DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 06/17/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim 6 is amended. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous 112(b) rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 06/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically that element 5 includes both elements 50 and 51 and therefore suction cover 51 is part of the manifold 5. However, upon further consideration, a new interpretation is made in view of Torimoto et al. (U.S. 2023/0193904).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Torimoto et al. (U.S. 2023/0193904).
Regarding claim 1, Torimoto discloses:
A cooling module comprising:
a pump (4, 51) configured to pressure-feed a fluid (see paragraphs 0054-0055)
a manifold (50, 22, 24) having an outer wall (24) on which an attachment surface for the pump (4, 51) is provided and including a fluid flow path (101a to 54) therein through which the fluid pressure-fed by the pump (4, 51) flows (see paragraphs 0027, 0036, and 0054)
wherein a discharge port (54) of the pump (4, 51) that is located inside the manifold (50, 22, 24) is separate from the outer wall (24) of the manifold 50, 22, 24 (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 2, Torimoto discloses:
wherein the manifold (50, 22, 24) includes a flow path connection chamber (42) between the discharge port (54) and the fluid flow path 101a-54 (see Figure 1; see paragraph 0050)
Regarding claim 3, Torimoto discloses:
wherein an area of a cross section obtained by cutting the flow path connection chamber (42) along an axis of the discharge port (54) is larger than a flow path cross-sectional area of a suction port (101a) through which the fluid is sucked into the pump 4, 51 (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 4, Torimoto discloses:
wherein the suction port (101a) is further provided inside the manifold 50, 22, 24 (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 5, Torimoto discloses:
A cooling module comprising:
a pump (4, 51) configured to pressure-feed a fluid
a manifold (50, 22, 24) having an outer wall (24) on which an attachment surface for the pump (4, 51) is provided and including a fluid flow path (101a to 54) therein through which the fluid pressure-fed by the pump (4, 51) flows
wherein a discharge port (54) of the pump (4, 51) is provided inside the manifold 50, 22, 24 (see annotated figure above)
a discharge port (30) of the manifold (50, 22, 24) protrudes from the outer wall of the manifold 50, 22, 24 (see Figure 1)
Regarding claim 6, Torimoto discloses:
A cooling module comprising:
a pump (4, 51) configured to pressure-feed a fluid
a manifold (50, 22, 24) having an outer wall (24) on which an attachment surface for the pump (4, 51) is provided and including a fluid flow path (60) therein through which the fluid pressure-fed by the pump (4, 51) flows
wherein a discharge port (54) of the pump (4, 51) is provided inside the manifold 50, 22, 24
the manifold (50, 22, 24) includes a flow path connection chamber (inner 22b) between the discharge port (54) and the fluid flow path 60
the flow path connection chamber (inner 22b) is a separate chamber from both the discharge port (54) and the fluid flow path 60
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753