DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Response to Non-Final Rejection filed January 28, 2026. Claims 1-15 are presently pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on Korean Patent Application No. KR10-2023-0122338, filed September 14, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 09, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 28, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendments made to independent claims 1 and 9 overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of record. Specifically, Applicant states that the claims now require query data tied to a subdivided operation scope, generating driving zones from vehicle trajectories, performing geometric normalization and similarity comparison, and admitting training data only when overlap thresholds are satisfied. These steps require computational geometry and spatial transformations that cannot be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper. Accordingly, the claims are not directed to a mental process or other abstract idea. Additionally, Applicant states that these improvements constitute a practical technological application.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s amendments to the claim do not integrate the limitations of the claims to a practical application as they merely serve to further narrow the abstract idea that was previously stated by the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of record as will be further described in the rejection below.
Applicant argues that the amendments made to the independent claim overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of record. Specifically, Applicant states that neither Bojarski et al. nor Haque et al. disclose all of the features of amended independent claims 1 and 9.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bojarski discloses a method for generating subdivisions for the query data by correlating sensor data with map data in order to predict and represent lane lines, dividers, and/or other features of the driving surface in at least paragraph [0029] and FIG. 2A. Bojarski goes on to disclose in paragraph [0029] that said data is used to generate trajectories for the vehicles by using a correlator to associate the data with ground truth data when it is determined that the data is similar enough to the ground truth data. Therefore, Bojarski teaches the amended limitations of claim 9 as will be described in further detail below.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
An updated and detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test entails considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claims 1-15 are directed to a system and method for training autonomous driving data. As such, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention.
If the claim recites a statutory category of invention, the claim requires further analysis in Step 2A. Step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test is a two-prong inquiry. In Prong One, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception.
Claim 9 recites abstract limitations displayed in bold below:
A training data service system for operation scope-oriented autonomous driving shuttle, the training data service system comprising:
a communication module configured to collect an autonomous driving data set from an autonomous driving vehicle to construct training data and distribute the training data to an autonomous driving shuttle;
a memory configured to store a program for construction of the training data; and
a processor configured to generate query data including road shape information, road attribute information, traffic environment information, and collection sensor information by executing the program stored in the memory, wherein the query data corresponds to a subdivided operation scope of the autonomous driving shuttle, detect data satisfying a condition corresponding to the query data from a previously collected autonomous driving data set, by generating driving zones from vehicle trajectories and computational comparing geometric similarity of the driving zones, construct training data for the autonomous driving shuttle, based on the detected data only when an overlap between the driving zones is within a predetermined similarity threshold, and distribute the constructed training data to a corresponding autonomous driving shuttle.
These limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind, or by a human using pen and paper, and therefore recite mental processes. The bolded limitations describe steps for controlling a processor to gather data, make determinations, and construct training data with said data. Such a process may reasonably be conducted by a human as they may manually generate a query for a computer system based on several conditions and factors and mentally make determinations based on whether said satisfies any conditions set prior to the query. Additionally the human may manually construct the training data, set any desired predefined confidence thresholds, and send it out using any computer system at their disposal without the need of a processor to automate the process. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
If the claim recites a judicial exception in step 2A Prong One, the claim requires further analysis in step 2A Prong Two. In step 2A Prong Two, examiners evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
A training data service system for operation scope-oriented autonomous driving shuttle, the training data service system comprising:
a communication module configured to collect an autonomous driving data set from an autonomous driving vehicle to construct training data and distribute the training data to an autonomous driving shuttle;
a memory configured to store a program for construction of the training data; and
a processor configured to generate query data including road shape information, road attribute information, traffic environment information, and collection sensor information by executing the program stored in the memory, wherein the query data corresponds to a subdivided operation scope of the autonomous driving shuttle, detect data satisfying a condition corresponding to the query data from a previously collected autonomous driving data set, by generating driving zones from vehicle trajectories and computational comparing geometric similarity of the driving zones, construct training data for the autonomous driving shuttle, based on the detected data only when an overlap between the driving zones is within a predetermined similarity threshold, and distribute the constructed training data to a corresponding autonomous driving shuttle.
The functions of the communication module, memory, processor, and executing the program stored in the memory, are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
The characterization of the electronic controller as a training data service center for operation scope-oriented autonomous driving shuttle amounts to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
If the additional elements do not integrate the exception into a practical application in step 2A Prong Two, then the claim is directed to the recited judicial exception, and requires further analysis under Step 2B to determine whether they provide an inventive concept (i.e., whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself).
As discussed above, the additional elements of communication module, memory, processor, and executing the program stored in the memory, amount to mere instructions to apply the exception. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).
As discussed above, the characterization of the training data service center for operation scope-oriented autonomous driving shuttle amounts to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception, which does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Thus, even when viewed as an ordered combination, nothing in the claims add significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea.
The limitations of claim 1 is comparable to the limitations of claim 9 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale.
The various metrics/variables/limitations of claims 2-8 and 10-15 merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations without recitation of any further additional elements. Therefore, tor the reasons described above with respect to claim 1, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bojarski et al. (US 20200324795; hereinafter Bojarski, already of record), in view of Haque et al. (US 20200056892; hereinafter Haque, already of record).
Regarding Claim 9,
Bojarski teaches
A training data service system for operation scope-oriented autonomous driving shuttle, (Bojarski: Abstract) the training data service system comprising:
a communication module configured to collect an autonomous driving data set from an autonomous driving vehicle to construct training data and distribute the training data to an autonomous driving shuttle; (Bojarski: Paragraph [0062] Network Interface 524; see also additional mapping associated with processor below)
a memory configured to store a program for construction of the training data; (Bojarski: Paragraph [0080]-[0082]; GPU 508) and
a processor (Bojarski: Paragraph [0076]; Processor 510) configured to generate query data including road shape information, (Bojarski: Paragraph [0024]; “The HD map 104 may represent lanes, road boundaries, road shape, elevation, slope, and/or contour, heading information, wait conditions, static object locations, and/or other information.”) road attribute information, (Bojarski: Paragraph [0024] ; “The HD map 104 may represent lanes, road boundaries, road shape, elevation, slope, and/or contour, heading information, wait conditions, static object locations, and/or other information.”) ... and collection sensor information (Bojarski: Paragraph [0025]; Sensor Data 102) by executing the program stored in the memory, wherein the query data corresponds to a subdivided operation scope of the autonomous driving shuttle, (Bojarski: Paragraph [0029], [0044], FIG. 2A) detect data satisfying a condition corresponding to the query data from a previously collected autonomous driving data set, (Bojarski: Paragraph [0024]; “...the process 100 may include generating and/or receiving map data from a map—such as the HD map 104 (which may be similar to the HD map 522 of FIG. 5C)—accessible by and/or stored by the data collection vehicle 500.”) construct training data for the autonomous driving shuttle, based on the detected data, by generating driving zones from vehicle trajectories and computational comparing geometric similarity of the driving zones, (Bojarski: Paragraph [0029]; “As another example, where the DNN 116 is trained to generate trajectories, as described herein, the correlator 110 may determine rails (e.g., centers) of lanes corresponding to ground truth trajectories such that the ground truth generator 112 may generate the final ground truth trajectories that more closely correspond to or are centered on the rails of the lanes (e.g., similar to the visualization 200 of FIG. 2A).”) construct training data for the autonomous driving shuttle, based on the detected data, only when an overlap between the driving zones is within a predetermined similarity threshold, (Bojarski: Paragraph [0029]; “As a further example, where the DNN 116 is trained to generate outputs corresponding to intersection (e.g., bounding shape vertices corresponding to a bounding shape encompassing an intersection), the correlator 110 may determine each of the features of the intersection (e.g., traffic lights, traffic signs, labels or markings on the driving surface, etc.) that correspond to an intersection such that the ground truth generator 112 may generate bounding shapes that encompass each of the features (e.g., similar to visualization 240 of FIG. 2B).”) and distribute the constructed training data to a corresponding autonomous driving shuttle. (Bojarski: Paragraph [0024]; “As such, the process 100 may use the information from the HD map 104—such as locations and shapes of lanes—to generate ground truth data for training the DNN 116.”)
Bojarski does not explicitly teach utilizing traffic environment data to generate a query for training an autonomous driving system.
However in the same field of endeavor, Haque teaches
a processor configured to generate query data including ... traffic environment information, ... (Haque: Paragraph [0073]; “Transportation management system 960 may also store and access ride information. Ride information may include locations related to the ride, traffic data, route options, optimal pick-up or drop-off locations for the ride, or any other suitable information associated with a ride.”)
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the training data service system of Bojarski with the traffic environment information of Haque for the benefit of controlling various operations of the vehicle, such as driving and navigating. (Haque: Paragraph [0002])
Regarding Claim 10,
Bojarski, in view of Haque, teaches
The training data service system of claim 9, wherein the processor generates a plurality of query data by subdividing at least one of a zone where the autonomous driving shuttle is to be driven, (Bojarski: Paragraph [0025]; “Once the vehicle 500 is localized within the HD map 104 a first time, the locations and/or orientations of the vehicle 500 over time may be tracked using this same localization technique—e.g., using vision-based sensors to identify objects and/or features having known locations in the HD map 104—and/or may be tracked using sensor data 102 generated by ego-motion sensors of the vehicle 500 (e.g., IMU sensor(s) 566, speed sensor(s) 544, steering sensor(s) 540 tracking steering wheel angles, etc.).”) and a region, (Bojarski: Paragraph [0025]; “For example, sensor data 102 generated by vision-based sensors—e.g., cameras, RADAR sensors 560, ultrasonic sensors 562, LIDAR sensor 564, and/or other sensors—may be used to identify features and/or objects within the environment that have known and accurate locations within region of the HD map 104 determined using the location-based sensors.”) and
each of the plurality of query data fundamentally comprises road shape information, and depending on the case, each of the plurality of query data comprises at least one of road attribute information, traffic environment information, and collection sensor information. (Bojarski: Paragraph [0024]-[0025])
Regarding Claim 11,
Bojarski, in view of Haque, teaches
The training data service system of claim 9, wherein the processor generates first road shape information, based on a moving trajectory of a vehicle provided in the query data and a driving zone of the vehicle corresponding to the moving trajectory, generates second road shape information, based on a moving trajectory of the vehicle provided in the autonomous driving data set and a driving zone of the vehicle corresponding to the moving trajectory, and when the first and second road shape information are within a predetermine similarity range, detects data for construction of the training data. (Bojarski: Paragraph [0029]; “As another example, where the DNN 116 is trained to generate trajectories, as described herein, the correlator 110 may determine rails (e.g., centers) of lanes corresponding to ground truth trajectories such that the ground truth generator 112 may generate the final ground truth trajectories that more closely correspond to or are centered on the rails of the lanes (e.g., similar to the visualization 200 of FIG. 2A).”)
Regarding Claim 12,
Bojarski, in view of Haque, teaches
The training data service system of claim 11, wherein the processor aligns an initial position of each of the first road shape information and the second road shape information and performs turn conversion for alignment on the driving zone of each of the first road shape information and the second road shape information where the initial position is aligned. (Haque: Paragraph [0037], [0064], FIG. 2 and 6B)
It would be obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the training data service system of Bojarski with the road shape alignment of Haque for the benefit of determining similarities between other types or abstractions of geographic regions in general, such as zip codes, counties, states, or other defined geographic regions. (Haque: Paragraph [0064])
Regarding Claim 13,
Bojarski, in view of Haque, teaches
The training data service system of claim 11, wherein the processor calculates a size of an overlap zone of the first and second road shape information, and when the size of the overlap zone is within a predetermined similarity range, detects the data for construction of the training data. (Haque: Paragraph [0062]; “The machine learning module 506 can be configured to determine road segment types that are similar to a road segment being categorized based on machine learning techniques. For example, in some embodiments, a machine learning model can be trained to predict road segment types that are similar to a given road segment to be categorized based on scenarios associated with the road segment.” [0064]; “...a similarity between the city 664 and the city 666 can be determined based on an amount of overlap between road segment types included in the city 664 and road segment types included in the city 666.”)
The motivation to combine Bojarski and Haque is the same as stated for Claim 12 above.
Regarding Claim 14,
Bojarski, in view of Haque, teaches
The training data service system of claim 9, wherein the processor performs similarity comparison on road attribute information provided in the query data, based on metadata associated with a high-precision map included in the autonomous driving data set, (Haque: Paragraph [0064], FIG. 6B; “FIG. 6B illustrates example similarity mappings between various types of geographies, according to an embodiment of the present technology. The example similarity mappings may be determined by the road segment classification module 202 of FIG. 2.” [0076]; “In particular embodiments, third-party system 970 may be a network-addressable computing system that may provide HD maps or host GPS maps, customer reviews, music or content, weather information, or any other suitable type of information.”) and when a similarity is within a predetermined similarity range as a result of the similarity comparison, detects data for construction of the training data. (Haque: Paragraph [0064]; “...when determined similarities between geographic regions satisfy an applicable threshold level of similarity, certain information known about some geographic regions can be assigned or applied to other geographic regions for which such information was not previously known, as described above in reference to the application module 208 of FIG. 2.”)
The motivation to combine Bojarski and Haque is the same as stated for Claim 9 above.
Regarding Claim 15,
Bojarski, in view of Haque, teaches
The training data service system of claim 9, wherein the processor performs similarity comparison on the traffic environment information provided in the query data, based on attribute information about a moving object include in the autonomous driving data set, and when a similarity is within a predetermined similarity range as a result of the similarity comparison, detects data for construction of the training data. (Haque: Paragraph [0066]; “In a second phase, information stored in the scenario information database 708 can be used to determine road segment similarity in real time or near real time. For example, features 716 can be determined for an unclassified road segment 712, for example, based on its corresponding sensor data 714. In an embodiment, the sensor data 714 can optionally be acquired by a vehicle traveling along the unclassified road segment. In another embodiment, the sensor data 714 may be obtained from another source (e.g., another vehicle, a remote database, etc.).”)
The motivation to combine Bojarski and Haque is the same as stated for Claim 12 above.
Regarding Claim 1, the claim is analogous to Claim 9 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 2, the claim is analogous to Claim 10 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 10.
Regarding Claim 3, the claim is analogous to Claim 11 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 4,
Bojarski, in view of Haque, teaches
The training data service method of claim 3, wherein each of the generating of the first road shape information and the generating of the second road shape information comprises reflecting width information about the vehicle in the moving trajectory of the vehicle to generate the driving zone of the vehicle. (Bojarski: Paragraph [0029]; “As a further example, where the DNN 116 is trained to generate outputs corresponding to intersection (e.g., bounding shape vertices corresponding to a bounding shape encompassing an intersection), the correlator 110 may determine each of the features of the intersection (e.g., traffic lights, traffic signs, labels or markings on the driving surface, etc.) that correspond to an intersection such that the ground truth generator 112 may generate bounding shapes that encompass each of the features (e.g., similar to visualization 240 of FIG. 2B).”)
Regarding Claim 5, the claim is analogous to Claim 12 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 6, the claim is analogous to Claim 13 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 7, the claim is analogous to Claim 14 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 14.
Regarding Claim 8, the claim is analogous to Claim 15 limitations and is therefore rejected under the same premise as Claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663