DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-21 are pending and are under consideration on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/26 was filed prior to the mailing date of a Final Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, it was considered by the Examiner.
Status of the Rejections
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The 103 rejections are maintained
The double patenting rejections are withdrawn in view of the filing and approval of terminal disclaimers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Huang et al. (International Journal of Pharmaceutics 572 (2019) 118783) in view of ESKALITH® Prescribing Information (2003)(hereinafter “EPI”).
As to claims 1-21, Huang is directed to the development of a controlled release oral dosage forming the form of a bilayer tablet (claim 3) having increased gastric retention time relative to conventional single layer tablets, the tablet comprising an extended release polymer matrix portion comprising a drug and a controlled release polymer and a gastroretentive portion comprising a swellable polymer (“first” and “second” layers of claim 2)(Title and Abstract). Huang teaches that the dosage form taught therein is an improvement over conventional sustained release dosage forms that have very limited exposure time to the optimal absorption sites (first paragraph of the introduction section on page 1). Huang studied the release kinetics of the dosage form using ranitidine hydrochloride as a model drug (page 2, 3rd full paragraph), and teaches that the dosage form is a promising platform technology for efficient stomach- specific delivery of drugs (Conclusion section on page 12).
Regarding claims 5, 17, and 19, the controlled release polymer is hydroxypropylmethyl cellulose (a “cellulose ether” of claim 17)(paragraph bridging pages 7-8) and the swellable polymer may be sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, or polyethylene oxide (“cellulose ethers” of claim 19)(Section 2.2.1). The polyethylene oxide is POLYOX WSR 303, which has a molecular weight of 7,000,000, which is within the range of claim 19 (Section 2.2.1).
As to claim 4, the gastroretentive portion of the Huang bilayer tablet does not comprise the drug.
As to claim 7, the extended release polymer matrix portion and the gastroretentive portion both comprise a lubricant (Section 2.4.2 at page 2).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches a method of preparing the tablet comprising providing a first blend compressing the drug and controlled release polymer and a second blend comprising the swellable polymer and compressing the blends together to form the bilayer tablet (Section 2.4.2 on page 3).
Regarding claims 8, 12, and 20-21, Huang teaches administering the tablet with food to a subject one time, which reads on the “once daily” limitation of these claims (Section 2.5.3).
As to claim 15, Huang discloses an embodiment wherein the ranitidine drug is present in the amount of 30 wt% of the extended release portion, which is below the range recited by the claim (Table 2).
As to claim 16, Huang discloses an embodiment wherein the extended release polymer is present in the amount of 5 wt% of the total weight of the extended release portion, which is below the about 8-40 wt% range recited by the claim (Table 2).
Regarding claim 18, Huang discloses an embodiment wherein the swellable polymer (PEO) is present in the amount of 78 wt% of the gastroretentive portion, which is within the claimed range (Table 2).
As to claims 1-21, Huang does not further expressly disclose that the drug is lithium carbonate in the amount of greater than 450 mg as recited by base claims 1, 9, and 13 such as the amounts recited by claims 6, 10, and 15, and wherein the tablet is administered to treat depression or mania (claims 11 and 20). Additionally, Huang discloses embodiments having a weight ratio of the extended release to gastroretentive portions of about 1:1 (Table 2), which is below the ranges of claims 13 and 14. Nor does Huang teach that the extended release polymer is present in the amount recited by claim 16. Regarding claim 7, while Huang teaches that it is known in the art to incorporate a gas generating agent into gastroretentive dosage forms to impart floating properties, Huang discloses generating pores in the gastroretentive portion of the dosage form taught therein instead of incorporating a gas generating agent (page 2, 1st and 2nd full paragraphs).
EPI discloses controlled release tablets comprising 450 mg of lithium carbonate and teaches that the tablets are designed to release a portion of the dose initially and the remainder gradually so as to reduce variability in lithium blood levels that are seen with immediate release dosage forms (page 1). EPI teaches that lithium toxicity is closely related to serum levels and can occur at doses close to therapeutic levels (last sentence of page 2). EPI teaches that lithium carbonate is indicated for the treatment of manic episodes of manic-depressive illness (page 2, 1st paragraph).
As to claims 1-21, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the Huang controlled release composition by selecting lithium carbonate as the active in the extended-release polymer matrix portion instead of ranitidine hydrochloride with a reasonable expectation of success, because Huang teaches that its dosage form is a platform technology for stomach delivery of drugs generally with ranitidine hydrochloride merely being a model drug used to test the platform, and EPI teaches that a controlled release dosage form is preferable for lithium carbonate because lithium toxicity can occur at serum levels close to therapeutic levels and controlled release dosage forms will reduce the variability in lithium blood levels that can lead to toxicity, such that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected that the Huang controlled release dosage form could help prevent variability in lithium serum levels and therefore reduce the likelihood of toxicity, and additionally because Huang teaches that its dosage form is superior to conventional sustained release dosage forms because it helps increase exposure times to optimal absorption sites in the upper GI tract, such that the skilled artisan would have been motivated to deliver lithium carbonate using the Huang dosage form to obtain this advantage.
As to claims 11 and 20-21, it further would have been prima facie obvious to administer the composition to a subject for the treatment of mania/depression because EPI teaches that lithium carbonate is indicated for this condition.
It further would have been prima facie obvious to select an amount of the lithium carbonate that is within the ranges of claims 1, 6, 9-10, and 13, because EPI discloses that a suitable dosage form for lithium carbonate may comprise 450 mg of the active which is so close to the “greater than 450 mg” recited by claims 1, 9, and 13 that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected no significant change in properties. MPEP a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). Regarding the ranges of claims 6 and 10, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to select the higher ranges recited by the claim for patient requiring a higher dosage of the drug and with a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the recited ranges since the skilled artisan would have been optimizing for the same purpose as in the claimed invention, i.e., discovery of the optimal dose of lithium carbonate for the treatment of manic depression. Discovering optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art in cases where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 15, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select an amount of the lithium carbonate that is higher than the 30 wt% range for the drug taught by Huang and within the 60-90 wt% of the claim with a reasonable expectation of success, because EPI teaches a dosage for lithium carbonate of 450 mg which is much higher than the 150mg for the ranitidine of Huang, such that the skilled artisan would have recognized that the wt% of the lithium carbonate would need to be higher than for the dosage taught by Huang for ranitidine. Discovering optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art in cases where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 7, it further would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate a gas generating agent into the gastroretentive portion because Huang expressly teaches that this was a known alternative method of imparting flotation properties to a gastroretentive dosage form.
As to claims 13-14, it further would have been prima facie obvious to increase the weight ratio of the extended release to gastroretentive portions to within the recited ranages with a reasonable expectation of success, because the dosage of the lithium carbonate that is present in the extended release portion is much larger than the amount of ranitidine taught by Huang as discussed above, such that the skilled artisan would recognize that the weight of the extended release portion must be higher to accommodate the lithium carbonate. Discovering optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art in cases where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, it further would have been prima facie obvious to select an amount of the controlled release polymer that is within the claimed range with a reasonable expectation of success, because claim 16 recites “about” such that the claim encompasses amounts somewhat less than the recited 8 wt% and which is sufficiently close to the 5 wt% taught by Huang that the skilled artisan reasonably would have expected no significant change in properties. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Additionally, discovering optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art in cases where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues that Hwang only teaches the use of ranitidine hydrochloride as the drug and at best would suggest only other organic small molecules drugs similar to ranitidine hydrochloride, and that controlled release formulations for organic small molecule drugs may not necessarily be suitable for inorganic salts such as lithium carbonate. Applicant asserts that there would be no reasonable expectation of success in replacing the drug taught by Hwang with lithium carbonate because changing the drug and the sustained release formulation would likely result in a different drug release profile and further that there would be no expectation that Hwang’s tablet would be able to release the large quantity of active recited by the claims. Applicant further argues that Hwang teaches tablets containing only 150 mg of the drug while the present claims recite an amount of drug that is three times larger, and that there would not be an expectation that Hwang’s tablet would be able to release such a large quantity of active.
In response, obviousness does not require absolute predictability, rather, only some degree of predictability is required. MPEP 2143.02 II. Huang expressly teaches its formulation as being a promising “platform” technology for efficient stomach-specific delivery of drugs as discussed in the rejection; in other words, as a formulation that can be used to deliver other drugs to the stomach beyond the model drug that was studied therein. Huang does not teach or suggest that only certain types of drugs could be delivered using its formulation. Applicant’s assertion of a lack of reasonable expectation of success in replacing the drug taught by Hwang with lithium carbonate is not persuasive because it is attorney argument that is not backed by evidence of record. Arguments presented by applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. See In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”).
Similarly, there is no evidence of record of any lack of reasonable expectation of success in using Hwang’s formulation to deliver an amount of drug that is within the scope of the claims, and Applicant’s suggestions to the contrary are attorney argument that cannot take the place of evidence of record. It would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan to adjust the size of the bilayer tablet and the amounts of the agreements (e.g., the carrier excipients) to be able to accommodate the amount of drug recited by the claims.
Applicant also argues that Hwang provides no teaching or suggestion to use the claimed weight ratio of extended release polymer matrix to gastroretentive portion within the ranges of claims 13-14. Applicant asserts that reducing the amount of the GR layer relative to the drug layer could render the tablet less gastric retentive and thus unable to maintain the tablet in the stomach for the required duration of time for effective drug release.
In response, Applicant’s argument is again attorney argument that cannot take the place of evidence of record. As discussed in the rejection, the dosage of the lithium carbonate that is present in the extended release portion is much larger than the amount of ranitidine taught by Huang as discussed above, such that the skilled artisan would recognize that the weight of the extended release portion must be higher to accommodate the lithium carbonate. Additionally, discovering optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art in cases where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 7, Applicant also argues that Hwang teaches away from the use of gas generating agents because Hwang teaches that the use of such agents requires a lag time for floating and therefore is at risk of premature gastric emptying.
In response, "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Here, while Hwang does not teach that its composition uses gas generating agents, it nevertheless expressly teaches gas generating agents by disclosing that it was known in the prior art to use such agents. While Hwang teaches that there are potential disadvantages to the use of gas generating agents, "[a] known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as
somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use." In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (The invention was directed to an epoxy impregnated fiber-reinforced printed circuit material. The applied prior art reference taught a printed circuit material similar to that of the claims but impregnated with polyester-imide resin instead of epoxy. The reference, however, disclosed that epoxy was known for this use, but that epoxy impregnated circuit boards have "relatively acceptable dimensional stability" and "some degree of flexibility," but are inferior to circuit boards impregnated with polyester-imide resins. The court upheld the rejection concluding that applicant's argument that the reference teaches away from using epoxy was insufficient to overcome the rejection since "Gurley asserted no discovery beyond what was known in the art." 27 F.3d at 554, 31 USPQ2d at 1132.). Furthermore, "[t]he prior art's mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (The court held that the prior art anticipated the claims even though it taught away from the claimed invention. "The fact that a modem with a single carrier data signal is shown to be less than optimal does not vitiate the fact that it is disclosed.").
Regarding claim 8, Applicant also argues that Hwang is silent with respect to administration of lithium carbonate and EPI requires doses of its controlled release tablets to be given twice a day. Applicant concludes that it would not have been reasonably expected that a once a day tablet containing greater than 450 mg lithium carbonate could be prepared that provides therapeutic lithium levels for 24 hours.
In response, Applicant’s argument is again attorney argument that cannot take the place of evidence of record. There is no evidence of record suggesting that at the effective filing date of the present invention the skilled artisan would have doubted that it would be possible to formulate a sustained release dosage form comprising an amount of lithium carbonate that is sufficient to enable once a day administration.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAREN GOTFREDSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/BENNETT M CELSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600