DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to amendment filed on 05/27/2026. Claims 1, 10 and 12 have been amended. Claim 20 has been canceled. Claims 21-22 have been newly added. Claims 1-19 and 21-22 remain pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 06/24/2024 are accepted.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s claim amendments has overcome the objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 01/30/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant stated in Pages 9-10 “Grandcolas explicitly teaches that this is one option to access the second web server, and that other options, such as accessing the second web server directly using a sign-on process, are possible:… This implies that the second server can allow access to the user without receiving the token from the user, e.g. by performing a sign-on process, that is "necessary and required" (i.e.,
possible) if not accessing the second web page through the first web page. Grandcolas does not teach or suggest the limitation of amended independent claim 1 that requires "opening the webpage by the web server only upon successful verification". Thus, Grandcolas provides weaker protection compared to an embodiment of amended independent claim 1 since it does not enforce accessing the second web server only through the first web server.”
Examiner submits that Grandcolas illustrates in Figure 2 if the token verification is not successful, then the webpage session fails 70-72. Therefore, Grandcolas discloses the above argued limitation, as drafted in the claim and given the broadest reasonable interpretation. Examiner further submits that whether there is a different possible option available to the user for successful verification is irrelevant if the option in Figure 2 with its steps is elected by the user, then the opening of the webpage is contingent on successful verification 68 in Figure 2.
Applicant further stated in Page 11 “in Grandcolas, the brokerage web server sends the token to whoever sent the request to enter the bank web server, which for him is the client. For example, Grandcolas, p. 2, lines 47-60 recited hereinabove, teaches "receiving log-in data from a user in a first server" and "transmitting the authentication token to the user". i.e., in Grandcolas there is no need for the user to be associated with a specific client computer. This makes Grandcolas vulnerable to dynamic fishing attempts in which the attacker impersonates the client, i.e., after stilling the client's credentials, an attacker may enter the client's account on the brokerage firm web server, send a request through the brokerage firm web page to enter the bank web page, get the token from the brokerage firm web server and enter the bank web page.”
Examiner submits that Grandcolas discloses the above argued limitation, as drafted and given the broadest reasonable interpretation. Grandcolas discloses the user has to be authenticated with the first server as disclosed in Col. 1 line 65-67 and Col.2 line 1-2, 18-23. Therefore, whoever sent the request has to be authenticated as well and associated with a client illustrated in Figure 1.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “local device is configured to:…” in claim 12.
Structures and functions of the aforementioned limitations are disclosed in e.g. [0032] and illustrated in Figure 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 12, 14, 16-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grandcolas (US 7137006 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Grandcolas teaches a computerized method for providing a secure access to a webpage (Grandcolas Abstract “Methods and systems for single sign-on user access to multiple web servers…The first web server provides a web page to the user having a service selector (e.g., a hyperlink comprising the URL of a second web server offering the service indicated by the selector). ”), the method comprising:
obtaining, at an authentication server from a user agent application, a request to open the webpage provided by a web server, together with a username of a user (Grandcolas Col. 1 line 65-67 and Col.2 line 1-2 “…a user is authenticated at a first web server (e.g., by user name and password). The first web server provides a web page to the user having a service selector (e.g., a hyperlink comprising the URL of a second web server (i.e. web server) offering the service indicated by the selector).”, Col. 2 line 18-23 “…the method comprises allowing a user at a computing device to access a first web server (i.e. authentication server) in the federation of web servers via a web browser (i.e. agent application) of the computing device, authenticating the user with user-provided authentication information (i.e. username), including at least a user identification, by the first web server”, Figure 2 50 illustrates request pertaining to bill payment via web browser for a webpage illustrated in Figure 3);
generating a token by the authentication server (Grandcolas Col. 2 line 29-32 “…the first web server creates an authentication token for the user including at least the user identification and with a pre-defined token expiry by the first web server, digitally signing (e.g., by public key encryption) the authentication token by the first web server”);
providing, by the authentication server, the token to the user agent application and to the web server (Grandcolas Col. 2 line 36-38 “…sending the digitally signed authentication token to the web browser of the computing device by the first web server”, Col. 4 line 16-29 “Upon detecting the request of bill payment, the brokerage firm server 30 builds an authentication token 52. An authentication token comprises an object (or data) that can be passed between cooperating servers. A function of an embodiment of an authentication token is to convey the necessary information from a primary (or first) server to a secondary (or second) server to allow the secondary server to skip the sign-on process that would otherwise be necessary and required.”);
receiving at the web server from the user agent application, a request to open the webpage together with the token (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 9-18 “The customer client 10 connects with the bank web site 42 via the Internet 20 and sends the cookie to the bank web server 62. In the embodiment shown, the authentication token is transmitted in a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) session. Further, in the embodiment shown, on receipt of the redirect command, the customer client 10 opens a second browser window, requests a download of the home page at the URL of the web site 42 (or the page designated in the URL), receives the page of the web site 42 from the bank web server 40, and displays the page in the window… The cookie received by the customer client 10 from the brokerage firm web server 30 is sent by the customer client 10 to the bank web server 40.”, where the cookie is the authentication token as disclosed in e.g. Col. 4 line 52-53);
verifying, by the web server, the token obtained from the user agent application against the token obtained from the authentication server (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 23-36 “The bank web server 40 receives the cookie from the customer client 10. The bank web server 40 decodes the encoded, signed, and encrypted string built into the cookie by the brokerage firm web server 30 into a signed, encrypted string 64. Such decoding employs URL Decoding (or URLDecode) methods in the embodiment shown. In the embodiment shown, URL Decoding is employed to convert the URL encoded string in the cookie to plain ASCII for examination by the bank web server 40. The bank web server 40 and the brokerage firm web server 30 previously exchanged public-private key decryption information. Once the string is decoded, the bank web server 40 decrypts and verifies the cookie (including the signed, encrypted string that is now decoded) 66.”); and
opening the webpage by the web server only upon successful verification (Grandcolas Figure 2 (66, 68, 74, 76) illustrates cookie/token verifications, and upon successful verification, then (Figure 2 78-80) webpage 110 in Figure 3 is available to the customer client Col. 8 line 23-25 “…the web server 40 begins a bill payment session using the session and profile data 78 by sending the customer client the web page 110 of the bank web site 42 that is shown in FIG. 3”, in the case of failed verification (68-70-72), the bill payment session is not commenced and Col. 7 line 46-50 “…the bank web server 40 rejects the attempted sign-on and re-directs the customer client 10 to a web page on the brokerage firm web server 30 indicating an error and sign-on failure 70, resulting in a failed sign-on attempt 72.”).
Regarding claim 3, Grandcolas teaches the method of claim 1, comprising authenticating the user by the authentication server prior to generating the token (Grandcolas Col. 1 line 65-66 “…a user is authenticated at a first web server (e.g., by user name and password).”, further Col. 2 line 18-23, where after authentication of the user by the first web server, --the token is built/created, as disclosed in e.g. Col. 1 60-67 though Col. 2 line 1-15).
Regarding claim 5, Grandcolas teaches the method of claim 1, comprising operating a web browser by the user agent application (Grandcolas Col.1 line 43-50 “The customer's personal computer 10 having a web browser such as Microsoft Internet Explorer or Netscape Navigator (a client) is in communication with the Internet 20 as well. The customer 5 uses the customer's personal computer and browser 10 to communicate with the web servers 30, 40 via the Internet.”, Col. 2 line 18-21 “…the method comprises allowing a user at a computing device to access a first web server in the federation of web servers via a web browser of the computing device”).
Regarding claim 6, Grandcolas teaches the method of claim 5, comprising providing the webpage to the user through the web browser (Grandcolas Col.1 line 43-50 “The customer's personal computer 10 having a web browser such as Microsoft Internet Explorer or Netscape Navigator (a client) is in communication with the Internet 20 as well. The customer 5 uses the customer's personal computer and browser 10 to communicate with the web servers 30, 40 via the Internet.”, Figure 2 (66, 68, 74, 76) illustrates cookie/token verifications, and upon successful verification, then (Figure 2 78-80) webpage 110 in Figure 3 is available to the customer client Col. 8 line 23-25 “…the web server 40 begins a bill payment session using the session and profile data 78 by sending the customer client the web page 110 of the bank web site 42 that is shown in FIG. 3”).
Regarding claim 7, Grandcolas teaches the method of claim 6, wherein providing the webpage comprises: sending, by the authentication server to the web browser, a single sign-on (SSO) token (Col. 2 line 36-38 “…sending the digitally signed authentication token to the web browser of the computing device by the first web server”, where the built authentication token is a single sign on token, since it is created based on “single sign-on user access to multiple web servers” as disclosed in Col 1 line 63);
using the SSO token to authenticate the user (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 23-36 “The bank web server 40 receives the cookie from the customer client 10. The bank web server 40 decodes the encoded, signed, and encrypted string built into the cookie by the brokerage firm web server 30 into a signed, encrypted string 64. Such decoding employs URL Decoding (or URLDecode) methods in the embodiment shown. In the embodiment shown, URL Decoding is employed to convert the URL encoded string in the cookie to plain ASCII for examination by the bank web server 40. The bank web server 40 and the brokerage firm web server 30 previously exchanged public-private key decryption information. Once the string is decoded, the bank web server 40 decrypts and verifies the cookie (including the signed, encrypted string that is now decoded) 66.”); and
opening the webpage via the web browser, upon successful verification of the SSO token (Grandcolas Figure 2 (66, 68, 74, 76) illustrates cookie/token verifications, and upon successful verification, then (Figure 2 78-80) webpage 110 in Figure 3 is available to the customer client Col. 8 line 23-25 “…the web server 40 begins a bill payment session using the session and profile data 78 by sending the customer client the web page 110 of the bank web site 42 that is shown in FIG. 3”).
Regarding claim 9, Grandcolas teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the token is valid for a limited period (Grandcolas Col. 2 line 9 and 29-32 “The authentication token comprises an expiration time…the first web server creates an authentication token for the user including at least the user identification and with a pre-defined token expiry by the first web server).
Regarding claim 12, Grandcolas teaches a system for providing a secure access to a webpage (Grandcolas Abstract “Methods and systems for single sign-on user access to multiple web servers…The first web server provides a web page to the user having a service selector (e.g., a hyperlink comprising the URL of a second web server offering the service indicated by the selector). ”), the system comprising:
a web server (Grandcolas server 40 in Figure 1, which is also equivalent to the second server disclosed in e.g. Col. 1 line 65-67 and Col.2 line 1-2);
a local device (Grandcolas Figure 1 Customer Client 10); and
an authentication server (Grandcolas server 30 in Figure 1, which is also equivalent to the first server disclosed in e.g. Col. 1 line 65-67 and Col.2 line 1-2) configured to:
obtain, from local device, a request to open the webpage provided by the web server, together with a username (Grandcolas Col. 1 line 65-67 and Col.2 line 1-2 “…a user is authenticated at a first web server (e.g., by user name and password). The first web server provides a web page to the user having a service selector (e.g., a hyperlink comprising the URL of a second web server (i.e. web server) offering the service indicated by the selector).”, Col. 2 line 18-23 “…the method comprises allowing a user at a computing device to access a first web server (i.e. authentication server) in the federation of web servers via a web browser (i.e. agent application) of the computing device, authenticating the user with user-provided authentication information (i.e. username), including at least a user identification, by the first web server”, Figure 2 50 illustrates request pertaining to bill payment via web browser for a webpage illustrated in Figure 3);
generate a token (Grandcolas Col. 2 line 29-32 “…the first web server creates an authentication token for the user including at least the user identification and with a pre-defined token expiry by the first web server, digitally signing (e.g., by public key encryption) the authentication token by the first web server”); and
provide the token to the local device and to the web server (Grandcolas Col. 2 line 36-38 “…sending the digitally signed authentication token to the web browser of the computing device by the first web server”, Col. 4 line 16-29 “Upon detecting the request of bill payment, the brokerage firm server 30 builds an authentication token 52. An authentication token comprises an object (or data) that can be passed between cooperating servers. A function of an embodiment of an authentication token is to convey the necessary information from a primary (or first) server to a secondary (or second) server to allow the secondary server to skip the sign-on process that would otherwise be necessary and required.”);
wherein the local device is configured to:
send a request to open the webpage together with the token to the web server (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 9-18 “The customer client 10 connects with the bank web site 42 via the Internet 20 and sends the cookie to the bank web server 62. In the embodiment shown, the authentication token is transmitted in a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) session. Further, in the embodiment shown, on receipt of the redirect command, the customer client 10 opens a second browser window, requests a download of the home page at the URL of the web site 42 (or the page designated in the URL), receives the page of the web site 42 from the bank web server 40, and displays the page in the window… The cookie received by the customer client 10 from the brokerage firm web server 30 is sent by the customer client 10 to the bank web server 40.”, where the cookie is the authentication token as disclosed in e.g. Col. 4 line 52-53);
wherein the web server is configured to:
verify the token obtained from the local device against the token obtained from the authentication server (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 23-36 “The bank web server 40 receives the cookie from the customer client 10. The bank web server 40 decodes the encoded, signed, and encrypted string built into the cookie by the brokerage firm web server 30 into a signed, encrypted string 64. Such decoding employs URL Decoding (or URLDecode) methods in the embodiment shown. In the embodiment shown, URL Decoding is employed to convert the URL encoded string in the cookie to plain ASCII for examination by the bank web server 40. The bank web server 40 and the brokerage firm web server 30 previously exchanged public-private key decryption information. Once the string is decoded, the bank web server 40 decrypts and verifies the cookie (including the signed, encrypted string that is now decoded) 66.”); and
open the webpage only upon successful verification (Grandcolas Figure 2 (66, 68, 74, 76) illustrates cookie/token verifications, and upon successful verification, then (Figure 2 78-80) webpage 110 in Figure 3 is available to the customer client Col. 8 line 23-25 “…the web server 40 begins a bill payment session using the session and profile data 78 by sending the customer client the web page 110 of the bank web site 42 that is shown in FIG. 3”, in the case of failed verification (68-70-72), the bill payment session is not commenced and Col. 7 line 46-50 “…the bank web server 40 rejects the attempted sign-on and re-directs the customer client 10 to a web page on the brokerage firm web server 30 indicating an error and sign-on failure 70, resulting in a failed sign-on attempt 72.”).
Regarding claim 14, Grandcolas teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the authentication server is configured to authenticate the user prior to generating the token (Grandcolas Col. 1 line 65-66 “…a user is authenticated at a first web server (e.g., by user name and password).”, further Col. 2 line 18-23, where after authentication of the user by the first web server, --the token is built/created, as disclosed in e.g., Col. 1 60-67 though Col. 2 line 1-15).
Regarding claim 16, Grandcolas teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the local device is configured to operate a web browser (Grandcolas Col.1 line 43-50 “The customer's personal computer 10 having a web browser such as Microsoft Internet Explorer or Netscape Navigator (a client) is in communication with the Internet 20 as well. The customer 5 uses the customer's personal computer and browser 10 to communicate with the web servers 30, 40 via the Internet.”, Col. 2 line 18-21 “…the method comprises allowing a user at a computing device to access a first web server in the federation of web servers via a web browser of the computing device”).
Regarding claim 17, Grandcolas teaches the system of claim 16, wherein the local device is configured to provide the webpage to the user through the web browser (Grandcolas Col.1 line 43-50 “The customer's personal computer 10 having a web browser such as Microsoft Internet Explorer or Netscape Navigator (a client) is in communication with the Internet 20 as well. The customer 5 uses the customer's personal computer and browser 10 to communicate with the web servers 30, 40 via the Internet.”, Figure 2 (66, 68, 74, 76) illustrates cookie/token verifications, and upon successful verification, then (Figure 2 78-80) webpage 110 in Figure 3 is available to the customer client Col. 8 line 23-25 “…the web server 40 begins a bill payment session using the session and profile data 78 by sending the customer client the web page 110 of the bank web site 42 that is shown in FIG. 3”).
Regarding claim 18, Grandcolas teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the authentication server is configured to send a single sign-on (SSO) token to the web browser (Col. 2 line 36-38 “…sending the digitally signed authentication token to the web browser of the computing device by the first web server”, where the built authentication token is a single sign on token, since it is created based on “single sign-on user access to multiple web servers” as disclosed in Col 1 line 63) and
use the SSO token to authenticate the user (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 23-36 “The bank web server 40 receives the cookie from the customer client 10. The bank web server 40 decodes the encoded, signed, and encrypted string built into the cookie by the brokerage firm web server 30 into a signed, encrypted string 64. Such decoding employs URL Decoding (or URLDecode) methods in the embodiment shown. In the embodiment shown, URL Decoding is employed to convert the URL encoded string in the cookie to plain ASCII for examination by the bank web server 40. The bank web server 40 and the brokerage firm web server 30 previously exchanged public-private key decryption information. Once the string is decoded, the bank web server 40 decrypts and verifies the cookie (including the signed, encrypted string that is now decoded) 66.”); and
wherein the local device is configured to open the webpage via the web browser upon successful verification of the SSO token (Grandcolas Figure 2 (66, 68, 74, 76) illustrates cookie/token verifications, and upon successful verification, then (Figure 2 78-80) webpage 110 in Figure 3 is available to the customer client Col. 8 line 23-25 “…the web server 40 begins a bill payment session using the session and profile data 78 by sending the customer client the web page 110 of the bank web site 42 that is shown in FIG. 3”).
Regarding claim 20 (Canceled).
Regarding claim 21 (New), Grandcolas teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the user agent application is operated by a computer device associated with the user (Grandcolas Col. 2 line 18-23 “…the method comprises allowing a user at a computing device to access a first web server (i.e. authentication server) in the federation of web servers via a web browser (i.e. agent application) of the computing device),
wherein providing, by the authentication server, the token to the user agent application comprises providing the token to the computer device associated with the user (Grandcolas Col. 2 line 36-38 “…sending the digitally signed authentication token to the web browser of the computing device by the first web server”, Col. 4 line 16-29 “Upon detecting the request of bill payment, the brokerage firm server 30 builds an authentication token 52. An authentication token comprises an object (or data) that can be passed between cooperating servers. A function of an embodiment of an authentication token is to convey the necessary information from a primary (or first) server to a secondary (or second) server to allow the secondary server to skip the sign-on process that would otherwise be necessary and required.”) and wherein receiving, at the web server from the user agent application, a request to open the webpage together with the token comprises receiving the token from the computer device associated with the user (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 9-18 “The customer client 10 connects with the bank web site 42 via the Internet 20 and sends the cookie to the bank web server 62. In the embodiment shown, the authentication token is transmitted in a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) session. Further, in the embodiment shown, on receipt of the redirect command, the customer client 10 opens a second browser window, requests a download of the home page at the URL of the web site 42 (or the page designated in the URL), receives the page of the web site 42 from the bank web server 40, and displays the page in the window… The cookie received by the customer client 10 from the brokerage firm web server 30 is sent by the customer client 10 to the bank web server 40.”, where the cookie is the authentication token as disclosed in e.g. Col. 4 line 52-53).
Regarding claim 22 (New), Grandcolas teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the local device and the username are associated with a user (Grandcolas illustrates in Figure 1 the customer client 10 associated with the customer user 5, where the user is authenticated as disclosed in Col. 1 line 65-67 and Col.2 line 1-2 and Col. 2 line 18-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandcolas (US 7137006 B1) in view of Bhabbur (US 9985786 B1)
Regarding claim 2, Grandcolas teaches the method of claim 1, comprising [[signing the token by the user agent application using a private key owned by the user agent application prior to providing the token to the web server]], wherein sending, by the user agent application, the token to the web server comprises sending the [[signed]] token, wherein the web server to verify the [[signed]] token obtained from the user agent application against the token obtained from the authentication server [[using a public key corresponding to the private key]] (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 23-36 “The bank web server 40 receives the cookie from the customer client 10. The bank web server 40 decodes the encoded, signed, and encrypted string built into the cookie by the brokerage firm web server 30 into a signed, encrypted string 64. Such decoding employs URL Decoding (or URLDecode) methods in the embodiment shown. In the embodiment shown, URL Decoding is employed to convert the URL encoded string in the cookie to plain ASCII for examination by the bank web server 40. The bank web server 40 and the brokerage firm web server 30 previously exchanged public-private key decryption information. Once the string is decoded, the bank web server 40 decrypts and verifies the cookie (including the signed, encrypted string that is now decoded) 66.”).
Grandcolas does not disclose the signing the token by the user agent application using a private key owned by the user agent application prior to providing the token to the web server.
Bhabbur discloses signing the token by the user agent application using a private key owned by the user agent application prior to providing the token to the web server and verifying the signed token using public key associated with the private key (Bhabbur Col. 15 line 25-67 and Col. 16 line 1-8 “…upon receiving the request for access, the application server 68 may determine whether the request is associated with a currently authenticated session with the browser 66. In some cases, this may include determining whether an authentication token is appended to the request 74, for instance as a query parameter, and determining that such an appended authentication token corresponds to a valid authenticated session, such as one that is not been expired, and corresponds to a list of authentication tokens that are valid stored in memory of the application server 68. Or in some cases, techniques like those described above by which a value demonstrate in possession of a password may be used in place of sending the actual authentication token, for instance the application server 68 may receive a cryptographic hash value calculated based on an authentication token, or the requested access may be signed by a private key corresponding to the session held by the browser 66, and the application server 68 may verify the signature with the public key corresponding to the session provided to the application server 68 by the authorization server 70 in an earlier authorization. Upon determining that the request for access 74 is associated with an already authenticated session, in some cases, the application server 68 may send the requested resources, such as webpage content, files, application program interface request responses, or the like, back to the application executing client-side, such as the browser 66. In the illustrated example, the application server 68 determines that the request for access 74 is not part of a currently authenticated session. In response, the application server 68 may respond by sending instructions to the browser 66 to display a user interface by which the user 62 may enter various user credentials, such as hypertext markup language instructions, scripting language instructions (e.g. JavaScript or web assembly), and various other resources, like images and styling instructions, back to the browser 66. In some embodiments, those instructions may include user interface inputs having corresponding event handlers configured to send data entered into the user interface inputs by the user 62 back to the application server 68 upon a corresponding event being sent to the event handler by the browser 66. Events may include an on click event, a key entry event, and on touch event, a touch release event, or other input gestures. In some cases, the instructions may include instructions that obtain other types of user credentials, such as a value indicative of a biometric measurement, e.g., one or more features in a facial scan or a fingerprint scan, or a cryptographic hash value or cryptographic signature sent by the client device responsive to the request or by some other third-party biometric authentication service responsive to the request, back to the application server 68.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grandcolas to incorporate the teaching of Bhabbur to utilize the above feature, with the motivation of ensuring authentication of a session, as recognized by (Bhabbur Col. 15 line 25-67 and Col. 16 line 1-8 and throughout).
Regarding claim 10, Grandcolas teaches a computerized method for providing a secure access to a webpage (Grandcolas Abstract “Methods and systems for single sign-on user access to multiple web servers…The first web server provides a web page to the user having a service selector (e.g., a hyperlink comprising the URL of a second web server offering the service indicated by the selector). ”), the method comprising:
obtaining, in a user agent application, a request to open a webpage (Grandcolas Col. 1 line 65-66 “…a user is authenticated at a first web server (e.g., by user name and password).”, Col. 2 line 18-23 “…the method comprises allowing a user at a computing device to access a first web server (i.e. authentication server) in the federation of web servers via a web browser (i.e. agent application) of the computing device, authenticating the user with user-provided authentication information (i.e. username), including at least a user identification, by the first web server”, Figure 2 50 illustrates request pertaining to bill payment via web browser for a webpage illustrated in Figure 3, where the request pertains to the customer request clicking on the hyperlink 102 in Figure 3 as disclosed in Col. 4 line 1-9);
sending, by the user agent application, the request to open the webpage (Grandcolas Col. 1 line 65-66 “…a user is authenticated at a first web server (e.g., by user name and password).”, Col. 2 line 18-23 “…the method comprises allowing a user at a computing device to access a first web server (i.e. authentication server) in the federation of web servers via a web browser (i.e. agent application) of the computing device, authenticating the user with user-provided authentication information (i.e. username), including at least a user identification, by the first web server”, Figure 2 50 illustrates request pertaining to bill payment via web browser for a webpage illustrated in Figure 3, where the authentication with the username/password is construed as a request sent to the authentication server to access a bill payment webpage/portal);
generating a token by the authentication server (Grandcolas Col. 2 line 29-32 “…the first web server creates an authentication token for the user including at least the user identification and with a pre-defined token expiry by the first web server, digitally signing (e.g., by public key encryption) the authentication token by the first web server”);
sending, by the authentication server, the token to the user agent application (Grandcolas Col. 2 line 36-38 “…sending the digitally signed authentication token to the web browser of the computing device by the first web server”);
sharing, by the authentication server, the token with a portal server (Grandcolas Col. 4 line 16-29 “Upon detecting the request of bill payment, the brokerage firm server 30 builds an authentication token 52. An authentication token comprises an object (or data) that can be passed between cooperating servers (i.e. portal server). A function of an embodiment of an authentication token is to convey the necessary information from a primary (or first) server to a secondary (or second) server to allow the secondary server to skip the sign-on process that would otherwise be necessary and required.”);
[[signing the token by the user agent application using a private key owned by the user agent application;]]
sending, by the user agent application, the signed token together with an address of the webpage to the portal server (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 9-18 “The customer client 10 connects with the bank web site 42 via the Internet 20 and sends the cookie to the bank web server 62. In the embodiment shown, the authentication token is transmitted in a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) session. Further, in the embodiment shown, on receipt of the redirect command, the customer client 10 opens a second browser window, requests a download of the home page at the URL of the web site 42 (or the page designated in the URL), receives the page of the web site 42 from the bank web server 40, and displays the page in the window… The cookie received by the customer client 10 from the brokerage firm web server 30 is sent by the customer client 10 to the bank web server 40.”, where the cookie is the authentication token as disclosed in e.g. Col. 4 line 52-53, where the token is singed, where the signature is verified as illustrated in Figure 2 56 and 68 and Col. 2 line 41-43 and Col. 5 line 27-29);
verifying, by the portal server, the signed token against the shared token [[using a public key corresponding to the private key]] (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 23-36 “The bank web server 40 receives the cookie from the customer client 10. The bank web server 40 decodes the encoded, signed, and encrypted string built into the cookie by the brokerage firm web server 30 into a signed, encrypted string 64. Such decoding employs URL Decoding (or URLDecode) methods in the embodiment shown. In the embodiment shown, URL Decoding is employed to convert the URL encoded string in the cookie to plain ASCII for examination by the bank web server 40. The bank web server 40 and the brokerage firm web server 30 previously exchanged public-private key decryption information. Once the string is decoded, the bank web server 40 decrypts and verifies the cookie (including the signed, encrypted string that is now decoded) 66.”); and
opening the webpage by the portal server only upon successful verification (Grandcolas Figure 2 (66, 68, 74, 76) illustrates cookie/token verifications, and upon successful verification, then (Figure 2 78-80) webpage 110 in Figure 3 is available to the customer client Col. 8 line 23-25 “…the web server 40 begins a bill payment session using the session and profile data 78 by sending the customer client the web page 110 of the bank web site 42 that is shown in FIG. 3” , in the case of failed verification (68-70-72), the bill payment session is not commenced and Col. 7 line 46-50 “…the bank web server 40 rejects the attempted sign-on and re-directs the customer client 10 to a web page on the brokerage firm web server 30 indicating an error and sign-on failure 70, resulting in a failed sign-on attempt 72.”).
While Grandcolas discloses in e.g. Col. 7 line 34-44 decrypting and verifying signature as further illustrated in Figure 2 68, however Grandcolas does not explicitly disclose private key.
Bhabbur discloses signing the token by the user agent application using a private key owned by the user agent application and verifying the signed token using public key associated with the private key (Bhabbur Col. 15 line 25-67 and Col. 16 line 1-8 “…upon receiving the request for access, the application server 68 may determine whether the request is associated with a currently authenticated session with the browser 66. In some cases, this may include determining whether an authentication token is appended to the request 74, for instance as a query parameter, and determining that such an appended authentication token corresponds to a valid authenticated session, such as one that is not been expired, and corresponds to a list of authentication tokens that are valid stored in memory of the application server 68. Or in some cases, techniques like those described above by which a value demonstrate in possession of a password may be used in place of sending the actual authentication token, for instance the application server 68 may receive a cryptographic hash value calculated based on an authentication token, or the requested access may be signed by a private key corresponding to the session held by the browser 66, and the application server 68 may verify the signature with the public key corresponding to the session provided to the application server 68 by the authorization server 70 in an earlier authorization. Upon determining that the request for access 74 is associated with an already authenticated session, in some cases, the application server 68 may send the requested resources, such as webpage content, files, application program interface request responses, or the like, back to the application executing client-side, such as the browser 66. In the illustrated example, the application server 68 determines that the request for access 74 is not part of a currently authenticated session. In response, the application server 68 may respond by sending instructions to the browser 66 to display a user interface by which the user 62 may enter various user credentials, such as hypertext markup language instructions, scripting language instructions (e.g. JavaScript or web assembly), and various other resources, like images and styling instructions, back to the browser 66. In some embodiments, those instructions may include user interface inputs having corresponding event handlers configured to send data entered into the user interface inputs by the user 62 back to the application server 68 upon a corresponding event being sent to the event handler by the browser 66. Events may include an on click event, a key entry event, and on touch event, a touch release event, or other input gestures. In some cases, the instructions may include instructions that obtain other types of user credentials, such as a value indicative of a biometric measurement, e.g., one or more features in a facial scan or a fingerprint scan, or a cryptographic hash value or cryptographic signature sent by the client device responsive to the request or by some other third-party biometric authentication service responsive to the request, back to the application server 68.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grandcolas to incorporate the teaching of Bhabbur to utilize the above feature, with the motivation of ensuring authentication of a session, as recognized by (Bhabbur Col. 15 line 25-67 and Col. 16 line 1-8 and throughout).
Regarding claim 13, Grandcolas teaches the system of claim 12, [[wherein the local device is configured to sign the token using a private key owned by the local device prior to providing the token to the web server]], wherein the local device is configured to send the token to the web server by sending the [[signed]] token, wherein the web server is configured to verify the [[signed]] token obtained from the local device against the token obtained from the authentication server [[using a public key corresponding to the private key]] (Grandcolas Col. 7 line 23-36 “The bank web server 40 receives the cookie from the customer client 10. The bank web server 40 decodes the encoded, signed, and encrypted string built into the cookie by the brokerage firm web server 30 into a signed, encrypted string 64. Such decoding employs URL Decoding (or URLDecode) methods in the embodiment shown. In the embodiment shown, URL Decoding is employed to convert the URL encoded string in the cookie to plain ASCII for examination by the bank web server 40. The bank web server 40 and the brokerage firm web server 30 previously exchanged public-private key decryption information. Once the string is decoded, the bank web server 40 decrypts and verifies the cookie (including the signed, encrypted string that is now decoded) 66.”).
While Grandcolas discloses in e.g. Col. 7 line 34-44 decrypting and verifying signature as further illustrated in Figure 2 68, however Grandcolas does not explicitly disclose private key.
Bhabbur discloses wherein the local device is configured to sign the token using a private key owned by the local device prior to providing the token to the web server and verifying the signed token using public key associated with the private key (Bhabbur Col. 15 line 25-67 and Col. 16 line 1-8 “…upon receiving the request for access, the application server 68 may determine whether the request is associated with a currently authenticated session with the browser 66. In some cases, this may include determining whether an authentication token is appended to the request 74, for instance as a query parameter, and determining that such an appended authentication token corresponds to a valid authenticated session, such as one that is not been expired, and corresponds to a list of authentication tokens that are valid stored in memory of the application server 68. Or in some cases, techniques like those described above by which a value demonstrate in possession of a password may be used in place of sending the actual authentication token, for instance the application server 68 may receive a cryptographic hash value calculated based on an authentication token, or the requested access may be signed by a private key corresponding to the session held by the browser 66, and the application server 68 may verify the signature with the public key corresponding to the session provided to the application server 68 by the authorization server 70 in an earlier authorization. Upon determining that the request for access 74 is associated with an already authenticated session, in some cases, the application server 68 may send the requested resources, such as webpage content, files, application program interface request responses, or the like, back to the application executing client-side, such as the browser 66. In the illustrated example, the application server 68 determines that the request for access 74 is not part of a currently authenticated session. In response, the application server 68 may respond by sending instructions to the browser 66 to display a user interface by which the user 62 may enter various user credentials, such as hypertext markup language instructions, scripting language instructions (e.g. JavaScript or web assembly), and various other resources, like images and styling instructions, back to the browser 66. In some embodiments, those instructions may include user interface inputs having corresponding event handlers configured to send data entered into the user interface inputs by the user 62 back to the application server 68 upon a corresponding event being sent to the event handler by the browser 66. Events may include an on click event, a key entry event, and on touch event, a touch release event, or other input gestures. In some cases, the instructions may include instructions that obtain other types of user credentials, such as a value indicative of a biometric measurement, e.g., one or more features in a facial scan or a fingerprint scan, or a cryptographic hash value or cryptographic signature sent by the client device responsive to the request or by some other third-party biometric authentication service responsive to the request, back to the application server 68.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grandcolas to incorporate the teaching of Bhabbur to utilize the above feature, with the motivation of ensuring authentication of a session, as recognized by (Bhabbur Col. 15 line 25-67 and Col. 16 line 1-8 and throughout).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandcolas (US 7137006 B1) in view of Quek (US 20230291724 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Grandcolas teaches the method of claim 3.
Grandcolas discloses user authentication, Grandcolas does not explicitly disclose the push notification.
Quek discloses wherein authenticating the user by the authentication server comprises: sending, by the authentication server, a push notification to the user via a user device; and obtaining, at the authentication server, a user confirmation from the user device ([00103-104] “…the authentication server 15 determines if the details of the user’s interaction with the push notification match the stored selected authentication verifier.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grandcolas to incorporate the teaching of Quek to utilize the above feature, where the push notification is a feature that allow quicker interactions, as recognized by (Quek [0114] and throughout).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is similar to claim 4, therefore rejected with the same rationale and motivation applied to claim 4.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandcolas (US 7137006 B1) in view of Pogrebinsky (US 20170163564 A1) and Rothschild (US 20240080306 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Grandcolas teaches the method of claim 6, wherein providing the webpage comprises:
sending, from the authentication server to the web browser, a single sign-on (SSO) token (Grandcolas Col. 4 line 16-29 “Upon detecting the request of bill payment, the brokerage firm server 30 builds an authentication token 52. An authentication token comprises an object (or data) that can be passed between cooperating servers. A function of an embodiment of an authentication token is to convey the necessary information from a primary (or first) server to a secondary (or second) server to allow the secondary server to skip the sign-on process that would otherwise be necessary and required.”);
sending, from the web browser to the authentication server, a request for executing the webpage (Grandcolas Col. 4 line 9-18 “the customer 10 requests bill payment 50 by clicking on the "bill payment" hyperlink 102. The brokerage firm web server 30 itself does not handle the process of bill payment, but the server 30 is programmed with the knowledge that the bank web server 40 handles such a process. The hyperlink 102 includes the URL of the bank web site 42. Upon detecting the request of bill payment, the brokerage firm server 30 builds an authentication token 52.” Figure 2 illustrates the process to open a webpage pertaining to the bill payment);
[[sending, from the web browser to the authentication server the SSO token;
authenticating the user, by the authentication server, using the SSO token;]]
sending, from the authentication server to the web browser, a corresponding URL for the required webpage, upon successful verification of the user (Grandcolas Col 1 line 65-67 and Col. 2 line 1-3 “…a user is authenticated at a first web server (e.g., by user name and password). The first web server provides a web page to the user having a service selector (e.g., a hyperlink comprising the URL of a second web server offering the service indicated by the selector).”);
sending from the web browser, a request to open the URL to the web server (Grandcolas Col 1 line 65-67 and Col. 2 line 1-3 “…a user is authenticated at a first web server (e.g., by user name and password). The first web server provides a web page to the user having a service selector (e.g., a hyperlink comprising the URL of a second web server offering the service indicated by the selector).”, Col. 7 line 9-18 “The customer client 10 connects with the bank web site 42 via the Internet 20 and sends the cookie to the bank web server 62. In the embodiment shown, the authentication token is transmitted in a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) session. Further, in the embodiment shown, on receipt of the redirect command, the customer client 10 opens a second browser window, requests a download of the home page at the URL of the web site 42 (or the page designated in the URL), receives the page of the web site 42 from the bank web server 40, and displays the page in the window… The cookie received by the customer client 10 from the brokerage firm web server 30 is sent by the customer client 10 to the bank web server 40.”, where the cookie is the authentication token as disclosed in e.g. Col. 4 line 52-53);
[[forwarding the request to a verification service; verifying the SSO token by the verification service; and]]
opening the webpage by the web server via the web browser, upon successful verification of the SSO token (Grandcolas Figure 2 (66, 68, 74, 76) illustrates cookie/token verifications, and upon successful verification, then (Figure 2 78-80) webpage 110 in Figure 3 is available to the customer client Col. 8 line 23-25 “…the web server 40 begins a bill payment session using the session and profile data 78 by sending the customer client the web page 110 of the bank web site 42 that is shown in FIG. 3”).
Grandcolas does not disclose the below limitations.
Pogrebinsky discloses sending, from the web browser to the authentication server the SSO token; authenticating the user, by the authentication server, using the SSO token (Pogrebinsky [0019] “The authentication server 160 may transmit a security token (e.g., single sign-on (S SO) token, reduced sign-on (RSO) token) to the user device 120 (e.g., via the communication server 150). The security token is configured to allow the user device 120 to access data associated with one or more computing devices (e.g., cloud system 110, communication server 150, authentication server 160, application server 170) without providing user input for each computing device.”, where the authentication server determines user device is authorized to access data as disclosed in [0018] and accordingly transmit SSO token to the device such that in a subsequent time, the SSO token allows the user device to access data associated with the authentication server 160, where the SSO token is an affirmation that the user is authenticated, where the client device include web browser as disclosed in [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grandcolas to incorporate the teaching of Pogrebinsky to utilize the above feature, with the motivation of allowing the user device to access data associated with one or more computing devices without requiring user input, as recognized by (Pogrebinsky [0019] and throughout).
Grandcolas in view of Pogrebinsky does not disclose the below limitation.
Rothschild discloses forwarding the request to a verification service; verifying the SSO token by the verification service (Rothschild [0065] “FIG. 4 illustrates a computer network configured for single sign-on authentication and an automated sharing of remote devices by multiple users using a file system, in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. In the example of FIG. 4, a source user device 410 submits an authentication request to a web server 420, which redirects the authentication request to an SSO service 425 for authentication of the source user device 410.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grandcolas in view of Pogrebinsky to incorporate the teaching of Rothschild to utilize the above feature, with the motivation of efficiently registering and serving new users, as recognized by (Rothschild [0067] and throughout).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is similar to claim 8, therefore rejected with the same rationale and motivation applied to claim 8.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandcolas (US 7137006 B1) in view of Bhabbur (US 9985786 B1) and Williams (US 20140282940 A1)
Regarding claim 11, Grandcolas in view of Bhabbur teaches the method of claim 10, wherein sharing, by the authentication server, the token with a portal server comprises:
Grandcolas in view of Bhabbur do not disclose common database. Emphases in italic.
Williams storing, by the authentication server, the token in a database common to the authentication server and to a portal server; and reading, by the portal server, the token from the common database ([0046] “The session token is stored at 218 in a shared database, i.e. a database that can be accessed by the first and second domains.”, [0049] “At 220a, the second domain optionally checks to determine whether the user's session with the first domain is valid. This may be done, for example, by checking the shared database for a session cookie with the first domain.” Further in [0051, 0053] “ At 224, the application server compares the received token to the token stored in the shared database…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grandcolas in view of Bhabbur to incorporate the teaching of Williams to utilize the above feature, where a retrieving a token from a shared database would save time of retrieving the token by requesting or interacting with other entities.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BASSAM A NOAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497