DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the carbon monoxide production system according to claim 4, wherein the carbon monoxide detection part is a gas chromatography.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown (“Radical intermediates in the reductive isomerisation of octahedral, 1994”).
With respect to claim 1, Brown teaches the claimed electrochemical cell. Claim 1 requires "an electrochemical cell comprising a solution containing a metal complex, a working electrode and a counter electrode." Brown expressly teaches solutions of manganese carbonyl bipyridyl complexes in CH2Cl2 and/or tetrahydrofuran and reports one-electron oxidation of the complexes at a platinum-disc electrode and one-electron reduction in tetrahydrofuran (Brown, p. 3745, Abstract). The platinum-disc electrode is the working electrode because it is the electrode at which the reported electrochemical oxidation is carried out. Brown's reported electrochemical oxidation and reduction necessarily require a second current-carrying electrode to complete the electrochemical circuit; without such an opposing electrode, current could not pass through the solution and the disclosed electrochemical oxidation or reduction could not occur.
Claim 1 further requires "wherein the metal complex is represented by formula (2a)." Brown expressly discloses cis,trans- and cis,cis-[Mn(CO)2L(L')(bipy)]+ complexes in which L=L'=PPh3 and bipy is 2,2'-bipyridyl (Brown, p. 3745, Abstract). This disclosed [Mn(CO)2(PPh3)2(bipy)]+ species falls within formula (2a) as follows.
Claim 1 requires "M1 represents manganese, ruthenium or iron." Brown teaches using Mn as the metal center in [Mn(CO)2(PPh3)2(bipy)]+ (Brown, p. 3745, Abstract).
Claim 1 further requires "X represents O(CH2)nNR5R6, NR5R6 or PX1X2X3." Brown's first PPh3 ligand satisfies the claimed PX1X2X3 alternative, with P as the phosphorus atom and each X1, X2 and X3 being a phenyl group (Brown, p. 3745, Abstract).
Claim 1 further requires "Y represents CO, C(CH2)nNR5R6, NR5R6 or PX1X2X3." Brown's second PPh3 ligand teaches the claimed PX1X2X3 alternative for Y, again with each X1, X2 and X3 being phenyl (Brown, p. 3745, Abstract).
Claim 1 further requires "ring A and ring B are identical or different and represent a nitrogen atom-containing heterocycle optionally having a substituent." Brown teaches bipy as 2,2'-bipyridyl. The two pyridyl rings of 2,2'-bipyridyl are nitrogen-containing heterocycles and therefore satisfy rings A and B (Brown, p. 3745, Abstract).
Claim 1 further requires "one, two or three of X1, X2 and X3 are identical or different and represent a hydrocarbon group optionally having a substituent or a hydrocarbon oxy group optionally having a substituent, the rest representing a hydrogen atom or a hydroxy group." In each PPh3 ligand disclosed by Brown, X1, X2 and X3 are phenyl groups. Phenyl is a hydrocarbon group and thus meets this limitation (Brown, p. 3745, Abstract).
Claim 1 further requires "R5 and R6 are identical or different and represent an alkyl group, a hydroxyalkyl group or a hydrogen atom" and "n represents a number of 2 to 8." Brown teaches the O(CH2)nNR5R6 and NR5R6 alternatives. Brown further teaches X and Y through the separately recited PX1X2X3 alternatives.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Brown (“Radical intermediates in the reductive isomerisation of octahedral, 1994”) is considered closest available prior art to the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 2, the electrochemical cell according claim 1 has been discussed above. However, Brown does not explicitly teach wherein the solution containing a metal complex is a protic polar solvent. Rather, Brown teaches a electrochemical cell comprising CH2Cl2 (dichloromethane).
Claim 3 contains allowable subject matter due to its dependence on claim 2, which
contains allowable subject matter.
With respect to claim 4, the electrochemical cell of claim has been discussed above. However, Brown does not explicitly teach electrochemically reducing carbon dioxide to carbon monoxide and containing a carbon-dioxide injection part, carbon-monoxide discharge part, or generation of carbon monoxide by application of voltage to the recited reaction product.
Claims 5, 6, and 8 contains allowable subject matter due to its dependence on claim 4, which
contains allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/STARFARI TESHAWN MCCLAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736