressure relief opening selectively communicates with the pressure chamber body through the three-way valve (Fan fig. 2, three-way control valve 9 allows discharge of air and functions as a pressure relief opening, see Fan [0023] which states that when the flow rate is low, the three-way valve switches to discharge the gas from the upper end of the valve diaphragm, and selectively communicates with cavity 6 to discharge air); a diaphragm assembly A is set at a connection between the second pipe section and the pressure chamber body (Fan figs. 1-2, valve 5 is defined as a diaphragm which is between cavity 6 and outlet pipe 3), and the diaphragm assembly A is capable of selectively sealing the end of the first pipe section located inside the second pipe section (Fan figs. 1-2 shows the inlet pipe 2 being sealed in fig. 1 and selectively unsealed in fig. 2); a side of the diaphragm assembly A facing towards the pressure chamber body is a control side of the diaphragm assembly A (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), a side of the diaphragm assembly A facing towards the annular connecting section is a ventilation side of the diaphragm assembly A (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), and an area under gas pressure of the control side of the diaphragm assembly A is greater than an area under gas pressure of the ventilation side of the diaphragm assembly A (see annotated Fan fig. 2, where the control side area that contacts cavity 6 is larger than the ventilation side that contacts inlet pipe 2).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 1 and reads on wherein the gas control valve comprises a valve seat configured to connect the first pipe section and the second pipe section (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the valve seat fluidically communicates with the first pipe section and second pipe section, and functions to hold the valve and allows the valve to seal against the first pipe section), the valve seat defines a valve cavity therein (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the valve seat has a cavity for air to flow to the second pipe section), the valve seat is provided with a partition plate therein that is configured to separate the valve cavity into two communicating cavities (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below); a valve cover is set on a side of the valve seat (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the valve cover is on the top of the valve seat), the valve cover is provided with a diaphragm assembly B therein (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the diaphragm assembly is covered by the valve cover), and the diaphragm assembly B is configured to selectively seal the communicating cavity connected to the first pipe section (see Fan figs. 1-2 where the airflow between pipes 2 and 3 is selectively allowed by valve 5); a side of the valve cover facing away from the valve seat communicates with the connecting tube through a pressure tube (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where drainage pipe 8 is redefined), the three-way valve is set at a connection between the connecting tube and the pressure tube (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where valve 9 is between the pressure and connecting tubes), and the pressure relief opening selectively communicates with the pressure tube through the three-way valve (Fan fig. 2, three-way control valve 9 allows discharge of air and functions as a pressure relief opening, see Fan [0023] which states that when the flow rate is low, the three-way valve switches to discharge the gas from the upper end of the valve diaphragm, and selectively communicates with cavity 6 to discharge air, therefore, in order to reach the pressure relief opening air must travel from cavity 6 to the newly defined pressure tube to valve 9 before being discharged); a side of the diaphragm assembly B facing towards the pressure tube is a control side of the diaphragm assembly B (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), a side of the diaphragm assembly B facing towards the two communicating cavities is a ventilation side of the diaphragm assembly B (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), and an area under gas pressure of the control side of the diaphragm assembly B is greater than an area under gas pressure of the ventilation side of the diaphragm assembly B (see annotated Fan fig. 2, where the control side area that contacts cavity 6 is larger than the ventilation side that contacts inlet pipe 2).
Regarding claim 8, Myklebust discloses An artificial resuscitator device, comprising:
a respirator (fig. 1, ventilation device 10), wherein the respirator comprises an exhaust pipe disposed on an end of the respirator (fig. 1, outlet 13 feeds air out of the device 10 into a patient’s airways 14);
a gas control valve (fig. 5A-5B, hyperventilation prevention mechanism 40 which includes flexible seal 45 for blocking airflow) and a flow sensor ([0012] states that the device includes a sensor, and claims 2-4, 7, and 12 of Myklebust states that the sensor is a flow sensor), disposed on the exhaust pipe (fig. 1, outlet 13 houses the sensor according to [0012]) of the respirator (5);
a gas guiding section ([0020] states the outlet 13 of device 10 is secured to an airway 14 via a mask, tube, or other suitable means which is defined as the gas guiding section);
a control module ([0047] states a microcontroller can be used to control the valve of fig. 5A-5B) configured to obtain a current ventilation volume of the respirator based on a gas flow detected by the flow sensor ( [0012] states a ventilation volume for each ventilation can be measured).
Myklebust does not expressly disclose the gas guiding section disposed on a side of the flow sensor facing away from the gas control valve, a three-way valve connected with the gas control valve, the control module configured to control whether the three-way valve switches, according to the current ventilation volume, to open or close the exhaust pipe through the gas control valve.
However, Fan teaches of a gas path switch valve (figs. 1-2) that functions by directing air from inlet pipeline 2 using valve 9 to a cavity 6 behind the valve 5 thereby sealing the air path (see figs. 1-2) comprising a connecting tube (figs. 1-2, drainage pipe 8 receives air from inlet pipe 2) branching off the exhaust pipe (figs. 1-2, inlet pipe 2), with a three-way valve (figs. 1-2, 9 according to [0011] which states the control valve is a two-position three-way solenoid valve) on the connecting tube that selectively communicates with a control side of the gas control valve (see figs. 1-2, where valve 9 allows air through pipe 8 to control the position of the diaphragm), and a side of the three-way valve defines a pressure relief opening ([0023] states valve 9 discharges air from the chamber, and because the valve is a two-position three-way solenoid valve the discharging step implies a relief opening when the valve is switched to discharge the air), and the pressure relief opening selectively communicates with the control side of the gas control valve (see fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the hyperventilation prevention mechanism valve structure of the device of Myklebust with the valve as taught by Fan as a simple substitution of one known valve element for another to obtain a predictable result of controlling the air flow out of the device.
The modified device of Myklebust reads on a gas guiding section disposed on a side of the flow sensor facing away from the gas control valve (Fan figs. 1-2, flow sensor 10 is located after the gas control valve, therefore the gas guiding section, Myklebust [0020], on the outlet of the device, Fan fig. 1, outlet pipe 3, would be on a side facing away from the gas control valve), a three-way valve (Fan figs. 1-2, control valve 9 is a three-way valve, see Fan [0038]), connected with the gas control valve (Fan fig. 2, control valve 9 connects with the gas control valve via drainage pipe 8), and the control module configured to and control whether the three-way valve switches to a gas path according to the current ventilation volume (Myklebust [0031] states that the valves can be controlled based on ventilation volume) to open or close the exhaust pipe through the gas control valve (Fan fig. 1, outlet pipe 3 is blocked from inlet pipe 2 when the valve is closed).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 8 and reads on wherein the artificial resuscitator device further comprises: a connecting tube (Fan fig. 2, discharge line 8), the connecting tube is provided with the three-way valve (Fan figs. 1-2, control valve 9 is on drainage pipe 8) thereon, and the three-way valve is configured to selectively communicate with a control side of the gas control valve (Fan figs. 1-2, drainage pipe 8 feeds into cavity 6 to open or close valve 5).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 9 and reads on wherein the artificial resuscitator device defines a pressure relief opening disposed on a side of the three-way valve (Fan figs. 1-2, the side of valve 9 that discharges the air is defined as the pressure relief opening, see [0023] states valve 9 discharges air from the chamber, and because the valve is a two-position three-way solenoid valve the discharging step implies a relief opening when the valve is switched to discharge the air), and the pressure relief opening is configured to selectively communicate with the control side of the gas control valve (Fan fig. 2, shows the cavity 6 being drained after the three-way valve 9 is switched).
Regarding claim 11, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 8 and reads on wherein the respirator further comprises: a gas storage bag (Myklebust fig. 1, self-inflating bag 11), an inlet one-way valve (fig. 1, V4, [0009] states the valves connected to the inlet and outlet are one-way valves, and [0023] states that valve V4 connected to the inlet 12 to restrict air flow into the bag through the inlet 12), and an outlet one-way valve (fig. 1, V2, [0009] states the valves connected to the inlet and outlet are one-way valves, and [0021] states that V2 is connected to the outlet and lets air from the bag into the outlet); and wherein the inlet one-way valve is disposed at an intake end of the gas storage bag facing away from the gas control valve (Myklebust fig. 1, V4 is disposed at an inlet 12 to bag 11 where inlet 12 is defined as facing away from the gas control valve due to it being on an opposite side of the gas storage bag); and the outlet one-way valve is disposed at an exhaust end of the gas storage bag ([0021] states V2 allows air from the bag to an outlet 13 thereby functioning as an outlet) facing towards the gas control valve and is connected to the exhaust pipe ([0021] states that V2 lets air from the bag into outlet 13 where the outlet is defined as an exhaust pipe and is considered as being facing towards the gas control valve due to the proximity of the control valve and outlet being on the same side of the bag 11).
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 11 and reads on wherein the exhaust pipe comprises: a first pipe section (Fang fig. 2, inlet pipeline 2) and a second pipe section (Fan fig. 1, outlet pipeline 3); wherein the first pipe section is connected to the outlet one-way valve on the exhaust end of the gas storage bag (Myklebust fig. 1, outlet V2 leads to outlet 13 which is where the gas path switch valve of Fan, figs. 1-2 is located where air enters into inlet pipeline 2 which is considered the first pipe section); the second pipe section is connected to the gas guiding section of the artificial resuscitator device (Myklebust fig. 1, the outlet 13, which houses the gas path switch valve of Fan, connects to a patient airway via a gas guiding section such as a mask or tube, see Myklebust [0020], and Fan figs. 1-2 shows air exiting at outlet pipeline 3 which is considered the second pipe section); and an annular connecting section is formed in an end of the first pipe section communicating with the second pipe section and is disposed inside the second pipe section (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below, the marked annular connecting section communicates between the pipelines 2 and 3 and is located within the second pipe section 3); and wherein the gas control valve is disposed in an end of the second pipe section facing towards the annular connecting section (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where valve 5 is defined as the gas control valve and is shown to be at the leftmost portion of the section pipe section and facing towards the annular connecting section due to it being placed directly over it); and the flow sensor is disposed on the second pipe section (Fan fig. 2, flow sensor 10 is located in outlet pipeline 3 which is defined as the second pipe section).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 12 and reads on wherein the gas control valve (Fan figs. 1-2) comprises: a pressure chamber body (Fan fig. 2, cavity 6) and a diaphragm assembly A (Fan figs. 1-2, valve 5 is defined as a diaphragm); wherein an end of the pressure chamber body is communicated with the second pipe section (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the bottom of cavity 6 communicates with the second pipe section), and another end of the pressure chamber body is communicated with a connecting tube of the artificial resuscitator device (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where drainage pipe 8 feeds into the other end of the pressure chamber body); the three-way valve is disposed at a junction between the connecting tube and the pressure chamber body (Fan fig. 2, three-way control valve 9 is set on drainage pipe 8 before the cavity 6 which is the pressure chamber body); and a pressure relief opening defined on the connecting tube is configured to selectively communicate with the pressure chamber body through the three-way valve (Fan fig. 2, three-way control valve 9 allows discharge of air and functions as a pressure relief opening, see Fan [0023] which states that when the flow rate is low, the three-way valve switches to discharge the gas from the upper end of the valve diaphragm, and selectively communicates with cavity 6 to discharge air); wherein the diaphragm assembly A is disposed at a junction between the second pipe section and the pressure chamber body (Fan figs. 1-2, valve 5 is defined as a diaphragm which is between cavity 6 and outlet pipe 3), and the diaphragm assembly A is configured to selectively seal the end of the first pipe section disposed inside the second pipe section (Fan figs. 1-2 shows the inlet pipe 2 being sealed in fig. 1 and selectively unsealed in fig. 2); and wherein a side of the diaphragm assembly A facing towards the pressure chamber body is a control side of the diaphragm assembly A (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), a side of the diaphragm assembly A facing towards the annular connecting section is a ventilation side of the diaphragm assembly A (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), and an area subjected to gas pressure of the control side of the diaphragm assembly A is greater than an area subjected to gas pressure of the ventilation side of the diaphragm assembly A (see annotated Fan fig. 2, where the control side area that contacts cavity 6 is larger than the ventilation side that contacts inlet pipe 2).
Regarding claim 16, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 12 and reads on wherein the gas control valve comprises: a valve seat (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), a valve cover (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), a diaphragm assembly B (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), and a pressure tube (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where drainage pipe 8 is redefined); wherein the valve seat is configured to connect the first pipe section to the second pipe section and defines a valve cavity therein (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the valve seat fluidically communicates with the first pipe section and second pipe section, and functions to hold the valve and allows the valve to seal against the first pipe section); the valve cavity is separated into two communicating cavities by a partition plate disposed in the valve cavity (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below); and one of the two communicating cavities is communicated with the second pipe section (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the right cavity conveys air into second pipe section 3) and another one of the two communicating cavities is communicated with the first pipe section (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the left cavity receives air from the first pipe section); wherein the valve cover is disposed on a side of the valve seat (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the valve cover is on the top of the valve seat), the diaphragm assembly B is disposed in the valve cover (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the diaphragm assembly is covered by the valve cover), and the diaphragm assembly B is configured to selectively seal the communicating cavity communicated with the first pipe section of the two communicating cavities (see Fan figs. 1-2 where the airflow between pipes 2 and 3 is selectively allowed by valve 5 by pressing against the first pipe section); and a side of the diaphragm assembly B facing towards the pressure tube is a control side of the diaphragm assembly B (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), a side of the diaphragm assembly B facing towards the two communicating cavities is a ventilation side of the diaphragm assembly B (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), and an area under gas pressure of the control side of the diaphragm assembly B is greater than an area under gas pressure of the ventilation side of the diaphragm assembly B (see annotated Fan fig. 2, where the control side area that contacts cavity 6 is larger than the ventilation side that contacts inlet pipe 2); wherein the pressure tube is disposed in a side of the valve cover facing away from the valve seat (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where drainage pipe 8 is redefined as a pressure tube and is at the top of left of the valve cover which can be considered in a side facing away from the valve seat); and an end of the pressure tube facing away from the valve cover is communicated with a connecting tube branched off the exhaust pipe (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where the connecting tube extends off of the first pipe section); and wherein the three-way valve is disposed in a junction between the connecting tube and the pressure tube (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below where valve 9 is between the pressure and connecting tubes), a pressure relief opening is defined on the connecting tube and is configured to selectively communicate with the pressure tube through the three-way valve (Fan fig. 2, three-way control valve 9 allows discharge of air and functions as a pressure relief opening, see Fan [0023] which states that when the flow rate is low, the three-way valve switches to discharge the gas from the upper end of the valve diaphragm, and selectively communicates with cavity 6 to discharge air, therefore, in order to reach the pressure relief opening air must travel from cavity 6 to the newly defined pressure tube to valve 9 before being discharged).
Regarding claim 17, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 10 and reads on wherein the control module is configured to compare the current ventilation volume of the respirator obtained according to the gas flow detected by the flow sensor (Myklebust [0027] states a ventilation volume can be calculated by integrating a flow value) with a set ventilation volume (Myklebust [0047] states a microcontroller can be used to control the valve of fig. 5A-5B based on a predefined ventilation rate, see [0031] regarding a volume being used to control the operation of the valves), to determine the current ventilation volume of the respirator equal to the set ventilation volume, and then to switch the three-way valve to a locked gas path (Myklebust [0047] states that if hyperventilation is detected, the valve locks, where hyperventilation accounts for ventilation volume and rate according to [0031]) to communicate the exhaust pipe with the connecting tube, thereby exerting a force on the control side of the gas control valve to close the exhaust pipe (Fan fig. 1 shows a closed state where control valve 9 allows air to fill cavity 6 to close valve 5); and wherein the control module is configured to determine the current ventilation volume of the respirator less than the set ventilation volume, then to switch the three-way valve to a pressure relief gas path (Myklebust [0047] states that before hyperventilation, the valve is open) to communicate the connecting tube with the pressure relief opening (Fan [0023] states that when the flow rate is low, the three-way valve switches to discharge the gas from the upper end of the valve diaphragm), thereby releasing the force on the control side of the gas control valve to open the exhaust pipe (Fan fig. 2 depicts this open state where air is discharged from cavity 6 and valve 5 allows air from inlet 2 to be transmitted to outlet 3).
Regarding claim 18, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 8 and reads on a frequency dynamic indication module (Myklebust [0047] states the microprocessor controls the valve according to a ventilation rate); and wherein the frequency dynamic indication module is configured to prompt an operator to perform a ventilation operation based on a set breathing time interval of a set frequency (Myklebust [0035] states a display can be provided that indicates to the operator with a number or colored lights according to an appropriate ventilation rate), control the three-way valve to switch to the pressure relief gas path through the control module (Fan [0023] states that when the flow rate is low, the three-way valve switches to discharge the gas from the upper end of the valve diaphragm where the microprocessor of Myklebust [0047] operates the three-way valve according to ventilation rate and volume, see [0031]), and control the three-way valve to switch to the locked gas path through the control module (Myklebust [0031] the ventilation volume is used to control the valve where the ventilation rate is not met, but the volume is met, [0022] advises that the rate can be adjusted according to ventilation volume and be closed according to [0047]) after that the ventilation operation ends and a next ventilation time node does not reach (Myklebust [0047] states the microprocessor controls the valve to be in a closed state once the predetermined threshold is reached).
Regarding claim 19, Myklebust discloses an artificial resuscitator device, comprising:
a respirator (fig. 1, ventilation device 10), comprising:
an inlet one-way valve (fig. 1, V4, [0009] states the valves connected to the inlet and outlet are one-way valves, and [0023] states that valve V4 connected to the inlet 12 to restrict air flow into the bag through the inlet 12);
an outlet one-way valve (fig. 1, V2, [0009] states the valves connected to the inlet and outlet are one-way valves, and [0021] states that V2 is connected to the outlet and lets air from the bag into the outlet); and
a gas storage bag (fig. 1, self-inflating bag 11), disposed between the inlet one-way valve and the outlet one-way valve (fig. 1, bag 11 is between valves V4 and V2);
an exhaust pipe (fig. 1, outlet 13 feeds air out of the device 10 into a patient’s airways 14), connected with the outlet one-way valve (fig. 1, outlet 13 is downstream of bag 11 which has outlet valve V2);
a gas control valve (fig. 5A-5B, hyperventilation prevention mechanism 40 which includes flexible seal 45 for blocking airflow), disposed on the exhaust pipe (fig. 5A-5B inlet 47 is connected to the outlet of a ventilation device, see [0046]), and located at a side of the outlet one-way valve facing away from the gas storage bag (fig. 1, outlet 13 is shown downstream of valve V2 thereby being located at a side away from the bag 11);
a flow sensor ([0012] states that the device includes a sensor, and claims 2-4, 7, and 12 of Myklebust states that the sensor is a flow sensor), disposed on the exhaust pipe (fig. 1, outlet 13 houses the sensor according to [0012]), and located at a side of the gas control valve (6) facing away from the outlet one-way valve (fig. 1, outlet 13 is shown downstream of valve V2 thereby being located at a side away from the bag 11);
a gas guiding section ([0020] states the outlet 13 of device 10 is secured to an airway 14 via a mask, tube, or other suitable means which is defined as the gas guiding section), connected with the exhaust pipe (11);
a control module ([0047] states a microcontroller controls the valve state) configured to obtain a current ventilation volume ([0012]);
wherein the exhaust pipe (figs. 5A-5B, inlet 47 and housing 41) comprises: a first pipe section (fig. 5A-5B inlet 47) connected to the gas storage bag ([0046] states that the inlet is connected to the outlet of a device with a bag 11) and a second pipe section (figs. 5A-5B, housing 41) connected to the gas guiding section ([0020] states the outlet 13 of device 10 is secured to an airway 14 via a mask, tube, or other suitable means which is defined as the gas guiding section); the gas control valve is disposed at a junction of the first pipe section and the second pipe section (figs. 5A-5B, seal 45 is set between inlet 47 and housing 41). The device of Myklebust does not expressly disclose a connecting tube connected to the exhaust pipe via a three-way valve, the gas guiding section located at a side of the flow sensor facing away from the gas control valve, the control module configured to control whether the three-way valve switches a gas path according to the current ventilation volume, the connecting tube is connected with the first pipe section, and the flow sensor is disposed on the second pipe section.
However, Fan teaches of a gas path switch valve (figs. 1-2) that functions by directing air from inlet pipeline 2 using valve 9 to a cavity 6 behind the valve 5 thereby sealing the air path (see figs. 1-2) comprising a connecting tube (figs. 1-2, drainage pipe 8 receives air from inlet pipe 2) branching off the exhaust pipe (figs. 1-2, inlet pipe 2), with a three-way valve (figs. 1-2, 9 according to [0011] which states the control valve is a two-position three-way solenoid valve) on the connecting tube that selectively communicates with a control side of the gas control valve (see figs. 1-2, where valve 9 allows air through pipe 8 to control the position of the diaphragm), and a side of the three-way valve defines a pressure relief opening ([0023] states valve 9 discharges air from the chamber, and because the valve is a two-position three-way solenoid valve the discharging step implies a relief opening when the valve is switched to discharge the air), and the pressure relief opening selectively communicates with the control side of the gas control valve (see fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the hyperventilation prevention mechanism valve structure of the device of Myklebust with the valve as taught by Fan as a simple substitution of one known valve element for another to obtain a predictable result of controlling the air flow out of the device.
The modified device of Myklebust reads on a connecting tube branching off the exhaust pipe (Fan figs. 1-2, drainage pipe 8 receives air from inlet pipe 2, also see fig. 4 which shows the relative position of valves SWV and SV), with a three-way valve on the connecting tube (Fan figs. 1-2, control valve 9 is on drainage pipe 8) that selectively communicates with a control side of the gas control valve (Fan figs. 1-2, drainage pipe 8 feeds into cavity 6 to open or close valve 5), and a side of the three-way valve defines a pressure relief opening ([0023] states valve 9 discharges air from the chamber, and because the valve is a two-position three-way solenoid valve the discharging step implies a relief opening when the valve is switched to discharge the air), and the pressure relief opening selectively communicates with the control side of the gas control valve (Fan fig. 2, shows the cavity 6 being drained after the three-way valve 9 is switched), the control module configured to open or close the exhaust pipe (Fan fig. 1, outlet pipe 3 is blocked from inlet pipe 2 when the valve is closed) through the gas control valve (Fan figs. 1-2 show how control valve 9 can adjust air within cavity 6 to open or close valve 5) and the connecting tube is branched off at the first pipe section (Fan figs. 1-2 show drainage pipe 8 originating on air inlet pipe 2 which is considered the first pipe section), and the flow sensor (Fan figs. 1-2, flow sensor 10) is set on the second pipe section (fan figs. 1-2, sensor 10 is located on outlet pipe 3 which is considered the second pipe section), and the control module configured to control whether the three-way valve switches a gas path according to the current ventilation volume to open or close the exhaust pipe.
Regarding claim 20, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 19 and reads on wherein an end of the first pipe section communicating with the second pipe section is located inside the second pipe section to form an annular connecting section (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below, inlet pipe 2 provides air past opening and closing chamber 7 to form an annular connecting section), and the gas control valve is set at an end of the second pipe section near the annular connecting section (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below); and wherein the gas control valve comprises a pressure chamber body connected between the second pipe section and the connecting tube (Fan fig. 2, cavity 6 is between the outlet pipe 3 which is the second pipe section and the drainage pipe 8 which is the connecting tube), the three-way valve is set at a connection between the connecting tube and the pressure chamber body (Fan fig. 2, three-way control valve 9 is set on drainage pipe 8 before the cavity 6 which is the pressure chamber body), and the pressure relief opening selectively communicates with the pressure chamber body through the three-way valve (Fan fig. 2, three-way control valve 9 allows discharge of air and functions as a pressure relief opening, see Fan [0023] which states that when the flow rate is low, the three-way valve switches to discharge the gas from the upper end of the valve diaphragm, and selectively communicates with cavity 6 to discharge air); a diaphragm assembly A is set at a connection between the second pipe section and the pressure chamber body (Fan figs. 1-2, valve 5 is defined as a diaphragm which is between cavity 6 and outlet pipe 3), and the diaphragm assembly A is capable of selectively sealing the end of the first pipe section located inside the second pipe section (Fan figs. 1-2 shows the inlet pipe 2 being sealed in fig. 1 and selectively unsealed in fig. 2); a side of the diaphragm assembly A facing towards the pressure chamber body is a control side of the diaphragm assembly A (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), a side of the diaphragm assembly A facing towards the annular connecting section is a ventilation side of the diaphragm assembly A (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), and an area under gas pressure of the control side of the diaphragm assembly A is greater than an area under gas pressure of the ventilation side of the diaphragm assembly A(see annotated Fan fig. 2, where the control side area that contacts cavity 6 is larger than the ventilation side that contacts inlet pipe 2).
12. Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Myklebust in view of Fan, as applied to claims 4 and 13 above, respectively, and further in view of Seeler (US 2,664,881).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 4 and reads on wherein the diaphragm assembly A comprises a diaphragm main body (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), and two ends of an outer ring area of the diaphragm main body are connected to the second pipe section and the pressure chamber body (see annotated Fan fig. 2 below), but does not expressly disclose that the diaphragm is connected by a first fixing ring (622) and a second fixing ring (623).
However, Seeler teaches of resuscitation device with a diaphragm valve that is secured in place via gaskets (fig. 2, gaskets 5 secure diaphragm 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the diaphragm assembly of the modified device of Myklebust with the gaskets as taught by Seeler to prevent gas leakage in the device (Seeler col. 2, lines 21-23 states that other gaskets are used to prevent gas leakage).
The modified device of Myklebust reads on the diaphragm is connected by a first fixing ring and a second fixing ring (Seeler fig. 2, gaskets 5).
Regarding claim 14, the modified device of Myklebust reads on claim 13 and reads on wherein the diaphragm assembly A comprises a diaphragm main body (see annotated Fan fig. 2 above), and two ends of an outer ring area of the diaphragm main body are connected to the second pipe section and the pressure chamber body (see annotated Fan fig. 2 above), but does not expressly disclose that the diaphragm is connected by a first fixing ring (622) and a second fixing ring (623).
However, Seeler teaches of resuscitation device with a diaphragm valve that is secured in place via gaskets (fig. 2, gaskets 5 secure diaphragm 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the diaphragm assembly of the modified device of Myklebust with the gaskets as taught by Seeler to prevent gas leakage in the device (Seeler col. 2, lines 21-23 states that other gaskets are used to prevent gas leakage).
The modified device of Myklebust reads on the diaphragm is connected by a first fixing ring and a second fixing ring (Seeler fig. 2, gaskets 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 7 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the prior art of record does not disclose the each of the fixing rings are arranged with a plurality of grooves to hold a first and second pressure sensor in the first and second fixing rings respectively in order to contact the diaphragm and determine a force situation or gas pressure on each side of the diaphragm to determine if the diaphragm is functioning properly along with the remaining claim limitations.
The closest prior art of record is Klemt (EP-3957884).
Klemt discloses various sensors on a sensor sheet that can be placed on a diaphragm, contacting the diaphragm, to determine its condition (fig. 3, membrane 200 has sensor layer 100 placed on one side to detect functional condition of the diaphragm), however, the pressure sensors are only located on a single side of the diaphragm and are not located within fixing rings.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Boulanger et al. (US 2021/0146074) discloses an artificial resuscitation bag that includes a PEP valve that connects to the exhaust tube. Alexander et al. (US 2023/0405248) discloses a tidal volume monitor that can be attached to a resuscitation bag which lights up differently according to the measured tidal volume relative to a target tidal volume.
/THOMAS Z CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785