DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is responsive to amendment filed on 02/25/2026. Claims 1, 10-12, 19, 22, 23, 30, 32, and 33 are amended. Claims 6 and 7 are canceled. Claims 1-5 and 8-39 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 and 8-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1, 19, and 30 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1, 19, and 30 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-5 and 8-39 are directed to a service needed for a vehicle and provide service provider that can address the determined service need of the vehicle based on service required and a merchant that is based on the driver characteristics and preferences. Specifically, claim(s) 1, 19, and 30 recite(s) a determine a service need of the vehicle; wherein, responsive to the vehicle determining the service need of the vehicle, determines a plurality of service providers located along a current route (i) that can address the determined service need of the vehicle and (ii) that have at least one driver-desired characteristic of a service provider wherein determining the plurality of service providers comprises (i) accessing feedback data provided by other drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data; wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic is provided by a driver; wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a food service at the service provider, (ii) a clean service provider and (iii) a restroom at the service provider; wherein the vehicular communication system communicates to the driver a list of the determined plurality of service providers; and wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider, and wherein, responsive to determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider, which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
The Claim limitations are listed under Methods Of Organizing Human Activity, and grouped as following:
determine a service need of the vehicle; wherein, responsive to the vehicle determining the service need of the vehicle, determines a plurality of service providers located along a current route (i) that can address the determined service need of the vehicle and (ii) that have at least one driver-desired characteristic of a service provider wherein determining the plurality of service providers comprises (i) accessing feedback data provided by other drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations),
wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic is provided by a driver; wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a food service at the service provider, (ii) a clean service provider and (iii) a restroom at the service provider; wherein the vehicular communication system communicates to the driver a list of the determined plurality of service providers; and which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations),
wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider, and wherein, responsive to determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as vehicular communication system, communication system, a vehicle system merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link(s) the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the vehicular communication system, communication system, a vehicle system perform(s) the steps or functions of determine a service need of the vehicle; wherein, responsive to the vehicle determining the service need of the vehicle, determines a plurality of service providers located along a current route (i) that can address the determined service need of the vehicle and (ii) that have at least one driver-desired characteristic of a service provider wherein determining the plurality of service providers comprises (i) accessing feedback data provided by other drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data; wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic is provided by a driver; wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a food service at the service provider, (ii) a clean service provider and (iii) a restroom at the service provider; wherein the vehicular communication system communicates to the driver a list of the determined plurality of service providers; and wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider, and wherein, responsive to determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a vehicular communication system, communication system, a vehicle system to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of a service needed for a vehicle and provide service provider that can address the determined service need of the vehicle based on service required and a merchant that is based on the driver characteristics and preferences. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the vehicular communication system, communication system, a vehicle system perform(s) the steps or functions of determine a service need of the vehicle; wherein, responsive to the vehicle determining the service need of the vehicle, determines a plurality of service providers located along a current route (i) that can address the determined service need of the vehicle and (ii) that have at least one driver-desired characteristic of a service provider wherein determining the plurality of service providers comprises (i) accessing feedback data provided by other drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data; wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic is provided by a driver; wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a food service at the service provider, (ii) a clean service provider and (iii) a restroom at the service provider; wherein the vehicular communication system communicates to the driver a list of the determined plurality of service providers; and wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider, and wherein, responsive to determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of a service needed for a vehicle and provide service provider that can address the determined service need of the vehicle based on service required and a merchant that is based on the driver characteristics and preferences. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
As for dependent claims 2-18, 20-29, and 31-39 further describe the abstract idea of determine a service needed for a vehicle and provide service provider that can address the determined service need of the vehicle based on service required and a merchant that is based on the driver characteristics and preferences. Claim(s 2-18, 20-29, and 31-39 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a vehicular communication system, communication system, a vehicle system, vehicle, wirelessly communicates the survey results to a remote server, memory to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of determine a service needed for a vehicle and provide service provider that can address the determined service need of the vehicle based on service required and a merchant that is based on the driver characteristics and preferences. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the vehicular communication system, communication system, a vehicle system, vehicle, wirelessly communicates the survey results to a remote server, memory perform(s) the steps or functions of wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low fuel level of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide vehicle fueling service; wherein the low fuel level of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle needs gasoline, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers comprise gas stations; wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low tire pressure of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide tire service; wherein the at least one driver- desired characteristic includes a safe service provider; determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on driving conditions; determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on degree of the service need of the vehicle; determining that the vehicle is at one selected from the group consisting of (i) a service station, (ii) a store and (iii) a restaurant, the vehicular communication system communicates a survey to the driver to have the driver rate the one selected from the group consisting of (i) a service station, (ii) a store and (iii) a restaurant; wherein determines that the vehicle is at the one selected from the group consisting of (i) a service station, (ii) a store and (iii) a restaurant based on the current geographical location of the vehicle; wherein, responsive to the survey reply from the driver, the vehicular communication system locally stores survey results; interacts with the driver via a human-machine interface; interacts with the driver via a mobile communication device of the driver of the vehicle; wherein interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X); wherein the driver provides the at least one driver-desired characteristic in response to a prompt; determining the service need of the vehicle, requests an input from the driver of the vehicle pertaining to the at least one driver-desired characteristic; wherein the input from the driver that selects the at least one driver-desired characteristic comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a voice command that specifies the driver-desired characteristic and (ii) a touch input that specifies the driver-desired characteristic. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of determine a service needed for a vehicle and provide service provider that can address the determined service need of the vehicle based on service required and a merchant that is based on the driver characteristics and preferences. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim(s) 1, 2, 9-11, 13, 14, 16-19, 22, 25-27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040128067) in view of Dhaliwal, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170228709) in view of Bill, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070010942).
As to Claim 1, Smith teaches a vehicular communication system, the vehicular communication system comprising: (0002: automotive telematics with a mobile communication system),a vehicle system of a vehicle equipped with the vehicular communication system (0002: communication system), wherein the vehicle system is operable to determine a service need of the vehicle; (0003: telematics and telematics-like applications exist to notify a vehicle user of the condition of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle may need periodic maintenance based upon mileage. The vehicle management and control system may signal that it is time for the maintenance, and a message may be generated and communicated to the user. For example, the message may be an indicator within the vehicle),wherein, responsive to the vehicle system of the vehicle determining the service need of the vehicle (0020: obtain maintenance and operating data via wireless data transmission. In connection with obtaining this type of data, the notification server 100 may employ a listing of default threshold values or calculate dynamic threshold values. FIG. 4 and 5), and (0025: the vehicle 200 (e.g., via the telematics control module 310 and the transmitting unit 230) may transmit a maintenance notification to the notification server 100 via a wireless communication network such as network 120, the vehicular communication system determines a plurality of service providers located along a current route of the vehicle (0033: a list of current options 712), (0034: the user is provided with a list of options between the current location and the future location 722.) (i) that can address the determined service need of the vehicle and (ii) that have at least one driver-desired characteristic of a service provider; (0033: the notification server 100 may conduct a search of the Internet to identify services/opportunities that may be of interest to the user as well as that may be responsive to the events. If the number of services/opportunities is less than the threshold criteria 708, a notification is provided to the user 710 and the user is provided with a list of current options 712.), (0030: The notification server 100 may then determine, i.e., predict when and where an alert is likely to be generated. The notification server 100 may thus take into account when to provide the alert given vehicle operating conditions, location, location of available services and user preference. That is, the notification server 100 may dynamically determine a threshold for the alert based upon a user's need for a service, a location of the user and an availability of the desired/required service relative to the user. The alert may also then take into account other potentially desired services, such as hotel/motel or restaurants of a preferred type.), (0018: set of user defined criteria, the database 102 may contain information about the user such as destination information, appointment information, preferences and the like. This user information is accessible by the notification server 100. If, for example, the user is traveling ahead of schedule relative to intended destination and calendar information, the notification server 100 may obtain from the database 102 and/or the Internet information that the user may desire to receive. Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto), wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic is provided by a driver of the vehicle; (0004: The user set a threshold to request to be notified when they are within a certain distance of a destination), and (0018: the set of user defined criteria, the database 102 may contain information about the user such as destination information, appointment information, preferences and the like. This user information is accessible by the notification server 100… Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto. The notification server 100 may further be adapted to learn user likes and dislikes and retain such information in the database 102 for later usage. The particular type of software routine designed to learn user preferences is not an essential element of the invention, and many types are currently commercially employed),wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a food service at the service provider, (ii) a clean service provider and (iii) a restroom at the service provider; (0002: locate restaurants of the desired type relative to the location of the user… identifying the availability of the service the user desires in the area, such as the locations of restaurants of the desired type.); (0021: the notification server 100 may adaptively add notifications to the user profile based upon existing user profile information. For example, if the user profile indicates the user prefers particular types of restaurants, the notification server 100 may determine other restaurant types the user may be interested in and provide notifications to the user regarding such additional restaurant types at appropriate times, e.g., when their location and the time of day suggests it is appropriate. Such predicative cross marketing tools are well known in the field of Internet commerce, and such predictive cross marketing strategies may be employed here. Of course, the user may be offered the option to disable such additional notification services),wherein the vehicular communication system communicates to the driver a list of the determined plurality of service providers; and (0021: determine other restaurant/service types the user may be interested in and provide notifications to the user regarding such additional restaurant types at appropriate times).
Smith does not teach wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider.
However Dhaliwal teaches wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider “a selected vehicle service provider on mobile device 202 can include a user selection via a touch screen interface” from the list of the determined plurality of service providers “A list of the nearest capable vehicle service providers are provided at mobile device 202 for selection by the user”, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider “dispatching a service vehicle to the breakdown location”; (0005: The location information can be provided by a satellite navigation system receiver of the mobile device. In some aspects, a vehicle service provider can have a dispatch device that provides updated service vehicle location information to the server, and the updated service vehicle location information is used to determine the list of nearest vehicle service providers); (0037: A list of the nearest capable vehicle service providers are provided at mobile device 202 for selection by the user. Preferably, pricing or rate information is provided with each vehicle service provider. A vehicle operator can then select the preferred vehicle service provider in step 310. Obtaining a selected vehicle service provider on mobile device 202 can include a user selection via a touch screen interface, for example. Upon selection in step 310, mobile device 202 or server 204 can dispatch the vehicle service provider, such as by dispatching a service vehicle to the breakdown location. This can include communicating with a dispatch device 208 of the vehicle service provider.), and (0006: a system is provided for locating nearby vehicle service providers. The system comprises a mobile device having a memory for storing instructions and a processor for executing the instructions to: obtain location information from a location service; send a vehicle service request to a server over a network, the vehicle service request containing the location information; and obtain a selected vehicle servicer provider. The system also comprises a server having a memory for storing instructions and a processor for executing the instructions to determine a list of nearest vehicle service providers capable of responding to the vehicle service request; provide the list of nearest vehicle service providers to the mobile device; and dispatch the selected vehicle service provider.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith to include wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider of Dhaliwal. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider would provide the best service providers for the user to select from which would give the user more options to select from and therefore make the method/system more user friendly.
Smith does not teach wherein determining the plurality of service providers comprises (i) accessing feedback data provided by other vehicles or drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data;
wherein, responsive to the vehicle system determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider.
However Bill teaches feedback data provided by other vehicles or drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data; (0185: FIG. 25 illustrates an exemplary GUI 2500 that may be used to receive user-feedback in order to develop a user-feedback database with information descriptive of conditions. As shown, the message indicates that the user spent 45 for time-on-station. As shown in GUI 2400, it appears that only 30 minutes should have been spent for time-on-station. As a result, the message in GUI 2500 includes controls enabling the user to provide feedback. Specifically, GUI 2500 prompts the user to indicate whether there were delays for food and gas. As a result of receiving user feedback, a database of conditions may be updated to reflect users experiences as they are traveling. The database then may, in turn, be used to suggest intermediate points-of-interest responsive to the conditions as indicated in the database), (Examiner note: that absent any type of particular rating in the limitation, feedback concerning performance is considered a “rating”), wherein, responsive to the vehicle system determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider; (0185: receive user-feedback in order to develop a user-feedback database with information descriptive of conditions. As shown, the message indicates that the user spent 45 for time-on-station. As shown in GUI 2400, it appears that only 30 minutes should have been spent for time-on-station. As a result, the message in GUI 2500 includes controls enabling the user to provide feedback. Specifically, GUI 2500 prompts the user to indicate whether there were delays for food and gas. As a result of receiving user feedback, a database of conditions may be updated to reflect users experiences as they are traveling. The database then may, in turn, be used to suggest intermediate points-of-interest responsive to the conditions as indicated in the database), and (Examiner note: that absent any type of particular rating in the limitation, feedback concerning performance is considered a “rating”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith to include wherein, responsive to the vehicle system determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider of Bill. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein, responsive to the vehicle system determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider would provide the best service providers for the user to select from which would give the user more options to select from and therefore make the method/system more user friendly.
As to claim 2, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Smith further teaches wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low fuel level of the vehicle (0023: the notification server 100 may retrieve information associated with the detection capability of the vehicie 200, i.e., the trigger event(s) that the vehicle 200 may employ during operation of the vehicle, such as low fuel indication and maintenance reminders), and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide vehicle fueling service; (0026: FIGS. 4-5. Referring to FIG. 4, users, motor vehicles 400 and 402 are operating within a geographic region in which there are located several service stations, one of which is identified as service station 404. Associated with each vehicle 400 and 402 is a zone of interest 406 and 408, respectively, that relates to the range of their vehicle with its then currently available gasoline in its tank.).
As to claim 9, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Smith further teaches wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on degree of the service need of the vehicle; (0026: FIGS. 4-5. Referring to FIG. 4, users, motor vehicles 400 and 402 are operating within a geographic region in which there are located several service stations, one of which is identified as service station 404. Associated with each vehicle 400 and 402 is a zone of interest 406 and 408, respectively, that relates to the range of their vehicle with its then currently available gasoline in its tank.), (Examiners note: in which degree of need, such as how much gas is left and how much corresponding distance can be traveled, is a consideration in which service provider is suggested).
As to claim 10, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Smith further teaches the feedback prompted by the vehicular communication system comprises a survey, and wherein the selected service provider comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a service station, (ii) a store and (iii) a restaurant; (0026: Referring to FIG. 4, users, motor vehicles 400 and 402 are operating within a geographic region in which there are located several service stations, one of which is identified as service station 404. Associated with each vehicle 400 and 402 is a zone of interest 406 and 408, respectively, that relates to the range of their vehicle with its then currently available gasoline in its tank. The relative size of the zones of interest 406 and 408 suggests that the vehicle 400 is capable of traveling farther, i.e., has a larger range, than the vehicle 402 for the given amount of gasoline available, the average kilometers-per-liter (KPL) and current driving conditions. The average KPL may be an instantaneous average communicated by the vehicle to the notification server 100 or an average KPL for the given vehicle type. The driving conditions may take into account weather, traffic delays and type of driving such as highway or city driving.).
As to claim 11, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 10.
Smith further teaches wherein the vehicular communication system determines that the vehicle is at the one selected service provider based on a current geographical location of the vehicle; (0026: Referring to FIG. 4, users, motor vehicles 400 and 402 are operating within a geographic region in which there are located several service stations, one of which is identified as service station 404. Associated with each vehicle 400 and 402 is a zone of interest 406 and 408, respectively, that relates to the range of their vehicle with its then currently available gasoline in its tank. The relative size of the zones of interest 406 and 408 suggests that the vehicle 400 is capable of traveling farther, i.e., has a larger range, than the vehicle 402 for the given amount of gasoline available, the average kilometers-per-liter (KPL) and current driving conditions. The average KPL may be an instantaneous average communicated by the vehicle to the notification server 100 or an average KPL for the given vehicle type. The driving conditions may take into account weather, traffic delays and type of driving such as highway or city driving.).
As to claim 13, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Smith further teaches wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a human-machine interface; (abstract: the then current location of the user and the threshold and to communicate the alert to the user via a communication interface), and (claim 12: a communication interface, the communication interface linking the notification server with at least one communication medium), and (0002: Applications exist, particularly in the field of automotive telematics, to inform a user of a mobile communication system of various services offered within a particular range of the user.).
As to claim 14, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Smith further teaches wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a mobile communication device of the driver of the vehicle; (0002: Applications exist, particularly in the field of automotive telematics, to inform a user of a mobile communication system of various services offered within a particular range of the user.).
As to claim 16, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Smith further teaches wherein the driver provides the at least one driver-desired characteristic in response to a prompt from the vehicular communication system; (0018: set of user defined criteria, the database 102 may contain information about the user such as destination information, appointment information, preferences and the like. This user information is accessible by the notification server 100. If, for example, the user is traveling ahead of schedule relative to intended destination and calendar information, the notification server 100 may obtain from the database 102 and/or the Internet information that the user may desire to receive. Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto).
As to claim 17, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Smith further teaches wherein, responsive to the vehicle system of the vehicle determining the service need of the vehicle, the vehicular communication system requests an input from the driver of the vehicle pertaining to the at least one driver-desired characteristic; This user information is accessible by the notification server 100. If, for example, the user is traveling ahead of schedule relative to intended destination and calendar information, the notification server 100 may obtain from the database 102 and/or the Internet information that the user may desire to receive. Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto).
As to claim 18, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 17.
Smith further teaches wherein the input from the driver that selects the at least one driver-desired characteristic comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a voice command that specifies the driver-desired characteristic and (ii) a touch input that specifies the driver-desired characteristic; (0022: a receiving unit 220, and a transmitting unit 230. The receiving unit 220 and the transmitting unit 230 are operatively coupled to the controller 210. Persons of ordinary skill in the art will readily appreciate that the receiving unit 220 and the transmitting unit 230 may be separate components or integrated into a single component. For example, the receiving unit 220 and the transmitting unit 230 may be integrated into a single transceiver unit operable to transmit and receive data, which may include voice, graphics, video, text, numeric data and the like, to and from a wireless communication system.), and This user information is accessible by the notification server 100. If, for example, the user is traveling ahead of schedule relative to intended destination and calendar information, the notification server 100 may obtain from the database 102 and/or the Internet information that the user may desire to receive. Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto). (Examiner note: the receiving unit 220 may receive data such as audio data from the driver with characteristics selection such as preferences of what the driver wants to be used for future determination).
As to Claim 19, Smith teaches a vehicular communication system, the vehicular communication system comprising: (0002: automotive telematics with a mobile communication system),a vehicle system of a vehicle equipped with the vehicular communication system (0002: communication system), wherein the vehicle system is operable to determine a service need of the vehicle; (0003: telematics and telematics-like applications exist to notify a vehicle user of the condition of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle may need periodic maintenance based upon mileage. The vehicle management and control system may signal that it is time for the maintenance, and a message may be generated and communicated to the user. For example, the message may be an indicator within the vehicle),wherein, responsive to the vehicle system of the vehicle determining the service need of the vehicle (0020: obtain maintenance and operating data via wireless data transmission. In connection with obtaining this type of data, the notification server 100 may employ a listing of default threshold values or calculate dynamic threshold values. FIG. 4 and 5), and (0025: the vehicle 200 (e.g., via the telematics control module 310 and the transmitting unit 230) may transmit a maintenance notification to the notification server 100 via a wireless communication network such as network 120), the vehicular communication system determines a plurality of service providers (0033: a list of current options 712), (0034: the user is provided with a list of options between the current location and the future location 722.), (i) that can address the determined service need of the vehicle and (ii) that have at least one driver-desired characteristic of a service provider; (0033: the notification server 100 may conduct a search of the Internet to identify services/opportunities that may be of interest to the user as well as that may be responsive to the events. If the number of services/opportunities is less than the threshold criteria 708, a notification is provided to the user 710 and the user is provided with a list of current options 712.), (0030: The notification server 100 may then determine, i.e., predict when and where an alert is likely to be generated. The notification server 100 may thus take into account when to provide the alert given vehicle operating conditions, location, location of available services and user preference. That is, the notification server 100 may dynamically determine a threshold for the alert based upon a user's need for a service, a location of the user and an availability of the desired/required service relative to the user. The alert may also then take into account other potentially desired services, such as hotel/motel or restaurants of a preferred type.), (0018: set of user defined criteria, the database 102 may contain information about the user such as destination information, appointment information, preferences and the like. This user information is accessible by the notification server 100. If, for example, the user is traveling ahead of schedule relative to intended destination and calendar information, the notification server 100 may obtain from the database 102 and/or the Internet information that the user may desire to receive. Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto),wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low fuel level of the vehicle (0023: the notification server 100 may retrieve information associated with the detection capability of the vehicie 200, i.e., the trigger event(s) that the vehicle 200 may employ during operation of the vehicle, such as low fuel indication and maintenance reminders), and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide vehicle fueling service; (0026: FIGS. 4-5. Referring to FIG. 4, users, motor vehicles 400 and 402 are operating within a geographic region in which there are located several service stations, one of which is identified as service station 404. Associated with each vehicle 400 and 402 is a zone of interest 406 and 408, respectively, that relates to the range of their vehicle with its then currently available gasoline in its tank.), wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic is provided by a driver of the vehicle responsive to a prompt from the vehicular communication system; (0018: set of user defined criteria, the database 102 may contain information about the user such as destination information, appointment information, preferences and the like. This user information is accessible by the notification server 100. If, for example, the user is traveling ahead of schedule relative to intended destination and calendar information, the notification server 100 may obtain from the database 102 and/or the Internet information that the user may desire to receive. Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto), wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a food service at the service provider, (ii) a clean service provider and (iii) a restroom at the service provider; (0002: locate restaurants of the desired type relative to the location of the user… identifying the availability of the service the user desires in the area, such as the locations of restaurants of the desired type.); (0021: the notification server 100 may adaptively add notifications to the user profile based upon existing user profile information. For example, if the user profile indicates the user prefers particular types of restaurants, the notification server 100 may determine other restaurant types the user may be interested in and provide notifications to the user regarding such additional restaurant types at appropriate times, e.g., when their location and the time of day suggests it is appropriate. Such predicative cross marketing tools are well known in the field of Internet commerce, and such predictive cross marketing strategies may be employed here. Of course, the user may be offered the option to disable such additional notification services),wherein the vehicular communication system communicates to the driver a list of the determined plurality of service providers; and (0021: determine other restaurant/service types the user may be interested in and provide notifications to the user regarding such additional restaurant types at appropriate times).
Smith does not teach wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider.
However Dhaliwal teaches wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider “a selected vehicle service provider on mobile device 202 can include a user selection via a touch screen interface” from the list of the determined plurality of service providers “A list of the nearest capable vehicle service providers are provided at mobile device 202 for selection by the user”, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider “dispatching a service vehicle to the breakdown location”; (0005: The location information can be provided by a satellite navigation system receiver of the mobile device. In some aspects, a vehicle service provider can have a dispatch device that provides updated service vehicle location information to the server, and the updated service vehicle location information is used to determine the list of nearest vehicle service providers); (0037: A list of the nearest capable vehicle service providers are provided at mobile device 202 for selection by the user. Preferably, pricing or rate information is provided with each vehicle service provider. A vehicle operator can then select the preferred vehicle service provider in step 310. Obtaining a selected vehicle service provider on mobile device 202 can include a user selection via a touch screen interface, for example. Upon selection in step 310, mobile device 202 or server 204 can dispatch the vehicle service provider, such as by dispatching a service vehicle to the breakdown location. This can include communicating with a dispatch device 208 of the vehicle service provider.), and (0006: a system is provided for locating nearby vehicle service providers. The system comprises a mobile device having a memory for storing instructions and a processor for executing the instructions to: obtain location information from a location service; send a vehicle service request to a server over a network, the vehicle service request containing the location information; and obtain a selected vehicle servicer provider. The system also comprises a server having a memory for storing instructions and a processor for executing the instructions to determine a list of nearest vehicle service providers capable of responding to the vehicle service request; provide the list of nearest vehicle service providers to the mobile device; and dispatch the selected vehicle service provider.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith to include wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider of Dhaliwal. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider would provide the best service providers for the user to select from which would give the user more options to select from and therefore make the method/system more user friendly.
Smith does not teach wherein determining the plurality of service providers comprises (i) accessing feedback data provided by other vehicles or drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data;
wherein, responsive to the vehicle system determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider.
However Bill teaches feedback data provided by other vehicles or drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data; (0185: FIG. 25 illustrates an exemplary GUI 2500 that may be used to receive user-feedback in order to develop a user-feedback database with information descriptive of conditions. As shown, the message indicates that the user spent 45 for time-on-station. As shown in GUI 2400, it appears that only 30 minutes should have been spent for time-on-station. As a result, the message in GUI 2500 includes controls enabling the user to provide feedback. Specifically, GUI 2500 prompts the user to indicate whether there were delays for food and gas. As a result of receiving user feedback, a database of conditions may be updated to reflect users experiences as they are traveling. The database then may, in turn, be used to suggest intermediate points-of-interest responsive to the conditions as indicated in the database), (Examiner note: that absent any type of particular rating in the limitation, feedback concerning performance is considered a “rating”), wherein determining the plurality of service providers comprises (i) accessing feedback data provided by other vehicles or drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data; (0185: receive user-feedback in order to develop a user-feedback database with information descriptive of conditions. As shown, the message indicates that the user spent 45 for time-on-station. As shown in GUI 2400, it appears that only 30 minutes should have been spent for time-on-station. As a result, the message in GUI 2500 includes controls enabling the user to provide feedback. Specifically, GUI 2500 prompts the user to indicate whether there were delays for food and gas. As a result of receiving user feedback, a database of conditions may be updated to reflect users experiences as they are traveling. The database then may, in turn, be used to suggest intermediate points-of-interest responsive to the conditions as indicated in the database), and (Examiner note: that absent any type of particular rating in the limitation, feedback concerning performance is considered a “rating”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith to include wherein, responsive to the vehicle system determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider of Bill. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein, responsive to the vehicle system determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider would provide the best service providers for the user to select from which would give the user more options to select from and therefore make the method/system more user friendly.
As to claim 22, Smith and Dhaliwal teach the vehicular communication system of claim 19.
Smith and Dhaliwal do not teach wherein, after the vehicle has been serviced at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system requests a rating input from the driver of the vehicle to rate the selected service provider.
However Bill teaches wherein, after the vehicle has been serviced at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system requests a rating input from the driver of the vehicle to rate the selected service provider; (0185: FIG. 25 illustrates an exemplary GUI 2500 that may be used to receive user-feedback in order to develop a user-feedback database with information descriptive of conditions. As shown, the message indicates that the user spent 45 for time-on-station. As shown in GUI 2400, it appears that only 30 minutes should have been spent for time-on-station. As a result, the message in GUI 2500 includes controls enabling the user to provide feedback. Specifically, GUI 2500 prompts the user to indicate whether there were delays for food and gas. As a result of receiving user feedback, a database of conditions may be updated to reflect users experiences as they are traveling. The database then may, in turn, be used to suggest intermediate points-of-interest responsive to the conditions as indicated in the database), (Examiner note: that absent any type of particular rating in the limitation, feedback concerning performance is considered a “rating”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith and Dhaliwal to include wherein, after the vehicle has been serviced at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system requests a rating input from the driver of the vehicle to rate the selected service provider of Bill. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein, after the vehicle has been serviced at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system requests a rating input from the driver of the vehicle to rate the selected service provider would provide review for the service provider that would help more drivers to use the service based on the rating which would help increase the service provider profits and that would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to claim 25, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 19.
Smith further teaches wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on degree of the service need of the vehicle; (0026: FIGS. 4-5. Referring to FIG. 4, users, motor vehicles 400 and 402 are operating within a geographic region in which there are located several service stations, one of which is identified as service station 404. Associated with each vehicle 400 and 402 is a zone of interest 406 and 408, respectively, that relates to the range of their vehicle with its then currently available gasoline in its tank.), (Examiners note: in which degree of need, such as how much gas is left and how much corresponding distance can be traveled, is a consideration in which service provider is suggested).
As to claim 26, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 19.
Smith further teaches wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a human-machine interface; (abstract: the then current location of the user and the threshold and to communicate the alert to the user via a communication interface), and (claim 12: a communication interface, the communication interface linking the notification server with at least one communication medium), and (0002: Applications exist, particularly in the field of automotive telematics, to inform a user of a mobile communication system of various services offered within a particular range of the user.).
As to claim 27, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 19.
Smith further teaches wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a mobile communication device of the driver of the vehicle; (0002: Applications exist, particularly in the field of automotive telematics, to inform a user of a mobile communication system of various services offered within a particular range of the user.).
As to claim 29, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 19.
Smith further teaches wherein the driver provides the at least one driver-desired characteristic via one selected from the group consisting of (i) a voice command and (ii) a touch input; (0022: a receiving unit 220, and a transmitting unit 230. The receiving unit 220 and the transmitting unit 230 are operatively coupled to the controller 210. Persons of ordinary skill in the art will readily appreciate that the receiving unit 220 and the transmitting unit 230 may be separate components or integrated into a single component. For example, the receiving unit 220 and the transmitting unit 230 may be integrated into a single transceiver unit operable to transmit and receive data, which may include voice, graphics, video, text, numeric data and the like, to and from a wireless communication system.), and This user information is accessible by the notification server 100. If, for example, the user is traveling ahead of schedule relative to intended destination and calendar information, the notification server 100 may obtain from the database 102 and/or the Internet information that the user may desire to receive. Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto). (Examiner note: the receiving unit 220 may receive data such as audio data from the driver with characteristics selection such as preferences of what the driver wants to be used for future determination).
B. Claim(s) 3, 4, 20, 30, 32, 35-37, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040128067) in view of Dhaliwal, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170228709) in view of Bill, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070010942) in view of Adderly et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160284138).
As to claim 3, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 2.
Smith and Dhaliwal do not teach wherein the low fuel level of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle needs gasoline, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers comprise gas stations.
However Adderly teaches wherein the low fuel level of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle needs gasoline, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers comprise gas stations (0035: such as service recommendations on serviceable or consumable vehicle resources (e.g., specific gas stations); (0045: the user may specify to use BP® gas stations for filling up the vehicle was gasoline. As a result, if navigation system 102 identifies a service issue relating to low fuel (do not want the vehicle to run out of fuel), then navigation system 102 will identify a BP® gas station to service the issue (assuming that there is one that can service the vehicle prior to running out of fuel) and determine a route for reaching the BP® gas station based on the route the vehicle is currently traveling. For instance, navigation system 102 may identify the closest BP® gas station in light of the route the vehicle is currently traveling.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low tire pressure of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide tire service. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low tire pressure of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide tire service would provide an advertisement for a service provider that can fix the vehicle issue and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to claim 4, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Adderly further teaches wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low tire pressure of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide tire service; (0044: The present invention comprises a method, system and computer program product for assisting a user in handling a vehicle service issue. In one embodiment of the present invention, a profile is created by a navigation system that stores preferences of the user (e.g., driver of the vehicle), such as vehicle and vehicle service preferences (e.g., specific gas stations, tire brands). The navigation system polls the vehicle sensors in the automobile diagnostic system periodically to interpret a status. For example, the navigation system may poll a sensor in the automobile diagnostic system to determine if there has been a change in the tire pressure. If there has been a change in the status of a sensor (e.g., change in tire pressure) and if the change represents a service issue to be addressed (e.g., change in tire pressure from 32 psi to 26 psi), then a service issue has been identified. A “service issue,” as used herein, refers to any vehicle issue that should be serviced for the safety of the vehicle occupants as well as to ensure that the vehicle continues to operate in good working order, such as by performing preventative or routine maintenance. The navigation system then determines a change in the route the vehicle is currently traveling to reach a service destination (e.g., Discount Tire® store) to address the service issue (e.g., low tire pressure) taking into consideration the user's preferences (user's profile specified the Discount Tire® chain to handle all service issues relating to tires). A notification is then displayed to the user regarding the service issue and recommended change in the route to a service destination to address the service issue. In this manner, the navigation system assists the user (e.g., driver of a vehicle) in handling a service issue by having the navigation system identify a service issue prior to the automobile diagnostic system notifying the user regarding the service issue and recommending an alternative to the route the vehicle is currently traveling so as to reach a service destination to address the service issue).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low tire pressure of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide tire service. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low tire pressure of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide tire service would provide an advertisement for a service provider that can fix the vehicle issue and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to claim 20, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 19.
Adderly further teaches wherein the low fuel level of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle needs gasoline, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers comprise gas stations; (0035: such as service recommendations on serviceable or consumable vehicle resources (e.g., specific gas stations); (0045: the user may specify to use BP® gas stations for filling up the vehicle was gasoline. As a result, if navigation system 102 identifies a service issue relating to low fuel (do not want the vehicle to run out of fuel), then navigation system 102 will identify a BP® gas station to service the issue (assuming that there is one that can service the vehicle prior to running out of fuel) and determine a route for reaching the BP® gas station based on the route the vehicle is currently traveling. For instance, navigation system 102 may identify the closest BP® gas station in light of the route the vehicle is currently traveling.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the low fuel level of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle needs gasoline, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers comprise gas stations. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the low fuel level of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle needs gasoline, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers comprise gas stations would provide an advertisement for a service provider that can fix the vehicle issue and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 30, Smith teaches a vehicular communication system, the vehicular communication system comprising: (0002: automotive telematics with a mobile communication system),a vehicle system of a vehicle equipped with the vehicular communication system (0002: communication system), wherein the vehicle system is operable to determine a service need of the vehicle; (0003: telematics and telematics-like applications exist to notify a vehicle user of the condition of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle may need periodic maintenance based upon mileage. The vehicle management and control system may signal that it is time for the maintenance, and a message may be generated and communicated to the user. For example, the message may be an indicator within the vehicle), wherein, responsive to the vehicle system of the vehicle determining the service need of the vehicle (0020: obtain maintenance and operating data via wireless data transmission. In connection with obtaining this type of data, the notification server 100 may employ a listing of default threshold values or calculate dynamic threshold values. FIG. 4 and 5), and (0025: the vehicle 200 (e.g., via the telematics control module 310 and the transmitting unit 230) may transmit a maintenance notification to the notification server 100 via a wireless communication network such as network 120), the vehicular communication system determines a plurality of service providers (0033: a list of current options 712), (0034: the user is provided with a list of options between the current location and the future location 722.), (i) that can address the determined service need of the vehicle and (ii) that have at least one driver-desired characteristic of a service provider; (0033: the notification server 100 may conduct a search of the Internet to identify services/opportunities that may be of interest to the user as well as that may be responsive to the events. If the number of services/opportunities is less than the threshold criteria 708, a notification is provided to the user 710 and the user is provided with a list of current options 712.), (0030: The notification server 100 may then determine, i.e., predict when and where an alert is likely to be generated. The notification server 100 may thus take into account when to provide the alert given vehicle operating conditions, location, location of available services and user preference. That is, the notification server 100 may dynamically determine a threshold for the alert based upon a user's need for a service, a location of the user and an availability of the desired/required service relative to the user. The alert may also then take into account other potentially desired services, such as hotel/motel or restaurants of a preferred type.), (0018: set of user defined criteria, the database 102 may contain information about the user such as destination information, appointment information, preferences and the like. This user information is accessible by the notification server 100. If, for example, the user is traveling ahead of schedule relative to intended destination and calendar information, the notification server 100 may obtain from the database 102 and/or the Internet information that the user may desire to receive. Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto),wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic is provided by a driver of the vehicle via one selected from the group consisting of (i) a voice command and (ii) a touch input; (0022: a receiving unit 220, and a transmitting unit 230. The receiving unit 220 and the transmitting unit 230 are operatively coupled to the controller 210. Persons of ordinary skill in the art will readily appreciate that the receiving unit 220 and the transmitting unit 230 may be separate components or integrated into a single component. For example, the receiving unit 220 and the transmitting unit 230 may be integrated into a single transceiver unit operable to transmit and receive data, which may include voice, graphics, video, text, numeric data and the like, to and from a wireless communication system.), and This user information is accessible by the notification server 100. If, for example, the user is traveling ahead of schedule relative to intended destination and calendar information, the notification server 100 may obtain from the database 102 and/or the Internet information that the user may desire to receive. Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto). (Examiner note: the receiving unit 220 may receive data such as audio data from the driver with characteristics selection such as preferences of what the driver wants to be used for future determination), wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a food service at the service provider, (ii) a clean service provider and (iii) a restroom at the service provider; (0002: locate restaurants of the desired type relative to the location of the user… identifying the availability of the service the user desires in the area, such as the locations of restaurants of the desired type.); (0021: the notification server 100 may adaptively add notifications to the user profile based upon existing user profile information. For example, if the user profile indicates the user prefers particular types of restaurants, the notification server 100 may determine other restaurant types the user may be interested in and provide notifications to the user regarding such additional restaurant types at appropriate times, e.g., when their location and the time of day suggests it is appropriate. Such predicative cross marketing tools are well known in the field of Internet commerce, and such predictive cross marketing strategies may be employed here. Of course, the user may be offered the option to disable such additional notification services), wherein the vehicular communication system communicates to the driver a list of the determined plurality of service providers; and (0021: determine other restaurant/service types the user may be interested in and provide notifications to the user regarding such additional restaurant types at appropriate times).
Smith does not teach wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low tire pressure of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide tire service.
However Adderly teaches wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low tire pressure of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide tire service; (0044: The present invention comprises a method, system and computer program product for assisting a user in handling a vehicle service issue. In one embodiment of the present invention, a profile is created by a navigation system that stores preferences of the user (e.g., driver of the vehicle), such as vehicle and vehicle service preferences (e.g., specific gas stations, tire brands). The navigation system polls the vehicle sensors in the automobile diagnostic system periodically to interpret a status. For example, the navigation system may poll a sensor in the automobile diagnostic system to determine if there has been a change in the tire pressure. If there has been a change in the status of a sensor (e.g., change in tire pressure) and if the change represents a service issue to be addressed (e.g., change in tire pressure from 32 psi to 26 psi), then a service issue has been identified. A “service issue,” as used herein, refers to any vehicle issue that should be serviced for the safety of the vehicle occupants as well as to ensure that the vehicle continues to operate in good working order, such as by performing preventative or routine maintenance. The navigation system then determines a change in the route the vehicle is currently traveling to reach a service destination (e.g., Discount Tire® store) to address the service issue (e.g., low tire pressure) taking into consideration the user's preferences (user's profile specified the Discount Tire® chain to handle all service issues relating to tires). A notification is then displayed to the user regarding the service issue and recommended change in the route to a service destination to address the service issue. In this manner, the navigation system assists the user (e.g., driver of a vehicle) in handling a service issue by having the navigation system identify a service issue prior to the automobile diagnostic system notifying the user regarding the service issue and recommending an alternative to the route the vehicle is currently traveling so as to reach a service destination to address the service issue.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith to include wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low tire pressure of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide tire service of Dhaliwal. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the determined service need of the vehicle is associated with a low tire pressure of the vehicle, and wherein the determined plurality of service providers provide tire service would provide an advertisement for a service provider that can fix the vehicle issue and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
Smith does not teach wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider.
However Dhaliwal teaches wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider “a selected vehicle service provider on mobile device 202 can include a user selection via a touch screen interface” from the list of the determined plurality of service providers “A list of the nearest capable vehicle service providers are provided at mobile device 202 for selection by the user”, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider “dispatching a service vehicle to the breakdown location”; (0005: The location information can be provided by a satellite navigation system receiver of the mobile device. In some aspects, a vehicle service provider can have a dispatch device that provides updated service vehicle location information to the server, and the updated service vehicle location information is used to determine the list of nearest vehicle service providers); (0037: A list of the nearest capable vehicle service providers are provided at mobile device 202 for selection by the user. Preferably, pricing or rate information is provided with each vehicle service provider. A vehicle operator can then select the preferred vehicle service provider in step 310. Obtaining a selected vehicle service provider on mobile device 202 can include a user selection via a touch screen interface, for example. Upon selection in step 310, mobile device 202 or server 204 can dispatch the vehicle service provider, such as by dispatching a service vehicle to the breakdown location. This can include communicating with a dispatch device 208 of the vehicle service provider.), and (0006: a system is provided for locating nearby vehicle service providers. The system comprises a mobile device having a memory for storing instructions and a processor for executing the instructions to: obtain location information from a location service; send a vehicle service request to a server over a network, the vehicle service request containing the location information; and obtain a selected vehicle servicer provider. The system also comprises a server having a memory for storing instructions and a processor for executing the instructions to determine a list of nearest vehicle service providers capable of responding to the vehicle service request; provide the list of nearest vehicle service providers to the mobile device; and dispatch the selected vehicle service provider.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith to include wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider of Dhaliwal. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider would provide the best service providers for the user to select from which would give the user more options to select from and therefore make the method/system more user friendly.
Smith does not teach wherein determining the plurality of service providers comprises (i) accessing feedback data provided by other vehicles or drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data;
wherein, responsive to the vehicle system determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider.
However Bill teaches feedback data provided by other vehicles or drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data; (0185: FIG. 25 illustrates an exemplary GUI 2500 that may be used to receive user-feedback in order to develop a user-feedback database with information descriptive of conditions. As shown, the message indicates that the user spent 45 for time-on-station. As shown in GUI 2400, it appears that only 30 minutes should have been spent for time-on-station. As a result, the message in GUI 2500 includes controls enabling the user to provide feedback. Specifically, GUI 2500 prompts the user to indicate whether there were delays for food and gas. As a result of receiving user feedback, a database of conditions may be updated to reflect users experiences as they are traveling. The database then may, in turn, be used to suggest intermediate points-of-interest responsive to the conditions as indicated in the database), (Examiner note: that absent any type of particular rating in the limitation, feedback concerning performance is considered a “rating”), wherein determining the plurality of service providers comprises (i) accessing feedback data provided by other vehicles or drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data; (0185: receive user-feedback in order to develop a user-feedback database with information descriptive of conditions. As shown, the message indicates that the user spent 45 for time-on-station. As shown in GUI 2400, it appears that only 30 minutes should have been spent for time-on-station. As a result, the message in GUI 2500 includes controls enabling the user to provide feedback. Specifically, GUI 2500 prompts the user to indicate whether there were delays for food and gas. As a result of receiving user feedback, a database of conditions may be updated to reflect users experiences as they are traveling. The database then may, in turn, be used to suggest intermediate points-of-interest responsive to the conditions as indicated in the database), and (Examiner note: that absent any type of particular rating in the limitation, feedback concerning performance is considered a “rating”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith to include wherein, responsive to the vehicle system determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider of Bill. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein, responsive to the vehicle system determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication system prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider would provide the best service providers for the user to select from which would give the user more options to select from and therefore make the method/system more user friendly.
As to claim 35, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 30.
Smith further teaches wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on degree of the service need of the vehicle; (0026: FIGS. 4-5. Referring to FIG. 4, users, motor vehicles 400 and 402 are operating within a geographic region in which there are located several service stations, one of which is identified as service station 404. Associated with each vehicle 400 and 402 is a zone of interest 406 and 408, respectively, that relates to the range of their vehicle with its then currently available gasoline in its tank.), (Examiners note: in which degree of need, such as how much gas is left and how much corresponding distance can be traveled, is a consideration in which service provider is suggested).
As to claim 32, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 30.
Bill further teaches wherein, the feedback provided by the driver comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a numerical rating, answers to multiple choice questions, and text; (0185: FIG. 25 illustrates an exemplary GUI 2500 that may be used to receive user-feedback in order to develop a user-feedback database with information descriptive of conditions. As shown, the message indicates that the user spent 45 for time-on-station. As shown in GUI 2400, it appears that only 30 minutes should have been spent for time-on-station. As a result, the message in GUI 2500 includes controls enabling the user to provide feedback. Specifically, GUI 2500 prompts the user to indicate whether there were delays for food and gas. As a result of receiving user feedback, a database of conditions may be updated to reflect users experiences as they are traveling. The database then may, in turn, be used to suggest intermediate points-of-interest responsive to the conditions as indicated in the database), (Examiner note: that absent any type of particular rating in the limitation, feedback concerning performance is considered a “rating”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein, the feedback provided by the driver comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a numerical rating, answers to multiple choice questions, and text. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein, the feedback provided by the driver comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a numerical rating, answers to multiple choice questions, and text would provide review for the service provider that would help more drivers to use the service based on the rating which would help increase the service provider profits and that would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to claim 36, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 30.
Smith further teaches wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a human-machine interface; (abstract: the then current location of the user and the threshold and to communicate the alert to the user via a communication interface), and (claim 12: a communication interface, the communication interface linking the notification server with at least one communication medium), and (0002: Applications exist, particularly in the field of automotive telematics, to inform a user of a mobile communication system of various services offered within a particular range of the user.).
As to claim 37, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 30.
Smith further teaches wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a mobile communication device of the driver of the vehicle; (0002: Applications exist, particularly in the field of automotive telematics, to inform a user of a mobile communication system of various services offered within a particular range of the user.).
As to claim 39, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 30.
Smith further teaches wherein the driver provides the at least one driver-desired characteristic responsive to a prompt from the vehicular communication system; (0018: set of user defined criteria, the database 102 may contain information about the user such as destination information, appointment information, preferences and the like. This user information is accessible by the notification server 100. If, for example, the user is traveling ahead of schedule relative to intended destination and calendar information, the notification server 100 may obtain from the database 102 and/or the Internet information that the user may desire to receive. Such information may include locations of favorite restaurant types, points of interest, etc and advertisement information targeted thereto).
D. Claim(s) 5, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040128067) in view of Dhaliwal, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170228709) in view of Bill, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070010942) in view of Akavaram et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160117926).
As to claim 5, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill do not teach wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic includes a safe service provider.
However Akavaram teaches wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic includes a safe service provider; (0064: user input of a characteristic includes safety and the navigation system dynamically chooses a parking spot that fits their service need and has the desired characteristic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill to include wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic includes a safe service provider of Akavaram. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic includes a safe service provider would provide an advertisement to the user for a service place at a safe area which would encourage the user to visit the service provider and that would therefore make the method/system more practical and more profitable.
As to claim 21, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 19.
Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill do not teach wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic includes a safe service provider.
However Akavaram teaches wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic includes a safe service provider; (0064: user input of a characteristic includes safety and the navigation system dynamically chooses a parking spot that fits their service need and has the desired characteristic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill to include wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic includes a safe service provider of Akavaram. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic includes a safe service provider would provide an advertisement to the user for a service place at a safe area which would encourage the user to visit the service provider and that would therefore make the method/system more practical and more profitable.
F Claim(s) 8, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040128067) in view of Dhaliwal, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170228709) in view of Bill, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070010942) in view of Wasserman et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160092962).
As to claim 8, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill do not teach wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on driving conditions.
However Wasserman teaches wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on driving conditions; (0058: collects driving data and/or telematics information and provides additional information based on the driving data. The driving data and/or telematics information may include, but not be limited to: location, instantaneous velocity, average velocity, route, destination, etc. The in-vehicle device 710, which may be configured to receive real-time vehicle data, may provide a driver with visual and/or audible in-vehicle information. The in-vehicle device 710 may process real-time (i.e., near real-time) data and then display the processed information in a meaningful way on a display or graphical user interface (GUI).), and (0064: providing a sortable list of a service provider).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill to include wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on driving conditions of Wasserman. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on driving conditions would provide a more accurate advertisement that the user would be interested in and that would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to claim 23, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 19.
Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill do not teach wherein the feedback data provided by the other vehicles or drivers comprises ratings of the service providers, and wherein the vehicular communication system excludes the at least one service provider based at least in part on the ratings.
However Wasserman teaches wherein the feedback data provided by the other vehicles or drivers comprises ratings of the service providers, and wherein the vehicular communication system excludes the at least one service provider based at least in part on the ratings; (0064: providing a sortable list of a service provider with the best ratings or reviews).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill to include wherein the feedback data provided by the other vehicles or drivers comprises ratings of the service providers, and wherein the vehicular communication system excludes the at least one service provider based at least in part on the ratings of Wasserman. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the feedback data provided by the other vehicles or drivers comprises ratings of the service providers, and wherein the vehicular communication system excludes the at least one service provider based at least in part on the ratings would provide review for the service provider that would help more drivers to use the service based on the rating which would help increase the service provider profits and that would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to claim 24, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 19.
Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill do not teach wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on driving conditions.
However Wasserman teaches wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on driving conditions; (0058: collects driving data and/or telematics information and provides additional information based on the driving data. The driving data and/or telematics information may include, but not be limited to: location, instantaneous velocity, average velocity, route, destination, etc. The in-vehicle device 710, which may be configured to receive real-time vehicle data, may provide a driver with visual and/or audible in-vehicle information. The in-vehicle device 710 may process real-time (i.e., near real-time) data and then display the processed information in a meaningful way on a display or graphical user interface (GUI).), and (0064: providing a sortable list of a service provider).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill to include wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on driving conditions of Wasserman. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on driving conditions would provide a more accurate advertisement that the user would be interested in and that would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
G. Claim(s) 33, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040128067) in view of Dhaliwal, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170228709) in view of Bill, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070010942) in view of Adderly et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160284138) in view of Bill, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070010942).
As to claim 33, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 30.
Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly do not teach wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on ratings of the service providers of the determined plurality of service providers.
However Wasserman teaches wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on ratings of the service providers of the determined plurality of service providers; (0064: providing a sortable list of a service provider with the best ratings or reviews).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly to include wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on ratings of the service providers of the determined plurality of service providers of Wasserman. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the vehicular communication system determines the list of the determined plurality of service providers based at least in part on ratings of the service providers of the determined plurality of service providers would provide review for the service provider that would help more drivers to use the service based on the rating which would help increase the service provider profits and that would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to claim 34, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 30.
Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly do not teach wherein the feedback data provided by the other vehicles or drivers comprises ratings of the service providers, and wherein the vehicular communication system excludes the at least one service provider based at least in part on the ratings.
However Wasserman teaches wherein the feedback data provided by the other vehicles or drivers comprises ratings of the service providers, and wherein the vehicular communication system excludes the at least one service provider based at least in part on the ratings; (0058: collects driving data and/or telematics information and provides additional information based on the driving data. The driving data and/or telematics information may include, but not be limited to: location, instantaneous velocity, average velocity, route, destination, etc. The in-vehicle device 710, which may be configured to receive real-time vehicle data, may provide a driver with visual and/or audible in-vehicle information. The in-vehicle device 710 may process real-time (i.e., near real-time) data and then display the processed information in a meaningful way on a display or graphical user interface (GUI).), and (0064: providing a sortable list of a service provider).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly to include wherein the feedback data provided by the other vehicles or drivers comprises ratings of the service providers, and wherein the vehicular communication system excludes the at least one service provider based at least in part on the ratings of Wasserman. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the feedback data provided by the other vehicles or drivers comprises ratings of the service providers, and wherein the vehicular communication system excludes the at least one service provider based at least in part on the ratings would provide a more accurate advertisement that the user would be interested in and that would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
H Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040128067) in view of Dhaliwal, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170228709) in view of Bill, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070010942) in view of Reid, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20150012445).
As to claim 12, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 10.
Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill do not teach wherein, responsive to the survey reply from the driver, the vehicular communication system locally stores survey results in a memory device of the vehicular communication system, and later wirelessly communicates the survey results to a remote server.
However Wasserman teaches wherein, responsive to the survey reply from the driver, the vehicular communication system locally stores survey results in a memory device of the vehicular communication system, and later wirelessly communicates the survey results to a remote server; (claim 1: vehicles stored in memory; b. a software application stored on a user's computing device adapted to communicate with said server, wherein said software application comprises: permitting a user to select at least one vehicle on which to perform an inspection; iii. computer code for providing a user interface that comprises a list of maintenance items associated with said at least one selected vehicle; iv. computer code for providing a user with a means for selecting between satisfactory and unsatisfactory ratings for each of said maintenance items and creating a data record of said selected rating; and v. computer code for compiling the data record ratings for each of said maintenance items).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill to include wherein, responsive to the survey reply from the driver, the vehicular communication system locally stores survey results in a memory device of the vehicular communication system, and later wirelessly communicates the survey results to a remote server of Reid. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein, responsive to the survey reply from the driver, the vehicular communication system locally stores survey results in a memory device of the vehicular communication system, and later wirelessly communicates the survey results to a remote server would provide faster process for the system to process any future determination would therefore make the method/system more efficient.
I. Claim(s) 15, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040128067) in view of Dhaliwal, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170228709) in view of Bill, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070010942) in view of Nix, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130278769).
As to claim 15, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 1.
Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill do not teach wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system.
However Nix teaches wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system; (0015: In vehicle-to-vehicle (v2v) and vehicle-to-infrastructure telematic systems, connected vehicles interact with each other (v2v), the roadside (v2i) and beyond (v2x) via wireless communications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill to include wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system of Nix. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system would provide faster process for the system to process any future determination would therefore make the method/system more efficient.
As to claim 28, Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill teach the vehicular communication system of claim 19.
Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill do not teach wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system.
However Nix teaches wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system; (0015: In vehicle-to-vehicle (v2v) and vehicle-to-infrastructure telematic systems, connected vehicles interact with each other (v2v), the roadside (v2i) and beyond (v2x) via wireless communications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, and Bill to include wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system of Nix. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system would provide faster process for the system to process any future determination would therefore make the method/system more efficient.
J. Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20040128067) in view of Dhaliwal, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170228709) in view of Bill, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070010942) in view of Adderly et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160284138) in view of Nix, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130278769).
As to claim 38, Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly teach the vehicular communication system of claim 30.
Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly do not teach wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system.
However Nix teaches wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system; (0015: In vehicle-to-vehicle (v2v) and vehicle-to-infrastructure telematic systems, connected vehicles interact with each other (v2v), the roadside (v2i) and beyond (v2x) via wireless communications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Smith, Dhaliwal, Bill, and Adderly to include wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system of Nix. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the vehicular communication system interacts with the driver via a component of a vehicle-to- infrastructure (V2X) communication system would provide faster process for the system to process any future determination would therefore make the method/system more efficient.
NPL Reference
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The NPL “Performance of Vehicle-to-Vehicle Communication using IEEE 802.11p in Vehicular Ad-hoc Network Environment” describes “Traffic safety applications using vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communication is an emerging and promising area within the ITS environment. Many of these applications require real-time communication with high reliability. To meet a real-time deadline, timely and predictable access to the channel is paramount. The medium access method used in 802.11p, CSMA with collision avoidance, does not guarantee channel access before a finite deadline. The well-known property of CSMA is undesirable for critical communications scenarios. The simulation results reveal that a specific vehicle is forced to drop over 80% of its packets because no channel access was possible before the next message was generated. To overcome this problem, we propose to use STDMA for real-time data traffic between vehicles.”.
Pertinent Art
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reference#20150222708 teaches similar invention which describes A method in one example embodiment includes identifying a power state and a battery level of a vehicle. The method also includes allocating power to critical applications (for example) in response to determining that the battery level is above a reserve threshold while the power state of the vehicle is engine-off. The method also includes allocating remaining power in excess of the reserve threshold to non-critical applications according to a power management policy. The power management policy may comprise at least one of a user power preference index and an application power preference index.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2A Prong One. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As for Step 2A Prong One, of the Abstract idea is directed towards the abstract idea of a service needed for a vehicle and provide service provider that can address the determined service need of the vehicle based on service required and a merchant that is based on the driver characteristics and preferences which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)), (MPEP § 2106.04).
B. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2A Prong Two. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As for Step 2A Prong Two, the claim limitations do not include additional elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, and the claim is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception and the claim limitation simply describe the abstract idea. The limitation directed to a service needed for a vehicle and provide service provider that can address the determined service need of the vehicle based on service required and a merchant that is based on the driver characteristics and preferences does not add technical improvement to the abstract idea. The recitations to “vehicular communication system, communication system, a vehicle system” perform(s) the steps or functions of determine a service need of the vehicle; wherein, responsive to the vehicle determining the service need of the vehicle, determines a plurality of service providers located along a current route (i) that can address the determined service need of the vehicle and (ii) that have at least one driver-desired characteristic of a service provider wherein determining the plurality of service providers comprises (i) accessing feedback data provided by other drivers regarding potential service providers and (ii) excluding at least one potential service provider from being included in the determined plurality of service providers based on the feedback data; wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic is provided by a driver; wherein the at least one driver-desired characteristic comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of (i) a food service at the service provider, (ii) a clean service provider and (iii) a restroom at the service provider; wherein the vehicular communication system communicates to the driver a list of the determined plurality of service providers; and wherein, responsive to the driver selecting a service provider from the list of the determined plurality of service providers, the vehicle navigates to the selected service provider, and wherein, responsive to determining that the service need has been addressed at the selected service provider, the vehicular communication prompts the driver to provide feedback regarding the selected service provider. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
C. Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception under Step 2B.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As for Step 2B, The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the limitation directed to a service needed for a vehicle and provide service provider that can address the determined service need of the vehicle based on service required and a merchant that is based on the driver characteristics and preferences does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Furthermore, using well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea does not constitute significantly more. The recitations to “vehicular communication system, communication system, a vehicle system” are generically recited computer structure. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of a service needed for a vehicle and provide service provider that can address the determined service need of the vehicle based on service required and a merchant that is based on the driver characteristics and preferences. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
D. With regards to applicant's arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C 103 arguments has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/TAREK ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621B