DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 28-47 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments filed 12/19/2025 have been considered and entered, however, applicant's arguments as filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant failed to address previously made 112(f) interpretation of claims.
In reply, examiner asserts that claim interpretation(s) under 112(f) are still valid and it is thereby repeated below.
Applicant argues, see remarks, pages 10-11, that cited references do not teach all the newly amended limitations of independent claim 28 such as wherein plurality of antennas includes a first antenna and a second antenna that are arranged in a horizontal direction when viewed from a front side of the image forming apparatus and distance is measured in the horizontal direction when viewed from front of the image forming apparatus.
In reply, Examiner disagrees because the 103 combination made in view of Sawada, Ben Rached, Abe Kazuhiko and Akiyama Shizuo have been successfully shown to teach all the newly amended limitations of claim 28.
For instance, Abe teaches image forming apparatus (printer 1, paragraph 95) comprising: wherein plurality of antennas includes a first antenna and a second antenna that are arranged in a horizontal direction when viewed from a front side of the image forming apparatus (plurality of antennas such as antenna 1 and antenna 2 are arranged in horizontal direction as clearly shown as three raised triangle bars in fig, 1 when viewed from a front side of printer 1, paragraphs 97-99), wherein controller identifies an arrival direction of a radio wave received by the plurality of antennas (arrival direction of radio wave received by antennas A and B is identified, paragraphs 100-101), with distance between antennas is in the horizontal direction when viewed from the front of the image forming apparatus (distance is in horizontal direction between plurality of antennas such as antenna 1 and antenna 2 (three raised triangle bars) that are arranged in horizontal direction as clearly shown as three raised triangle bars in fig, 1 when viewed from a front side of printer 1, see fig. 1), and controller controls image forming apparatus based on the arrival direction of the radio wave (based on the direction of arrival of radio waves, the intensity of waves can be determined to control the printer device 1 to perform effective wireless communication as a whole, paragraphs 69, 104).
Akiyama Shizuo wherein plurality of antennas includes a first antenna and a second antenna (first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2), wherein controller identifies an arrival direction of a radio wave received by the plurality of antennas based on a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna and a phase difference between the radio wave received by the first antenna and the radio wave received by the second antenna, with distance being measured (“method of obtaining the arrival direction of is described in detail. Now, as shown in FIG. 4, the distance between the first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2 is d, and the incident signal S at an angle θ is perpendicular to the line connecting the first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2..sub.1Shall be incident. In this case, the incident signal S.sub.1Is the distance y from the arrival at the first antenna 1 to the second antenna 2 is “dsin θ”. When this is converted into a phase, the phase difference φ between the first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2 becomes”…the equation from which arrival direction of corresponding signal is obtained, paragraphs 87-89).
Applicant’s rest of the arguments related to other cited references and dependent claims have been rendered moot because they are based on same assertions related to limitations of claim 28 which have been successfully taught by cited references as explained above.
Applicant further argues on page 11 that the previously made double patenting rejection has now overcome due to the new amendments made by the applicant.
In reply, examiner asserts that double patenting rejection would still be obvious to one with the ordinary skill in the art in view of cited references Abe and Akiyama Shizuo, therefore, it is still valid and is repeated below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “image forming unit” and “storing unit”.
A review of the specification, shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification, according to PG-Pub, for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
image forming unit – image forming units from 1a to 1d, paragraphs 40-41.
storing unit - memory 302 is an example of a storage means for storing various data such as an ID list of authenticatable users, paragraph 69.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 28-47 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,055,886 and in further view of Akiyama Shizuo, JP 2004-112508’s teaching of having plurality of antennas includes a first antenna and a second antenna (first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2) that are arranged in a horizontal direction when viewed from a front side of the image forming apparatus (plurality of antennas such as antenna 1 and antenna 2 are arranged in horizontal direction as clearly shown as three raised triangle bars in fig, 1 when viewed from a front side of printer 1, paragraphs 97-99) with distance between antennas is in the horizontal direction when viewed from the front of the image forming apparatus (distance is in horizontal direction between plurality of antennas such as antenna 1 and antenna 2 (three raised triangle bars) that are arranged in horizontal direction as clearly shown as three raised triangle bars in fig, 1 when viewed from a front side of printer 1, see fig. 1), wherein controller identifies an arrival direction of a radio wave received by the plurality of antennas based on a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna and a phase difference between the radio wave received by the first antenna and the radio wave received by the second antenna, with distance being measured (“method of obtaining the arrival direction of is described in detail. Now, as shown in FIG. 4, the distance between the first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2 is d, and the incident signal S at an angle θ is perpendicular to the line connecting the first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2..sub.1Shall be incident. In this case, the incident signal S.sub.1Is the distance y from the arrival at the first antenna 1 to the second antenna 2 is “dsin θ”. When this is converted into a phase, the phase difference φ between the first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2 becomes”…the equation from which arrival direction of corresponding signal is obtained, paragraphs 87-89) and Abe Kazuhiko, JP 2005045384’s teaching of identifying an arrival direction of a radio wave and controlling image forming apparatus based on the arrival direction of the radio wave (based on the direction of arrival of radio waves, the intensity of waves can be determined to control the printer device 1 to perform effective wireless communication as a whole, paragraphs 69, 104). Therefore, the combined teaching of Akiyama with Abe would have made it obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a printer device that performs wireless communication using a directional antenna which can be adjusted to an appropriate direction, and data related to printer processing can be wirelessly communicated effectively with ease and to improve processing speed and accuracy of processing results.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are just a differently structured with slightly different elements and wording than the issued patent as can be seen from the analysis below.
In regards to claims 28-47 of the instant application and in comparison, to claims 1-20 of 12,055,886:
18/751544
12,055,886
28. An image forming apparatus comprising: an image forming unit configured to form an image on a sheet;
a communication board including a plurality of antennas configured to communicate collectively in accordance with a radio communication standard; and a controller,
wherein the plurality of antennas includes a first antenna and a second antenna that are arranged in a horizontal direction when viewed from a front side of the image forming apparatus, wherein the controller identifies an arrival direction of a radio wave received by the plurality of antennas based on a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna and a phase difference between the radio wave received by the first antenna and the radio wave received by the second antenna, with distance being measured in the horizontal direction when viewed from a front of the image forming apparatus, and wherein the controller controls the image forming apparatus based on the arrival direction of the radio wave.
29. An image forming apparatus according to claim 28, wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the image forming apparatus with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus.
30. An image forming apparatus according to claim 28, further comprising a reading device provided above the image forming unit with respect to a vertical direction and configured to read an image, wherein the reading device includes a reading portion configured read the image of an original and a feeding portion configured to feed the original to the reading portion, and wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the feeding portion with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus.
31. An image forming apparatus according to claim 28, further comprising a reading device provided above the image forming unit with respect to a vertical direction and configured to read an image of an original, wherein the reading device includes a reading portion configured to read the image of an original and a feeding portion configured to feed the original to the reading portion, and wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the reading portion with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus.
32. An image forming apparatus according to claim 28, further comprising a reading device provided above the image forming unit with respect to a vertical direction and configured to read an image; and an operating portion provided on a front side of the reading device with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus, the operating portion being operable by a user, wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the operating portion with respect to the front-rear direction.
33. An image forming apparatus according to claim 32, wherein the communication board is provided above the image forming unit and below the operating portion with respect to the vertical direction.
34. An image forming apparatus according to claim 28, further comprising an accommodating portion provided below the image forming unit with respect to a vertical direction, the accommodating portion being configured to accommodate the sheet to be fed to the image forming unit, wherein the communication board is provided below the accommodating portion with respect to the vertical direction.
37. An image forming apparatus according to claim 28, wherein the plurality of antennas are arranged in a horizontal direction.
38. An image forming apparatus according to claim 28, further comprising: a supporting frame configured to support the image forming unit, and a metallic plate, wherein the communication board is fixed to the metallic plate.
39. (New) An image forming apparatus according to claim 38, wherein the communication board is fixed to the metallic plate such that the plurality of antennas are arranged at equal intervals to the metallic plate.
40. An image forming apparatus according to claim 38, further comprising: a first supporting member formed of a metal; and a second supporting member formed of a resin, wherein the communication board is fixed to the metallic plate via the first supporting member and the second supporting member.
41. An image forming apparatus according to claim 28, wherein the plurality of antennas collectively perform a BLE communication in accordance with BLUETOOTH� standard.
42. An image forming apparatus according to claim 28, wherein the controller is configured to change a state of the image forming apparatus between an activation state and a power saving state, and wherein the controller changes the state of the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state in a case where the arrival direction of the radio wave matches a predetermined direction.
43. An image forming apparatus according to claim 42, wherein the controller performs a start-up operation for the image forming unit when the controller changes the state of the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state.
44. An image forming apparatus according to claim 42, further comprising a display portion configured to display information on the image forming apparatus, wherein the controller changes a display screen of the display portion to an activation state when the controller changes the state of the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state.
45. An image forming apparatus according to claim 28, wherein the controller identifies a direction of a communication terminal that has output the radio wave received by the plurality of antennas, and wherein the controller controls the image forming apparatus based on the identified direction of the communication terminal.
46. An image forming apparatus according to claim 45, further comprising: a storing unit configured to store an ID list, wherein the controller performs a use authentication processing to a user ID of the communication terminal based on the ID list stored in the storing unit in a case where the identified direction of the communication terminal matches a predetermined direction.
47. An image forming apparatus according to claim 46, further comprising a display portion configured to display information on the image forming apparatus, wherein the display portion displays an operation screen corresponding to the user ID of the communication terminal in response to the authentication processing.
1. An image forming apparatus including an image forming unit configured to form an image on a sheet, the image forming apparatus comprising:
a main assembly including the image forming unit therein; a supporting frame including a metallic plate and for supporting the image forming unit; a reading device provided above the main assembly with respect to a vertical direction and for reading an image of an original; an operating portion provided on a front side of the reading device with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus and above the main assembly with respect to the vertical direction, the operating portion being operable by a user;
and a communication board provided with a plurality of antennas configured to communicate collectively in accordance with a same radio communication standard
and to detect an arrival direction of a radio wave, the plurality of antennas being arranged along a horizontal direction,
wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the image forming apparatus with respect to the front-rear direction, and wherein the communication board is fixed to the metallic plate.
15. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a control unit configured to control the image forming apparatus, in a case in which the radio wave outputted from a communication terminal is received by at least two of the plurality of antennas, based on a direction of the communication terminal of which position is detected on the basis of the arrival direction of the radio wave received by the plurality of antennas.
2. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reading device is provided with a reading portion for reading the image of the original and a feeding portion for feeding the original to the reading portion, and wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the feeding portion with respect to the front-rear direction.
3. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reading device is provided with a reading portion for reading the image of the original and a feeding portion for feeding the original to the reading portion, and wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the reading portion with respect to the front-rear direction.
3. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reading device is provided with a reading portion for reading the image of the original and a feeding portion for feeding the original to the reading portion, and wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the reading portion with respect to the front-rear direction.
4. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the operating portion with respect to the front-rear direction.
3. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reading device is provided with a reading portion for reading the image of the original and a feeding portion for feeding the original to the reading portion, and wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the reading portion with respect to the front-rear direction.
4. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication board is provided on a front side of the operating portion with respect to the front-rear direction.
5. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication board is provided above the image forming unit and below the operating portion with respect to the vertical direction.
7. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising an accommodating portion provided below the image forming unit with respect to the vertical direction and for accommodating the sheet to be fed to the image forming unit, wherein the communication board is provided below the accommodating portion with respect to the vertical direction.
1. the plurality of antennas being arranged along a horizontal direction
12. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the communication board is fixed to the metallic plate such that the plurality of antennas are arranged at equal intervals relative to the metallic plate.
13. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a first supporting member formed of a metallic member and a second supporting member formed of a resin member, wherein the communication board is fixed to the metallic plate via the first supporting member and the second supporting member.
14. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of antennas perform a BLE communication in accordance to BLUETOOTH® standard.
16. An image forming apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the control unit is capable of shifting the image forming apparatus between an activation state permitting image formation by the image forming unit and a power saving state in which power consumption is less than that in the activation state, and wherein the control unit shifts the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state in a case in which the communication terminal approaches from a predetermined direction and a position of the communication terminal to the image forming apparatus is within a predetermined distance.
17. An image forming apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the control unit performs a start-up control of the image forming unit in the case in which the control unit shifts the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state.
19. An image forming apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the operating portion includes a display portion for displaying information on the image forming apparatus, and wherein the control unit shifts a display screen of the display portion to a screen in the activation state in the case in which the control unit shifts the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state.
15. An image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a control unit configured to control the image forming apparatus, in a case in which the radio wave outputted from a communication terminal is received by at least two of the plurality of antennas, based on a direction of the communication terminal of which position is detected on the basis of the arrival direction of the radio wave received by the plurality of antennas.
18. An image forming apparatus according to claim 15, further comprising a storing unit configured to store an ID list of an authenticable use, wherein the control unit performs a use authentication processing to a user ID of the communication terminal detected by at least one of the plurality of antennas on the basis of the ID list stored in the storing unit in a case in which the communication terminal approaches from a predetermined direction and a position of the communication terminal to the image forming apparatus is within a predetermined distance.
20. An image forming apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the operating portion includes a display portion for displaying information on the image forming apparatus, and wherein, in a case in which a user ID of the ID list stored in the storing unit coincides with the user ID of the communication terminal, the control unit causes the display portion to display an operation screen corresponding to the user ID coincided on the display portion.
Instant claims 35-36 are slight variations and analogous to claims 28-34 of the instant application and therefore similarly rejected by under the Double Patenting doctrine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-37 and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada, US 2017/0026530 in view of Ben Rached et al., US 2020/0044310 further in view of Abe Kazuhiko, JP 2005-045384 further in view of Akiyama Shizuo, JP 2004-112508.
Regarding claim 28, Sawada discloses an image forming apparatus (image forming apparatus 10, fig. 2, paragraph 21) comprising:
an image forming unit (image forming portion 40, fig. 2) configured to form an image on a sheet configured to form an image on a sheet (paragraph 24, image forming portion 40 includes an image forming unit to form an image on the sheet based on image information);
a communication board (NFC substrate (communication portion) 72, fig. 2, paragraph 28) including an antenna (communication portion 72 includes antenna 74 as shown in fig. 2, paragraph 30) configured to communicate in accordance with a radio communication standard (antenna 74 can transmit/receive radio waves to/from the mobile terminal 101 brought close to the antenna 74 by the NFC system and thus can communicate with the mobile terminal 101. The detecting portion 76 detects intensity of the radio wave (received wave) received by the antenna 74 and of the radio wave (transmission wave) transmitted from the antenna 74, paragraph 31);
and a controller (control portion 60, fig. 2, paragraph 26), wherein the controller identifies intensity and distance of a radio wave received by the antenna and controls the image forming apparatus based on the intensity and distance of the radio wave (intensity of the radio wave (received wave) received by the antenna 74 is determined plus intensity is increased by making sure the distance between antenna 74 (received wave) and antenna 174 (transmitting wave by mobile 101) falls within the predetermined distance (i.e., L1) and processing of image forming apparatus 10 (such as authentication and other NFC communication) is carried out based on that, paragraphs 31, 39).
Sawada fails to explicitly disclose image forming apparatus comprising: board including a plurality of antennas configured to communicate collectively; and wherein plurality of antennas includes a first antenna and a second antenna that are arranged in a horizontal direction when viewed from a front side of the image forming apparatus, wherein controller identifies an arrival direction of a radio wave received by the plurality of antennas based on a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna and a phase difference between the radio wave received by the first antenna and the radio wave received by the second antenna, with distance being measured in the horizontal direction when viewed from the front of the image forming apparatus, and controller controls image forming apparatus based on the arrival direction of the radio wave.
However, Ben Rached teaches board including a plurality of antennas configured to communicate in accordance with a radio communication standard and to identify an arrival of a radio wave received by the plurality of antennas (antenna array which contains multiple antennas may operate collectively as a single antenna to transmit and/or receive radio frequency waves using same communication standards. The radio waves radiated by each antenna may combine to contribute constructively to enhance the power radiating in desired directions and cancel by interfering destructively to reduce the power radiated in other directions. An antenna array arranged in horizontal/vertical direction can achieve higher gain, paragraph 2).
Sawada and Ben Rached are combinable because they both teach performing communications via antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada with the teachings of Ben Rached for the benefit of effectively communicating between remote devices/users using subset of antenna arrays (Ben Rached: paragraphs 3-4).
Sawada with Ben Rached fails to explicitly teach image forming apparatus comprising: wherein plurality of antennas includes a first antenna and a second antenna that are arranged in a horizontal direction when viewed from a front side of the image forming apparatus, wherein controller identifies an arrival direction of a radio wave received by the plurality of antennas based on a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna and a phase difference between the radio wave received by the first antenna and the radio wave received by the second antenna, with distance being measured in the horizontal direction when viewed from the front of the image forming apparatus, and controller controls image forming apparatus based on the arrival direction of the radio wave.
However, Abe teaches image forming apparatus (printer 1, paragraph 95) comprising: wherein plurality of antennas includes a first antenna and a second antenna that are arranged in a horizontal direction when viewed from a front side of the image forming apparatus (plurality of antennas such as antenna 1 and antenna 2 are arranged in horizontal direction as clearly shown as three raised triangle bars in fig, 1 when viewed from a front side of printer 1, paragraphs 97-99), wherein controller identifies an arrival direction of a radio wave received by the plurality of antennas (arrival direction of radio wave received by antennas A and B is identified, paragraphs 100-101), with distance between antennas is in the horizontal direction when viewed from the front of the image forming apparatus (distance is in horizontal direction between plurality of antennas such as antenna 1 and antenna 2 (three raised triangle bars) that are arranged in horizontal direction as clearly shown as three raised triangle bars in fig, 1 when viewed from a front side of printer 1, see fig. 1), and controller controls image forming apparatus based on the arrival direction of the radio wave (based on the direction of arrival of radio waves, the intensity of waves can be determined to control the printer device 1 to perform effective wireless communication as a whole, paragraphs 69, 104).
Sawada and Ben Rached are combinable with Abe because they all teach performing communications via antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached with the teachings of Abe for the benefit of providing a printer device that performs wireless communication using a directional antenna which can be adjusted to an appropriate direction, and data related to printer processing can be wirelessly communicated effectively with ease (Abe: paragraphs 23, 30).
Sawada with Ben Rached and Abe fails to explicitly teach wherein controller identifies an arrival direction of a radio wave received by plurality of antennas based on a distance between first antenna and second antenna and a phase difference between the radio wave received by the first antenna and the radio wave received by the second antenna, with distance being measured in direction.
However, Akiyama Shizuo wherein plurality of antennas includes a first antenna and a second antenna (first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2), wherein controller identifies an arrival direction of a radio wave received by the plurality of antennas based on a distance between the first antenna and the second antenna and a phase difference between the radio wave received by the first antenna and the radio wave received by the second antenna, with distance being measured in direction (“method of obtaining the arrival direction of is described in detail. Now, as shown in FIG. 4, the distance between the first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2 is d, and the incident signal S at an angle θ is perpendicular to the line connecting the first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2..sub.1Shall be incident. In this case, the incident signal S.sub.1Is the distance y from the arrival at the first antenna 1 to the second antenna 2 is “dsin θ”. When this is converted into a phase, the phase difference φ between the first antenna 1 and the second antenna 2 becomes”…the equation from which signal Z indicates the arrival direction of corresponding signal as determined, which is then obtained, paragraphs 87-89).
Sawada with Ben Rached and Abe are combinable with Akiyama Shizuo because they all teach performing communications via plurality of antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada with Ben Rached and Abe with the teachings of Akiyama Shizuo for the benefit of accurately obtaining the arrival direction of incident signal in order to improve processing speed and accuracy of processing results (Akiyama Shizuo: paragraphs 7, 97).
Regarding claim 29, Sawada further discloses wherein the communication board is provided on the front side of the image forming apparatus with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus (NFC substrate (communication portion) 72 is provided at an upper front part of the apparatus body 10. Portion 72 is provided on the front direction F side of the image reading portion 20 with respect to front-rear direction of image forming apparatus 10, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 30, Sawada further discloses a reading device (image reading portion 20, paragraph 22) provided above the image forming unit with respect to a vertical direction and configured to read an image (as can be clearly seen from figs. 1-2, that image reading 20 is provided above the main assembly which includes forming unit 40 (see the communication interface (dividing line) between forming portion 40 and reading portion 20) in a vertical direction and for reading an image of an original, paragraph 20), wherein the reading device includes a reading portion (image reading portion 20, paragraph 22) configured read the image of an original (image reading portion 20 is a flatbed scanner unit for reading the image on glass platen, paragraph 22) and a feeding portion (flatbed scanner has a document placement table that feeds originals to the reading portion 20 for scanning, paragraph 22) configured to feed the original to the reading portion (paragraph 22), and wherein the communication board is provided on the front side of the feeding portion with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus (NFC substrate (communication portion) 72 is provided at an upper front part of the apparatus body 10. Portion 72 is provided on the front direction F side of the image reading portion 20 with respect to front-rear direction of image forming apparatus 10, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 31, Sawada further discloses a reading device provided above the image forming unit with respect to a vertical direction and configured to read an image of an original (as can be clearly seen from figs. 1-2, that image reading 20 is provided above the main assembly which includes forming unit 40 (see the communication interface (dividing line) between forming portion 40 and reading portion 20) in a vertical direction and for reading an image of an original, paragraph 20), wherein the reading device includes a reading portion (image reading portion 20, paragraph 22) configured read the image of an original (image reading portion 20 is a flatbed scanner unit for reading the image on glass platen, paragraph 22) and a feeding portion (flatbed scanner portion, paragraph 22) configured to feed the original to the reading portion (flatbed scanner has a document placement table that feeds originals to the reading portion 20 for scanning, paragraph 22), and wherein the communication board is provided on the front side of the feeding portion with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus (NFC substrate (communication portion) 72 is provided at an upper front part of the apparatus body 10. Portion 72 is provided on the front direction F side of the image reading portion 20 with respect to front-rear direction of image forming apparatus 10, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 32, Sawada further discloses a reading device provided above the image forming unit with respect to a vertical direction and configured to read an image (as can be clearly seen from figs. 1-2, that image reading 20 is provided above the main assembly which includes forming unit 40 (see the communication interface (dividing line) between forming portion 40 and reading portion 20) in a vertical direction and for reading an image of an original, paragraph 20); and an operating portion (operating portion 70, figs. 1-2) provided on a front side of the reading device with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus (as can be clearly seen from fig. 1, that operating portion 70 is provided on a front side of the reading portion 20 with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus 10 with respect to the vertical direction, paragraph 28), the operating portion being operable by a user (paragraph 28, user operates portion 70), wherein the communication board is provided on the front side of the operating portion with respect to the front-rear direction (as can be clearly seen from fig. 2 that NFC substrate (communication portion) 72 is provided at an front part of operating portion 70 with respect to the front direction F side of the image forming apparatus 10, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 33, Sawada further discloses wherein the communication board is provided above the image forming unit and below the operating portion with respect to the vertical direction (as can be clearly seen from fig. 1, that portion 72 is at the upper position that that of the image forming portion 40 and ranges well below the operating portion 70 with respect to a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus 10 with respect to its vertical direction, paragraphs 28-30).
Regarding claim 34, Sawada further discloses an accommodating portion (sheet feeding portion 30, paragraph 23) provided below the image forming unit with respect to a vertical direction (sheet feeding portion 30 is disposed at a lower part of the apparatus body 10 and includes a sheet cassettes 31a and 31b stacking and storing the sheet to be fed to the image forming portion 40, paragraph 23), the accommodating portion being configured to accommodate the sheet to be fed to the image forming unit (sheet feeding portion 30 is disposed at a lower part of the apparatus body 10 and includes a sheet cassettes 31a and 31b stacking and storing the sheet to be fed to the image forming portion 40, paragraph 23), wherein the communication board (NFC substrate portion 72, fig. 2) is provided below the accommodating portion with respect to the vertical direction (NFC substrate portion 72 according to fig. 2 is provided below the sheet feeding portion 30, moreover, note that “However, the present invention is not limited to such configuration and the antenna may be disposed at a position separated from the NFC substrate and may be connected with the NFC substrate through a cable. This arrangement makes it possible to increase a degree of freedom of the position where the antenna is disposed”, paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 35, Sawada further discloses a reading device provided above the image forming unit with respect to a vertical direction (reading portion 20 according to fig. 2 is provided above the image forming unit 40, see fig. 2) and configured to read an image (image reading portion 20 is a flatbed scanner unit for reading the image on glass platen, paragraph 22), wherein the reading device includes a protrusion portion protruding upward from an upper surface of the reading device, and wherein the communication board is provided on the protrusion portion of the reading device (as shown in fig. 11, reading portion 20 includes a protrusion portion protruding upward from an upper surface of it such that NFC substrate can be provided on that on top of the reading portion 20, see fig. 11, paragraphs 64-65).
Regarding claim 36, Sawada further discloses a main assembly including the image forming unit therein (as shown in detail in fig. 2 the assembly of image forming apparatus 10 including image forming portion 40, paragraph 21), wherein the main assembly includes a protrusion portion protruding from a side surface of the main assembly in a direction crossing a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus, and wherein the communication board is provided on the protrusion portion of the main assembly (as shown in fig. 6, assembly of image forming apparatus includes a protrusion portion such as arm 277 protruding from a side surface of the main assembly in a direction crossing a front-rear direction of the image forming apparatus, and NFC substrate portion is provided on the arm 277, see fig. 11, paragraphs 48-51).
Regarding claim 37, Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached further teaches wherein the plurality of antennas are arranged in a horizontal direction (Ben Rached, antenna array which contains multiple antennas may operate collectively as a single antenna to transmit and/or receive radio frequency waves, wherein, antenna array is arranged in horizontal direction to achieve higher gain, paragraph 2).
Sawada and Ben Rached are combinable because they both teach performing communications via antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada with the teachings of Ben Rached for the benefit of effectively communicating between remote devices/users using subset of antenna arrays (Ben Rached: paragraphs 3-4).
Regarding claim 45, Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached and Abe further teaches wherein the controller identifies a direction of a communication terminal (Abe, terminal device) that has output the radio wave received by the plurality of antennas (Abe, an antenna system in which two antennas having the same radiation characteristics (reception characteristics) are combined, it is possible to determine that the position (direction) where the received signal strengths of the antennas A and B are approximately the same is the arrival direction of the radio wave, paragraph 100 and if terminal device moves, the signal strength of either of these antennas A and B increases, paragraph 102), and wherein the controller controls the image forming apparatus based on the identified direction of the communication terminal (Abe, based on the direction of arrival of radio waves, the intensity of waves can be determined to control the printer device 1 to perform effective wireless communication as a whole, paragraphs 69, 104).
Sawada and Ben Rached are combinable with Abe because they all teach performing communications via antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached with the teachings of Abe for the benefit of providing a printer device that performs wireless communication using a directional antenna which can be adjusted to an appropriate direction, and data related to printer processing can be wirelessly communicated effectively with ease (Abe: paragraphs 23, 30).
Regarding claim 46, Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached and Abe further teaches a storing unit (Sawada, RAM 163, paragraph 37) configured to store an ID list, wherein the controller performs a use authentication processing to a user ID of the communication terminal based on the ID list stored in the storing unit (Sawada, when user of mobile terminal comes closer to image forming apparatus 10 and waves its authentication card at the NFC portion to be authenticated to be able to use the apparatus, the system of apparatus authenticates the user based on the credentials (user information, ID, etc.,) saved in its memory to be able to give user permissions (it is apparent even though not exclusively stated), paragraphs 39, 46, 2) in a case where the identified direction of the communication terminal matches a predetermined direction (Abe, “after specifying the arrival direction of the radio wave by the method as described above, the directivity of the high gain antenna C is matched with the specified direction, and actual data communication is performed by the antenna C”, paragraph 103)
Sawada and Ben Rached are combinable with Abe because they all teach performing communications via antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached with the teachings of Abe for the benefit of providing a printer device that performs wireless communication using a directional antenna which can be adjusted to an appropriate direction, and data related to printer processing can be wirelessly communicated effectively with ease (Abe: paragraphs 23, 30).
Regarding claim 47, Sawada further discloses a display portion (display panel, paragraph 29) configured to display information on the image forming apparatus (display panel displays information necessary for the user to operate the image forming apparatus 1, paragraph 29), wherein the display portion displays an operation screen corresponding to the user ID of the communication terminal in response to the authentication processing (control portion 60 performs authentication and others when the antenna 74 is brought close to the antenna 174 within the distance L1, and the panel portions 71 and 171 display authentication results, paragraph 39).
Claims 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada, US 2017/0026530 in view of Ben Rached et al., US 2020/0044310 further in view of Abe Kazuhiko, JP 2005045384 further in view of Akiyama Shizuo, JP 2004-112508 as applied above in claim 28 above and further in view of Ueyama, US 2015/0146251 further in view of Ku, US 2008/0100519.
Regarding claim 38, Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached, Akiyama Shizuo and Abe fails to further teach a supporting frame configured to support image forming unit, and a metallic plate, wherein communication board is fixed to the metallic plate.
However, Ueyama teaches a supporting frame configured to support image forming unit, and a metallic plate (“the image forming unit includes an exposure device configured to expose the photosensitive drum, wherein a metallic plate configured to support the exposure device is provided below the discharge tray, and wherein the wireless board is provided at a position above the metallic plate”, paragraph 88).
Sawada and Ben Rached, Akiyama Shizuo, Abe are combinable with Ueyama because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with all teach performing image processing with plurality of elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached, Akiyama Shizuo and Abe with the teachings of Ueyama for the benefit of having an image forming apparatus capable of preventing communication sensitivity from being lowered (Ueyama: paragraph 7).
Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached, Akiyama Shizuo, Abe and Ueyama fails to further teach wherein communication board is fixed to metallic plate.
However, Ku teaches wherein communication board is fixed to metallic plate (built-in antenna module includes a predetermined plate-type antenna radiator, which is made out of thin metallic plate, such that built in antenna module is integrally fixed to the metallic plate, paragraphs 7, 31).
Sawada and Ben Rached, Akiyama Shizuo, Abe, Ueyama are combinable with Ku because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with all teach performing communications via antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached, Akiyama Shizuo, Abe and Ueyama with the teachings of Ku for the benefit of providing a built-in antenna module for a portable wireless terminal configured to improve antenna performance without increasing the volume of the terminal, by maximizing a distance between a radiator and a ground surface using a case frame of the terminal (Ku: paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 40, Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached, Abe, Akiyama Shizuo, Ueyama and Ku further teaches a first supporting member formed of a metal and a second supporting member formed of a resin, wherein the communication board is fixed to the metallic plate via the first supporting member and the second supporting member (Ku, built-in antenna is integrally attach to the antenna radiator 40, a thin metallic plate, paragraph 7 and antenna 40 is fixed on to an antenna carrier 30 made out of a synthetic resin via ultrasonic welding, such that built-in antenna part is fixed to the connected metallic plate including both metal and resin supporting parts, paragraph 31).
Sawada and Ben Rached, Akiyama Shizuo, Abe, Ueyama are combinable with Ku because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with all teach performing communications via antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached, Akiyama Shizuo, Abe and Ueyama with the teachings of Ku for the benefit of providing a built-in antenna module for a portable wireless terminal configured to improve antenna performance without increasing the volume of the terminal, by maximizing a distance between a radiator and a ground surface using a case frame of the terminal (Ku: paragraph 11).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada, US 2017/0026530 in view of Ben Rached et al., US 2020/0044310 further in view of Abe Kazuhiko, JP 2005045384 further in view of Akiyama Shizuo, JP 2004-112508 further in view of Ueyama, US 2015/0146251 further in view of Ku, US 2008/0100519 as applied above in claim 38 and further in view of Liu, US 2020/0106173.
Regarding claim 39, Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached, Abe, Akiyama Shizuo, and Ku further teaches wherein the communication board is fixed to the metallic plate such that antenna is arranged to the metallic plate (Ku, built-in antenna module includes a predetermined plate-type antenna radiator, which is made out of thin metallic plate, such that built in antenna module is integrally fixed to the metallic plate, paragraphs 7, 31).
Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached, Abe, Akiyama Shizuo, Ueyama and Ku fails to further teach plurality of antennas are arranged at equal intervals to plate.
However, Liu teaches plurality of antennas are arranged at equal intervals to plate (plurality of antenna array elements arranged in the first area, and the plurality of antenna array elements are arranged at equal intervals in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, to form a matrix structure. Each of the plurality of antenna array elements has the same size, paragraph 41).
Sawada and Ben Rached, Abe, Akiyama Shizuo, Ueyama, Ku are combinable with Liu because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with all teach performing communications via antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached, Abe, Akiyama Shizuo, Ueyama and Ku with the teachings of Liu for the benefit of increasing the performance factor of antenna module (Liu: paragraphs 3-5).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada, US 2017/0374213 in view of Ben Rached et al., US 2020/0044310 further in view of Abe Kazuhiko, JP 2005045384 further in view of Akiyama Shizuo, JP 2004-112508 as applied above in claim 28 and further in view of Liu, US 2020/0106173.
Regarding claim 41, Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached, Abe and Akiyama Shizuo fails to further teaches wherein the plurality of antennas collectively perform a BLE communication in accordance with BLUETOOTH� standard.
However, Liu teaches wherein the plurality of antennas collectively perform a BLE communication in accordance with BLUETOOTH� standard (RF module 102 may be a Bluetooth module. The RF module 102 is electrically coupled to the antenna array 103, so as to transmit or receive signals through the antenna array 103, paragraph 24).
Sawada and Ben Rached, Abe, Akiyama Shizuo are combinable with Liu because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with all teach performing communications via antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached, Abe, Akiyama Shizuo with the teachings of Liu for the benefit of increasing the performance factor of antenna module (Liu: paragraphs 3-5).
Claims 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada, US 2017/0374213 in view of Ben Rached et al., US 2020/0044310 further in view of Abe Kazuhiko, JP 2005045384 further in view of Akiyama Shizuo, JP 2004-112508 as applied above in claim 28 and further in view of Fukui, US 2018/0101210.
Regarding claim 42, Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached and Abe, Akiyama Shizuo further teach wherein the controller changes state of the image forming apparatus in a case where the arrival direction of the radio wave matches a predetermined direction (Abe, a mode in which the direction (peak direction) in which the reception level is highest by changing the direction of the directional antenna is detected and the direction of the directional antenna is matched with the peak direction can be used, paragraph 32).
Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached and Abe, Akiyama Shizuo fail to further teach to change a state of the image forming apparatus between an activation state and a power saving state, and changing the state of the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state in a case where matches a predetermined action.
However, Fukui teaches to change a state of the image forming apparatus (image processing apparatus 10 is an MFP, paragraph 29) between an activation state and a power saving state (image processing apparatus is provided with a function of switching between a power saving mode having low power consumption for power saving, and a normal operation power mode having high power consumption in which various job processing is executed, paragraph 2), and changing the state of the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state in a case where matches a predetermined action (when a reason for return is detected during a time of the power saving mode, the image processing apparatus returns to the normal operation power mode from the power saving mode, paragraph 2).
Sawada and Ben Rached, Abe, Akiyama Shizuo are combinable with Fukui because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with all teach image processing apparatuses.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached, Abe and Akiyama Shizuo with the teachings of Fukui for the benefit of providing effective power saving features with efficient and correct configurations (Fukui: paragraphs 8-9).
Regarding claim 43, Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached and Abe and Akiyama Shizuo fail to further teach wherein controller performs a start-up operation for the image forming unit when the controller changes the state of the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state.
However, Fukui teaches controller performs a start-up operation for the image forming unit when the controller changes the state of the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state (when a reason for return is detected during a time of the power saving mode, the image processing apparatus returns to the normal operation power mode from the power saving mode, where power is provided (upon receiving an energization request signal, the power supply control unit 211 controls the power supply unit 100 to cause the power mode of the apparatus to return to the normal operation power mode, paragraph 43) to execute various job processing’s, paragraph 2).
Sawada and Ben Rached, Abe, Akiyama Shizuo are combinable with Fukui because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with all teach image processing apparatuses.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached, Abe and Akiyama Shizuo with the teachings of Fukui for the benefit of providing effective power saving features with efficient and correct configurations (Fukui: paragraphs 8-9).
Regarding claim 44, Combination of Sawada with Ben Rached and Abe and Akiyama Shizuo fail to further teach a display portion configured to display information on the image forming apparatus, wherein the controller changes a display screen of the display portion to an activation state when the controller changes the state of the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state.
However, Fukui teaches a display portion (display unit, paragraph 38) configured to display information on the image forming apparatus, wherein the controller changes a display screen of the display portion to an activation state when the controller changes the state of the image forming apparatus from the power saving state to the activation state (CPU instructs that the LCD be turned “on” from the “off” setting in power saving mode when in the normal power mode. The LCD touch panel unit turns the backlight of the LCD panel on based on the signal received from the CPU 221 of the main controller unit 200, paragraph 38).
Sawada and Ben Rached, Abe, Akiyama Shizuo are combinable with Fukui because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with all teach image processing apparatuses.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Sawada and Ben Rached, Abe and Akiyama Shizuo with the teachings of Fukui for the benefit of providing effective power saving features with efficient and correct configurations (Fukui: paragraphs 8-9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Onishi et al., US 2017/0257502 – antennas arranged on metal plate, see paragraphs 21-22.
Jan et al., US 2018/0076864 – metal plate with antennas, paragraph 28.
Ikarashi, US 2020/0382658.
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683