DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwano (WO-2022113252), in view of, Iwano (WO-2023209758-A1).
Iwano-252 teaches:
In regards to claim 1, Iwano-252 teaches an optical fiber sensing system comprising: (abstract; 200 fig. 1, ‘sensing device’, 20 fig. 2, ‘sensing device’; para(s) [0012-0028])
at least one memory configured to store an instruction group; and (502 fig. 8, ‘memory’)
at least one processor configured to execute the instruction group in such a way as to (501 fig. 7, ‘processor’)
control a communication unit, to which the first optical fiber or the second optical fiber is connected, in such a way as to transmit pulsed light to the connected first optical fiber or second optical fiber and also receive an optical signal from the connected first optical fiber or second optical fiber, (504, 505 fig. 7, ‘input/output interface’, ‘communication interface’; 21 fig. 2, ‘communication unit’; para(s) [0012-0028])
perform, in a state where the first optical fiber is connected to the communication unit at the first point side, first optical fiber sensing for sensing vibration applied to the optical fiber cable at the second point side, based on an optical signal received from the first optical fiber, (para(s) [0012-0028])’ The sensing device 20 can be realized by, for example, DFS.’; the vibration generating unit 32 generates vibrations having two frequencies corresponding to the latitude and longitude of the current position of the vibration generator 30. In other words, the vibration generating unit 32 generates vibration including the position information of the current position of the vibration generator 30.’)
an optical fiber cable configured to contain a first optical fiber connected to a first point and a second point, and(abstract; 200 fig. 1, ‘sensing device’, 20 fig. 2, ‘sensing device’; para(s) [0012-0028])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Iwano-252 to provide a sensing system to determine the desired parameters from the sensing device.
Iwano-252 does state that the fibers may be adjusted to any desired configuration; however, does not show more than one,
Iwano-252 does not teach:
a second point, and also contain a second optical fiber;
and also perform, in a state where the second optical fiber is connected to the communication unit at the first point side, second optical fiber sensing for sensing the vibration applied to the optical fiber cable at the second point side, based on an optical signal received from the second optical fiber, and
determine whether the second optical fiber is connected to the first point and the second point, based on a result of the first optical fiber sensing and a result of the second optical fiber sensing.
Iwano-758 teaches:
also contain a second optical fiber; (10, 10-1 to 10-7 fig(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, ‘plurality of optical fibers’, ‘optical fibers’)
and also perform, in a state where the second optical fiber is connected to the communication unit at the first point side, second optical fiber sensing for sensing the vibration applied to the optical fiber cable at the second point side, based on an optical signal received from the second optical fiber, and (fig 5, 10, 10-1 to 10-7 fig(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, ‘plurality of optical fibers’, ‘optical fibers’)
determine whether the second optical fiber is connected to the first point and the second point, based on a result of the first optical fiber sensing and a result of the second optical fiber sensing. (abstract; 10, 10-1 to 10-7 fig(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, ‘plurality of optical fibers’, ‘optical fibers’; 20, 30, 40 fig. 6, ‘sensing device’, ‘patch panel’, ‘coupler’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Iwano-758 to provide a second optical fiber for a sensing system to determine the desired parameters from the sensing device.
In regards to claim 5, Iwano-252 & Iwano-758 teach an optical fiber sensing system according to claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the first optical fiber is a communication fiber being used in a communication line. (Iwano-252: abstract; 200 fig. 1, ‘sensing device’, 10, 20, 21 fig. 2, ‘optical fiber’, ‘sensing device’, ‘communication unit’; para(s) [0012-0028])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwano (WO-2022113252), in view of, Iwano (WO-2023209758-A1).
Iwano-252 teaches:
In regards to claim 6, Iwano-252 teaches an optical fiber sensing apparatus comprising: (abstract; 200 fig. 1, ‘sensing device’, 20 fig. 2, ‘sensing device’; para(s) [0012-0028])
at least one memory configured to store an instruction group; and 502 fig. 8, ‘memory’)
at least one processor configured to execute the instruction group in such a way as to (501 fig. 7, ‘processor’)
control a communication unit, to which a first optical fiber connected to a first point and a second point, or a second optical fiber contained in the same optical fiber cable as the first optical fiber is connected, in such a way as to transmit pulsed light to the connected first optical fiber or second optical fiber and also receive an optical signal from the connected first optical fiber or second optical fiber, (504, 505 fig. 7, ‘input/output interface’, ‘communication interface’; 21 fig. 2, ‘communication unit’; para(s) [0012-0028])
perform, in a state where the first optical fiber is connected to the communication unit at the first point side, first optical fiber sensing for sensing vibration applied to the optical fiber cable at the second point side, based on an optical signal received from the first optical fiber, (para(s) [0012-0028])’ The sensing device 20 can be realized by, for example, DFS.’; the vibration generating unit 32 generates vibrations having two frequencies corresponding to the latitude and longitude of the current position of the vibration generator 30. In other words, the vibration generating unit 32 generates vibration including the position information of the current position of the vibration generator 30.’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Iwano-252 to provide a sensing system to determine the desired parameters from the sensing device.
Iwano-252 does state that the fibers may be adjusted to any desired configuration; however, does not show more than one,
Iwano-252 does not teach:
and also perform, in a state where the second optical fiber is connected to the communication unit at the first point side, second optical fiber sensing for sensing the vibration applied to the optical fiber cable at the second point side, based on an optical signal received from the second optical fiber, and
determine whether the second optical fiber is connected to the first point and the second point, based on a result of the first optical fiber sensing and a result of the second optical fiber sensing.
Iwano-758 teaches:
and also perform, in a state where the second optical fiber is connected to the communication unit at the first point side, second optical fiber sensing for sensing the vibration applied to the optical fiber cable at the second point side, based on an optical signal received from the second optical fiber, and and (fig 5, 10, 10-1 to 10-7 fig(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, ‘plurality of optical fibers’, ‘optical fibers’)
determine whether the second optical fiber is connected to the first point and the second point, based on a result of the first optical fiber sensing and a result of the second optical fiber sensing. (abstract; 10, 10-1 to 10-7 fig(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, ‘plurality of optical fibers’, ‘optical fibers’; 20, 30, 40 fig. 6, ‘sensing device’, ‘patch panel’, ‘coupler’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Iwano-758 to provide a second optical fiber for a sensing system to determine the desired parameters from the sensing device.
In regards to claim 10, Iwano-252 & Iwano-758 teach an optical fiber sensing apparatus according to claim 6, (see claim rejection 6) wherein the first optical fiber is a communication fiber being used in a communication line. (Iwano-252: abstract; 200 fig. 1, ‘sensing device’, 10, 20, 21 fig. 2, ‘optical fiber’, ‘sensing device’, ‘communication unit’; para(s) [0012-0028])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwano (WO-2022113252), in view of, Iwano (WO-2023209758-A1).
Iwano-252 teaches:
In regards to claim 11, Iwan-252 teaches an optical fiber sensing method performed by an optical fiber sensing apparatus, the method comprising: (abstract; 200 fig. 1, ‘sensing device’, 20 fig. 2, ‘sensing device’; para(s) [0012-0028])
a communication step of transmitting pulsed light to a first optical fiber connected to a first point (abstract; 200 fig. 1, ‘sensing device’, 20 fig. 2, ‘sensing device’; para(s) [0005, 0007, 0012-0028, 0031])
a sensing step of performing, in a state where the first optical fiber is connected to the optical fiber sensing apparatus at the first point side, first optical fiber sensing for sensing vibration applied to the optical fiber cable at the second point side, based on an optical signal received from the first optical fiber, (para(s) [0012-0028])’ The sensing device 20 can be realized by, for example, DFS.’; the vibration generating unit 32 generates vibrations having two frequencies corresponding to the latitude and longitude of the current position of the vibration generator 30. In other words, the vibration generating unit 32 generates vibration including the position information of the current position of the vibration generator 30.’; abstract; 200 fig. 1, ‘sensing device’, 20 fig. 2, ‘sensing device’; para(s) [0005, 0007, 0012-0028, 0031])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Iwano-252 to provide a sensing system to determine the desired parameters from the sensing device.
Iwano-252 does state that the fibers may be adjusted to any desired configuration; however, does not show more than one,
Iwano-252 does not teach:
and a second point, or to a second optical fiber contained in the same optical fiber cable as the first optical fiber, and also receiving an optical signal from the first optical fiber or the second optical fiber;
and also performing, in a state where the second optical fiber is connected to the optical fiber sensing apparatus at the first point side, second optical fiber sensing for sensing the vibration applied to the optical fiber cable at the second point side, based on an optical signal received from the second optical fiber; and
a determination step of determining whether the second optical fiber is connected to the first point and the second point, based on a result of the first optical fiber sensing and a result of the second optical fiber sensing.
Iwano-758 teaches:
and a second point, or to a second optical fiber contained in the same optical fiber cable as the first optical fiber, and also receiving an optical signal from the first optical fiber or the second optical fiber; (10, 10-1 to 10-7 fig(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, ‘plurality of optical fibers’, ‘optical fibers’)
and also performing, in a state where the second optical fiber is connected to the optical fiber sensing apparatus at the first point side, second optical fiber sensing for sensing the vibration applied to the optical fiber cable at the second point side, based on an optical signal received from the second optical fiber; and (fig 5, 10, 10-1 to 10-7 fig(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, ‘plurality of optical fibers’, ‘optical fibers’)
a determination step of determining whether the second optical fiber is connected to the first point and the second point, based on a result of the first optical fiber sensing and a result of the second optical fiber sensing. (abstract; 10, 10-1 to 10-7 fig(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, ‘plurality of optical fibers’, ‘optical fibers’; 20, 30, 40 fig. 6, ‘sensing device’, ‘patch panel’, ‘coupler’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Iwano-758 to provide a second optical fiber for a sensing system to determine the desired parameters from the sensing device.
In regards to claim 15, Iwano-252 & Iwano-758 teach an optical fiber sensing method according to claim 11, (see claim rejection 11) wherein the first optical fiber is a communication fiber being used in a communication line. (Iwano-252: abstract; 200 fig. 1, ‘sensing device’, 10, 20, 21 fig. 2, ‘optical fiber’, ‘sensing device’, ‘communication unit’; para(s) [0012-0028])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-4, 7-9, 12-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. A PE2E-Search & Similarity Search was completed 06/17/2026. The recitation of the claim that was not taught in the searched references of the prior-art is:
‘calculate, when the vibration has been sensed in the first optical fiber sensing and the second optical fiber sensing, a difference between a distance on the first optical fiber specified by the first optical fiber sensing and a distance on the second optical fiber specified by the second optical fiber sensing, and ‘ in claims 2, 7, and 12. Claims 3-4 depend from claim 2, claims 8-9 depend from claim 7, and claims 13-14 depend from claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Wu (CN-121783220-A), Mochizuki (JP-2025184204-A), Iida (WO-2025017890-A1), Itsubo (US-20240377242-A1) and Xia (US-20250055563-A1) references further describe a sensing system device, system and method as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852