Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bank et al. (US7635941B2), hereinafter “Bank”.
As to Claim 18, Bank teaches a sound apparatus( electromechanical transducer, abstract ), comprising: a first vibration member ( panel 94, Figure 11 or acoustic radiator 56 Figure 7)); a second vibration member( acoustic radiator 88 , Figure 11 or 72, Figure 7) overlapping the first vibration member( panel 94 or acoustic radiator 56) and having a size which is smaller than a size of the first vibration member( panel 94, Figure 11 or acoustic radiator 56) ; a first vibration device( first beam 50, Figure 7 and beam 81 Figure 11) disposed between the first vibration member( 56, Figure 7) and the second vibration member ( 72, Figure 7 and Figure 11, 88 ) and connected to the first vibration member( 56 Figure 7 via stub 58); and a second vibration device( second beam 52, Figure 7) connected to the second vibration member( 72, Figure 7 via vanes 62), wherein the second vibration member ( 72, Figure 7) is configured to be connected to the first vibration device(50 via vane 60, Figure 7) and the first vibration member( 56, Figure 7 and col. 5 lines 51-67 and col. 6 lines 49-65.)
As to Claim 26, Bank teaches the limitations of Claim 18 and wherein the first vibration member is a display panel of a display apparatus, wherein the display panel includes an image display surface on which an image is displayed, and a rear surface opposite to the image display surface, and wherein vibrations generated by the first vibration device and the second vibration device are transferred to the rear surface of the display panel, Bank teaches acoustic radiator 38 acts as a display screen. See at least col. 5 lines 22-35.
As to Claim 27, Bank teaches the limitations of Claim 18 and, wherein the display panel vibrates based on vibrations generated by one or more of the first vibration device and the second vibration device, and wherein a sound is output from an image displayed on the display panel, The transducer comprises first and second piezoelectric beams 32,34 which are coupled together by connecting means 36 in the form of a stub. The first beam 32 is longer than the second beam 34. The casing 30 of the mobile phone comprises an acoustic radiator 38 which also acts as the display screen. The transducer is coupled to the acoustic radiator 38 by coupling means 40 in the form of a stub and excites the acoustic radiator 38 to produce an acoustic output in response to signals received by electrical connections 42. The electrical connections 42 connect to each beam via the stub. The coupling means 40 and the connecting means 36 are axially aligned and mounted centrally on respective beams. See at least Bank on col. 5 lines 22-35.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-17 and 28-30 are allowed.
The independent Claim 17, identifies a uniquely distinct feature of “… wherein the first vibration device is disposed in a direction in which rotation has been performed by a certain angular degree with respect to an axis perpendicular to the first main surface of the second vibration device and the second main surface of the second vibration device.”
The independent Claim 28 identifies a uniquely distinct feature of “…a first elastic member disposed between the first vibration plate and the second vibration plate, and coupled the first vibration plate to the second vibration plate; and a second elastic member disposed between the first vibration device and the second vibration plate, and coupled the first vibration device to the second vibration plate.”
Claims 19-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art to Ye Jaehun (EP4231664A2) teaches An apparatus includes a vibration apparatus connected to a rear surface of a passive vibration member and a supporting member at the rear surface of the passive vibration member, wherein the vibration apparatus includes a first vibration portion, a second vibration portion connected to a periphery of the first vibration portion, and a connection portion connected to a periphery of the second vibration portion and the rear surface of the passive vibration member.
Conclusion
/SUNITA JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691